[nd.gov - The Official Portal for North Dakota State Government]
[North Dakota: Legendary. Follow the trail of legends]
skip to contentskip to navigation
NDDES Homeland Security State Radio - link home



State Emergency Response Commission

DES Grants

North Dakota State and Local Intelligence Center

ND Special Needs Registry

NDDES Connect Facebook Twitter RSS

News Releases

Steps taken to determine eligibility for Individual Assistance disaster aid

Posted on 3/29/2009

March 29, 2009701-328-8100

Bismarck, ND - The North Dakota Department of Emergency Services (NDDES) is planning preliminary damage assessments (PDAs) for five North Dakota counties impacted by spring flooding. The PDA process is the initial step taken to determine North Dakota's eligibility for Individual Assistance (IA) disaster aid.

North Dakotans who have experienced damages to their residence due to flooding should make sure to keep repair receipts and to document damages as fully as possible. Consider taking photos or video of the damage.

As part of the flood recovery, residents should also contact their insurance agent to see what damages may be covered, including a check to see if their policies have a sewer backup rider.

It is extremely important to properly account for these damages because it will impact how accurately individuals are reimbursed by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) in the event federal assistance is granted for individuals.

A request has been made for a preliminary damage assessment (PDA) to be completed to evaluate damages to residential homes and property. This information is necessary to support Governor Hoeven's request for federal assistance under the Individual Assistance and Other Needs Program.

Initial counties to be inspected this week:

  • Burleigh
  • Emmons
  • Mercer
  • Morton
  • Oliver

For more information about the Individual Assistance Program, please visit our Individual Assistance webpage or call 701-328-8100.

# # #

This site updated as of 10/19/2017.