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Greetings!
Thank you for your interest in doing business 
in North Dakota.  I know you will find this is a 
great state in which to live and do business.  In 
addition to a tax climate that encourages growth 
and opportunity, it is a well known fact that 
North Dakota offers one of the nation’s best 
educated and most reliable workforces.

Whether you are looking for traditional tax 
incentives or innovative opportunities like the 
Renaissance Zones, you will find North Dakota 
has a lot to offer.  This brochure will help 
you learn more about these opportunities and 
discover which incentives are best suited for 
you and your business.

Whether you are already doing business in 
North Dakota or are new to the state, you will 
find that our state’s tax climate is competitive 
with any in the nation.

I encourage you to call us with your questions 
about North Dakota’s taxes.  We would like the 
chance to help you any way we can.
Sincerely,

Ryan Rauschenberger
North Dakota Tax Commissioner

A Message from Tax Commissioner 
Ryan Rauschenberger

Cover Photo Credit:
Amy Taborsky, 

North Dakota Tourism
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Tax Facts 
Doing Business in ND

You’ll find plenty of reasons why North Dakota is 
a great place to do business.  Here are just a few:

•	Our individual income tax rates - ranging from 
1.1 to 2.9 percent - are the lowest of any state 
with a broad-based income tax.*

•	Our corporate income tax rates range from 
1.41 to 4.31 percent of North Dakota taxable 
income.*  The state income is determined 
using an equally weighted three-factor 
apportionment formula.  Starting with the  
2016 tax year, corporations have been able 
to elect to use an apportionment formula that 
gives greater weight to the sales factor.

•	Passthrough entities, such as partnerships 
and S Corporations, do not pay income tax; 
instead, their profits are passed through to their 
owners.

•	North Dakota exempts many items from 
sales tax that are taxed by other states, such 
as groceries, electricity, natural gas and most 
services.

•	North Dakota exempts all personal property 
from taxation (except certain oil and gas 
refineries and utilities).  This means no tax 
on items like office equipment, inventory, 
accounts receivable or materials in process.

•	North Dakota has some of the most affordable 
workers compensation and unemployment 
insurance tax rates in the nation.

*Tax rates apply to taxable years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2015.
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Tax Facts 
Doing Business in ND

NOTICE OF DISCLOSURE
TO LEGISLATURE

Upon written request from the chairman of 
Legislative Management or a chairman of 
a standing committee of the North Dakota 
Legislative Assembly, the law requires the 
Office of State Tax Commissioner to disclose 
the amount of any tax deduction or tax credit 
earned or claimed by a taxpayer. The taxpayer’s 
name, social security number or federal employer 
identification number, or any other information 
specifically prohibited from being disclosed under 
North Dakota tax law remains confidential and 
will not be disclosed. This potential disclosure 
applies to deductions and credits earned or 
claimed on or after August 1, 2017.

A state or local tax incentive described in this 
booklet is allowed only if the taxpayer has 
satisfied all state and local tax obligations and 
tax liens of record for taxes owed to the state or a 
political subdivision. A taxpayer may be required 
to obtain a property tax clearance statement 
before claiming a state tax incentive. Before a 
city or county may grant a local tax incentive, the 
taxpayer applying for the incentive may have to 
obtain and submit a state tax clearance statement 
and a property tax clearance statement. For more 
information, see the instructions to the pertinent 
application form or tax form.

TAX INCENTIVES ARE CONTINGENT 
ON TAX COMPLIANCE
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New or Expanding Business
A business project may qualify for a property 
tax exemption for up to five years.  Two 
extensions are available:

•	 Agricultural processors may be granted 
a partial or full exemption for up to five 
additional years.

•	 A project located on property leased 
from a government entity qualifies for an 
exemption for up to five additional years 
upon annual application by the project 
operator.

In addition to, or instead of, an exemption, 
local governments and any project operator 
may negotiate payments in lieu of property 
tax for a period of up to 20 years from the date 
project operations begin.

