Dickinson State and Minot State First Two North Dakota Schools of Education to Achieve National Excellence in Educator Prep

<< All News Friday, June 7, 2019 - 12:00 pm

238 programs from 43 states, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico now meeting CAEP’s rigorous, national accreditation standards to better prepare tomorrow’s teachers. 

WASHINGTON – Today, the Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation announced that Dickinson State University and Minot State University joined 42 providers from 23 states and the District of Columbia in earning accreditation for their educator preparation programs (EPPs). These providers join 196 previously accredited providers in promoting excellence in educator preparation, bringing the total of CAEP-accredited EPPs to 238. Dickinson and Minot are the first two North Dakota EPPs to achieve CAEP Accreditation.

The CAEP Accreditation Council held its spring 2019 review last month, during which 42 providers were approved under the rigorous, nationally recognized CAEP Teacher Preparation Standards.

“Dickinson and Minot meet high standards so that their students receive an education that prepares them to succeed in a diverse range of classrooms after they graduate,” said CAEP President Dr. Christopher A. Koch. “Seeking CAEP Accreditation is a significant commitment on the part of an educator preparation provider.”

CAEP is the sole nationally-recognized accrediting body for educator preparation. Accreditation is a nongovernmental activity based on peer review that serves the dual functions of assuring quality and promoting improvement. CAEP was created by the consolidation of the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education and the Teacher Education Accreditation Council. It is a unified accreditation system intent on raising the performance of all providers focused on educator preparation. Approximately 800 educator preparation providers participate in the CAEP Accreditation system, including some previously accredited through former standards.

“We are committed to excellence in educator preparation and Dickinson State and Minot State are the first two of our providers to achieve CAEP accreditation. Using the CAEP standards and processes provide outside assurance that our programs are high quality and will better serve the needs of North Dakota’s unique K-12 population” said North Dakota Education Standards and Practices Board Executive Director Dr. Rebecca Pitkin.

Educator preparation providers seeking accreditation must pass peer review on five standards, which are based on two principles:

1. Solid evidence that the provider’s graduates are competent and caring educators, and
2. Solid evidence that the provider’s educator staff have the capacity to create a culture of
evidence and use it to maintain and enhance the quality of the professional programs they

If a program fails to meet one of the five standards, it is placed on probation for two years.
Probation may be lifted in two years if a program provides evidence that it meets the

The addition of these 42 EPPs to those previously accredited brings the total number of CAEPaccredited
providers to 238. These schools span across 43 states, the District of Columbia, and
Puerto Rico.

Class of Spring 2019:
Alabama A&M University
American Museum of Natural History – NY
Brigham Young University – UT
Capital University – OH
Crowley’s Ridge College – AR
Dickinson State University – ND
Duke University – NC
Emporia State University – KS
Fairmont State University – WV
George Mason University – VA
Indiana University of Pennsylvania
James Madison University – VA
John Carroll University – OH
Longwood University – VA
Loyola University Chicago
Marshall University – WV
Minnesota State University, Mankato
Minot State University – ND
Morehead State University – KY
Mount St. Joseph University – OH
New York Institute of Technology
Northeastern State University – OK
Northwestern State University of Louisiana
Nova Southeastern University – FL
Nyack College – NY
The Ohio State University
Ohio Wesleyan University
Purdue University Fort Wayne – IN
Queens College – NY
Shenandoah University – VA
Southeast Missouri State University
Spalding University – KY
University of the District of Columbia
University of Saint Mary – KS
University of the Ozarks – AR
University of Sioux Falls – SD
University of Virginia
Virginia Polytechnic Institute & State University
Walden University – MN
Wesley College – DE
West Virginia Wesleyan College
York College – NE


The Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (www.CAEPnet.org) advances
excellence in educator preparation through evidence-based accreditation that assures quality
and supports continuous improvement to strengthen P-12 student learning.

<< All News