The Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) was signed into law on December 10, 2015. It reauthorizes the 1965 Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA), which was previously reauthorized as No Child Left Behind (NCLB).

The new law builds on key areas of progress in recent years and ongoing efforts to improve educational opportunities for all students in North Dakota. The NDDPI staff continue to review the law and will engage in deliberate stakeholder involvement throughout this process through the formation of the ESSA Planning Committee. 

On September 1, 2017, the North Dakota Department of Public Instruction received official approval of the North Dakota State ESSA Plan.