

NEWS RELEASE FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE June 13, 2024

Trooper Myles Sundby Named 2023 NDHP Trooper of the Year

NARRATIVE: NDHP Trooper Myles Sundby was recently named the 2023 Trooper of the Year by the North Dakota Motor Carriers Association (NDMCA). Sundby serves as a motor carrier operations trooper and is stationed in Grand Forks.

Trooper Sundby graduated from Minot State University with a Bachelor of Science degree in Criminal Justice. He attended the NDHP Academy from August 29, 2005, through February 9, 2006. He was initially stationed as a Traffic Enforcement Trooper in Grafton prior to transferring to Grand Forks as a Traffic Enforcement Trooper from July 2007 until June 2010. In July 2010, he was reassigned as a Traffic Enforcement Trooper in Williston where served two years and then transferred to Carrington until November 2013. He then became a Motor Carrier Enforcement Trooper and continued to serve in Carrington until September 2017. He transferred to Maddock and served as a Motor Carrier Enforcement Trooper from October 2017 until Augst 2021. He then transferred to Grand Forks where he continues to serve.

NDMCA's Trooper of the Year award reflects the trucking industry's appreciation for enhancing safety for those who depend on the highway for their livelihood. In a letter nominating him for the award, it was noted Trooper Sundby serves "with dedication and distinction" and noted his "unparalleled focus on protecting North Dakota's roadway infrastructure."

Trooper Sundby recorded the agency's highest number of overload enforcement citations in 2022-2023. He was nominated for the 2023 Governor's Award for Excellence in Public Service and is a recipient of the Colonel's Award for Excellence. He is an active participant in the Special Olympics-North Dakota Truck Convoy and serves his local community, most notably with Immanuel Lutheran Church Cemetery Grounds Crew, Buxton; and Central Valley School, Reynolds-Buxton.

Other nominees for the 2022 award were **Trooper Grant Lonski**, southwest region; **Trooper William Brown**, southwest region; **Trooper Ryan Mugan**, northeast region; **Trooper Thomas Steenstrup**, southeast region; and **Trooper Brandon Wade**, Motor Carrier Operations.



Trooper Myles Sundby

For More Information, contact: Sgt. Jenna Clawson Huibregtse, 701.328.3821, jclawson@nd.gov