Qualifications
To qualify, the project must be a new or 
expanding primary sector business.  “Primary 
sector” refers to a business that adds value to 
a product, process or service that produces 
new wealth in North Dakota.  All buildings, 
structures or improvements used in, or 
necessary to, the operation of the project 
qualify.  The structure might be the project’s 
buildings or the project’s quarters within a 
larger building.  Land does not qualify for an 
exemption.

A city or county with a population that is 
fewer than 40,000 may grant an exemption 
for a retail project if the voters have approved 
granting of exemptions for projects operating 
in the retail sector, and the governing body 
has set minimum criteria for granting those 
exemptions.

Property Tax Exemption
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A project is not eligible for an exemption if:
•	 a tax exemption was received under tax 

increment financing, 
•	 the governing body determines the 

exemption fosters unfair competition or 
endangers existing business, or

•	 the project operator is delinquent on any 
state or local tax obligation.

For an exemption granted after July 31, 2017, 
if a project is located in a city, the exemption 
will not apply to the county or school district’s 
portion of the property tax if either or both 
of them choose not to participate in the 
exemption.

Application Procedures
•	The project operator applies to the city 

governing body or the county commission, 
depending on the project’s location.

•	For an exemption granted after July 31, 2017, 
the project operator must provide the city or 
county a state tax clearance record and, in 
certain cases, a property tax clearance record. 

•	The application for exemption must be made 
and approved before construction of a new 
structure begins.  If an existing structure will 
be occupied, application must be made and 
approved before the structure is occupied.

•	Payments in lieu of taxes may be approved 
after construction or occupancy of a structure.

•	Nonvoting representation of affected school 
districts and townships must be included 
in the negotiation and deliberation of an 
exemption or payment in lieu of taxes.

•	The project operator must publish two 
notices in the official newspaper of the 
city or county at least one week apart if the 
appropriate governing body determines there 
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Payment in Lieu of 
Property Tax

are local competitors.  The last notice must be 
published at least 15 days, but not more than 
30 days, before the application is considered.

•	A public hearing on the application must 
be held.  After the public hearing, the 
appropriate governing body acts on the 
application.

Reference: N.D.C.C. ch. 40-57.1

North Dakota exempts all personal property 
from property taxation except that of certain oil 
and gas refineries and utilities. 
Reference: N.D.C.C. §§ 57-02-04 and 57-02-08

 
Coal Conversion Facility Privilege Tax 
Exemptions

A privilege tax, which is in lieu of property 
taxes on the facility, is imposed monthly on a 
coal conversion facility.  The land on which the 
plant is located remains subject to property tax. 

Electrical Generating Facilities
An electrical generating facility with at least 
one generating unit with a capacity of 10,000 
kilowatts or more is subject to a tax of .65 mill 
times 60 percent of installed capacity times 
the number of hours in the tax period, plus a 
tax of .25 mill per kilowatt hour of electricity 
produced for sale.  A new or repowered unit is 
exempt from the state’s share of both taxes for 

Personal Property 
Tax Exemption
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the first five years of operation, and the county 
where the plant is located may exempt all or 
part of its share of the tax based on capacity 
for up to five years.

Other Coal Conversion Facilities
A coal gasification facility that consumes, or is 
designed to use, 500,000 tons or more of coal 
per year is subject to a tax equal to the greater 
of 2 percent of gross receipts or 13½ cents on 
each 1,000 cubic feet of synthetic natural gas 
produced for sale.  Production in excess of  
110 million cubic feet per day is exempt.

For any other coal conversion facility that 
consumes, or is designed to use, 500,000 tons 
or more of coal per year, the tax is 2 percent of 
gross receipts.

A new coal conversion facility other than an 
electrical generating facility is exempt from the 
state’s share of the tax for the first five years 
of operation, and the county where the plant is 
located may exempt the county’s share of the 
tax for up to five years.

Carbon Dioxide Sale and Capture Exemptions
In computing its taxable gross receipts, a coal 
conversion facility may exclude income from 
the sale and transportation of carbon dioxide 
used in the enhanced recovery of oil or natural 
gas.

