The North Dakota Department of Agriculture administers a variety of regulatory and non-regulatory pesticide programs. We regulate agricultural and non-agricultural pesticide dealers, distributors, and users to ensure compliance with state and federal laws and regulations.  The goal of the pesticide programs is to verify and improve compliance, as well as to promote the safe and legal distribution, sale, storage, and use of pesticides. 

It is our position that compliance with pesticide laws will prevent unreasonable adverse effects to human health and the environment, as well as ensure that North Dakota food and feed crops continue to be recognized as high-quality and safe.  Compliance will also help ensure the continued availability of pesticides as pest management tools.  We use a mix of enforcement and education to assist the public and drive compliance.

The Department works in partnership with the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) and receives partial funding for its pesticide programs under a cooperative agreement with the Agency.  Through this agreement, we have been delegated authority to enforce the Federal Insecticide, Fungicide, and Rodenticide Act (FIFRA) under state laws and administrative rules. 

Please note that pesticide certification and training in North Dakota is administered by the North Dakota State University Extension Pesticide Certification and Training Program.  

 

Pesticide Enforcement

Pesticide Registration

Endangered species protection

Pesticide Water Quality

Integrated pest management

Project Safe Send

Worker Protection

Pesticide Compliance Assistance

 

 

Pesticide Program Contacts

Eric Delzer

Pesticide and Fertilizer Division Director
701-328-1508 delzer@nd.gov

Jerry Sauter

Environmental Scientist
701-328-2980 jdsauter@nd.gov

Tyler Kralicek

Pesticide Enforcement Supervisor
701-328-4922 tkralicek@nd.gov

Crystal Zabolotny

Pesticide and Fertilizer Licensing and Registration Assistant
701-328-1500 czabolotny@nd.gov

Carla Ralston

Pesticide Specialist
701-328-4752 crralston@nd.gov

Jeremiah Lien

Pesticide Outreach Specialist
701-425-3016 jjlien@nd.gov