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North Dakota licensed liquor and beer wholesalers and suppliers are subject to the provisions of Title 5 of the North 
Dakota Century Code (“N.D.C.C.”).  N.D.C.C. ch. 5-03 provides the licensing requirements for wholesalers and suppliers, 
and imposes tax on wholesalers.  N.D.C.C. § 5-01-11 outlines unfair competition practices and penalties.  Chapter 5-04 
addresses wholesaler and manufacturer relationships.  

The North Dakota Offi ce of State Tax Commissioner (“Tax Department”) is responsible for the administration of this 
and other state laws regulating liquor and beer wholesalers.  The purpose of these Guidelines is to ensure separation 
and independence between each tier (i.e., supplier, wholesaler, and retailer) of the three-tier system.  Nothing in these 
Guidelines is intended to replace North Dakota law governing the activities of liquor and beer wholesalers and suppliers.  
Where state law does not address certain practices, terminology, or other areas of policy, the Tax Department may look to 
Federal Rules and Regulations for interpretation and enforcement of rules, regulations, trade practices, or other necessary 
actions to the extent federal law is not inconsistent with state law.

1. Application for Wholesaler License and Renewal of License
 A wholesaler must apply for an annual license from the Tax Department.  New and renewed licenses are effective from 

January 1st to December 31st of each calendar year.

 A.  License Application:

  ▪ The wholesale beer or liquor license application is available on the Tax Department’s web site at
   http://www.nd.gov/tax under Alcohol/Forms.  Beer and Liquor wholesalers must submit separate license 

applications for beer and liquor licenses. 

  ▪ The application must be accompanied by the annual license fee of $1,000 for liquor wholesaler licenses and 
$200 for beer wholesaler licenses.  Fees will be reduced by 25% for new applications received after the fi rst 
quarter of the year has elapsed, and by 50% after the second quarter of the year has elapsed.

 
  ▪ The completed renewal application and license fee are due on or before the fi rst of January of each year.

  ▪ Proof of a current Federal Basic Permit must be submitted with each new and renewal application.

  ▪ Each location of a commonly owned beer or liquor wholesaler is not required to obtain a separate license 
as long as only one location does the purchasing, selling, and reporting functions for all locations.  For beer 
wholesalers, all locations must be covered under the same brewery and territory agreement and product pricing 
program restrictions. 

 B. License Qualifi cations:

  ▪ The applicant may not have any fi nancial interest in any supplier or any retail alcoholic beverage business.
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  ▪ Corporate applicants must fi rst be properly registered with the North Dakota Secretary of State.

  ▪ If the applicant is a corporation, the offi cers, directors, and stockholders of the licensed premises must be 
citizens of the United States and persons of good moral character, and the manager of the licensed premises 
must be a citizen of the United States, a resident of this state, and a person of good moral character.  

  ▪ If the applicant is not a corporation, the applicant must be a citizen of the United States, a resident of this state, 
and a person of good moral character.  

  ▪ If the applicant is a partnership, each partner must be a citizen of the United States and a person of good moral 
character, and at least one active partner must be a resident of this state.

  ▪ A person is not eligible for a wholesale liquor license unless that person has a warehouse and offi ce in this state.  
The wholesale liquor licensee must keep a complete set of records relative to that person’s alcoholic beverage 
transactions in this state.

  ▪ A person is not eligible for a wholesale beer license unless that person has a warehouse and offi ce in this state 
or in an adjoining state that permits wholesalers licensed in North Dakota to deliver beer to retailers without 
warehousing in that state.  The wholesale beer licensee must keep a complete set of records relative to that 
person’s alcoholic beverage transactions in each state.

  ▪ The Tax Department may require other information to determine if a license should be granted.

2. Application for Supplier License

 A supplier must apply for and obtain a license before engaging in the sale or shipment of alcoholic beverages to a 
liicensed North Dakota wholesaler. 

 Wholesalers already licensed in North Dakota do not need to obtain a supplier license to sell product to another 
wholesaler and must use their wholesale license number for reporting purposes.  However, any wholesaler not licensed 
in this state must obtain a supplier license so that sales can be reported.

