STATE BOARD OF PUBLIC SCHOOL EDUCATION MINUTES OF MEETING May 19, 2025

State Board of Public School Education members met in the CTE Conference Room, 15th Floor at the State Capitol and via Teams on Monday, May 19, 2025.

State Board Members in Attendance:

Chair Sonia Meehl Vice Chairman Mike McHugh Lyndsi Engstrom

State Board Member Present Virtually:

Board Member Jason Rohr Board Member Levi Bachmeier

Others in Attendance: Mark Openshaw (Asst. Atty General), Shauna Marchus (NDDPI Admin)

Others Present Virtually: Adam Tescher (NDDPI), Melissa Hamilton (Atty General Paralegal), Dillon Juve (Cass County), Agatha Frisby, Glenda Haugen (Traill County)

Chair Meehl called the meeting to order at 1:02 p.m.

1. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Lyndsi Engstrom moved to approve the minutes from the April 28, 2025, regular meeting. Mike McHugh seconded the motion. There was no discussion. The motion carried unanimously.

2. Review the record, discuss, and take action on the annexation of property from Minto Public School District No. 18 of Walsh County to Park River Area Public School District No. 8 of Walsh County, in North Dakota. (Sanders Petition)

Chair Meehl and Mark Openshaw read through the corrected Sanders petition packet.

Mike McHugh moved to approve the Sanders Annexation for the following reasons:

- The petition was approved by the County Committee
- The students already attend the Park River School
- Bus service is currently being provided by Park River School

Lyndsi Engstrom seconded the motion. No discussion.

NAME	VOTE (Yes/ No)
Board Member Jason Rohr	Yes
Board Member Lyndsi Engstrom	Yes
Board Member Levi Bachmeier	Yes
Vice Chair Mike McHugh	Yes
Chair Sonia Meehl	Yes
Board Member Eric Nelson	Absent
Superintendent Kirsten Baesler	Absent

Motion passed 5-0. The Sanders petition is approved and will take effect on July 1, 2025.

Levi Bachmeier announced his decision to recuse himself from the Anderson Annexation, Erickson Annexation, and Moteberg Annexation decisions.

3. Review the record, discuss, and take action on the annexation by an exchange of property between West Fargo Public School District No. 6 of Cass County and Mapleton Public School District of Cass County, in North Dakota. (Anderson Petition)

Chair Meehl and Mark Openshaw read through the corrected Anderson petition packet.

Mark Openshaw noted that the law, which used to state that the difference in taxable valuation of the property in the exchange may not exceed \$1,000, has been changed. He explained that the passage of SB2351 amended the law, and it is currently active due to the passage of the emergency clause. It now requires that the taxable valuation of the property involved in the exchange must be agreed upon by both affected school districts.

Mark Openshaw and Chair Meehl noted that there was testimony in the county meeting minutes, confirming that the taxable valuation was agreed upon by both school districts.

Mike McHugh moved to approve the Anderson Annexation by Exchange of Property for the following reasons:

- Both districts agreed to the exchange of property
- Both districts agreed on the difference in taxable valuation
- The students are already attending the Mapleton School District
- The family expressed interest in running for the school board

Jason Rohr seconded the motion. No further discussion.

NAME	VOTE (Yes/ No)
Board Member Lyndsi Engstrom	Yes
Board Member Jason Rohr	Yes
Vice Chair Mike McHugh	Yes
Chair Sonia Meehl	Yes
Board Member Levi Bachmeier	Recused
Board Member Eric Nelson	Absent
Superintendent Kirsten Baesler	Absent

Motion passed 4-0. The Anderson petition is approved and will take effect on July 1, 2025.

4. Review the record, discuss, and take action on the annexation by exchange of property between May-Port CG Public School District No. 14 of Traill County and Northern Cass Public School No. 97 of Cass County, in North Dakota. (Erickson Petition) Chair Meehl and Mark Openshaw read through the corrected Erickson petition packet.

Lyndsi Engstrom moved to approve the Erickson Annexation by Exchange of Property Petition for the following reasons:

- Both school districts agreed to the difference in taxable valuation
- The difference in taxable valuation is reasonable
- All property owners agreed to the exchange
- There was no opposition at the county level

Mike McHugh seconded the motion. No further discussion.

NAME	VOTE (Yes/ No)
Vice Chair Mike McHugh	Yes
Board Member Jason Rohr	Yes
Board Member Lyndsi Engstrom	Yes
Chair Sonia Meehl	Yes
Board Member Levi Bachmeier	Recused
Board Member Eric Nelson	Absent
Superintendent Kirsten Baesler	Absent

Motion passed 4-0. The Erickson petition is approved and will take effect on July 1, 2025.

5. Final approval of the Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law, and Order for the annexation of property from the Kindred Public School District No.2 of Cass County to Casselton Public School District No.17 of Cass County in North Dakota (Moteberg Petition)

Mike McHugh moved to approve the Moteberg Annexation Final Findings of Fact, Conclusion of Law and Order.

Jason Rohr seconded the motion. No further discussion.

NAME	VOTE (Yes/ No)
Board Member Lyndsi Engstrom	Yes
Board Member Jason Rohr	Yes
Vice Chair Mike McHugh	Yes
Chair Sonia Meehl	Yes
Board Member Levi Bachmeier	Recused
Board Member Eric Nelson	Absent
Superintendent Kirsten Baesler	Absent

Motion passed 4-0.

The meeting was adjourned at 2:30 p.m.