ACCESS for ELLs

Medium

WIDA ACCESS for ELLs is the annual North Dakota English Language Proficiency Assessment in which all English Learners must participate. The assessment measures students’ academic English language in each of the four language domains of listening, speaking, reading, and writing. The content of the assessments aligns with the five North Dakota English Language Development Standards: Social & Instructional Language, Language of Language Arts, Language of Mathematics, Language of Science, and Language of Social Studies.

ACCESS for ELLs is administered online for grades 1-12 and paper-based for kindergarten students. Students' ACCESS scores reflect proficiency levels ranging from Level 1 (Entering) to Level 6 (Reaching). Educators use ACCESS results, along with other resources, to make decisions about programming for English learners to facilitate their language development.

Medium
ACCESS for ELLs 2020-2021 Testing Schedule

Pre-Testing

  • Fri 12/11/20 - Fri 2/19/21: WIDA AMS Test Setup Available
  • Mon 1/4/21 - Tue 1/5/21: Districts Receive Test Materials (On)

During Testing

  • Mon 1/11/21 - Fri 2/19/21: TEST WINDOW
  • Tue 1/5/21 - Mon 2/15/21: Additional Test Material Ordering Window in AMS

Post-Testing

  • Thu 2/25/21: Deadline for Shipping Completed Test Materials to DRC
  • Fri 3/12/21 - Thu 3/25/21: Pre-Reporting Data Validation - LEAs in AMS
  • Mon 4/26/21: Reports and Data Files Available Online (On)
  • Thu 4/29/21 - Fri 4/30/21:  Districts Receive Reports - Printed (On)
  • Mon 4/26/21 - Thur 5/6/21:  Post-Reporting Data Validation - LEAs in AMS
  • Thu 5/20/21: Data Posted in AMS
ACCESS for ELLs Test Administration Training
  • Go to ACCESS Quick Start Guide for a downloadable guide to preparing and administering ACCESS for ELs.
  • To obtain a WIDA AMS or WIDA Secure Portal account, contact your District Test Coordinator.
  • North Dakota requires that all personnel who come into contact with the WIDA assessments must complete ANNUAL training(s) for all tests being administered. For specific requirements, see the ND State Page of the WIDA website.

2020-2021 Q&A WIDA Webinar Schedule

  • ACCESS for ELLs: Speaking Domain
    • Tuesday, July 21, 2:30 - 3:30 pm Central
    • Webinar
  • WIDA Screener – Online
    • Tuesday, August 4, 1:00 - 2:00 pm Central
    • Webinar
  • WIDA Screener – Paper
    • Tuesday, August 11, 1:00 - 2:00 pm Central
    • Webinar
  • Welcome Back: What’s New This Year?
    • Tuesday, September 15, 1:00 - 2:00 pm Central
    • Webinar
  • WIDA Model Overview
    • Thursday, September 17, 1:00 - 2:00 pm Central
    • Webinar
  • Pre-Testing: ACCESS for ELLs for New Test Administrators
    • Tuesday, September 22, 1:00 - 2:00 pm Central
    • Webinar
  • Pre-Testing:  ACCESS for ELLs for New District Test Coordinators
    • Thursday, September 24, 1:00 - 2:00 pm Central
    • Webinar
  • Pre-Testing: Software Updates & Technology Readiness Checklist
    • Tuesday, October 6,  1:00 - 2:00 pm Central
    • Webinar
  •  Pre-Testing: Technology Installations* (1.5 hours)
    • Thursday, October 8, 1:00 - 2:30 pm Central
    • Webinar
  •  Pre-Testing: Ordering Materials in WIDA AMS
    • Tuesday, October 13, 1:00 - 2:00 pm Central
    • Webinar
  • Pre-Testing: Test Scheduling
    • Thursday, October 22, 1:00 - 2:00 pm Central
    • Webinar
  •  Pre-Testing: Technology Coordinator Support for Test Administrators
    • Tuesday November 10, 1:00 - 2:00 pm Central
    • Webinar
  • During Testing:  Managing Students in WIDA AMS (Online)
    • Thursday, November 12, 1:00 - 2:00 pm Central
    • Webinar
  • Kindergarten ACCESS for ELLs for New Test Administrators
    • Tuesday, November 17, 1:00 - 2:00 pm Central
    • Webinar
  • Alternate ACCESS for ELLs Test for New Test Administrators
    • Tuesday, December 1, 1:00 - 2:00 pm Central
    • Webinar
  • During Testing: Managing Test Sessions (Online)
    • Tuesday, December 8, 1:00 - 2:00 pm Central
    • Webinar
  • During Testing: Managing Students in WIDA AMS (Paper)
    • Tuesday, December 15, 1:00 - 2:00 pm  Central
    • Webinar
  • During Testing: Managing Test Materials (Paper)
    • Tuesday, January 5,  1:00 - 2:00 pm Central
    • Webinar
  • During Testing: Technology Troubleshooting
    • Thursday, January 7, 1:00 - 2:00 pm Central
    • Webinar
  • Post-Testing: Returning Materials (Paper)
    • Thursday, January 28, 1:00 - 2:00 pm  Central
    • Webinar
  • During Testing: Monitoring Completion for Test Coordinators (Online)
    • Tuesday, February 2, 1:00 - 2:00 pm Central
    • Webinar
  • Post-Testing: Data Validation
    • Tuesday, March 9, 1:00 - 2:00 pm Central
    • Webinar
  • Post-Testing: Interpreting Score Reports
    • Tuesday, March 16, 1:00 - 2:00 pm Central
    • Webinar
ACCESS for ELLs Resources
  • Visit the WIDA North Dakota page for state-specific information and resources, including ND’s ACCESS for ELLs Checklist, Identification and Placement Guidance document, and testing requirements.
  • On the WIDA Secure Portal you can manage your WIDA account, complete training courses, and gain access to resources only available to WIDA members.
  • The Secure Portal User Guide provides a quick overview of some of the most frequently used features of the WIDA Secure Portal, as well as step by step instructions for accessing these features.
  • WIDA AMS (Assessment Management System) is a secure online system used for the preparation and administration of ACCESS for ELLs suite of assessments and WIDA Screener Online.
  • The WIDA AMS User Guide provides an explanation and assistance in the use of the features and functionality within the AMS system.
  • Heritage Language Codes are state-designated codes used to help indicate the student's primary language in ACCESS. Heritage Language is the language or dialect first learned by an individual or first used by the Parent/Guardian with a child.
  • ACCESS Non-Participation Reporting