


Greetings from North Dakota
Tax Commissioner Ryan Rauschenberger

				    Welcome to the 2014 Edition of North Dakota State and Local Taxes: An Overview and 		
				    Comparative Guide (a.k.a. The Red Book).

Individuals, businesses and government across North Dakota are working together, building for our tomorrow.  
This has brought about a period of extraordinary growth.  Our population is growing, surpassing the all-time high set 
decades ago.  North Dakota is number one in personal income growth and number two in per capita personal income 
growth, and continues to have the lowest unemployment rate in the nation – just under three percent for every month 
in 2014.  

Additionally, in 2013 Forbes ranked North Dakota as the second best state for business and careers.  The Bureau  
of Economic Analysis ranked North Dakota number one in Economic Growth in 2013.  All major industry sectors 
grew in 2013, consumer confidence is healthy and cities from west to east are reporting strong gains.  Wherever you 
go across the state, you will notice construction projects in progress.  All of this leads to a happy state.  According to 
the annual Gallup ranking, in 2013 North Dakota was ranked the happiest state in the nation.

These extraordinary times have led to record revenue collections, too, which is remarkable when you consider what 
has been happening nationally.  For example, during the first 15 months of the 2013-15 biennium, North Dakota’s 
Sales and Use tax collections increased 15 percent compared to the previous biennium.  For Individual Income Tax, 
that increase is 20 percent; and for Corporate Income Tax the increase is 36 percent.  An important note to make 
about the increase in income tax collections is that the growth occurred even though significant income tax rate 
reductions were enacted for 2013.

The Red Book is designed for anyone who wants to learn more about North Dakota’s taxes.  It brings together the 
tax laws, a historical perspective of those taxes, and combines the latest data with comparisons and rankings with 
other states.  This version contains the most recent statistical data available as of December 2014. 

I am always interested in hearing from you.  Please feel free to share with me your suggestions and input concerning 
North Dakota taxes and our department.

Sincerely,

Ryan Rauschenberger
Tax Commissioner

Cover Photo Credit:
Gerald Blank, North Dakota Tourism
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This chapter contains historical comparisons of North Dakota revenue.  General Fund information is given, 
as well as trends in collections.  

(PROJECTED)
2013-2015 Biennium

$5.785 Billion
2011-2013 Biennium

$5.155 Billion

2013-15 General Fund Appropriations (1)

Total = $6.863 Billion
2011-13 General Fund Expenditures By Program

Total = $4.428 Billion

(1) This is the amount appropriated by the 2013 Legislative Assembly.  Actual expenditures will vary from appropriated levels.

SOURCE:  Office of Management and Budget.

REVENUE OVERVIEW

Comparison of Revenue Sources 
Percent of Total - State General Fund
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*	 Based on the November 2014 revised forecast.  

(1)	 A portion of sales, use and motor vehicle excise taxes is deposited in the State Aid Distribution Fund (S.A.D.F.) and that revenue is not included 
in this table. As of July 1, 2014, the portion is 43.5% x 1% ÷ general sales tax rate, or 8.7% of all sales, use, and motor vehicle excise taxes.  

(2)		 Federal Fiscal Relief payments deposited in the State General Fund.
(3)	 N.D.C.C. § 54-27.2-02 provides that any end of biennium balance in excess of $65.0 million must be transferred to the Budget Stabilization 

Fund, up to a cap of 9.5% of appropriations.  The current balance is $583.5 million.  The actual transfer will be dependent upon the level of 
appropriations authorized by the 2015 Legislature.  

State General Fund Budget by Revenue Sources
2003-05 through 2013-15 Biennia (in Millions)

Revenue Sources
Biennium Revenues Projected

2013-15
Biennium*2003-2005 2005-2007 2007-2009 2009-2011 2011-2013

INTEREST, MINERAL LEASES, TRANSFERS
  -	 Interest Income
  -	 Mineral Leasing Fees
  -	 Bank of ND Profits Transfer
  -	 State Mill Profits Transfer
  -	 Gas Tax Administration Transfer
  -	 Other Transfers

6.935
11.025
60.000
5.000
1.396

91.412

36.507
13.960
60.000
5.000
1.400

88.310

49.506
25.307
60.000
0.000
1.274

133.277

43.685
17.522
0.000

13.902
1.288

1,164.493

13.671
43.052
0.000
9.449
1.485

600.253

19.930
36.792
0.000
6.817
1.777

861.970

SALES, USE AND MOTOR VEHICLE (1) 845.768 967.653 1,176.637 1,391.636 2,449.703 2,824.678 

INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX 452.547 587.659 681.704 729.256 1,046.161 951.143 

CORPORATION INCOME TAX 102.927 232.294 239.696 234.364 385.815 481.516 

OIL TAXES 71.000 71.000 71.000 71.000 300.000 300.000 

COAL TAXES 47.197 49.218 49.439 39.064 38.399 38.875 

CIGARETTE AND TOBACCO TAXES 39.477 44.683 45.231 46.253 53.724 59.567 

INSURANCE PREMIUM TAX 56.285 52.873 64.389 63.151 82.858 84.927 

WHOLESALE LIQUOR TAX 11.889 12.788 14.077 15.164 17.618 18.335 

BUSINESS PRIVILEGE TAX/FINANCIAL  
INSTITUTIONS TAX 4.959 9.702 10.486 6.749 11.237 (4.871)

GAMING TAXES 20.851 17.986 20.042 16.190 11.136 7.098 

LOTTERY 7.269 12.600 11.055 10.400 14.300 15.200 

DEPARTMENTAL FEES & COLLECTIONS 61.005 53.781 62.143 68.578 76.994 81.912 

OTHER (2) 56.457

TOTAL GENERAL FUND REVENUES 1,953.399 2,317.414 2,715.263 3,932.695 5,155.855 5,785.667

BEGINNING BALANCE 14.790 68.015 295.541 361.894 996.833 1,396.059 

REVENUES AND BEGINNING BALANCE 1,968.189 2,385.429 3,010.805 4,294.589 6,152.688 7,181.726 

FUNDS RELATED TO PRIOR BIENNIUM  
CARRY-OVER AND ADJUSTMENTS 7.139 8.728 17.151 77.145 106.955 255.377 

REVENUE AVAILABLE DURING BIENNIUM 1,975.328 2,394.157 3,027.955 4,371.734 6,259.643 7,437.103 

GENERAL FUND EXPENDITURES 1,798.211 1,978.386 2,458.012 3,199.549 4,427.640 6,756.088 

TRANSFER TO BUDGET STABILIZATION FUND 99.473 100.527 124.937 61.415 181.061 

NET CARRYOVER OBLIGATIONS ANDADJUSTMENTS 9.629 19.703 83.112 113.937 254.883 

UNOBLIGATED ENDING BALANCE 68.015 295.541 361.894 996.833 1,396,059 681.015 (3)
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*Totals may not sum due to rounding.

SOURCE:  Office of State Tax Commissioner.