  ▪ The supplier license application is available on the Tax Department’s web site at http://www.nd.gov/tax under 
Alcohol/Forms.  A list of all North Dakota alcohol licensees also may be found at this web site.

  ▪ There is no fee for a supplier license and no expiration date unless cancelled by the supplier or by the Tax 
Department.

  ▪ The supplier must be located in the United States.

  ▪ For any month a supplier has sales to a North Dakota wholesaler, that supplier must fi le a “Schedule A” for 
liquor sales and a “Schedule C” for beer sales, no later than the last working day of the month following the 
month of sale.  The supplier is required to use forms and formats prescribed by the Tax Department and submit 
these forms in an electronic format approved by the Tax Department.

  ▪ Reports submitted electronically, on or before the due date, are considered timely fi led.  The Tax Department 
will not accept reports submitted in a paper format.  
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  ▪ If a supplier fails to fi le the required report, the Tax Department may assess a penalty of twenty-fi ve 
dollars per month for each calendar month or fraction of a month the delinquency continues, beginning 
with the month the report was due.  

  ▪ A supplier’s license may be revoked for failure to comply with any of the provisions of Title 5, 
N.D.C.C.  There is a $100 reinstatement fee for the reissuance of the revoked license.

3. Beer and Liquor Wholesaler and Supplier Activity

 All brands purchased, sold, or distributed must bear a federally approved label (“COLA”).  A COLA should 
not be submitted to the Tax Department for approval and is not kept on fi le.

 All transactions between suppliers, wholesalers, and retailers must be documented and invoiced.

 A.  Payment:  

  ▪  Payments relating to any transactions between suppliers, wholesalers, and retailers must be made in 
cash, or its equivalent including EFT payments, money orders, and checks.  Giving or receiving any 
consideration other than cash or its equivalent is not allowed.

 B.  Inducement:

  ▪  Subject to the exceptions outlined in N.D.C.C. § 5-01-11, the act by a wholesaler or supplier of 
furnishing, giving, renting, lending, or selling at a discount any equipment, fi xtures, signs, supplies, 
money, service, or other things of value to a retailer constitutes a means to induce, including using a 
third party arrangement where the resulting benefi ts fl ow to individual retailers, and is not allowed.  
Inducement by a wholesaler or supplier includes:

  ▪ The act of paying or crediting a retailer for any advertising, display, or distribution services.  This 
includes payments or credits to retailers that are reimbursements, in full or in part, for such services 
purchased by a retailer from a third party.

  ▪ Payment to a retailer for any arrangement in which a wholesaler or supplier participates with a retailer 
in an advertisement placed by the retailer.

  ▪ Purchases from a retail concessionaire of advertising on signs, scoreboards, programs, scorecards, and 
similar items at ballparks, racetracks, or stadiums.

  ▪ Purchases of advertising in a retailer publication for distribution to consumers.

  ▪ Payment to a retailer for setting up product or other displays, display shelf space rental, or any other 
related activity.

  ▪ Requiring a retailer to accept and dispose of any product.

  ▪ Extensions of credit to a liquor retailer for a period of time in excess of thirty days from the date of 
delivery.

  ▪ Extensions of credit to a beer retailer.
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  ▪ Requiring a purchaser to accept and dispose of any quota of distilled spirits, wine, or malt beverages.

  ▪ Requiring retailers to purchase one product, or take a minimum quantity of a product, in order to obtain another 
(i.e., “tie-in sales”).  However, a wholesaler may sell two or more kinds or brands of products to a retailer as a 
special combination price, provided the retailer has the option of purchasing either product at the usual price 
and the retailer is not required to purchase any product it does not want.

 C.  Free Warehousing:  

  ▪ Furnishing free warehousing by delaying delivery of distilled spirits, wine or malt beverages beyond the time 
that payment for the product is received constitutes the furnishing of a service or thing of value.  This activity is 
prohibited under N.D.C.C. § 5-01-11.

 
  ▪ Delays by a wholesalers in the fi nal delivery of products beyond the close of the period  of time for which credit 

may be lawfully extended, constitute the furnishing of a service or thing of value.  This activity is prohibited 
under N.D.C.C. § 5-01-11.

