New customers to the Child Support Enforcement program — welcome!

We hope the following will help answer some of your questions. We also encourage you to contact us with
any other questions you may have. Contact information can be found toward the bottom of this information.

When is a case opened with the program? A case is opened when one of the parents applies for
services. A case is also opened when a referral has been received from a public assistance (TANF or
Medicaid) or foster care program; or from another state.

Are there service fees for having a case with the program? An annual fee is required by federal and
state law in certain cases. The fee is $25 per year, and is only charged after $500 is collected in a year.
The fee is collected by being taken out of the child support payment. This annual fee is not charged in
certain public assistance cases. (If a case is not open with the program, it is subject to a monthly fee of up
t0 $2.10.)

Which office is assigned to my case? There are eight local offices in North Dakota. The offices are in
Bismarck, Devils Lake, Dickinson, Fargo, Grand Forks, Jamestown, Minot, and Williston. A case is usually
assigned to an office based upon where the parent with primary residential responsibility for the child lives.
A caseworker from that office is assigned to the case. Because of the legal nature of child support issues,
the local offices also have lawyers. These lawyers do not represent you or the other parent; they represent
the state in all actions. If you are not sure which office has your case, you may contact State Disbursement
Unit Customer Service.

What services does the program provide?

e Paternity If the child was not born within a marriage and the child’s father has not been legally
identified, the program provides services relating to paternity establishment. Paternity may be
established through a voluntary paternity acknowledgement process or through the court. Genetic
testing is available at no charge.

e Child support and medical support If there is no court order for child support or medical support for
the child, the program will seek to establish one.

e Enforcement The program provides services to enforce court orders for support.

e Review and adjustment The program provides services to periodically review orders for possible
adjustment of the court-ordered support amount.

Is information about the program and about my case available on the internet? Yes. Our Web site
(www.childsupportnd.com) has lots of helpful information about the program as well as on-line services that
allow you to view and update information on your case.

How much child support is due? A child support amount is calculated using child support guidelines.
North Dakota’s guidelines are based upon the income of the parent being court ordered to pay child
support and the number of children.

Is interest charged on unpaid child support? Yes, interest is charged on unpaid child support on North
Dakota orders. Interest may or may not be charged on unpaid child support on other state’s orders,
depending on the law of the state that issued the order. On North Dakota orders, the interest rate is set by
state law, and may change every year. The program may suspend or waive interest in some situations.
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| am court ordered to receive child support. How are payments sent to me? You have a choice to
have child support payments deposited to an electronic payment card or directly deposited into a bank
account. If you do not choose the direct deposit option, payments will be deposited to an electronic debit
card in your name. You should also know that some payments may be kept by the state to pay for the cost
of TANF or Foster Care.

| am court ordered to pay child support. Where do | send my payments? What if | can’t make a
payment? In order to receive proper credit for a payment, child support payments must be sent to the
State Dishursement Unit. If you are mailing a payment, the following address should be used: PO Box
7280, Bismarck, ND 58507-7280. Payments are often made by employers through income withholding. You
also may request that the child support amount be withdrawn from your bank account instead of being
withheld from your income (this is often called the “autopay” option). Requests for the autopay option may
be approved if full child support payments have been received for the past nine months, or since the child
support order was entered, whichever is less.

Missing even one payment may mean enforcement action will be taken. It is important to contact your local
office if you feel you are not able to make a payment.

Am | required to keep the program informed of certain information? Yes. Each parent is required to
inform the State Disbursement Unit of the parent’s:

e Social Security Number e Telephone number
e Addresses e Driver's license number
O Home address e Employer’'s name, address, and telephone number
0 Mailing address e Change of any other condition which may affect processing of
O Any address change your case
How do | contact the State Disbursement Unit (SDU)? You may contact Customer Service:
e By telephone: e By FAX:701.328.5425
0 701.328.5540 (local) e By email: centralofficecse@nd.gov

0 800.231.4255 (toll free)

How do | contact a local (regional) child support office?

BISMARCK includes the counties of Burleigh, DEVILS LAKE includes the counties of Benson,
Emmons, Grant, Kidder, McLean, Mercer, Morton,  Cavalier, Eddy, Ramsey, Rolette, Towner
Oliver, Sheridan, Sioux e By telephone: 701.665.4475

e By telephone: 701.328.0955 e By email: devilslakecse@nd.gov

e By email: bismarckcse@nd.gov

DICKINSON includes the counties of Adams, Billings, = FARGO includes the counties of Cass, Ransom,
Bowman, Dunn, Golden Valley, Hettinger, Slope,  Richland, Sargent, Steele, Traill

Stark e By telephone: 701.298.4900

e By telephone: 701.227.7424 e By email: fargocse@nd.gov

e By email: dickinsoncse@nd.gov



http://www.nd.gov/dhs/services/childsupport/parents/payment/reliacard.html�
http://www.nd.gov/dhs/services/childsupport/parents/payment/direct-deposit.html�
http://www.nd.gov/dhs/services/childsupport/parents/payment/direct-deposit.html�
http://www.nd.gov/dhs/services/childsupport/progserv/autopay/�
mailto:centralofficecse@nd.gov�
mailto:bismarckcse@nd.gov�
mailto:devilslakecse@nd.gov�
mailto:dickinsoncse@nd.gov�
mailto:fargocse@nd.gov�

GRAND FORKS includes the counties of Grand
Forks, Nelson, Pembina, Walsh

e By telephone: 701.795.3960

e By email: grandforkscse@nd.gov

MINOT includes the counties of Bottineau, Burke,
McHenry, Mountrail, Pierce, Renville, Ward

e By telephone: 701.857.7696

e By email: minotcse@nd.gov

JAMESTOWN includes the counties of Barnes,
Dickey, Foster, Griggs, LaMoure, Logan,
Mclntosh, Stutsman, Wells

e By telephone: 701.253.6260

e By email: jamestowncse@nd.gov

WILLISTON includes the counties of Divide,
McKenzie, Williams

e By telephone: 701.774.7940

e By email: willistoncse@nd.gov

If you use a telecommunications device
By telephone: 800.366.6888 (TTY)
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