Tax Type	 2004	 2005	 2006	 2007	 2008	 2009	 2010	 2011	 2012	 2013	 2014

Sales & Use	 441.4	 480.6	 495.6	 556.0	 611.6	 683.6	 684.1	 791.7	 1,254.1	 1,408.9	 1,470.1

Individual Income	 214.1	 241.3	 274.6	 318.4	 308.9	 378.1	 304.3	 429.9	 432.2	 617.9	 516.1

Corporate Income	 40.3	 62.7	 111.8	 120.0	 140.7	 99.0	 87.9	 146.5	 198.7	 187.1	 239.4
	
Oil Extraction	 25.6	 45.6	 61.8	 67.2	 182.4	 185.8	 280.6	 505.6	 865.1	 1,277.4	 1,754.8

Gross Production	 47.5	 74.0	 104.4	 118.8	 209.4	 221.5	 302.1	 481.1	 795.7	 1,130.4	 1,493.0
	
Coal Taxes	 40.6	 37.7	 39.8	 40.9	 39.0	 41.6	 37.7	 34.4	 36.4	 35.9	 36.2

Motor Fuels	 119.9	 122.2	 134.1	 140.0	 144.0	 144.5	 151.7	 171.6	 205.2	 212.3	 228.7

Other Taxes & Fees	 121.9	 135.5	 148.0	 158.5	 165.3	 177.7	 183.6	 221.3	 277.4	 300.6	 320.7

Total Net Collections*	 1,051.3	 1,199.7	 1,370.0	 1,519.8	 1,801.3	 1,931.8	 2,032.0	 2,782.1	 4,064.1	 5,170.5	 6,059.0

Other Taxes & Fees

Motor Fuels

Coal Taxes

Gross Production

Oil Extraction

Corporate Income

Individual Income

Sales & Use

Office of State Tax Commissioner Net Collections
Fiscal Years 2004-2014

2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014

Millions  
of Dollars
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		  State	 Individual		  Local
	Fiscal	 Sales &	 Income	 Property	 Sales &
	Year	 Use Tax	 Tax	 Tax*	 Use Tax**
	2004	 368,323,637	 214,145,899	  586,412,017	 68,644,864
	2005	 411,553,514	 241,319,731	 618,065,693	 78,761,154
	2006	 428,906,406	 274,621,741	 659,789,376	 87,563,544
	2007	 485,986,114	 318,433,494	 706,427,621	 92,143,032
	2008	 530,283,623	 308,889,352	 740,540,738	 96,566,720
	2009	 607,170,311	 378,135,463	 776,398,475	 108,264,455
	2010	 603,732,481	 304,252,924	 678,749,378	 119,411,810
	2011	 791,691,834	 429,899,506	 721,988,244	 144,237,942
	2012	 1,139,782,929	 432,191,803	 757,769,004	 191,754,625
 2013	 1,267,030,354	 617,933,162	 814,941,905	 206,247,609
 2014	 1,320,167,042	 516,139,885	 786,233,820	 228,776,287

*Ad valorem tax only; does not include special taxes or special assessments.  Does not reflect the 	
	12% state-paid credit for 2014.
**The local sales tax figures do not include city occupancy or city restaurant and lodging taxes.

SOURCE:  Office of State Tax Commissioner.
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This chapter provides a comparison of overall tax levels between the states.*  There are a variety of ways 
to rank and compare state taxes.  We have used a number of different sources to give you a broad range of 
research.  Each measurement provides insights, but also has limitations.  Please contact the Office of State 
Tax Commissioner for more information about the various measurements.

SOURCE:		 State & Local Government Finances by Level of Government by State: 2011-12  www.census.gov/govs/statetax 

*	 The rankings of specific types of taxes are found throughout this publication.  Those comparisons are located within the chapter relating to that particular type 
of tax.

	 State	 Local

State Comparisons

State vs. Local Tax Collections
Regional Comparison - 2011-2012

United States 
Average
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Each state's total tax burden (taxes as a percentage of income) is a combination of federal, state, and local tax burdens.  It can 
be instructive to strip out federal taxes and compare just the state and local tax burdens.  Generally, high-income states rise 
because, with their high costs of living and commensurately higher salaries, they are hit harder by the progressive federal 
income tax.  Low-income states that have high state-local tax burdens fall in the ranking when federal taxes are added in.

SOURCE:  State Government Tax Collections: 2013, www.census.gov/govs/statetax, US Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of Economic 			 
	 Analysis, Regional Economic Accounts, www.bea.gov/regional 

Comparing the 50 States' Combined State/Local Tax Burdens in 2013
(Measuring Taxes as a Percentage of Income)

State and Local Total Rank Change  After 
Adding Federal TaxesTax Burden Rank Tax Burden Rank

Alaska 13.9% 1 Alaska 28.3% 13 12
North Dakota 13.8% 2 North Dakota 33.4% 4 2
Vermont 10.1% 3 Vermont 24.3% 26 23
Hawaii 9.6% 4 Hawaii 20.8% 40 36
Minnesota 8.2% 5 Minnesota 43.4% 2 -3
West Virginia 8.2% 6 West Virginia 18.5% 46 40
Delaware 8.1% 7 Delaware 56.5% 1 -6
Arkansas 7.9% 8 Arkansas 34.4% 3 -5
Connecticut 7.4% 9 Connecticut 32.0% 7 -2
Mississippi 7.3% 10 Mississippi 17.6% 49 39
California 7.2% 11 California 25.2% 21 10
Maine 7.1% 12 Maine 19.6% 43 31
Wyoming 7.1% 13 Wyoming 24.3% 24 11
New Mexico 6.9% 14 New Mexico 18.3% 47 33
New York 6.9% 15 New York 28.5% 12 -3
Kentucky 6.8% 16 Kentucky 24.2% 27 11
Indiana 6.7% 17 Indiana 26.8% 14 -3
Wisconsin 6.7% 18 Wisconsin 25.3% 20 2
Montana 6.6% 19 Montana 19.1% 44 25
Michigan 6.5% 20 Michigan 24.3% 25 5
Nevada 6.4% 21 Nevada 20.9% 39 18
Illinois 6.4% 22 Illinois 29.0% 11 -11
North Carolina 6.2% 23 North Carolina 23.6% 30 7
Massachusetts 6.2% 24 Massachusetts 29.8% 10 -14
Idaho 6.1% 25 Idaho 21.0% 38 13
Iowa 6.1% 26 Iowa 21.4% 37 11
Utah 6.0% 27 Utah 22.6% 33 6
Rhode Island 6.0% 28 Rhode Island 32.3% 6 -22
Kansas 5.9% 29 Kansas 25.2% 22 -7
New Jersey 5.9% 30 New Jersey 31.9% 9 -21
Oregon 5.8% 31 Oregon 22.3% 35 4
Pennsylvania 5.8% 32 Pennsylvania 26.2% 16 -16
Ohio 5.8% 33 Ohio 32.0% 8 -25
Maryland 5.7% 34 Maryland 23.3% 32 -2
Washington 5.6% 35 Washington 23.6% 29 -6
Oklahoma 5.5% 36 Oklahoma 24.2% 28 -8
Arizona 5.5% 37 Arizona 20.5% 41 4
Nebraska 5.4% 38 Nebraska 32.4% 5 -33
Alabama 5.3% 39 Alabama 18.7% 45 6
South Carolina 5.1% 40 South Carolina 17.0% 50 10
Louisiana 4.8% 41 Louisiana 25.9% 18 -23
Tennessee 4.8% 42 Tennessee 25.8% 19 -23
Virginia 4.8% 43 Virginia 22.4% 34 -9
Georgia 4.7% 44 Georgia 24.4% 23 -21
Colorado 4.6% 45 Colorado 23.4% 31 -14
Missouri 4.5% 46 Missouri 26.7% 15 -31
Texas 4.5% 47 Texas 26.0% 17 -30
Florida 4.3% 48 Florida 21.7% 36 -12
South Dakota 3.9% 49 South Dakota 20.2% 42 -7
New Hampshire 3.5% 50 New Hampshire 18.3% 48 -2
U.S. Average 5.4% U.S. Average 22.4%



