Commissioner of Labor


From its inception until 1998, the Department of Labor and Human Rights was administered by a Commissioner who was elected on a no-party ballot to a term of four years. In 1995, the Legislative Assembly passed legislation making the Commissioner of Labor an appointee of the Governor effective January 1, 1999, or upon the vacancy of the office. Upon the retirement of the last elected Labor Commissioner in 1998, the Commissioner has served at the pleasure of the Governor and is a member of the Governor's Cabinet.

Erica Thunder was appointed by Governor Doug Burgum in May of 2019. Click here to learn more about Governor Burgum's administration.