nd.gov - The Official Portal for North Dakota State Government
North Dakota: Legendary. Follow the trail of legends
PISB logo Frquently Asked Questions
NDPISB News About Us Board Meeting Schedule Board Members Executive director Meeting Minutes Eligibility and Licensing Requirements License and Registration Forms Frequently Asked Questions Century Code: 43-30 Title 93 License Holders Home Page E-mail Address Upcoming Events PISB page links. Text-equivalent links can be found at the bottom of the page

QUESTIONS FREQUENTLY ASKED
Updated January 6, 2014

1. How do I become a private investigator in North Dakota?

The proper applications and forms can be gained by sending a check or money order in the amount of $20.00 to:

NDPISB
513 East Bismarck Expressway Suite 5
Bismarck, ND 58504

You will receive the necessary applications, fingerprint cards, and the administrative rules/laws that apply to the industry. If you have met all the necessary requirements, (see eligibility standards) and have passed the exam administered by this Board, you will be issued a license.

You may also download the relevant forms, available in Adobe Acrobat pdf format. [If you don't have a copy of the free Reader, you can obtain a copy from Adobe Acrobat].

2. How do I become a security provider in North Dakota?

The proper application and forms can be gained by sending a check or money order in the amount of $20.00 to:

NDPISB
513 East Bismarck Expressway Suite 5
Bismarck, ND 58504

You will receive the necessary applications, fingerprint cards, and the administrative rules/laws that apply to the industry. If you have met all the necessary requirements, (see eligibility standards) and have passed the exam administered by this Board, you will be issued a license.

You may also download the relevant forms, available in Adobe Acrobat pdf format. [If you don't have a copy of the free Reader, you can obtain one from Adobe Acrobat].

3. How do I get the materials necessary to begin the process?

You can send a check or money order in the amount of $20.00 to:

NDPISB
513 East Bismarck Expressway Suite 5
Bismarck, ND 58504

The application is available on this site and can be downloaded for your convenience. You will need to gain the fingerprint cards that are necessary to complete the process. These cards cannot be transmitted electronically and must be mailed to the applicant and returned in the same manner.

4. Is there a study guide available for the test?

Yes, there is a study guide available for the PI and Security Provider exam for $40.00.

To gain the study guide, you must send the required fee to the Board. In addition to the suggested study guide, you should be familiar with the current statute and rule within North Dakota to successfully pass the respective examinations.

5. What is the cost to become a licensed private investigator?

The cost to become a licensed investigator in North Dakota is as follows: $100.00 application & testing fee $42.00 criminal records search fee. (BCI & FBI searches) $130.00 license fee (This license is valid for 1 year. Licenses expire September 30th of each year) You also must take into account that you are responsible for providing 2 passport size photos of the applicant to our office. Additionally, you are required to meet the insurance requirements. (See surety requirements Title 93).

You must also submit a Certificate of Authority or Certificate of Registration obtained through the Secretary of State authorizing you to conduct, operate, or transact business within North Dakota.

Agency status for private investigators is an additional $250.00 fee along with the one time new application fee of $100.00. Please note; you must be an individual status license holder prior to gaining agency status. Additionally, each employee of the agency engaged in private investigations must be registered with the Board as a registered private investigator and is subject to the $67.00 registration fee.

6. What is the cost to become a licensed security provider?

The cost to become a licensed security provider in North Dakota is as follows: $100.00 application & testing fee. $42.00 criminal records search fee. (BCI & FBI searches). $130.00 license fee (This license is valid for 1 year. Licenses expire September 30th of each year) You must also take into account that you are responsible for providing 2 passport size photos of the applicant to our office. Additionally, you are required to meet the insurance requirements. (See surety requirements Title 93)

You must also submit a Certificate of Authority or Certificate of Registration obtained through the Secretary of State authorizing you to conduct, operate, or transact business within North Dakota.

Agency status for security providers is an additional $250.00 along with the one time new application fee of $100.00. Please note; you must be a commissioned officer to meet the individual security provider license requirements. Agency status can be granted after passing the security provider exam. Note: Each security officer within the employ of a security agency is also required to gain registration with the Board. Each employee/applicant of the agency is subject to the $67.00 registration fee.

7. How long does the process take?

The licensing process takes approximately 30 business days if all the necessary applications, fees and documentation has been received. The key to this time line is following the directions on the applications very closely and adhering to all requests necessary to process the application.

