North Dakota Highway Patrol Trooper of the Year

Trooper of the year Jonathan Skalicky

2022 Trooper of the Year Jonathan Skalicky

The NDHP Trooper of the Year Award is awarded each year to one NDHP Trooper who is selected based on adherence to department policies and performance of duty. 

Criteria for the award is based on:

  • Traffic inspection and enforcement
  • Commercial motor vehicle and carrier inspection and enforcement (including size and weight)
  • Traffic crash and emergency incident management
  • Operating and maintaining vehicles and equipment
  • Arrest-related activities
  • Community relations
  • Written and verbal communications
  • Professionalism
  • Internal and external coordination
  • No preventable patrol vehicle crash for the year nominated
  • No substantiated complaints for the year nominated
  • Additional activities to include instructing and specialized training or education that benefits the department
  • Community involvement

The NDHP Award Committee reviews nominations, narrows the list and submits the list for the North Dakota Motor Carriers Association (NDMCA) who selects the TOTY recipient.