Workers Compensation Program for State Employees

This program only applies to individuals employed by the State of North Dakota. All other workers compensation inquiries can be directed to North Dakota Workforce Safety and Insurance (WSI) or by calling 1.800.777.5033.

In an effort to save premium dollars through a deductible program, and to establish a cross agency return-to-work program for North Dakota state entities, the 2001 Legislature enacted NDCC 65-04-03.1 establishing the Risk Management Workers Compensation Program (RMWCP).

NDCC 65-04-03.1 provides that all state entities covered by NDCC 32-12.2  must participate in the RMWCP unless exempted by the Director of OMB. No entities have been exempted.

Workforce Safety and Insurance, will continue to determine the level of compensation an injured worker and his or her care provider are entitled to receive; and will determine experience rates, dividends, assessments, and the premiums payable by state entities for workers compensation coverage. However, effective July 1, 2001, workers compensation premiums are now paid to the Risk Management Division rather than to WSI.

With the premium dollars it receives from state entities, the Risk Management Division has established a fund to pay:

  • the first $100,000 on each claim (less the $250 deductible payable by the employing entity); and
  • the premium to WSI for the state entities' single workers compensation account.

Since July 1, 2001, the Risk Management Division implemented a return-to-work program which permits the assignment of state employees to agencies other than the employing agency at the time of the injury. Administrative Rules govern this program.

To file a claim for a work-related injury involving a state employee or an approved volunteer, go to the Workforce Safety and Insurance online services to begin the claim. This must be done within 24 hours of notification of the injury.

All state entities must notify OMB's Risk Management Division at 701.328.7583 when there is a serious injury, a questionable or apparently fraudulent injury, death of an employee, or an accident where a third party caused the accident.

More information on the RMWCP can be found in Section 7 of the Risk Management Manual.

Workers Compensation Programs