A coal conversion facility that achieves a  
20 percent capture of carbon dioxide  
emissions during a taxable period after 
December 31, 2009, is exempt from 20 percent 
of the state’s share of the tax.  An additional 
1 percent of the state’s share of the tax is 
exempted for each additional 2 percent capture 
of carbon dioxide emissions, to a maximum of 
50 percent of the state’s share of the tax.  These 
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Sales Tax Exemptions

exemptions apply for 10 years from the date of 
first capture of carbon dioxide emission or for 
10 years from the date the facility is eligible to 
receive the credit.

Reference: N.D.C.C. ch. 57-60

Agricultural Commodity Processing Plant 
Construction Materials

Construction materials used to construct an 
agricultural commodity processing facility are 
exempt from sales and use taxes.
Reference:  N.D.C.C. § 57-39.2-04.4

Carbon Dioxide for Enhanced Recovery of Oil 
and Gas

A sales tax exemption is available for 
purchasing tangible personal property used 
to construct or expand a system to compress, 
gather, collect, store, transport or inject carbon 
dioxide for use in enhanced recovery of oil or 
natural gas in North Dakota. 
Reference:  N.D.C.C. § 57-39.2-04.14

Coal Gasification By-products
A sales and use tax exemption may be granted 
for purchasing tangible personal property 
used to construct or expand a facility in North 
Dakota to extract or process by-products 
associated with coal gasification.
Reference: N.D.C.C. § 57-39.2-04.11

Coal Mine Machinery or Equipment
A sales and use tax exemption and refund 
may be granted for machinery or equipment 
used to produce coal from a new mine in 
North Dakota.  The exemption for each new 
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mine is limited to the first $5 million of sales 
and use tax paid.  The exemption extends 
to replacement machinery or equipment if 
the capitalized investment in the new mine 
exceeds $20 million. 
Reference:  N.D.C.C. § 57-39.2-04.8

Computer and Telecommunications Equipment
For primary sector businesses other than 
manufacturers and recyclers, a sales and use 
tax exemption is allowed for purchases of 
computer and telecommunications equipment.  
To qualify for exemption, the equipment must 
be an integral part of a new primary sector 
business or create an economic expansion of 
an existing business, and the primary sector 
business must be certified by the Department 
of Commerce Division of Economic 
Development and Finance.  The exemption 
does not extend to the purchase of replacement 
equipment.
Reference: N.D.C.C. § 57-39.2-04.3

Data Centers
Owners, operators, and tenants of a qualified 
data center may be granted a sales tax 
exemption on information technology 
equipment and computer software, including 
replacement equipment and software, 
purchased between January 1, 2015, and 
December 31, 2020. The exemption is limited 
to the first four qualified data centers approved 
by the Tax Commissioner. To qualify, a 
data center must be a newly constructed or 
substantially refurbished facility of at least 
sixteen thousand square feet located in North 
Dakota.
Reference:  N.D.C.C. § 57-39.2-04.13
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Electrical Generating Facilities - Coal-Powered
A sales and use tax exemption may be granted 
for purchasing building materials, production 
equipment, and other tangible personal 
property used in the construction or expansion 
of coal-powered electrical generating facilities.  
To qualify, the facility must convert coal in its 
natural form or beneficiated coal into electrical 
power and have at least one single electrical 
generation unit with a capacity of 50,000 
kilowatts or more.
Reference: N.D.C.C. §§ 57-39.2-04.2 and 57-
40.2-04.2

Electrical Generating Facilities - Other
A sales and use tax exemption may be granted 
for purchasing building materials, production 
equipment and other tangible personal property 
used in the construction or expansion of an 
electrical generating facility other than a 
coal-powered facility.  To qualify, the facility 
must produce electricity for resale or for 
consumption in a business activity and have at 
least one single electrical generation unit with 
a capacity of 100 kilowatts or more.
Reference: N.D.C.C. §§ 57-39.2-04.2 and  
57-40.2-04.2

Fertilizer and Chemical Processing Facilities
A sales tax exemption may be granted for 
purchasing tangible personal property used to 
construct a chemical or fertilizer processing 
facility and any integral component located at 
the facility site and necessary for the plant’s 
operation. The plant must produce fertilizer, 
chemicals or chemical derivatives from 
natural gas, natural gas liquids or crude oil 
components.  To qualify, the plant owner must 
receive from the State Department of Health 
by June 30, 2019, an air quality permit or a 
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notice that the air quality permit application is 
complete.
Reference: N.D.C.C. § 57-39.2-04.15