7December 2014

	 Per	 Per	 Per		  Total	 Federal	 State/Local	 Total Taxes	 State & Local
	 Capita	 Capita	 Capita	 Per	 Taxes as	 Taxes as	 Taxes as	 as % of	 Taxes as %
	 Total	 Federal	 State/Local	 Capita	 % of	 % of	 % of	 Income	 of Income
	 Taxes	 Taxes	 Taxes	 Income	 Income	 Income	 Income	 Rank	 Rank

United States	 10,035	 7,639	 2,395	 44,765	 22.4%	 17.1%	 5.4%	 -	 -
Alabama	 6,833	 4,916	 1,917	 36,481	 18.7%	 13.5%	 5.3%	 47	 38
Alaska	 14,184	 7,201	 6,983	 50,150	 28.3%	 14.4%	 13.9%	 4	 1
Arizona	 7,581	 5,548	 2,033	 36,983	 20.5%	 15.0%	 5.5%	 39	 41
Arkansas	 12,625	 9,724	 2,902	 36,698	 34.4%	 26.5%	 7.9%	 3	 9
California	 12,199	 8,724	 3,474	 48,434	 25.2%	 18.0%	 7.2%	 18	 11
Colorado	 10,969	 8,834	 2,135	 46,897	 23.4%	 18.8%	 4.6%	 29	 47
Connecticut	 19,422	 14,934	 4,487	 60,658	 32.0%	 24.6%	 7.4%	 8	 18
Delaware	 25,306	 21,688	 3,618	 44,815	 56.5%	 48.4%	 8.1%	 1	 7
Florida	 8,989	 7,220	 1,769	 41,497	 21.7%	 17.4%	 4.3%	 37	 46
Georgia	 9,217	 7,436	 1,781	 37,845	 24.4%	 19.6%	 4.7%	 32	 44
Hawaii	 9,425	 5,085	 4,340	 45,204	 20.8%	 11.2%	 9.6%	 41	 6
Idaho	 7,598	 5,378	 2,220	 36,146	 21.0%	 14.9%	 6.1%	 43	 24
Illinois	 13,646	 10,640	 3,005	 46,980	 29.0%	 22.6%	 6.4%	 12	 37
Indiana	 10,337	 7,761	 2,577	 38,622	 26.8%	 20.1%	 6.7%	 15	 20
Iowa	 9,568	 6,857	 2,710	 44,763	 21.4%	 15.3%	 6.1%	 36	 32
Kansas	 11,178	 8,545	 2,633	 44,417	 25.2%	 19.2%	 5.9%	 26	 28
Kentucky	 8,774	 6,313	 2,461	 36,214	 24.2%	 17.4%	 6.8%	 23	 14
Louisiana	 10,683	 8,689	 1,994	 41,204	 25.9%	 21.1%	 4.8%	 13	 39
Maine	 8,004	 5,079	 2,925	 40,924	 19.6%	 12.4%	 7.1%	 38	 10
Maryland	 12,557	 9,501	 3,056	 53,826	 23.3%	 17.7%	 5.7%	 30	 35
Massachusetts	 17,087	 13,516	 3,571	 57,248	 29.8%	 23.6%	 6.2%	 9	 23
Michigan	 9,499	 6,964	 2,535	 39,055	 24.3%	 17.8%	 6.5%	 28	 17
Minnesota	 20,615	 16,735	 3,880	 47,500	 43.4%	 35.2%	 8.2%	 2	 8
Mississippi	 5,962	 3,487	 2,475	 33,913	 17.6%	 10.3%	 7.3%	 48	 12
Missouri	 10,846	 9,003	 1,843	 40,663	 26.7%	 22.1%	 4.5%	 17	 45
Montana	 7,528	 4,923	 2,606	 39,366	 19.1%	 12.5%	 6.6%	 46	 21
Nebraska	 15,260	 12,735	 2,525	 47,157	 32.4%	 27.0%	 5.4%	 14	 36
Nevada	 8,202	 5,684	 2,519	 39,235	 20.9%	 14.5%	 6.4%	 40	 22
New Hampshire	 9,352	 7,560	 1,791	 51,013	 18.3%	 14.8%	 3.5%	 45	 49
New Jersey	 17,657	 14,389	 3,267	 55,386	 31.9%	 26.0%	 5.9%	 6	 27
New Mexico	 6,594	 4,099	 2,495	 35,965	 18.3%	 11.4%	 6.9%	 44	 13
New York	 15,549	 11,800	 3,749	 54,462	 28.5%	 21.7%	 6.9%	 10	 15
North Carolina	 9,126	 6,712	 2,414	 38,683	 23.6%	 17.4%	 6.2%	 25	 19
North Dakota	 17,787	 10,459	 7,329	 53,182	 33.4%	 19.7%	 13.8%	 11	 2
Ohio	 13,142	 10,780	 2,362	 41,049	 32.0%	 26.3%	 5.8%	 5	 31
Oklahoma	 10,114	 7,805	 2,309	 41,861	 24.2%	 18.6%	 5.5%	 27	 34
Oregon	 8,874	 6,543	 2,331	 39,848	 22.3%	 16.4%	 5.8%	 34	 33
Pennsylvania	 12,084	 9,425	 2,659	 46,202	 26.2%	 20.4%	 5.8%	 16	 25
Rhode Island	 15,163	 12,368	 2,795	 46,989	 32.3%	 26.3%	 6.0%	 7	 26
South Carolina	 6,108	 4,282	 1,826	 35,831	 17.0%	 12.0%	 5.1%	 50	 40
South Dakota	 9,291	 7,476	 1,815	 46,039	 20.2%	 16.2%	 3.9%	 49	 50
Tennessee	 10,203	 8,299	 1,904	 39,558	 25.8%	 21.0%	 4.8%	 20	 43
Texas	 11,405	 9,449	 1,955	 43,862	 26.0%	 21.5%	 4.5%	 21	 48
Utah	 8,268	 6,087	 2,182	 36,640	 22.6%	 16.6%	 6.0%	 33	 30
Vermont	 11,044	 6,453	 4,592	 45,483	 24.3%	 14.2%	 10.1%	 24	 3
Virginia	 10,963	 8,640	 2,323	 48,838	 22.4%	 17.7%	 4.8%	 35	 42
Washington	 11,268	 8,590	 2,678	 47,717	 23.6%	 18.0%	 5.6%	 22	 29
West Virginia	 6,568	 3,667	 2,901	 35,533	 18.5%	 10.3%	 8.2%	 42	 5
Wisconsin	 10,953	 8,076	 2,877	 43,244	 25.3%	 18.7%	 6.7%	 19	 16
Wyoming	 12,850	 9,100	 3,750	 52,826	 24.3%	 17.2%	 7.1%	 31	 4

SOURCE:  State Government Tax Collections: 2013, www.census.gov/govs/statetax, US Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of Economic Analysis, 	
	 Regional Economic Accounts, www.bea.gov/regional

Taxes Per Capita and as a Percent of Income, Calendar 
Year 2013, by State
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$25,000 Gross Family Income

