nd.gov - The Official Portal for North Dakota State Government
North Dakota: Legendary. Follow the trail of legends
   
 
North Dakota Insurance Department
Adam Hamm, Commissioner
TwitterFlickrYouTubeRSS
communications prescription shic healthcare enforcement compliance forms special
consumers producers companies
Home > Companies > Company licensing > Purchasing group application
Purchasing group application
A purchasing group may be domiciled in any state and is composed of members having similar or related liability exposure who purchase liability insurance on a group basis. The laws and rules under N.D.C.C. ch. 26.1-46 and N.D. Admin. Code ch. 45-05-05 govern the registration and requirements of a Purchasing Group in North Dakota.

A purchasing group seeking to be registered in North Dakota must complete and submit the following forms and fees:
  • Application for Registration as a Purchasing Group (SFN 53914)
     
  • Registration of Appointment of Agent for Service of Process (SFN 53916)
     
  • Filing fee of $10 for Service of Process
The Insurance Department will issue an approval letter if the application is approved. An application may be filed at any time throughout the year. All applications and fees should be directed to:

Yvonne Keniston
ytkeniston@nd.gov
ND Insurance Department
State Capitol, fifth floor
Dept. 401
600 E. Boulevard Ave.
Bismarck, ND 58505-0320
701.328.2440
701.328.4880 fax

Annual renewal requirement

The registration of every purchasing group must be renewed by March 1 of each year via the Online Renewal System.

A domestic purchasing group (incorporated in the state of North Dakota) must file a financial statement for the past year.

Every purchasing group must submit a written notification of any changes in operations which result in the registration or notice then on file containing false, inaccurate, or misleading information. The notification to correct such false, inaccurate, or misleading information must be submitted within 30 days of the changes in operations.

A purchasing group must use a North Dakota registered risk retention group, a North Dakota licensed admitted insurance company or a surplus lines insurer approved in North Dakota to be its underwriter for the group. The underwriter is responsible for the payment of premium taxes, not the purchasing group, unless the underwriter is a surplus lines insurer, in which case the surplus lines broker would be responsible.

Renewal affidavit for non-admitted companies

The Renewal Affidavit For Non-Admitted Companies must be submitted using the North Dakota Insurance Department's enhanced Online Renewal System. The Online Renewal System requires payment of the company's renewal fees by one of the following options:
  • Payment by credit card - note that only Visa, MasterCard or Discover cards are accepted (American Express card is not accepted); see the Online Renewal System for further instructions.
  • Payment by check - a completed copy of the renewal statement must be included along with the company's check and postmarked by March 1 to avoid penalties.
Please direct questions to:

Yvonne Keniston
ytkeniston@nd.gov
ND Insurance Department
State Capitol, fifth floor
Dept. 401
600 E. Boulevard Ave.
Bismarck, ND 58505-0320
701.328.2440
701.328.4880 fax


Application for Registration as a Purchasing Group SFN 53914
http://www.nd.gov/eforms/Doc/sfn53914.pdf

Registration of Appointment of Agent for Service of Process SFN 53916
http://www.nd.gov/eforms/Doc/sfn53916.pdf


North Dakota Insurance Department
600 E. Boulevard Ave.
Bismarck, ND 58505-0320
Phone 701.328.2440
Toll free 800.247.0560
Fax 701.328.4880

Copyright © 2014 North Dakota Insurance Department
Contact us
About us
RSS feeds
Site map
Privacy policy
Security policy
Disclaimer
InsureU