  ▪ All products sold to a retailer and covered under one invoice must be delivered in one delivery.  

 D.  Quantity Discounts and Exchange of Alcoholic Beverages:

  ▪ Quantity discounts may not be applied to two or more retail outlets unless the retail outlets are under the same 
ownership.  

 
  ▪ Allowable quantity discounts must be refl ected on one invoice.  

  ▪ Two or more retail outlets must be under the same ownership to exchange alcoholic beverages.  Otherwise, 
these activities constitute wholesaling without a license.  

  ▪ Separate corporations, even though they share the same name, may not exchange alcoholic beverages unless 
they are one corporation.

 E.  Point of Sale Advertising Material:

  ▪ Except as provided in N.D.C.C. § 5-01-11, point of sale advertising material designed to be used at a retail 
establishment to attract consumer attention to the products of the supplier or wholesaler may not be given to 
a retailer.  These are materials that bear conspicuous and substantial advertising matter about the product, or 
the supplier or wholesaler, which is permanently inscribed or securely affi xed, and include:  posters, placards, 
designs, inside signs (electric, mechanical, or otherwise), window decorations,  trays, coasters, mats, menu 
cards, meal checks, paper napkins, foam scrapers, back bar mats, thermometers, clocks, calendars, and alcoholic 
beverage lists or menus.

 F.  Outside Signs:

  ▪ Wholesalers may furnish outside signs to retailers if the sign cost, excluding installation and repair, does not 
exceed $400.
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 G.  Consumer Advertising Specialties (Miscellaneous Materials):

  ▪ Except as provided in N.D.C.C. § 5-01-11, consumer advertising items designed to be carried away by 
the consumer may be given by wholesalers to retailers provided the items are distributed to customers 
of the retail establishment.  These are items which bear conspicuous and substantial advertising matter 
about the product, or the supplier or wholesaler, which is permanently inscribed or securely affi xed, 
and include:  trading stamps, nonalcoholic mixers, pouring racks, ash trays, bottle or can openers, cork 
screws, shopping bags, matches, printed recipes, pamphlets, cards, leafl ets, blotters, post cards,  pencils, 
shirts, caps, and visors.

  ▪ Wholesalers or suppliers may not directly or indirectly pay or credit the retailer for using or distributing 
these materials or for any expense incidental to their use.

 H.  Equipment or Supplies:

  ▪ Selling of equipment or supplies, including dispensing accessories and product  displays, does not 
constitute a means to induce if the equipment, supplies, dispensing accessories or displays are sold at a 
price not less than the cost to the supplier or wholesaler who initially purchased them or at fair market 
value, whichever refl ects the true value of the item, and the invoice for these products is paid within 
thirty days of the date of the sale.

  ▪ The installation of equipment, supplies, dispensing accessories, or displays at the retailer’s 
establishment does not constitute a prohibited inducement if the retailer bears the cost of the initial 
installation.  Examples include:

 - Equipment and supplies, such as glassware (or similar containers made of other material), carbon 
dioxide (and other gases used in dispensing equipment), or ice.

 
 - Dispensing accessories, such as standards, faucets, cold plates, rods, vents, taps, tap standards, hoses, 

washers, couplings, gas gauges, vent tongues, shanks, and check valves.

 - Product Displays, such as any wine racks, bins, barrels, casks, shelving, or similar items which hold 
and display consumer products.

  ▪ The furnishing, giving, or selling of coil cleaning services to a retailer of distilled spirits, wine, or malt 
beverages does not constitute a means to induce.

 I.  Combination Packaging: 

  ▪ When distilled spirits, wine, or malt beverages are packaged in combination with other  non-alcoholic 
items for sale to consumers, the cost of all items in the combination package must be included in the 
sale price to wholesalers and retailers to avoid being a  means to induce.

 J.  Tastings or Sampling at Retail Establishments:

  ▪ A supplier who conducts tasting or sampling activities at a retail establishment without fi rst purchasing 
the product from the retailer, must purchase the product from a licensed wholesaler.

