nd.gov - The Official Portal for North Dakota State Government
North Dakota: Legendary. Follow the trail of legends

Top Navigation - Left

Qualifications and Requirements

 

Education Requirement - You must meet ONE of the following requirements:  

  • Bachelor’s degree 
  • Associate degree combined with 2 years work experience dealing with the public 
  • Associate degree combined with 2 years military service
  • 60 semester hours may substitute for an associate degree
  • Education must be from a college or university listed as regionally accredited by the U.S. Department of Education’s Office of Postsecondary Education. To verify accreditation, go to www.ope.ed.gov/accreditation or contact the registrar’s office at your school.

 

Other Requirements:

  • Many attributes are desirable, but most of all, you must have a basic liking for people. Those who possess an instinctive desire to help others make the best troopers.
  • Citizen of the United States for not less than two years prior to appointment.
  • Must be 21 years of age by completion of the academy in order to enforce alcohol violations.
  • Vision correctable to 20/30 or better in each eye, normal color vision (to sufficiently distinguish red, yellow and green) and normal depth perception.
  • Pass a written pre-entrance examination, which consists of several tests that appraise mental capacity, interests, attitudes, and other personality characteristics.
  • Pass an in-depth background investigation.
  • Applicants must demonstrate an appropriate background that would not call into question their ability to fulfill the functions of a law enforcement officer. Felony convictions and domestic violence convictions will disqualify an applicant. In addition, any Class A misdemeanor conviction within the last 5 years, or any Class B misdemeanor within the last 3 years ordinarily will disqualify an applicant from further consideration.
  • Applicants must also demonstrate an appropriate driving record. Applicants that have had their driving privileges revoked or suspended within the last 3 years are ordinarily ineligible for appointment. Any applicant that fails to disclose driving and criminal background information will be automatically disqualified from further consideration.
  • Capable of operating a motor vehicle and possess a valid unrestricted driver's license, except for corrective lenses.
  • Be in excellent health with no conditions which would restrict abilities to perform duties. Weight must be proportional to height.
  • Be willing to work irregular hours including nights, weekends, and holidays.
  • Be willing to accept assignment anywhere in the state.