	 Tax Type	 Fargo, ND	 Billings, MT	 Minneapolis,	 Sioux Falls,	 Cheyenne,	 Omaha, NE
				    MN	 SD	 WY

	 Income	 $5	 $275	 -$895	 $0	 $0	 -$302
	 Property1	 $1,030	 $1,219	 $1,507	 $1,166	 $1,138	 $1,258
	 Sales	 $534	 $0	 $757	 $751	 $360	 $572
	 Auto	 $237	 $386	 $293	 $210	 $241	 $344
	 Total	 $1,805	 $1,880	 $1,662	 $2,125	 $1,738	 $1,872
	 % of Income	 7.2%	 7.5%	 6.6%	 8.5%	 7.0%	 7.5%
	 National
	 rank*	 46	 44	 48	 38	 47	 45

$50,000 Gross Family Income

	 Tax Type	 Fargo, ND	 Billings, MT	 Minneapolis,	 Sioux Falls,	 Cheyenne,	 Omaha, NE
				    MN	 SD	 WY

	 Income	 $294	 $1,192	 $1,201	 $0	 $0	 $794
	 Property	 $2,234	 $939	 $2,237	 $2,094	 $1,082	 $2,793
	 Sales	 $698	 $0	 $962	 $904	 $476	 $751
	 Auto	 $250	 $401	 $341	 $223	 $287	 $503
	 Total	 $3,475	 $2,532	 $4,741	 $3,258	 $1,845	 $4,841
	 % of Income	 7.0%	 5.1%	 9.5%	 6.5%	 3.7%	 9.7%
	 National
	 rank*	 41	 50	 19	 43	 51	 18

$100,000 Gross Family Income

	 Tax Type	 Fargo, ND	 Billings, MT	 Minneapolis,	 Sioux Falls,	 Cheyenne,	 Omaha, NE
				    MN	 SD	 WY

	 Income	 $943	 $4,455	 $3,795	 $0	 $0	 $3,433
	 Property	 $4,467	 $1,878	 $4,770	 $4,189	 $2,164	 $5,586
	 Sales	 $1,161	 $0	 $1,507	 $1,474	 $814	 $1,241
	 Auto	 $654	 $854	 $907	 $669	 $666	 $1,241
	 Total	 $7,225	 $7,187	 $10,978	 $6,332	 $6,644	 $11,476
	 % of Income	 7.2%	 7.2%	 11.0%	 6.3%	 3.6%	 11.5%
	 National	
	 rank*	 43	 44	 19	 46	 51	 14
1 Based on 20 percent of estimated annual rent.
* Based on all 50 states and the District of Columbia.
SOURCE:  Tax Rates and Tax Burdens In the District of Columbia - A Nationwide Comparison 2013, Government of the District of Columbia.

Estimated Burden of Major State & Local Taxes
for a Family of Three - 2013
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Fargo Billings Minneapolis Sioux Falls Cheyenne Omaha US Average(1)
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SOURCE: 	Tax Rates and Tax Burdens in the District of Columbia - A Nationwide Comparison 2013, Government of the District of Columbia.

* Amounts may not add due to rounding.       (1) Based on cities actually levying tax. 
SOURCE: 	Tax Rates and Tax Burdens in the District of Columbia - A Nationwide Comparison 2013, Government of the District of Columbia.
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SOURCE:   State Government Tax Collections: 2013, www.census.gov/govs/statetax, 
                    US Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of Economic Analysis, Regional Economic Accounts, www.bea.gov/regional.

State Taxes by Source - Fiscal Year 2013

General  
Sales & Use

Individual 
Income

Corporate 
Income

Motor 
Fuels Licenses

All  
Other

Alabama 25.16% 34.56% 4.12% 5.72% 5.29% 25.14%
Alaska 0.00% 0.00% 12.29% 0.81% 2.64% 84.25%
Arizona 48.05% 25.22% 4.91% 5.80% 3.06% 12.95%
Arkansas 33.05% 30.86% 4.69% 5.31% 4.16% 21.93%
California 25.47% 50.16% 5.60% 4.12% 6.57% 8.08%
Colorado 21.49% 49.16% 5.80% 5.57% 5.67% 12.31%
Connecticut 23.90% 48.41% 3.55% 3.00% 2.81% 18.34%
Delaware 0.00% 33.78% 9.25% 3.37% 37.63% 15.97%
Florida 60.09% 0.00% 5.99% 6.74% 5.76% 21.41%
Georgia 29.66% 49.30% 4.48% 5.62% 4.18% 6.76%
Hawaii 48.33% 28.49% 2.03% 1.52% 3.78% 15.86%
Idaho 37.00% 36.11% 5.60% 6.84% 8.57% 5.89%
Illinois 21.07% 42.72% 11.53% 3.25% 6.67% 14.75%
Indiana 40.13% 29.39% 4.62% 4.75% 4.13% 16.99%
Iowa 30.09% 41.04% 5.12% 5.26% 9.53% 8.96%
Kansas 38.02% 38.80% 5.05% 5.45% 5.03% 7.66%
Kentucky 27.94% 34.42% 5.98% 7.75% 4.28% 19.63%
Louisiana 30.64% 29.71% 2.74% 6.32% 4.01% 26.59%
Maine 27.59% 39.43% 4.43% 6.12% 6.72% 15.72%
Maryland 22.71% 42.46% 5.25% 4.09% 4.44% 21.04%
Massachusetts 21.69% 53.87% 7.90% 2.73% 3.96% 9.85%
Michigan 33.58% 32.85% 3.59% 3.99% 5.80% 20.19%
Minnesota 23.82% 42.56% 6.48% 4.09% 5.63% 17.42%
Mississippi 43.11% 23.71% 5.62% 5.58% 7.16% 14.81%
Missouri 28.32% 48.30% 3.39% 6.29% 4.94% 8.76%
Montana 0.00% 39.53% 6.47% 8.17% 12.13% 33.69%
Nebraska 35.38% 44.54% 5.84% 6.30% 2.77% 5.17%
Nevada 51.77% 0.00% 0.00% 4.23% 8.35% 35.65%
New Hampshire 0.00% 4.18% 23.34% 6.04% 11.51% 54.93%
New Jersey 29.08% 41.64% 7.85% 1.80% 5.22% 14.41%
New Mexico 37.85% 23.86% 5.14% 4.53% 4.92% 23.71%
New York 16.45% 54.61% 6.68% 2.22% 2.65% 17.39%
North Carolina 23.53% 46.57% 5.41% 7.97% 6.49% 10.03%
North Dakota 23.94% 12.11% 4.26% 4.00% 3.92% 51.77%
Ohio 31.56% 36.11% 0.96% 6.24% 12.61% 12.52%
Oklahoma 28.32% 32.80% 6.58% 4.89% 11.36% 16.05%
Oregon 0.00% 68.34% 5.02% 5.44% 10.08% 11.12%
Pennsylvania 27.21% 31.73% 6.50% 6.03% 7.61% 20.92%
Rhode Island 29.98% 37.04% 4.91% 3.20% 4.71% 20.17%
South Carolina 36.69% 38.50% 4.43% 5.97% 5.04% 9.37%
South Dakota 55.66% 0.00% 2.42% 9.28% 16.77% 15.87%
Tennessee 53.61% 2.13% 10.16% 6.75% 11.49% 15.86%
Texas 50.52% 0.00% 0.00% 6.24% 15.06% 28.17%
Utah 29.77% 45.06% 5.22% 5.90% 4.65% 9.39%
Vermont 12.06% 23.03% 3.67% 3.71% 3.70% 53.83%
Virginia 19.33% 56.81% 4.02% 4.74% 4.20% 10.89%
Washington 59.59% 0.00% 0.00% 6.40% 7.28% 26.73%
West Virginia 23.34% 33.39% 4.51% 7.60% 2.56% 28.60%
Wisconsin 26.69% 43.74% 5.78% 5.86% 6.27% 11.65%
Wyoming 32.14% 0.00% 0.00% 3.25% 7.10% 57.51%
US Total 33.64% 40.89% 5.95% 5.30% 7.33% 6.90%
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		  Per Capita Total
Rank	 State	 State Tax Collections