  ▪ A wholesaler who conducts tasting or sampling activities at a retail establishment may invoice the 
product used for this activity as “samples” provided the wholesaler also remits the wholesale tax and 
alcoholic beverages gross receipts tax due on the sampled product.
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  ▪ A supplier or wholesaler may not credit a retailer for product the retailer uses for tastings or sampling events at 
the retailer’s location.   

 K.  Stocking, Rotation, and Pricing Service:

  ▪ Wholesalers may stock, rotate, and affi x the price to alcoholic beverages that they sell to a retail establishment 
provided products of other wholesalers are not altered or disturbed.  This activity must occur on the date of 
the product delivery and during regular business hours of the wholesaler.  Wholesalers and suppliers may not 
provide any service that is the normal responsibility of the retailer as it may constitute providing something of  
value prohibited under N.D.C.C. § 5-01-11.  

  ▪ Wholesalers must offer the same stocking, rotation, and pricing service to all on and off sale retailers.

 L.  Product Price:

  ▪ Wholesalers may allow quantity discounts to retailers.  However, quantity discounts may only be applied to 
retailers who are under the same ownership, and may only be applied to one invoice and not multiple invoices 
over a period of time.

  ▪ Wholesalers and suppliers may not imply or suggest a retail sales price to be charged by the retailer.

  ▪ Suppliers may not discriminate between any wholesaler they do business with in this state.  Suppliers are 
considered doing business with a wholesaler when one or more sales are made to that wholesaler during any 
calendar year.

  ▪ Suppliers must offer each wholesaler the same pricing program, including price promotions and quantity 
discounts; the same combination packages, equipment and supplies, product displays, point of sale merchandise, 
and consumer advertising specialties, without discrimination in cost or prices.  

  ▪ Suppliers may not discriminate between any wholesaler they do business with in this state because of the 
wholesaler’s location.  All pricing programs, including price promotions and quantity discounts must be net of 
actual transportation costs.  

  ▪ Wholesalers may not discriminate between retailers with which they conduct business.  Wholesalers are 
considered doing business with a retailer when one or more sales are made to that retailer during any calendar 
year.  

  ▪ Wholesalers must offer each retailer the same pricing program, including price promotions and quantity 
discounts.  Wholesalers must offer each retailer the same combination packages, equipment and supplies, 
product displays, point of sale merchandise, and consumer advertising specialties without discrimination in cost 
or prices.

  ▪ Wholesalers that make sales to other wholesalers must follow the same non-discriminatory policies as indicated 
in these Guidelines for retail transactions.

  ▪ Beer Wholesaler Sales Territories:  Beer wholesalers with more than one warehouse location in this state may 
transfer product between warehouses provided both locations are within the same product sales territory. 

   - Beer wholesalers with two or more locations under separate brewery contracts or separate sales territories 
may not buy product under one territory agreement and transfer such product to another location unless the 
product pricing is identical for both locations.
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4. Tax Imposition, Reporting, and Remittance Requirements

 Beer and Liquor Wholesalers are subject to the wholesale tax provided in N.D.C.C. § 5-03-07.  The “Schedule 
B, Liquor Wholesaler Monthly Report,” and “Schedule D, Beer Wholesaler Monthly Report,” must be 
submitted in an electronic format approved by the Tax Department.  These reports are available on the Tax 
Department’s web site at http://www.nd.gov/tax under “Alcohol/Electronic Filing.”

  ▪ Detailed records for all purchases, sales, promotions, breakage, or any other activity must be 
maintained.

  ▪ Reports must be fi led for each month, including months when zero purchases or sales activity occurred.

  ▪ Reports are due on the 15th day of the month following the month of sale.

  ▪ Reports must be electronically submitted and payments and payment vouchers must be postmarked or 
electronically transferred on or before the due date to be considered timely fi led.

  ▪ When a report due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the due date is extended to the next 
working day.

 Beer wholesalers must report and pay tax on all beer purchased.  This includes beer purchased under another 
state customer account but which is delivered to a warehouse in North Dakota and beer transferred into North 
Dakota from an out-of-state warehouse.

 Liquor wholesalers must report all alcohol purchases.  This includes purchases under another state customer 
account but delivered to any warehouse in North Dakota and liquor transferred into North Dakota from an 
out-of-state warehouse.  Liquor wholesalers must also report, in detail, all transfers of product to another 
wholesale location whether it is in-state or out-of-state.  

