The State Board of Public School Education is a seven-member board, consisting of the State Superintendent and six members appointed by the Governor. Each member must reside in one of the counties they represent as specified in the NDCC § 15.1-01-01. The State Board meets every 4th Monday of the month, except the months of July, August and December. The State Board has the final decision on annexations, dissolutions, reorganizations, and voluntary transfers of property for the school districts in North Dakota. All final decisions become effective July 1st.

Schedules for upcoming meetings are also listed on the North Dakota Secretary of State Public Meeting Notices page. Scroll down to the Public Entity titled: "Public School Education, State Board of."



All regular monthly meetings are held at 1:00 - 4:00 pm (central) in the CTE Conference Room, 15th Floor of the Capitol Building in Bismarck, unless otherwise posted. 

Upcoming Meetings: 

  • June 20, 2024 - Special Meeting
  • June 24, 2024
  • July - No Meeting
  • August - No Meeting
  • September 23, 2024
  • October 28, 2024
  • November 25, 2024
  • December - No Meeting

Meetings Held:

For more information about State Board of Public School Education meetings, including agendas and how to access meetings remotely, please visit the North Dakota Secretary of State North Dakota Public Meeting Notices.