Student outcomes do not change until adult behaviors change. The North Dakota Department of Public Instruction has partnered with Elliott and McMahon, LLC., to launch the Be Legendary School Board Leadership Institute. This intensive program is designed for governing teams – school boards with their superintendents – that are dedicated to continually sharpening and cultivating their focus on one primary objective: improving student outcomes. It is a unique opportunity for governing teams that are committed to pushing themselves to do even more for their students.

Be Legendary School Board Leadership Institute is based on six critical pillars to transform school board performance:

    Adopt three student outcome goals aligned to the ND K-12 Strategic Vision and goals.

    Adopt no more than four student outcome goal progress measures for each student outcome goal.

    Adopting theory of action, three to five superintendent guardrails, no more than five superintendent guardrail progress measures for each superintendent guardrail, and school board guardrails.

    Monitoring student outcome goals and student outcome goal progress measures, with a school board-adopted monitoring calendar.

    Structuring the school board and leadership team for success.

    Active teamwork and coaching support including school board quarterly self-evaluation. 

School Board members are important leaders in their school systems and hold the power to dramatically improve student achievement. Although not required, the training is recommended for two or three separate school boards to participate in to learn from and with each other. This approach also provides a larger discount for your school district.


The State of North Dakota will cover 50% of the cost for the Be Legendary School Board Leadership certification. Discounted rates are available when two or more school boards attend training together:

One School Board

  • Total cost for training: $8,700
  • NDDPI pays: 50%
  • Cost to school board: $4,350

Two School Boards

  • Total cost for training: $12,500
  • NDDPI pays: 50%
  • Cost per school board: $3,125

Three School Boards

  • Total cost for training: $15,500
  • NDDPI pays: 50%
  • Cost per school board: $2,583

School boards participating in this training may invite an unlimited number of school leaders/personnel to attend at no additional cost.

School board members who complete the two-day training will earn the Be Legendary School Board Leadership Certification and their board will be recognized during the annual Governor’s Summit on Innovative Education.

The NDDPI is exploring avenues to provide additional coaching and training opportunities to school boards via the Be Legendary School Board Leadership Institute. Please contact Joe Kolosky for more information at (701) 328-2755.


EduRecoverHub has highlighted the wonderful work being done in North Dakota surrounding the Be Legendary School Board Institute Training! Their video details how truly remarkable and transformative this training is. The Be Legendary School Board Institute lays the foundation to create adult behavioral changes that will impact and positively influence student outcomes. 


Be Legendary School Board Leadership Institute: Certified School Boards

Be Legendary School Board Leadership Institute: Certified School Boards

  • Langdon Area Public School Board
  • New Rockford-Sheyenne Public School Board
  • North Border Public School Board
  • Rolette Public School Board
  • TGU Public School Board
  • Velva Public School Board

  • Anamoose Public School Board
  • Beach Public School Board
  • Bowman County Public School Board
  • Bowbells Public School Board
  • Devils Lake Public School Board
  • Divide County Public School Board
  • Dunseith Public School Board
  • Fort Totten Public School Board
  • Fort Yates Public School Board
  • Glen Ullin Public School Board
  • Grand Forks Public School Board
  • Grenora Public School Board
  • Harvey Public School Board
  • Killdeer Public School Board
  • Kulm Public School Board
  • Larimore Public School Board
  • Mandaree Public School Board
  • Oakes Public School Board
  • Oberon Public School Board
  • Richardton-Taylor Public School Board
  • Richland Public School Board
  • Selfridge Public School Board
  • Turtle Lake-Mercer Public School Board
  • Valley City Public School Board
  • Warwick Public School Board
  • Westhope Public School Board

  • Belcourt Public School Board
  • Carrington Public School Board
  • Dickinson Public School Board
  • Drayton Public School Board
  • Ellendale Public School Board
  • Nedrose Public School Board
  • Rugby Public School Board