nd.gov - The Official Portal for North Dakota State Government  North Dakota: Legendary. Follow the trail of legends
CTE Home Page

CTE Standards and Curriculum

Status of All North Dakota CTE Standards

Why Standards Exist

The North Dakota Department for Career and Technical Education is committed to developing standards to ensure that each program area offers courses that allow students to acquire essential knowledge and skills.

What Standards Are

Standards identify what students are expected to know and be able to do--the content they are expected to acquire, the skills they are expected to attain, and the intellectual qualities and habits of mind they are expected to develop. With the standards in place, schools can create, implement, and strengthen a Career and Technical Education (CTE) curriculum to prepare students for entry into industry sectors and for postsecondary education.

How Standards Are Created

The standards process begins with a review of national and industry standards. Several parties, including the state CTE program area supervisor(s), secondary teachers, counselors, postsecondary teachers, business and industry representatives, and the Research & Curriculum Administrator for CTE, work together to write the standards. The standards are written to ensure that when the students complete their courses they have the knowledge and skills needed in business and industry.

How State Academic Standards Are Integrated

The final step of the standards writing process involves "cross walking" the standards with academic areas such as English/Language Arts, Mathematics, Science, Social Studies, and Library/Technology Literacy. Cross walks provide CTE teachers the resources necessary to teach and integrate related state academic standards to students. The most current drafts of the state academic documents, produced by the North Dakota Department of Public Instruction, are used in the cross walking process. These state standards are available at: http://www.dpi.state.nd.us/standard/content.shtm.

How the Standards Are Organized

What the Levels of Student Competencies Mean

    Advanced (Reflection)
    Learners at this level analyze, synthesize, judge, assess and evaluate knowledge in accord with their own goals, values, and beliefs, and/or real situations.
  Core (Application)
  Learners at this level experience acquired knowledge by applying it to familiar situations and to themselves.
Introductory (Knolwedge Acquisition)
Learners at this level experience acquired knowledge by applying it to familiar situations and to themselves.

Keys to Employability

Listed within each standard as a tool for teachers to think about are the "soft" skills needed today, called the Keys to Employablility. The skills, in no particular order, are deemed equally important. The eight skills are based on materials gathered from the Secretary's Commission on Achieving Necessary Skills (SCANS), the North Dakota Career Resource Network, and the National Career Development Guidelines.


Basic Skills Interpersonal
Thinking Skills Information
Personal Qualities Systems
Resources Technology


Back  |  Top

Note: Documents and links to other websites will open in a new window. Most documents on this site are offered in Adobe Acrobat PDF format. For a copy of the free Adobe Acrobat Reader, click on the link in the left column of this page.