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If a dealer sells a manufactured home without installation, the transaction is a retail sale and the dealer must collect 
sales tax from the purchaser on the full selling price of the home.  The selling price includes delivery charges the 
dealer invoices to the customer. 

In many cases, a dealer will not know if the manufactured homes it is purchasing for resale will be sold with or 
without installation, so dealers may choose to purchase all homes for resale by issuing a properly completed resale 
certificate or contractor’s certificate to the manufacturer or other supplier. If purchased tax free, the dealer will self-
accrue and pay use tax on homes sold to consumers with installation. If a dealer knows it will be selling a home 
with installation, the dealer may elect to pay the tax to its supplier if the supplier is registered to collect North 
Dakota sales and use taxes. 

All sales of manufactured homes (installed or not installed) should be reported on line 1 “Total Sales” of the North 
Dakota sales and use tax return. Manufactured homes sold with installation should be reported on line 2, 
“Nontaxable Sales.”  When a dealer must pay tax on its purchase price of a manufactured home, the taxable 
purchase price should be reported on line 3, “Items Subject to Use Tax.”  

When a dealer sells a home with installation in North Dakota, the point of taxation is where the dealer takes 
possession of the manufactured home. If the dealer takes possession in a city or county that imposes local tax on 
manufactured homes, local use tax may also be due on the purchase price of the manufactured home. If the 
manufactured home is subsequently installed at a location other than where the dealer took possession and a higher 
rate of local tax applies at the installation location, additional use tax may be due to the jurisdiction where the home 
was installed.  Special rules apply to the application of local sales and use taxes.  See the Local Option Taxes by 
Location guideline for the correct application and rate of local sales and use taxes. 

Whenever a dealer sells a manufactured home and delivers it outside of North Dakota, the point of taxation is at the 
out-of-state delivery point and no North Dakota tax will be due.  Tax will be applied to the sale according to the 
other state’s sales and use tax laws. 

Example Transactions 

The following examples demonstrate the correct application of sales or use tax on manufactured home transactions. 

Example 1: Dealer A purchases a manufactured home from Manufacturer M, who delivers the home to Dealer A’s 
business in City X, ND. Dealer A purchased the home for resale without payment of tax and pays manufacturer M 
$62,000 plus $3,000 for delivery.  Dealer A sells the home to Joe Buyer for $90,000 and the sales contract with Joe 
Buyer requires Dealer A to install the manufactured home at a lot leased by Joe in City Y.  Because Dealer A has 
sold the home with installation, Dealer A must report and pay $1,950 [3% X ($62,000 + $3,000) of North Dakota 
use tax on Dealer A’s sales and use tax return. No sales tax is charged to Joe Buyer. 

Assume the local tax in City X is 1 percent with a maximum tax of $25 and the local tax in City Y is 1½ percent 
with a maximum tax of $37.50. Dealer A would also owe $25 of local use tax to City X and an additional use tax of 
$12.50 to City Y. 

Example 2: Assume the same facts as Example 1 except Joe Buyer requires Dealer A to deliver and install the 
manufactured home in City Z, Minnesota.  No North Dakota sales or use tax is due on this transaction. The sale is 
subject to Minnesota sales or use tax laws. 

Example 3: Assume the same facts as Example 1 except the selling price is $80,000 and the contract with Joe 
Buyer requires Dealer A to deliver to City Y but does not include installation. Because the transaction does not 
include installation, this is a retail sale of tangible personal property and Dealer A must itemize tax on the sales 
invoice and collect state sales tax of $2,400 ($80,000 X 3%) and City Y tax of $37.50 from Joe Buyer. 

If you have any questions regarding the application of sales or use tax on sales of manufactured homes, please 
contact the sales tax compliance section at 701.328.1246 or email salestax@nd.gov for additional information. 