 A.  Beer Tax Credit:

  ▪ North Dakota beer wholesalers must report original purchases from the supplier (including out-of-state 
wholesalers) and pay the alcohol tax at that time.  If the North Dakota beer wholesaler re-sells product 
to another North Dakota wholesaler, no further reporting is necessary and no tax credit should be 
requested.  Records of these sales must be maintained at the wholesaler’s offi ce.  

  ▪ Upon satisfactory proof, a tax credit is allowed to beer wholesalers for beer purchased but which cannot 
be sold in this state.  This tax credit also applies to beer sales where the North Dakota beer wholesaler 
already paid the tax on the product and then re-sells the product to a beer wholesaler in another state.  
If a North Dakota beer wholesaler re-sells product to an out-of-state wholesaler and a tax credit is 
requested, sales must be reported on the “Schedule D” monthly report and verifi cation of payment of 
tax to the other state is required under North Dakota Administrative Code § 81-12-01-06.2  

   
 B.  Penalty:

  ▪ Wholesalers are subject to the requirements of N.D.C.C. § 5-03-06.  This law imposes a penalty for not 
fi ling a report, and penalty and interest for the failure of a wholesaler to fi le a return or corrected return 
or pay any tax on or before the due date of the return or payment.
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  ▪ A penalty of fi ve percent of the total tax due or $5.00, whichever is greater, is imposed for failure to pay the tax 
on or before the payment due date.  

  ▪ Interest of one percent of the tax due per month or fraction of a month of delay accrues, and is due, except for 
the fi rst month after the return or tax became due.

  ▪ A penalty of $100 a day is imposed for each day a report is delinquent.

  ▪ Suppliers are subject to the requirements of N.D.C.C. § 5-03-09 which imposes a penalty of $25 a month for 
each month a delinquency continues, beginning with the month the return was due.

5. Audit, Suspension, and Revocation of License

 Under N.D.C.C. § 5-03-06, the Tax Department may audit the records and premises of any wholesaler or supplier to 
determine if the licensee has fully complied with all laws, regulations and guidelines.

  ▪ Accounting records documenting the business activities for each wholesaler or supplier must be made available 
for inspection by the Tax Department upon request.

 A wholesaler or supplier may have its license suspended or revoked for a violation of any provision of the state 
alcoholic beverages laws in Title 5, N.D.C.C.    

  ▪ The provisions of the Taxpayer Bill of Rights apply to a wholesaler or supplier when determinations of 
additional tax have been made during an audit of the wholesaler or supplier.

  ▪ Prior to suspension, revocation, or denial of a wholesaler or supplier license by the Tax Department, an 
administrative hearing must be held in accordance with the Administrative Agencies Practices Act, N.D.C.C. 
chapter 28-32.

6. Retail NSF Check or Delinquent Account Notifi cation

A beer wholesaler shall notify the Tax Department and all beer wholesalers licensed in North Dakota if any check 
provided by a retailer and returned by a bank due to non-suffi cient funds (“NSF”) is not cleared within 48 hours.  No 
beer wholesaler may sell to that retail account after they have received the NSF notifi cation.

When a NSF check has been resolved, the beer wholesaler shall notify the Tax Department and all beer wholesalers 
licensed in North Dakota that the retail account is once again in good standing and may resume purchasing from 
wholesalers.

A liquor wholesaler shall notify the Tax Department and all liquor wholesalers licensed in North Dakota if any check 
provided by a retailer and returned by a bank due to non-suffi cient funds (“NSF”) is not cleared within 48 hours.  No 
liquor wholesaler may sell to that retail account after they have received the NSF notifi cation.

A liquor wholesaler having an unpaid retail account for merchandise received in excess of thirty days shall notify 
the Tax Department and all liquor wholesalers of the delinquent account.  No liquor wholesaler may sell to that retail 
account after they have received the delinquency notifi cation. 

When the NSF check or a delinquent account has been resolved, the liquor wholesaler shall notify Tax Department 
and all liquor wholesalers that the retail account is once again in good standing and may resume purchasing from 
wholesalers.
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