8. Where and when can I take the exam?

The exam is administered in Bismarck, North Dakota. Arrangements to take the exam can be made with the Executive Director, Francine Johnson. The exams are administered on an individual basis. Once the application process and requirements are met, the Executive Director will notify the applicant as to the time and location of the exam. The Director can be contacted by telephone, fax, e-mail or mail.

9. Will my concealed weapons permit allow me to carry a weapon while providing security services?

No. The concealed weapons permit does not allow you to carry a weapon while providing security services in the state of North Dakota. You must pass the weapons exam and meet the state's weapons requirements before an armed weapon certification is issued.

10. Where can I gain fingerprint cards?

The NDPISB will provide you with the necessary fingerprint cards upon request. Contact the office and the cards will be forwarded to you at no charge. It is imperative that you utilize the cards supplied by the NDPISB for proper processing of your applications.

11. Does North Dakota have reciprocity?

No, you must apply for a license in the state of North Dakota and meet all of the qualifications.

12. Can I apply for individual and agency license at the same time?

Yes, you must send in proper fees and applications found on this website. Proper documentation must be included, and you may apply for both licenses at the same time.

13. Do I need to be a resident of North Dakota to apply?

No, you do not need to be a ND resident.

14. Once licensed, who is the responsible decision maker?

The license holder is the responsible decision maker. All correspondence will go directly to the license holder and the license holder must comply and respond to all requests received by this Board.

15. What is the difference between a registered private investigator and a licensed private investigator?

A licensed private investigator must take the exam and is the responsible party for all company employees. The registered investigator is an employee of the company and does not take an exam.

16. Can I apply as a security provider without being a commissioned officer?

Yes, if you have 4000 hours of security experience and 80 classroom hours of instruction, you can apply as a security provider. You must supply third party documentation to prove the hours you indicate you have.

17. Can an employee hold the agency license?

The agency license must be a candidate who meets the ND qualifications AND who is a ¿decision maker¿ within the company structure. Generally, this is an owner, member, or partner within the company.

Documentation for the agency license must also include a Certificate of Authority or Certificate of Registration from the North Dakota Secretary of State. This authorizes them to conduct, operate, or transact business within North Dakota.

18. Can law enforcement hold a license or work as a security officer of private investigator?

No, law enforcement cannot hold a license or work as a private security officer or private investigator

19. How can I obtain a provisional registration card?

In order to receive a provisional registration card, the Agency must submit a clear North Dakota BCI record along with the application, prints, and fees to the NDPISB office. A provisional registration card is then issued and will be replaced with a permanent card when the federal and state records search is completed. The permanent card is based upon a clear record from both authorities. If the records reflect a deniable offense or the failure to disclose criminal activity, a denial will be issued. Provisional cards cannot be issued to potential license holders.

20. How can I become a security trainer or armed instructor?

The guidelines are listed below. You must also complete the application and fees along with the curriculum that you intend to teach.

93-02-02.1-09. Qualifications for trainers. Classroom instruction required of apprentice security officers, security officers, or commissioned security officers must be conducted by trainers certified by the board. To be certified as a trainer, an individual must meet at least one of the following requirements:

  • Two thousand hours of active service as a security officer;
  • Equivalent combination of training and experience as defined in section 93-02-02.1-10;
  • One-year of experience as an instructor in a relevant discipline at an educational institution or educational agency;
  • A degree from any educational institution in a nonrelevant discipline plus at least a minor in a relevant discipline; or
  • Certification from an accredited vocational education provider

93-02-02.1-09.1. Qualifications for armed instructors. Written and practical instruction and testing must be conducted by a board-certified instructor. To be certified as an armed instructor, an individual must meet at least one of the following requirements:

  • Is a certified weapons instructor by the North Dakota Peace Officer Standards and Training board.
  • Is a certified weapons instructor by the National Rifle Association.
  • Has completed twenty-four months of apprenticeship training under a board-certified weapons instructor. During the twenty-four-month apprenticeship period, the candidate must be at least a security officer and hold an armed certificate. After completion of the apprenticeship, the instructor must submit a notice to the board showing that the candidate has successfully completed the candidate’s apprenticeship and the instructor is requesting certification for the candidate.

Return to Top of Page

NDPISB News | About Us | Board Meeting Schedule | Board Members
PISB Executive Director | Minutes of Last Meeting
Eligibility and Licensing Requirements | Application and Registration Forms
Frequently Asked Questions | ND Century Code: 43-30 | Title 93: Administrative Rules
License Holders | Upcoming Events | Home