The purpose of the State Superintendent’s Student Cabinet is to provide a forum for North Dakota students from different grade levels, backgrounds, cultures, school size, and areas within North Dakota. The Cabinet, which includes students in grades 3-12 from both public and non-public schools, provides Superintendent Kirsten Baesler with advice and opinions about how to improve North Dakota’s schools and the direction of state education policy. 

Cabinet meetings are held throughout the school year. Student members work collaboratively with each other, and with the Department of Public Instruction staff as needed, and express views and opinions openly, constructively, and respectfully. 

As State Superintendent’s Student Cabinet members, students will: 

  • Have a direct role in improving education for all students in North Dakota; 
  • Gain important leadership, public speaking, decision-making, and team-building skills;  
  • Develop a network of support and mentors through exposure to leaders across the state; and  
  • Have a great addition to their resume and college applications.

2024-2026 Student Cabinet Members 

Grade level listed for the 2024-2025 school year

  • Addyson Rademacher-Nyame, 7th Grade, Mandan Middle School, Mandan
  • Aiden Pelton, 11th Grade, Watford City High School, Watford City
  • Alice Brooks, 7th Grade, Capstone Classical Academy, Fargo
  • Anna Dangerfield, 9th Grade, Minot North High School, Minot
  • Audrina Schreiner, 8th Grade, Mayville-Portland-Clifford-Galesburg, Mayville
  • Benjamin Drohan, 4th Grade, Edison Elementary School, Minot
  • Bianca Sagness, 5th Grade, Kenmare Public School, Kenmare
  • Bridger Rivinius, 10th Grade, Gackle-Streeter Public School, Gackle
  • Carley Bullinger, 9th Grade, Trinity High School, Dickinson 
  • Chinmay Gopi, 10th Grade, North High School, Fargo
  • Danica Magnus, 11th Grade, Dakota Prairie High School, Petersburg
  • Dokia Chruszch, 10th Grade, Belfield Public School, Belfield
  • Eli Zerr, 11th Grade, Red River High School, Grand Forks
  • Eliza Owen, 4th Grade, Naughton Elementary School, Bismarck
  • Eshaan Kathawala, 5th Grade, Elk Ridge Elementary School, Bismarck
  • Evelyn Meisel, 6th Grade, The Innovation School, Bismarck
  • Hadley Matthys, 6th Grade, Northern Cass, Hunter
  • Heidi Olsen, 7th Grade, Central Cass, Casselton
  • Ian Elston, 9th Grade, Barnes County North Public School, Wimbledon
  • Logan Engelstad, 8th Grade, Cheney Middle School, West Fargo
  • Miles Rerick, 3rd Grade, Eastwood Elementary School, West Fargo
  • Olivia Gartner, 10th Grade, Hazen High School, Hazen
  • Samuel Chase, 9th Grade, Fargo North High School, Fargo
  • Sophia Johnson, 9th Grade, Legacy High School, Bismarck
  • Tanner Thiefoe, 11th Grade, Dunseith High School, Dunseith

Bullinger, Engelstad, Gopi, Gartner, Sagness, and Zerr have served on previous Cabinets. 

Upcoming Meetings

  • September 30, 2024
  • November 26, 2024
  • March 12, 2025
  • May 7, 2025

Past Meeting Agendas

Student Cabinet Past Members

21 students with the 2023-2024 Student Cabinet stand with Superintendent Kirsten Baesler on the J Wing steps of the state Capitol in Bismarck