nd.gov - The Official Portal for North Dakota State Government
North Dakota: Legendary. Follow the trail of legends
   
 
North Dakota Insurance Department
Jon Godfread, Commissioner
Twitter Flickr YouTube RSS
communications prescription shic healthcare enforcement compliance forms special
consumers producers companies
Home > Producers/Agents > Other Licenses > Portable Electronics Insurance - PEI
Portable Electronics Insurance - PEI
Individual

View the portable electronics statute: NDCC chapter 26.1-26.7.

Applicants for a resident individual North Dakota producer license may apply by submitting an application electronically and paying a $100 fee with a credit card through the National Producer Registry (NIPR) at www.nipr.com.

Non-resident individuals must hold a similar license in their resident state and should apply through the National Producer Registry (NIPR) at www.nipr.com.

IMPORTANT: Answer all questions completely and disclose all information requested on the application. You must disclose all criminal convictions and pending criminal charges. Question number one allows you to exclude misdemeanors traffic citations or convictions involving driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI), driving without a license, reckless driving or driving with a suspended or revoked license and juvenile offenses. You must disclose all other criminal convictions and pending charges including, but not limited to, NSF checks and minor in possession. All criminal convictions must be disclosed regardless of when they occurred. If you have any question about what needs to be disclosed, contact the Department before submitting your application.

Renewal: PEI individual producers have a biennial license renewal on their birth month. To submit the renewal, go to www.nipr.com and on the left side of the page choose renewals under either Resident or Non-resident, depending on what type of North Dakota license you hold. The renewal fee is $25 and the transaction fee is $5.

Business entity

Applicants for a business entity North Dakota insurance producer license should apply electronically through NIPR at www.nipr.com. The fee for an initial application for an insurance producer license is $100. At least one individual who is affiliated with the business entity must hold a resident limited lines of PEI license.

The business entity should also contact the North Dakota Secretary of State at 701.328.4284 to ensure compliance with North Dakota law.

Renewal: North Dakota business entity insurance producer licenses are perpetual without any renewal or continuation as long as the entity: 1) has at least one designated responsible individual producer who holds an active North Dakota insurance producer license for the lines of authority on the business entity license; 2) maintains its resident insurance producer license; and 3) notifies the Commissioner of any change of address regarding the business entity. (NDCC § 26.1.26.33 requires that within 30 days of address change the Commissioner is to be notified).

Note: Your addresses cannot be updated by making changes on the renewal application. If the addresses are wrong or incomplete, file a separate address change request at no charge.

After your application has been approved, you can confirm your new license expiration date by using the agent/agency search.



Portable Electronics Vendor Acknowledgement SFN 60894


 
 
 
 

North Dakota Insurance Department
600 E. Boulevard Ave.
Bismarck, ND 58505-0320
Phone 701.328.2440
Toll free 800.247.0560
Fax 701.328.4880

Copyright © 2017 North Dakota Insurance Department
Contact us
About us
RSS feeds
Site map
Privacy policy
Security policy
Disclaimer