	 1	 North Dakota	 $7,329
	 2	 Alaska	 $6,983
	 3	 Vermont	 $4,592
	 4	 Connecticut	 $4,487
	 5	 Hawaii	 $4,340
	 6	 Minnesota	 $3,880
	 7	 Wyoming	 $3,750
	 8	 New York	 $3,749
	 9	 Delaware	 $3,614
	 10	 Massachusetts	 $3,571
	 11	 California	 $3,474
	 12	 New Jersey	 $3,267
	 13	 Maryland	 $3,056
	 14	 Illinois	 $3,005
	 15	 Maine	 $2,925
	 16	 Arkansas	 $2,902
	 17	 West Virginia	 $2,901
	 18	 Wisconsin	 $2,877
	 19	 Rhode Island	 $2,795
	 20	 Iowa	 $2,710
	 21	 Washington	 $2,678
	 22	 Pennsylvania	 $2,659
	 23	 Kansas	 $2,633
	 24	 Montana	 $2,606
	 25	 Indiana	 $2,577
	 26	 Michigan	 $2,535
	 27	 Nebraska	 $2,525
	 28	 Nevada	 $2,519
	 29	 New Mexico	 $2,495
	 30	 Mississippi	 $2,475
	 31	 Kentucky	 $2,461
	 32	 North Carolina	 $2,414
	 33	 Ohio	 $2,362
	 34	 Oregon	 $2,331
	 35	 Virginia	 $2,323
	 36	 Oklahoma	 $2,309
	 37	 Idaho	 $2,220
	 38	 Utah	 $2,182
	 39	 Colorado	 $2,135
	 40	 Arizona	 $2,033
	 41	 Louisiana	 $1,994
	 42	 Texas	 $1,955
	 43	 Alabama	 $1,917
	 44	 Tennessee	 $1,904
	 45	 Missouri	 $1,843
	 46	 South Carolina	 $1,826
	 47	 South Dakota	 $1,815
	 48	 New Hampshire	 $1,791
	 49	 Georgia	 $1,781
	 50	 Florida	 $1,769
		
		  US	 $2,395

SOURCE:	 US Department of Commerce, Census Bureau.

			   Total Tax Less
	 Rank	 State	 Severance Tax

	 1	 Vermont	 $4,592
	 2	 Connecticut	 $4,487
	 3	 Hawaii	 $4,340
	 4	 North Dakota	 $3,930
	 5	 Minnesota	 $3,870
	 6	 New York	 $3,749
	 7	 Delaware	 $3,614
	 8	 Massachusetts	 $3,571
	 9	 California	 $3,473
	 10	 New Jersey	 $3,267
	 11	 Maryland	 $3,056
	 12	 Illinois	 $3,005
	 13	 Maine	 $2,925
	 14	 Wisconsin	 $2,876
	 15	 Arkansas	 $2,874
	 16	 Rhode Island	 $2,795
	 17	 Iowa	 $2,710
	 18	 Washington	 $2,672
	 19	 Pennsylvania	 $2,659
	 20	 Kansas	 $2,608
	 21	 Indiana	 $2,576
	 22	 West Virginia	 $2,573
	 23	 Michigan	 $2,528
	 24	 Nebraska	 $2,523
	 25	 Mississippi	 $2,440
	 26	 Nevada	 $2,414
	 27	 North Carolina	 $2,413
	 28	 Kentucky	 $2,400
	 29	 Ohio	 $2,361
	 30	 Montana	 $2,327
	 31	 Oregon	 $2,325
	 32	 Virginia	 $2,323
	 33	 Wyoming	 $2,261
	 34	 Idaho	 $2,216
	 35	 Oklahoma	 $2,175
	 36	 New Mexico	 $2,152
	 37	 Utah	 $2,143
	 38	 Colorado	 $2,107
	 39	 Arizona	 $2,028
	 40	 Tennessee	 $1,903
	 41	 Alabama	 $1,892
	 42	 Missouri	 $1,843
	 43	 South Carolina	 $1,826
	 44	 Louisiana	 $1,814
	 45	 South Dakota	 $1,802
	 46	 New Hampshire	 $1,791
	 47	 Georgia	 $1,781
	 48	 Texas	 $1,780
	 49	 Florida	 $1,767
	 50	 Alaska	 $1,518
		
		  US	 $2,343

SOURCE:  US Department of Commerce, Census Bureau.

Total State Tax collections 
Per Capita - Fiscal Year 2013

Total State Taxes Except 
Severance Taxes Per Capita  

Fiscal Year 2013
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	 State	 Tax Freedom Day
	 Louisiana	 March 30
	 Mississippi	 April 2
	 South Dakota	 April 4
	 Tennessee	 April 5
	 Alabama	 April 7
	 Kentucky	 April 8
	 New Mexico	 April 8
	 South Carolina	 April 9
	 West Virginia	 April 10
	 Alaska	 April 11
	 Arizona	 April 11
	 Idaho	 April 11
	 Maine	 April 11
	 Missouri	 April 11
	 Oklahoma	 April 11
	 Arkansas	 April 12
	 Georgia	 April 12
	 Iowa	 April 13
	 Texas	 April 13
	 Montana	 April 14
	 North Carolina	 April 14
	 Nebraska	 April 14
	 Ohio	 April 14
	 Florida	 April 15
	 Hawaii	 April 15
	 Nevada	 April 15

	
Source:   Tax Foundation, www.taxfoundation.org.

	 State	 Tax Freedom Day
	 Indiana	 April 16
	 Michigan	 April 17
	 Utah	 April 17
	 Wyoming	 April 17
	 District of Columbia	 April 18
	 Delaware	 April 18
	 Kansas	 April 18
	 New Hampshire	 April 19
	 Vermont	 April 19
	 Oregon	 April 20
	 Pennsylvania	 April 21
	 Colorado	 April 22
	 Wisconsin	 April 22
	 Rhode Island	 April 23
	 Virginia	 April 24
	 North Dakota	 April 25
	 Washington	 April 25
	 Illinois	 April 28
	 Maryland	 April 28
	 Massachusetts	 April 29
	 Minnesota	 April 29
	 California	 April 30
	 New York	 May 4
	 Connecticut	 May 9
	 New Jersey	 May 9

Each state’s Tax Freedom Day is the day when residents of that state have worked long enough to pay all tax obligations at the 
federal, state, and local level.

The total tax burden borne by residents of different states varies considerably because of differing state tax policies and the  
progressivity of the federal tax system. A combination of higher income and higher tax rate will result in a later Tax Freedom Day 
for a state.

For more information, go to the Tax Foundation’s web site at www.taxfoundation.org/taxfreedomday.