Gas Processing Facilities
A sales and use tax exemption may be granted 
for the following:
•	 purchasing building materials, equipment 	
	 and other tangible personal property 		
	 used to construct or expand a gas 		
	 processing facility  
•	 purchasing tangible personal property used 
	 to construct or expand a system to 		
	 compress, process, collect or gather gas 	
	 recovered from an oil or gas well in North 	
	 Dakota may qualify for an exemption  
•	 purchasing machinery, equipment and 	  
	 related facilities for environmental 		
	 upgrades that exceed $100,000 and 		
	 that reduce emissions, increase efficiency 	
	 or enhance reliability of equipment.
Reference: N.D.C.C. §§ 57-39.2-04.2 and  
57-39.2-04.5

Liquefied Gas Processing
A sales and use tax exemption may be granted 
for purchasing tangible personal property used 
to construct or expand a processing facility in 
North Dakota that produces liquefied natural 
gas.
Reference: N.D.C.C. § 57-39.2-04.10

Manufacturing, Agricultural or Recycling 
Equipment

A new or expanding plant may qualify for a 
sales and use tax exemption on machinery or 
equipment that is:

•	 used primarily for manufacturing or 
agricultural processing, or
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•	 used solely for recycling.
An expansion must increase production 
volume, employment or the types of products 
that can be manufactured or processed. 
Reference: N.D.C.C. § 57-39.2-04.3

Oil Refineries
A sales and use tax exemption may be granted 
for building materials, equipment and other 
tangible personal property used to construct or 
expand an oil refinery in North Dakota.   
To qualify, the facility must have a nameplate 
capacity of processing at least 5,000 barrels 
of oil per day.  In addition, purchases for 
environmental upgrades that exceed $100,000 
and that reduce emissions, increase efficiency 
or enhance reliability of equipment may also 
qualify for an exemption.
Reference: N.D.C.C. §§ 57-39.2-04.2 and  
57-39.2-04.6

	 Sales Tax Exemption Approval Process
For coal mine machinery and equipment, 
the mine operator is required to apply 
for a refund of the qualifying tax paid.  
For all other sales tax exemptions, prior 
approval must be obtained from the 
State Tax Commissioner to qualify for 
the exemption at the time of purchase.  
If prior approval is not received, the 
purchaser must pay the tax and the 
project owner may apply for a refund of 
the tax paid on any property ultimately 
approved for exemption.
Contractors that purchase and install 
or consume tangible personal property 
eligible for exemption are required to 
pay sales or use tax on all property used 
in an exempt project unless the project 
owner provides an exemption letter 
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issued by the Tax Commissioner stating 
that contractors are not liable for sales or 
use tax.  Project owners may apply for 
a refund of tax paid by contractors on 
property qualifying for exemption.

Reference:  N.D.C.C. §§ 57-39.2-04.2 
through 57-39.2-04.6, 57‑39.2‑04.8 
through 57-39.2-04.11, 57-39.2-04.13 
through 57-39.2-04.15, and 57-40.2-04.2

Biodiesel Equipment
The sale of equipment not installed by  
the seller to a facility licensed under  
N.D.C.C. § 57-43.2-05 to enable the facility 
to sell diesel fuel containing at least 2 percent 
biodiesel fuel or green diesel fuel by volume is 
exempt from sales tax.
Reference:  N.D.C.C. § 57-39.2-04(51)

Carbon Dioxide for Enhanced Oil and Gas 
Recovery

The sale of carbon dioxide to be used for 
enhanced recovery of oil or natural gas is 
exempt from sales and use tax.
Reference:  N.D.C.C. §§ 57-39.2-04(49) and  
57-40.2-04(24)

