Row Background Color
Light Grey
Row Width

2024 Governor's Main Street Awards

These awards celebrate communities and organizations in North Dakota that exemplify the principles of the Main Street Initiative (MSI) by enhancing the quality of life for residents.  

Mark your calendars for the best Summit yet - Regional Prosperity. the 2024 Main Street ND Summit will return to Watford City, August 27, 28, and 29. Nominations for the 2024 Main Street Grant Awards are now open.

Nominate Today

2024 MSI Award Categories  

Main Street Excellence Award: Two awards (one rural, one urban) are given to recognize communities OR “Community Champions” within that community whose efforts embody all four pillars of the Main Street Initiative: Smart, Efficient Infrastructure; 21st Century Workforce; Economic Diversification, and Healthy, Vibrant Communities.    

21st Century Workforce Award: Two awards for community or business (one rural, one urban) are given in this category to recognize excellence in workforce. This includes demonstrating workforce attraction and retention through the implementation of a strategy that encourages people to move to and stay in your community OR through efforts to engage students in leadership development or workforce exploration.   

Healthy, Vibrant Community Award: This award recognizes a community or group that have made investments in projects that enhance the health and vibrancy of communities. This award emphasizes efforts to engage and empower people of all ages and abilities, helping North Dakota improve its health, economy, and connectivity. 

Smart, Efficient Infrastructure Award: This award recognizes a community that has made sound planning decisions by investing in spaces with existing or has effectively engaged the community in developing plans to do so. Nominated projects should infuse existing infrastructure with new and innovative ideas to ensure efficient use of public resources.   

Economic Diversification Award: This award recognizes a community or organization that have contributed to community resiliency by finding its unique strength, community asset or niche while using it to attract business, workforce, visitors or enhance resident’s quality of life. Nominated responses should acknowledge innovative ways the community used to strengthen connections, diversify local businesses, or build local morale. 

Future Leaders Empowerment Award: This award recognizes a community or a person that seeks to engage students in creating a healthy, vibrant community through leadership development, community planning or workforce exploration in community industries. This award is eligible for all ages and youth leaders are encouraged to apply or be recognized.  

Contact Maria Effertz at with any questions!

Row Background Color
Dark Grey
Row Width

2023 Award Winners:

21st Century Workforce Award Winners

  • The City of Baldwin: Recognized for sustainable food system efforts through the innovative Baldwin Greenhouse.
  • McKenzie County Tourism: Acknowledged for a tourism and hospitality online training program.

Main Street Excellence Award Winners

  • Dickinson Legacy Square: Honored for transforming downtown into a vibrant hub of activity.
  • The New Rockford Area Betterment Corporation: Recognized for building an economically and socially thriving society.

Healthy, Vibrant Community Award Winners

  • The City of Beach: Recognized for the Beach Farmers Market Pavilion at Gazebo Park.
  • The City of Grand Forks: Honored for the Grand Forks Town Square project.

Smart, Efficient Infrastructure Award Winners

  • The Town LaMoure: Honored for the LaMoure Center Revitalization, preserving essential health services.
  • The City of Minot: Recognized for the Minot Façade Improvement.

Economic Diversification Award Winner

  • Nome Schoolhouse: Honored for preserving heritage and contributing to economic diversification.

Future Leaders Empowerment Award Winner

  • Launching Leadership: Recognized for a youth leadership program tailored for students.

Watch videos of the 2023 award winners at

2022 Award Winners:

Healthy, Vibrant Community Award

21st Century Workforce Award

Main Street Excellence Award

Smart, Efficient Infrastructure Award

Economic Diversification

Future Leaders Empowerment Award

2021 Award Winners:

Healthy, Vibrant Community Award

21st Century Workforce Award

Main Street Excellence Award

Smart, Efficient Infrastructure Award

ND Legendary Heritage Award