Tax Freedom Day by State - 2014
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CURRENT LAW

Cigarette Tax

Imposition and Rates

The cigarette tax is levied at two different tax rates. 
Cigarettes weighing less than three pounds per thousand 
are taxed at 22 mills per cigarette or 44¢ for a common 
package of 20, and 55¢ for a package of 25. Cigarettes 
weighing more than three pounds per thousand are taxed 
at 22½ mills per cigarette.  Gray market or repatriated 
cigarettes may not be sold or possessed in North Dakota.  
"Gray market" or "repatriated" cigarettes are those 
cigarettes manufactured and packaged in the U.S. for the 
specific purpose of being exported with intent to be sold 
outside the U.S., and are brought back illegally into the 
country and sold.  All cigarettes sold must be in packages 
of 20 or more cigarettes.

Roll-your-own cigarette tobacco is taxed at the cigarette 
rate.  One cigarette equals .09 ounces of roll-your-own 
tobacco.  Sales of bulk roll-your-own cigarette tobacco are 
converted to taxable cigarettes.  Only tobacco advertised 
as roll-your-own is taxed at the cigarette rate.

Both wholesalers and dealers must be licensed by 
the Attorney General. Wholesalers pay the tax with 
monthly reports filed with the Tax Commissioner. For 
administrative compensation, wholesalers who file and pay 
on time may deduct 1.5% of the tax due, up to a maximum 
of $100 per month. 

Distribution of Revenue

Three cents of the 44¢ per package are distributed to the 
cities based on population and the remainder goes to the 
State General Fund. Of the 55¢ on the larger packages, 
3¾¢ goes to the cities with the remainder to the State 
General Fund.

Tobacco Products Tax

Imposition and Rates

All tobacco products other than cigarettes and specific  
roll-your-own tobacco, such as pipe tobacco, chewing 
tobacco, snuff and cigars are subject to a tobacco products 

tax. Pipe tobacco and cigars are taxed at 28% of the 
wholesale purchase price.  Snuff is taxed at 60 cents per 
ounce and chewing tobacco taxed at 16 cents per ounce.  
The tobacco products tax is administered in a manner 
similar to the cigarette tax.  

Distribution of Revenue

Revenue from the tobacco products tax is placed in the 
State General Fund.

Tribal Cigarette And Tobacco Tax

The Standing Rock Sioux Tribe levies a cigarette and 
tobacco tax on all Native American retailers operating on 
the Standing Rock Sioux Reservation. The tax rates are 
identical to the state tax rates. The Tax Commissioner acts 
as the agent of the tribe to collect the tax.  
Seventy-five percent of collections, less a  
3% administrative fee, is returned to the tribe.   
Twenty-five percent plus the administrative fee is 
deposited in the State General Fund.

HISTORICAL OVERVIEW

Significant Changes in Law

1983 Session 
•	 The cigarette tax was increased from 6 mills to 9 mills 

per cigarette. This increased the cigarette tax from 12¢ 
to 18¢ per package of 20.

1987 Session  
•	 The cigarette tax was increased from 9 to 13½ mills per 

cigarette, or from 18¢ to 27¢ per package of 20. 
•	 The tobacco products tax was increased from 11% to 

20% of the wholesale purchase price.

1989 Session 
•	 The cigarette tax was increased from 13½ to 15 mills 

per cigarette, or from 27¢ to 30¢ per package of 20. 
•	 The tobacco products tax was increased from 20% to 

25% of the wholesale purchase price.

1991 Session 
•	 The cigarette tax was decreased from 15 mills to 14½ 

mills per cigarette, or from 30¢ to 29¢ per pack of 20. 

Cigarette and Tobacco Taxes
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•	 The tobacco products tax was decreased from 25% to 
22% of the wholesale purchase price. 

•	 Cigarette stamp requirements were repealed and 
replaced with monthly reports and payments.

 
1993 Session 
•	 The cigarette tax was increased from 14½ to 22 mills 

per cigarette, or from 29¢ to 44¢ per package of 20. 
•	 The tobacco products tax was increased from 22% to 

28% of the wholesale purchase price.

1993 Agreement 
•	 The Tax Commissioner and the Standing Rock Sioux 

Tribe signed an agreement to allow the commissioner to 
act as an agent of the tribe for the collection of a tribal 
cigarette and tobacco tax.

1999 Session  
•	 The sale of gray market cigarettes was prohibited, 

taxation of roll-your-own tobacco was moved from 
Other Tobacco Products to taxation as a cigarette and a 
minimum package size was established at 20 cigarettes 
per package.  

•	 N.D.C.C. § 51-25 was enacted and requires the Tax 
Commissioner to accumulate information on purchases 
of cigarettes from non-participating manufacturers in 
the cigarette Master Settlement Agreement.

2001 Session  
•	 The method of taxing snuff and chewing tobacco was 

changed from a percentage of the wholesale price to a 
weight based value.  Snuff is taxed at 60 cents  
per ounce and chewing tobacco is taxed at 16 cents  
per ounce.  

•	 A change in the definition of Other Tobacco Products 
removed cigarette papers from the tobacco products tax.  

•	 Cigars and pipe tobacco remain taxable at 28% of the 
whole purchase price.

2003 Session  
•	 The sale of "beedie" cigarettes was banned.  Beedies 

are a product containing tobacco wrapped in a  
temburni leaf.  

•	 Legislation prohibiting any dealer or distributor from 
knowingly selling or distributing any product not in 
compliance with N.D.C.C. § 51-25-02 was enacted.

2005 Session  
•	 New legislation requires vendors selling cigarettes over 

the Internet to register with the Tax Commissioner and 
provide sales and customer information.  

•	 Internet vendors are also required to verify the age of 
cigarette customers.

2009 Session  
•	 To legally sell cigarettes in North Dakota, a 

manufacturer must provide written certification to the 
State Fire Marshal that its cigarettes meet fire safe 
performance standards.

2013 Session  
•	 Provisions were added to define a cigarette-making 

machine and to establish conditions on its ownership, 
operation, and use.
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SOURCE:  Compiled by Federation of Tax Administrators from various sources.

(1)	 The volume-based tax rates were converted to cents per 10 cigars or per ounce for consistency.
(2)	 Alabama's cigar tax rate rises with the retail price; the rate on smoking tobacco and snuff depends on package weight. 
(3)	 California adjusts the tax rate annually, effective July 1st each year.
(4)	 Tax rate on snuff per ounce is $1.00 in Connecticut, 54¢ in Delaware, 30¢ in Illinois, 19¢ in Kentucky, 85¢ in Montana, 44¢ in 

Nebraska, 75¢ in New Jersey, $2.00 in New York, $1.83 in Utah, 18¢ in Virginia, $1.87 in Vermont, and 60¢ in Wyoming.
(5)	 Florida's rate includes a 60% surtax.
(6)	 Little cigars are taxed as cigarettes.
(7)	 Or 10% of retail price.