Hydrogen Generation Facility
Sales of hydrogen used to power an internal 
combustion engine or fuel cell are exempt 
from sales tax.  Equipment used directly and 
exclusively in the production and storage of 
this hydrogen by a hydrogen generation facility 
is also exempt from sales tax.
Reference:  N.D.C.C. § 57-39.2-04(50)
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A “C” corporation having income from 
business activity that is taxable in both North 
Dakota and one or more other states is required 
to apportion its business income using an 
apportionment formula with equally-weighted 
property, payroll, and sales factors. For tax 
years 2016 and after, a multistate C corporation 
may elect to use an alternative apportionment 
formula with a more heavily-weighted sales 
factor. The sales factor weighting is 50 percent 
for the 2016 and 2017 tax years, 75 percent 
for the 2018 tax year, and 100 percent for tax 
years 2019 and after. The election is binding 
for five tax years, after which it expires unless 
a new election is made. If a new election 
is not made, the standard equally-weighted 
3-factor apportionment formula must be 
used for a minimum of three tax years. For a 
unitary group, an election to use the alternative 
formula applies to all of the corporations 
included in the group.
Reference:  N.D.C.C. § 57-38.1-09

New or Expanding Business

Qualifications
A primary sector or tourism business may 
qualify for an income tax exemption for up 
to five years.  “Primary sector” refers to a 
business that adds value to a product, process 
or service that produces new wealth in North 
Dakota.  “Tourism” refers to a tourism-related 
business that is a destination attraction.  
Eligibility is limited to a new business or to an 
existing business that expands its operations 

Income Tax Exemption

Income Tax Apportionment
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in North Dakota.  A business is not eligible for 
the exemption if:

•	 the business received a property tax 
exemption under tax increment financing, 

•	 there is an outstanding tax obligation or 
recorded lien for any delinquent state or 
local tax, or  

•	 the exemption fosters unfair competition or 
endangers existing business.

Application Procedures
•	 The business must apply to the State Board 

of Equalization (State Board), c/o State Tax 
Commissioner.

•	 The application must be filed no later 
than one year after the commencement 
of operations within the new business or 
expansion.

•	 The Department of Commerce Division 
of Economic Development and Finance 
reviews the application for primary sector 
or tourism eligibility. 

•	 The business must provide notice to 
competitors as prescribed by the State 
Board.

•	 At a public meeting, the State Board 
considers the application and any 
testimony, and grants or denies the 
exemption.

Reference:  N.D.C.C. ch. 40-57.1
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Note: For all income tax credits, unless 
otherwise stated, the term “taxpayer” includes an 
individual, estate, trust, partnership, corporation 
and limited liability corporation.

Agricultural Commodity Processing Facility 
Investment Credit

A taxpayer is allowed an income tax credit for 
investing in a qualified agricultural commodity 
processing facility certified by the Department 
of Commerce Division of Economic 
Development and Finance.  

An agricultural commodity processing facility 
includes a livestock feeding, handling, milking 
or holding operation that uses as part of its 
operation a by-product produced at a biofuels 
production facility.  

To qualify, an investment must consist of 
an exchange of cash or a fee simple interest 
in North Dakota real property for an equity 
(ownership) interest in the facility.  

The credit is equal to 30 percent of the 
investment.  No more than $50,000 of credits 
may be used in any year.  An unused credit 
may be carried forward up to ten years.  A 
taxpayer is allowed no more than $250,000 
of credits for all tax years.  If the taxpayer is 
a passthrough entity, such as a partnership or 
S corporation, the credit is passed through to 
its owners in proportion to their respective 
interests in the entity.

Reference:  N.D.C.C. ch. 57-38.6

Income Tax Credits
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Income Tax Credits Angel Investor Investment Tax Credit

	 Note: This credit replaces the “angel fund” 	
	 investment tax credit, effective for angel 	  
	 funds organized and certified, and for 		
	 qualified investments made, on or after  
	 July 1, 2017.

An income tax credit is available to individuals 
who set up a North Dakota angel fund for 
the purpose of pooling their monies to make 
qualified investments in qualified businesses. 
To take advantage of the program, both the 
angel fund and qualified business must be 
certified by the Department of Commerce 
Division of Economic Development and 
Finance. A qualified investment means a 
transaction in which the angel fund exchanges 
cash for either an equity interest in a qualified 
business or a debt instrument with a mandatory 
conversion to equity provision issued by a 
qualified business. 

