North Dakota Department of Human Services

north dakota

department of
ihuman services ’

NEW HIRE REPORTING REQUIREMENTS

John Hoeven, Governor

- ALL EMPLOYERS TO REPORT ALL NEW HIRES

What must be 'reported"
- Federal and state laws require that all employers must report the following information for each employee hired
~onor aﬁer October 1 1997

’ T‘Employee’s ¢ Name ¢/ Address ¢ Social Security Number
- Employer’s = ¢ Name ¢/ Address ¢ Federal Tax Identification Number

- How will new hire information be used?
- The reported information will be used by the North Dakota Department of Human Services and by other state
~ agencies in order to: - ‘

Increase financial support for children by improved collection of child support.

Increase collections on defaulted student loans and Department of Educatlon grant overpayments.
Decrease taxpayer burden. -

Decrease the llkehhood of fraud in the unemployment compensatlon workers compensation, and welfare
: programs.

e Venfy employment and income of individuals participating in certain federal housing programs.

s Who is an employer?
- The definition of “employer” for new hire reporting purposes is the same definition used for federal income

& tax wage withholding ] purposes (as defined by section 3401(d) of the Internal Revenue Code and related

'regulat1ons) and includes any governmental entity and any labor organization. As a general rule, if an employer
- is required to give an employee a W-2 form showing the amount of taxes withheld, the employer must comply
<w1th the new h1re reportmg requirements.

v Who‘is an employee?, o

- The definition of “employee” for new hire reporting purposes is the same definition used for federal income tax
wage withholding purposes (as defined by Chapter 24 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986). As a general rule,
Cif an employee is given a W-2 form showing the amount of taxes withheld, that employee fits the definition for
new hire reporting. Employees to be reported include all full time, part time, and temporary employees, both
adults and minors. .

When is an mdmdual’ considered a new hire?

An individual is considered a new hire on that individual’s first day of work. (The first day in which an

1nd1v1dual performs services for pay and the first day in which an employer begins to withhold amounts for
" income tax purposes )

,When must an employer repbrt"
The report must be made no later than 20 days after the date the employee is hired. If the report is transmitted
electronically, the report may be made by two monthly transmissions. These transmissions, however, must be
made not less than 12 nor more than 16 days apart.



How does an employer report?
- Some convenient reporting methods include:

1. Internet reporting via a secure and encrypted website. Go to www.childsupportnd.com *“ Employers”
“New Hire Reporting” to report individual new hires via a secure and encrypted Internet website.

2. Secure and encrypted web file transfer. A secure and encrypted web-based method to send a file
that includes multiple new hires. The record layout for the web file transfer can be found at www.
childsupportnd.com “Employers” “New Hire Reporting.” Employers must call the Child Support
Enforcement program to set up the web file transfer process.

3. Payroll service. Employers using a payroll or accounting service should consider asking the service to
report new hires for the employer.

4. Printed list. A printed list with the required information is faxed or mailed.

5. New Hire Reporting form. The Department of Human Services has prepared a form comparable to the
W-4 form which employers may submit by fax or mail.

6. W-4 form. After a newly hired employee completes this federal form, the required employer information is
completed on lines 8 and 10 and the W-4 is faxed or a copy is mailed.

‘What happens if an employer does not report?

The Department of Human Services may issue a written warning to an employer who fails to file a timely,
complete, and correct report. Continued noncompliance may result in a civil money penalty of $20 foreach. .
failure to report. If there is conspiracy between the employer and employee not to report, the civil money
penalty levied against the employer may be increased to $250 for each failure to report.

What if an employer has employees who are employed in more than one state?

. Multistate employers who transmit reports using reporting methods 1 or 2 above may elect to report all new
hires to a single state in which they have employees. To exercise this option, multistate employers must identify
one state for reporting new hires and must notify the Secretary of the United States Department of Health and
Human Services of the state chosen. This notification must be submitted either in writing or via the federal
Office of Child Support Enforcement website (http://151.196.108.21/ocse/).

Where does an employer send new hire information? Who does an employer contact if he or
' she has questions regarding new hire
For Internet reporting, go to www.childsupportnd.com reporting?
(Click on “Employers” “New Hire Reporting™) E-mail: sohire@nd.cov
Telephone: (701) 328-3582
Child Support Enforcement Toll free Nationwide: 1-800-755-8530
Department of Human Services North Dakota Relay Service
PO Box 7369 (text users) 1-800-366-6888
Bismarck, ND 58507-7369 | (voice users) 1-800-366-6889

Fax: (701) 328-5497
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