Alabama (2)

	 Cigars	 3.0¢-40.5¢/10 cigars
	 Tobacco/Snuff	 1¢-8¢/ounce
Alaska	 75% Wholesale Price
Arizona
	 Cigars	 33.7¢-$1.10/10 cigars
	 Tobacco/Snuff	 23.8¢/ounce
Arkansas	 68% Manufacturer's  Price
California (3)	 29.82% Wholesale Price
Colorado	 40% Manufacturer's Price
Connecticut (4)	 50% Wholesale Price
Delaware (4)	 15% Wholesale Price
Florida (5)

	 Tobacco/Snuff	 85% Wholesale Price
Georgia
	 Little Cigars	 2.5¢/10 cigars
	 Other Cigars	 23% Wholesale Price
	 Tobacco	 10% Wholesale Price
Hawaii (6)	
	 Large Cigars	 50% Wholesale Price
	 Tobacco/Snuff	 70% Wholesale Price
Idaho	 40% Wholesale Price
Illinois (4)	 36% Wholesale Price
Indiana	 24% Wholesale Price
Iowa (6)	 50% Wholesale Price
Kansas	 10% Wholesale Price
Kentucky (4)	 15% Wholesale Price
Louisiana
	 Cigars	 8%-20% Manufacturer's Price
	 Snuff/Smoking Tobacco	 20%-33% Manufacturer's Price
Maine
	 Chewing Tobacco/Snuff	 $2.02/ounce
	 Smoking Tobacco/Cigars	 20% Wholesale Price
Maryland	 30% Wholesale Price
Massachusettes
	 Smoking Tobacco/Cigars	 40% Wholesale Price

Michigan	 32% Wholesale Price
Minnesota	 95% Wholesale Price
Mississippi	 15% Manufacturer's Price
Missouri	 10% Manufacturer's Price
Montana (4)	 50% Wholesale Price
Nebraska (4)	 20% Wholesale Price
Nevada	 30% Wholesale Price
New Hampshire	 65.03% Wholesale Price
New Jersey (4)	 30% Wholesale Price
New Mexico	 25% Product Value
New York (4)	 75% Wholesale Price
North Carolina	 12.8% Wholesale Price
North Dakota
	 Cigars/Tobacco	 28% Wholesale Price
	 Chewing Tobacco/Snuff	 16¢-60¢/ounce
Ohio	 17% Wholesale Price
Oklahoma
	 Little & Large Cigars	 36¢-$1.20/10 cigars
	 Snuff/Tobacco	 60%-80% factory list price
Oregon	 65% Wholesale Price
Rhode Island	 80% Wholesale Price
South Carolina	 5% Manufacturer's Price
South Dakota	 35% Wholesale Price
Tennessee	 6.6% Wholesale Price
Texas
	 Cigars	 1.0¢-15.0¢/10 cigars
	 Tobacco/Snuff	 $1.22/ounce
Utah (4) (6)	 86% Manufacturer's Price
Virginia (4)	 10% Manufacturer’s Price
Vermont (4)	 92% Wholesale Price
Washington	 95% Wholesale Price
West Virginia	 7% Wholesale Price
Wisconsin	 71% Manufacturer's Price
Wyoming (4) (7)	 20% Wholesale Price

Dist. of Columbia	 75¢/ounce

State	 Tax Rate/Base (1)	State	 Tax Rate/Base (1)

Comparison of State Tobacco Products Taxes
January 1, 2014
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					     Cigarette and
	 Total	 Tobacco Tax	 Cigarette Tax	 Cigarette Tax	 Tobacco Tax
Fiscal Year	 Collections	 (General Fund)	 (General Fund)	 (Cities)	 (Tribal)

	 2004		  21,134,603	 2,297,901	 17,477,510	 1,284,013		 75,179
	 2005		 21,036,995	 2,452,912	 17,248,389	 1,260,003		 75,691
	 2006		 23,457,650	 2,707,489	 19,278,592	 1,407,166		 64,403
	 2007		 24,210,059	 2,864,731	 19,832,558	 1,449,424		 63,346
	 2008		 24,098,407	 3,165,007	 19,448,680	 1,421,337		 63,383
	 2009		 24,087,542	 3,388,878	 19,228,206	 1,405,152		 65,306
	 2010		 23,848,888	 3,976,398	 18,454,355	 1,353,442		 64,693
	 2011		 25,372,066	 4,746,866	 19,161,819	 1,400,357		 63,024
	 2012		 28,306,348	 5,670,933	 21,023,989	 1,536,055		 75,371
	 2013		 28,716,623	 6,244,020	 20,871,615	 1,525,112		 75,876 
	 2014		 31,234,804	 7,032,346	 22,489,945	 1,643,720		 68,792
	 2015	est.	 31,768,000	 7,406,000	 22,640,000	 1,657,000		 65,000	

SOURCE:	North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner.

Cents
Per PackState

Cents
Per PackState

Cents
Per PackState

New York (a)	 435
Massachusetts	 351
Rhode Island	 350
Connecticut	 340
Hawaii	 320
Washington	 302.5
Minnesota (d)	 283
New Jersey	 270
Vermont	 262
Wisconsin	 252
Dist. of Columbia (e)	 250
Alaska 	 200
Arizona	 200
Maine	 200
Maryland	 200
Michigan	 200
Illinois (a)	 198

New Hampshire	 178
Montana	 170
Utah	 170
New Mexico	 166
Delaware	 160
Pennsylvania	 160
South Dakota	 153
Texas	 141
Iowa	 136
Florida (b)	 133.9
Oregon	 131
Ohio	 125
Arkansas	 115
Oklahoma	 103
Indiana	 99.5
California	 87
Colorado 	 84

Nevada	 80
Kansas	 79
Mississippi	 68
Nebraska	 64
Tennessee (a) (c)	 62
Kentucky (c)	 60
Wyoming	 60
Idaho	 57
South Carolina	 57
West Virginia	 55
North Carolina	 45
North Dakota	 44
Alabama (a)	 42.5
Georgia	 37
Louisiana	 36
Virginia (a)	 30
Missouri (a)	 17
U.S. (median)	 136

SOURCE:  Compiled by Federation of Tax Administrators from various sources.

(a)	 Counties and cities may impose an additional tax on a pack of cigarettes: Alabama, 1¢ to 6¢; Illinois, 10¢ to 15¢; Missouri, 4¢ to 7¢; 
New York City, $1.50; Tennesse, 1¢; and Virginia, 2¢ to 15¢.

(b)	 Florida's rate includes a surcharge of $1.00 per pack.
(c)	 Dealers pay an additional enforcement and administrative fee of 0.1¢ per pack in Kentucky and 0.05¢ in Tennessee.
(d)	 In addition, Minnesota imposes an in lieu cigarette sales tax determined annually by the Department. The rate was 36.2¢ through 

December 31, 2013.
(e)	 In addition, the District of Columbia imposes an in lieu cigarette sales tax calculated every March 31.  The current rate is 36¢.

Cigarette Tax and Tobacco Tax Collections

State Excise Tax Rates on Cigarettes
January 1, 2014
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CURRENT LAW

Imposition, Rate and Administration

The coal severance tax is imposed on the act of removing 
coal from the earth. The tax is in lieu of both the sales and 
use taxes on coal and the property tax on minerals in the 
earth. The coal severance tax applies to all coal severed for 
sale or industrial purposes, except: coal used for heating 
buildings in the state, coal used by the state or any political 
subdivision of the state, and coal used in agricultural 
commodity processing facilities or to produce steam used 
in agricultural processing facilities in North Dakota or 
adjacent states.

No severance tax may be imposed on coal purchased for 
improvement by coal beneficiation, which is subsequently 
used in, or used to produce steam that is used in 
agricultural commodity processing facilities in  
North Dakota or adjacent states or any facility owned by 
the state or a political subdivision of the state.