A qualified business is a nonpublicly-traded 
for-profit entity with annual revenues of  
$10 million or less that is engaged in research 
or development of new products or processes. 
A qualified business does not include an entity 
that invests in, or derives income from, real 
estate holdings or operations.

The amount of the credit depends on whether 
the qualified investment is made in an in-state 
or out-of-state qualified business. An in-state 
qualified business is one that is created under 
North Dakota law, has its principal office in 
North Dakota, and carries on the majority of 
its business activity (except sales activity) in 
North Dakota. It also includes an out-of-state 
qualified business that has a significant satellite 
operation in North Dakota that employs, or is 
projected to employ, over 10 employees.  
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At least 50 percent of qualified investments 
must be made in in-state qualified businesses.

The credit is allowed to each angel investor 
member of the angel fund who participates in 
a qualified investment. The credit is equal to 
the member’s contribution to the total amount 
invested by the angel fund multiplied by the 
applicable credit rate. The applicable credit 
rate is 35 percent for an in-state qualified 
business and 25 percent for an out-of-state 
qualified business. The maximum credit 
allowed to an angel investor for all qualified 
investments made in a tax year is $45,000. An 
unused credit may be carried forward up to  
5 tax years.

If an angel fund’s members include a 
partnership or other passthrough entity, the 
owners of the passthrough entity who are 
individuals are allowed to claim a share of 
the passthrough entity’s credit based on their 
respective interests in the passthrough entity.

For qualified investments made on or after  
July 1, 2017, an angel investor is allowed 
no more than $500,000 of credits under the 
program.

 Reference: N.D.C.C. § 57-38-01.26

Automation Credit

	 Note: This credit expires on  
	 December 31, 2017, and is not allowed for 	
	 purchases made on or after January 1, 2018.

A taxpayer is allowed an income tax credit 
for the purchase or capital lease of machinery 
and equipment to automate a manufacturing 
process in North Dakota.  To qualify, the 
business must be certified as a primary sector 
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business and the machinery and equipment 
must be approved by the Department 
of Commerce Division of Economic 
Development and Finance.  The credit is equal 
to 20 percent of the cost of the machinery 
and equipment.  For a capital lease, the credit 
equals 20 percent of the fair market value of 
the machinery and equipment at the inception 
of the lease.  An unused credit may be carried 
forward up to five tax years.  If the taxpayer 
is a passthrough entity, such as a partnership 
or S corporation, the credit is passed through 
to its owners in proportion to their respective 
interests in the entity. 

The credit allowed to a corporation included 
in a consolidated North Dakota income tax 
return may be used to reduce the aggregate tax 
liability of all corporations in the return.  

The total credits allowed for all qualifying 
purchases by all taxpayers is limited to 
$500,000 for the 2017 calendar year. This 
amount is prorated among the taxpayers if 
the qualifying purchases result in credits 
exceeding $500,000. 

Reference: N.D.C.C. § 57-38-01.33

Tax Credits for Producing or Blending 
Biodiesel or Green Diesel, and for Crushing 
Soybeans or Canola

A C corporation is allowed an income tax 
credit for adapting or adding equipment to 
retrofit a facility or to construct a new facility 
in North Dakota that either (1) produces or 
blends biodiesel fuel or green diesel fuel or (2) 
crushes soybeans or canola.  The credit is equal 
to 10 percent of the direct costs incurred, and 
is allowed in each of five tax years, starting 
with the tax year in which the production, 
blending or crushing begins.  An unused credit 
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may be carried forward up to five tax years.  A 
corporation is allowed no more than $250,000 
of credits for all tax years.
Reference:  N.D.C.C. § 57-38-30.6

A licensed supplier of biodiesel fuel or green 
diesel fuel having at least a 5 percent blend is 
allowed an income tax credit for blending the 
fuel in North Dakota.  The credit is equal to 
5 cents for each gallon blended.  An unused 
credit may be carried forward up to five tax 
years.  

