nd.gov - The Official Portal for North Dakota State Government
North Dakota: Legendary. Follow the trail of legends
   
 
North Dakota Insurance Department
Adam Hamm, Commissioner
TwitterFlickrYouTubeRSS
communications prescription shic healthcare enforcement compliance forms special
consumers producers companies
A premium finance company must be licensed by the Insurance Commissioner in order to engage in the business of entering into or acquiring insurance premium finance agreements in North Dakota (N.D.C.C. ch. 26.1-20.1). The Century Code can be accessed through the Communications section of this website.

A legal entity seeking licensure as a premium finance company must submit the following:
  • Premium Finance Application (SFN 16825)
  • Copy of the Premium Finance Agreement, rate chart and all other similar business forms
  • Certified copy of Charter or Articles of Incorporation and Bylaws, if applicable
  • Certificate from the North Dakota Secretary of State showing compliance with the corporate laws of North Dakota, if applicable
  • Most recent Financial Statement executed on oath by president or other principal officer and prepared by a certified public accountant
  • Premium Finance Company Balance Sheet (SFN 16836)
  • Federal ID number and resident Power-of-Attorney form
  • Agent for Service of Process form (SFN 8330)
  • Name and address of the person who is to have charge of the business under the license
  • Annual license fee of $100 paid to the North Dakota Insurance Commissioner.
The Insurance Department will issue a license if the application is approved. An application may be filed at any time throughout the year. The application and fee should be sent to:

Yvonne Keniston
ytkeniston@nd.gov
ND Insurance Department
State Capitol, fifth floor
Dept. 401
600 E. Boulevard Ave.
Bismarck, ND 58505-0320
701.328.2440
701.328.4880 fax

Annual renewal requirement

A premium finance company must renew its license on or before April 1 of each year by submitting a $100 annual renewal fee made payable to the North Dakota Commissioner of Insurance. The following items must also be filed on or before April 1 of each year:
PLEASE SUBMIT AN ELECTRONIC VERSION OF THE ANNUAL AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AS AN EMAIL ATTACHMENT ADDRESSED TO ytkeniston@nd.gov WITH THE SUBJECT LINE "PREMIUM FINANCE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS."

A license not renewed by April 1 will be canceled.

A written notification of any corporate changes, such as a name change, address change, merger, or redomestication, must be sent to the Insurance Department in a timely manner. The notification should include updated documents (Charter, Articles, Bylaws, Agent for Service of Process, etc.) to reflect the change, as applicable.

Please direct questions to:

Yvonne Keniston
ytkeniston@nd.gov
ND Insurance Department
State Capitol, fifth floor
Dept. 401
600 E. Boulevard Ave.
Bismarck, ND 58505-0320
701.328.2440
701.328.4880 fax



Agent for Service of Process SFN 8330
http://www.nd.gov/eforms/Doc/sfn8330.pdf

Annual Statement for an Insurance Premium Finance Company SFN 16824
http://www.nd.gov/eforms/Doc/sfn16824.pdf

Premium Finance Application SFN 16825
http://www.nd.gov/eforms/Doc/sfn16825.pdf

Premium Finance Company Balance Sheet SFN 16836
http://www.nd.gov/eforms/Doc/sfn16836.pdf


North Dakota Insurance Department
600 E. Boulevard Ave.
Bismarck, ND 58505-0320
Phone 701.328.2440
Toll free 800.247.0560
Fax 701.328.4880

Copyright © 2014 North Dakota Insurance Department
Contact us
About us
RSS feeds
Site map
Privacy policy
Security policy
Disclaimer
InsureU