You may find company appointment listings by accessing the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) State Based Systems (SBS) Lookup Search.
Company Appointment and Termination Requirements
North Dakota law requires notice of appointment within 30 days of either the signing of the contract or the company receiving the first application from the producer (whichever is later). The appointment should be submitted with a requested effective date that is not later than either of these two occurrences and it must be submitted so that it is received by the North Dakota Insurance Department within 30 days of that date.
Notice of termination of appointments must be filed with the Department within 30 days following the effective date of the termination.
All appointments must be renewed annually.
Filing Company Appointments and Terminations
Unless there are compelling reasons to submit on paper, companies should file agent appointments and terminations electronically through the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR).
Important Reconciliation Information
Insurance carriers with a National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) CoCode wishing to reconcile company appointments with the Department may obtain a list of appointments via the Company Appointment Report (CAR) prior to appointment renewal invoices being created. Terminations can be made through the Interactive Appointment and Termination Application. Both of these applications are available to NIPR Subscribers. If you are not a subscriber or need to verify that you are subscribed to these products, please contact NIPR.
If you cannot file electronically, please use the Appointment/Termination (SFN 50291) form. The fee for an appointment is $10. There is no charge for terminations of appointments.
All appointment renewals are processed electronically through NIPR. Do not send payment directly to the Department.
The renewal invoice and a list of appointments due for renewal are available through NIPR beginning March 1 each year. Appointment renewal fees are due for every insurance producer on that list. You are not allowed to terminate or cross off any names. Appointments added after March 1 do not need to be renewed until the following year. If you do not wish to pay the renewal fee for any insurance producer, file an electronic termination notice by Feb. 15 to allow sufficient time to have it processed and posted before the renewal billings are created.
You can look up your company number or search for a list of current appointments through the NAIC State Based Systems (SBS) Lookup Search.
The process beginning March 1, when the electronic invoices are available, is as follows:
- Visit the NIPR website.
- Follow the links to company appointment renewals and sign in using your company identifiers: company CoCode, federal employer identification number (EIN) and/or company name.
- After entering the necessary identifying information, you can:
- Print/pay the invoice
- View the detail report of appointment renewals
- Print the report
- Download the report as text (delimited)
- Download the report as XML
You may pay your invoices via credit card (Visa, Mastercard or American Express). The process will provide a receipt that you may print for your records.
You may also pay from your checking account, using the electronic check payment option (paper check payments are not accepted). No check processing fee will be charged when making your payment by electronic check; however, NIPR transaction fees will still apply.
ACH setup - some banks or companies may require a pre-authorization to use this electronic check service. If you need to set up this service with your financial institution, the NIPR ACH-ID will be required. The ACH-ID is 9431763793.
Companies that attempt to submit a payment to NIPR via paper check will not have their renewal invoice processed and will have the payment returned to them. Since receipt of a paper check is through a lockbox account, NIPR may take several days to post the paper check and issue a return check to your company. Therefore, you may not receive the returned check before the payment deadline.
If the invoice is not paid by 4 p.m. CST on April 30, the Department will terminate all applicable appointments. There is no grace period.
The fees involved with the electronic appointment renewal process are:
- A state fee of $10 per appointment
- The NIPR processing fee will equal one percent of total state fees charged with a minimum of $5 and a maximum of $1,000.