A licensed seller of biodiesel fuel or green 
diesel fuel having at least a 2 percent blend 
is allowed an income tax credit for adapting 
or adding equipment to the seller’s facility in 
North Dakota to enable it to sell the biodiesel 
or green diesel blend.  The credit is equal to 
10 percent of the direct costs incurred, and 
is allowed in each of five tax years, starting 
with the tax year in which the facility begins 
selling the biodiesel fuel or green diesel fuel.  
An unused credit may be carried forward up to 
five tax years.  A seller is allowed no more than 
$50,000 of credits for all years.

For the biodiesel and green diesel supplier 
and seller credits only: If the supplier or seller 
is a passthrough entity, such as a partnership 
or S corporation, the credit is passed through 
to the entity’s owners in proportion to their 
respective interests in the entity.

Reference:  N.D.C.C. §§ 57-38-01.22 and  
57-38-01.23

Internship Employment Credit
A taxpayer is allowed an income tax credit for 
employing an individual under an internship 
program located in North Dakota.  An intern 
must be enrolled in a college or vocational 
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technical education program majoring in a field 
related to the work to be performed, and must 
be supervised and evaluated by the employer.  
The internship must qualify for academic 
credit.  
The credit is equal to 10 percent of the 
compensation paid to the intern.  The credit 
is allowed for up to five interns employed at 
the same time.  An employer is allowed no 
more than $3,000 of credits for all tax years.  
In the case of a passthrough entity, such as 
a partnership or S corporation, the credit is 
passed through to its owners in proportion to 
their respective interests in the entity. 

Reference: N.D.C.C. § 57-38-01.24

Research Expense Credit
A taxpayer is allowed an income tax credit 
for conducting research in North Dakota.  The 
credit is equal to a percentage of the excess of 
qualified research expenses in North Dakota 
over the base amount in North Dakota.  

“Qualified research expenses” and “base 
amount” have the same meaning as defined 
under federal income tax law (I.R.C. § 41).  
The applicable percentage is 25 percent for the 
first $100,000 of excess expenses in a tax year.  
For excess expenses over $100,000 in a year, 
the applicable percentage for tax years 2007 
through 2016 is:

•	 20 percent, if qualified research in North 
Dakota first begins in 2007 through 2010, 
or

•	 7.5 percent for 2007, 11 percent for 2008, 
14.5 percent for 2009, and 18 percent for 
2010 through 2016, if qualified research in 
North Dakota began before 2007, or

•	 8 percent, if qualified research in North 
Dakota first begins after 2010.
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For tax years after 2016, the applicable 
percentage for excess expenses over $100,000 
in a year is 8 percent for all taxpayers, 
regardless of when qualified research  
first begins.  For taxpayers who began  
qualified research in North Dakota before  
January 1, 2007, the maximum credit allowed 
in any year is $2 million, and any credit over 
this amount is not allowed in any year.  In 
the case of a passthrough entity, such as a 
partnership or S corporation, the credit is 
passed through to its owners in proportion to 
their respective interests in the entity.

The credit allowed to a corporation included 
in a consolidated North Dakota income tax 
return may be used to reduce the aggregate 
tax liability of all corporations in the return.  
This does not apply to tax credits received or 
purchased from other taxpayers.

An unused credit may be carried back three 
tax years and carried forward up to fifteen 
tax years.  A taxpayer that is certified as a 
qualified research and development company 
by the Department of Commerce Division of 
Economic Development and Finance may elect 
to transfer up to $100,000 of its unused credits 
to another taxpayer. To qualify, a taxpayer 
must satisfy all of the following conditions:

•	 The taxpayer is an individual,  
“C” corporation, estate or trust.

•	 The taxpayer is a primary sector business.
•	 The taxpayer’s annual gross revenues are 

less than $750,000.
•	 The taxpayer conducts qualified research in 

North Dakota for the first time on or after 
January, 1, 2017.

Reference:  N.D.C.C.  § 57-38-30.5
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Seed Capital Investment Credit
A taxpayer is allowed an income tax credit for 
investing in a qualified business as certified 
by the Department of Commerce Division 
of Economic Development and Finance.  A 
taxpayer holding a controlling interest in, 
or deriving over 50 percent of annual gross 
income from, a qualified business is not 
eligible for the credit. 

