The Emergency Food Assistance Program


The Emergency Food Assistance Program (TEFAP) is a Federal program that helps supplement the diets of low-income Americans, including elderly people, by providing them with emergency food and nutrition assistance at no cost. Through TEFAP, the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) purchases USDA Foods, including processing and packaging, and makes it available to State Distributing Agencies. The amount of food each State receives out of the total amount of food provided is based on the number of unemployed persons and the number of people with incomes below the poverty level in the State. States provide the food to local agencies that they have selected, usually food banks, which in turn distribute the food to local organizations, such as soup kitchens and food pantries that directly serve the public. States also provide the food to other types of local organizations, such as community action agencies, which distribute the foods directly to low-income households. These local organizations distribute USDA Foods to eligible recipients for household consumption, or use them to prepare and serve meals in a congregate setting. Under TEFAP, States also receive administrative funds to support the storage and distribution of USDA Foods. These funds must, in part, be passed down to local agencies. TEFAP is administered at the Federal level by the Food and Nutrition Service (FNS), an agency of the USDA.

In North Dakota, TEFAP is administered locally by the six regional Community Action Agencies and the Great Plains Food Bank, which arrange for the delivery and distribution of food to more than 100 food pantries across North Dakota. Soup kitchens also receive TEFAP foods.

Agency Contact Information

Community Action Partnership
2020 8th Ave SE
Minot ND 58701-5035
Phone: (701) 839-7221
Toll Free: (800) 726-8645
Fax: (701) 839-1747
TDD: (701) 852-3028
Counties Served:
Bottineau, Burke, McHenry, Mountrail, Pierce, Renville, Ward

Red River Valley Community Action Agency
1013 N 5th Street
Grand Forks ND 58203
Phone: (701) 746-5431
Toll Free: (800) 450-1823
Fax: (701) 746-0406
Counties Served:
Nelson, Pembina, Walsh, Grand Forks

Southeastern North Dakota Community Action Agency
3233 South University Drive
Fargo ND 58104-6221
Phone: (701) 232-2452
Toll Free: (800) 726-7960
Fax: (701) 298-3115
Counties Served:
Cass, Ransom, Sargent, Richland, Steele, Trail

Community Action
PO Box 507
Jamestown ND 58401 or
Phone: (701) 252-1821
Toll Free: (800) 726-8179