A qualified investment means an exchange 
of cash for an equity (ownership) interest in 
the qualified business. The credit is equal 
to 45 percent of the investment.  No more 
than $112,500 of credits may be used in any 
tax year.  An unused credit may be carried 
forward up to four tax years.  If the taxpayer 
is a passthrough entity, such as a partnership 
or S corporation, or an angel fund, the credit 
is passed through to the entity’s owners or 
the fund’s members in proportion to their 
respective interests in the entity.

Only the first $500,000 of eligible investments 
in a qualified business are eligible for the 
tax credit.  The total amount of tax credits 
allowed for investments made in all qualified 
businesses in any calendar year is limited to 
$3.5 million.

Reference:  N.D.C.C. ch. 57-38.5

Workforce Recruitment Credit
A taxpayer is allowed an income tax credit for 
employing extraordinary recruitment methods 
to recruit and hire employees for hard-to-fill 
positions in North Dakota.  The credit is equal 
to 5 percent of the compensation paid during 
the first 12 consecutive months to an employee 
hired to fill a hard-to-fill employment position, 
and is allowed in the first tax year following 
the tax year in which the employee completes 
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the 12 consecutive month employment period.  
An unused credit may be carried forward up 
to four tax years.  In the case of a passthrough 
entity, such as a partnership or S corporation, 
the credit is passed through to its owners in 
proportion to their respective interest in the 
entity.

To qualify, an employer must pay an annual 
salary that is at least 125 percent of North 
Dakota’s average wage and must have 
employed all of the following recruitment 
methods for at least six months to fill a 
position for which the credit is claimed: 

•	 Contracted with a professional recruiter 	
for a fee.

•	 Advertised in a professional trade journal, 
magazine or other publication directed at a 
particular trade or profession. 

•	 Provided employment information on 		
a website for a fee.

•	 Paid a signing bonus, moving expenses or 
atypical fringe benefits.  

In addition, if an employer claims the credit, 
the employee hired in the hard-to-fill position 
is allowed a deduction for the signing bonus, 
moving expenses, or atypical fringe benefits 
paid by the employer that are included in the 
employee’s federal taxable income. 

Reference: N.D.C.C. §§ 57-38-01.25 and  
57-38-30.3(2)
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Income and property tax incentives are 
available to taxpayers for engaging in 
qualifying zone projects, or for investing in a 
renaissance fund organization set up to provide 
financing to projects, in a North Dakota 
renaissance zone.  A zone project generally 
consists of a purchase, lease or improvement to 
real estate located in the zone.  A renaissance 
zone is a designated area within a city that is 
approved by the Department of Commerce 
Division of Community Services.   

For more information, contact the local zone 
authority for the city having a designated 
zone, the Department of Commerce Division 
of Community Services, or the Office of State 
Tax Commissioner.

Reference:  N.D.C.C. ch. 40-63

A program is available to assist a new or 
expanding primary sector business with 
training the employees hired to fill the new job 
positions it creates.  The cost of the training 
under the program is paid for in whole or in 
part with the income tax withheld from the 
wages paid to the employees in the new job 
positions.  For more information about this 
program, contact Job Service North Dakota.
Reference:  N.D.C.C. ch. 52-02.1

Renaissance Zones

Jobs Training Assistance
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Want to know more about doing 
business in North Dakota? 

Department of Commerce
	 PO Box 2057
	 Bismarck ND  58503-2057
	 Phone:	701.328.5300
	 Email:	 commerce@nd.gov
	 www.commerce.nd.gov

Department of Health
	 600 E Boulevard Ave.
	 Bismarck ND  58505-0200
	 Phone:	701.328.2392
	 Email:	 health@nd.gov
	 www.ndhealth.gov

Job Service North Dakota
	 PO Box 5507
	 Bismarck ND  58506-5507
	 Phone:	701.328.2825   or   800.366.6888
	 Email:	 jsndweb@nd.gov
	 www.jobsnd.com

Office of State Tax Commissioner
	 600 E Boulevard Ave. Dept. 127
	 Bismarck ND  58505-0599
	 Phone:	701.328.7088
	 Email:	 taxinfo@nd.gov
	 www.nd.gov/tax

Contact Information
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