The tax is applied at a flat rate of 37½ cents per ton.  
An additional 2-cent per ton tax is levied for the Lignite 
Research Fund.

A 50% reduction in the 37½-cent tax is allowed for 
coal burned in a cogeneration facility designed to use 
renewable resources to generate 10% or more of its  
energy output.

Counties may grant a partial or complete exemption from 
the counties’ 70% portion of the 37½-cent tax for coal that 
is shipped out of state.

Payments of the tax are made monthly by the owner or 
operator of the mine.

Distribution of Revenue

Revenue from the 37½-cent per ton severance tax is 
deposited in the Coal Development Fund and is distributed 
as follows:
•	 30% to a permanent, Constitutional Trust Fund 

administered by the Board of University and School 
Lands. The Trust Fund is used to supply loans to 
school districts for school construction and loans to 
cities, counties and school districts impacted by coal 

development. Investment income from the Trust Fund 
is first used to replace uncollectible loans made from 
the fund, and the balance is deposited in the State 
General Fund. Seventy percent of the tax collected 
and deposited in the permanent Trust Fund must be 
deposited in the Lignite Research Fund.

•	 70% among the coal producing counties according to 
the amount of coal each county produces. Revenue 
allotted to each county is further apportioned as follows: 
40% to the county general fund; 30% to the cities 
within the county; and 30% to the school districts. Also, 
a nonproducing county within 15 miles of a currently 
active coal mine, and a city or school district in that 
county and within 15 miles of the mine, are entitled to 
a share of the coal producing county’s severance tax 
revenue from that particular mine.  The amount of coal 
production on which a county has to share its severance 
tax revenue with another county during a calendar year 
is limited to 3,400,000 tons.

Revenue from the additional 2-cent per ton tax is deposited 
into the Lignite Research Fund.

HISTORICAL OVERVIEW

Significant Changes in Law

1975 Session
•	 The Legislature first enacted the coal severance tax.
•	 Set the base rate at 50 cents per ton, increasing 1 cent 

per ton for each three-point increase in the Wholesale 
Price Index.

•	 Revenue distribution formula for the 1975-1977 
biennium:  30% to State General Fund; 30% to a special 
trust fund administered by the State Land Board; 
35% to a special fund for grants to impacted political 
subdivisions; 5% to coal-producing counties.

1977 Session
•	 Amended the rate to 65 cents per ton, increasing 1 cent 

per ton for every one-point increase in the Wholesale 
Price Index (Producer Price Index).

•	 Resulted in an increase from 56 cents per ton to  
65 cents per ton, effective July 1, 1977.

•	 Changed the revenue distribution to:  30% to State 
General Fund; 15% to the Trust Fund; 35% for grants 

Coal Taxes
Coal Severance Tax
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to impacted political subdivisions; and 20% to coal-
producing counties.

1979 Session
•	 The base rate became 85 cents per ton, increasing 1 cent 

for every four-point increase in the Wholesale Price 
Index (Producer Price Index).

•	 Resulted in a decrease from 97 cents per ton to 85 cents 
per ton.

•	 Provided that if the tipple of an active coal mining 
operation in a county is within 15 miles of another 
county in which no coal is mined, the coal-producing 
county must share its coal severance tax revenue with 
the non-coal-producing county.

1981 Session
•	 Created an exemption for coal used by the state or any 

of its political subdivisions.
•	 Created an exemption for coal used for heating 

buildings within the state.
•	 Coal used for heating purposes became subject to  

sales tax.

1983 Session
•	 Changed filing requirements for coal mine owners or 

operators from quarterly to monthly.

1985 Session
•	 Created an exemption for coal used in agricultural 

processing or sugar beet refining plants within  
North Dakota or adjacent states. 

•	 Enacted a 50% reduction in tax rate for coal burned 
in a cogeneration facility designed to use renewable 
resources to generate 10% or more of its energy output.

1987 Session
•	 Reduced the base rate to 75 cents per ton and eliminated 

the escalator clause.
•	 Prior to the change, the escalator had resulted in a rate 

of $1.04 per ton.
•	 Enacted an additional tax of 2 cents per ton for the 

period July 1, 1987, through June 30, 1989, with the 
revenue dedicated to lignite research.

•	 Changed the distribution of the 75-cent tax to:  State 
General Fund 50%; counties 35%; Trust Fund 15%;  
and eliminated the share previously allocated for grants 
to impacted political subdivisions.

1989 Session
 •	 Made the 2-cent per ton tax for lignite research 

permanent.

1990 Constitutional Amendment
•	 Voters in the Primary Election approved a constitutional 

amendment placed on the ballot by the legislature to 
allow up to 50% of the taxes collected and deposited 
in the Trust Fund during a biennium to be appropriated 
by the legislature for lignite research, development, and 
marketing.

1991 Session
•	 Provided for 50% of taxes collected and deposited in 

the Trust Fund to be appropriated by the legislature 
for lignite research, development, and marketing, in 
accordance with the 1990 constitutional amendment.

1993 Session
•	 Limited the amount of coal production on which a  

coal-producing county has to share its severance tax 
with a nearby non-producing county.

•	 Added loans for school construction to uses of the  
Trust Fund.

•	 Exempted coal shipped out of state after June 30, 1995, 
and before July 1, 2000, from the state’s 50% portion of 
the tax.

•	 Provided that counties may grant a partial or complete 
exemption from the county’s 35% portion of the tax.

1994 Constitutional Amendment
•	 Voters in the Primary Election approved a constitutional 

amendment placed on the ballot by the legislature to 
allow appropriations from the Trust Fund for clean 
coal demonstration projects approved by the North 
Dakota Industrial Commission and the United States 
Department of Energy.  [The Department of Energy did 
not approve a clean coal demonstration project in  
 North Dakota.]

1995 Session
•	 Increased to 70% the portion of taxes collected and 

deposited in the Trust Fund during a biennium to be 
appropriated by the legislature for lignite research, 
development, and marketing.

1997 Session
•	 Effective July 1, 1999, the legislature exempted coal 

burned in coal-fired boilers in generation stations 
having a total capacity of not more than 210 megawatts, 
within North Dakota or adjacent states, from 50% of the 
75-cent coal severance tax.

•	 A city, school district, or the county commissioners 
of the county in which the coal is mined may grant 
a partial or complete exemption from their share of 
severance tax revenues.

•	 A political subdivision that has granted an exemption 
from all or part of its share of severance tax revenues 
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TAXATION OF COAL IN NEIGHBORING STATES
Montana

Montana levies the following taxes on surface mined coal:

•	 Coal Gross Proceeds Tax 
A statewide 5% yearly flat tax is imposed on coal gross 
proceeds.  The gross proceeds of coal is determined 
by multiplying the number of tons produced by the 
contract sales price.  One-half of the contract sales price 
of coal sold by a coal producer who extracts less than 
50,000 tons of coal in a calendar year is exempt from 
taxation.  This tax is collected by the county where the 
mine is located.

•	 Coal Severance Tax 
Imposed on all coal mined in the state.  Producers 
of over 50,000 tons of coal per year pay a quarterly 
severance tax on all production in excess of 20,000 
tons.  Producers of under 50,000 tons per year are 
exempt from the tax. 
 
Tax rates depend on the heat content (BTU's per pound) 
of the coal and the method of extraction.  The value of 
coal to which the severance tax is applied is the contract 
sales price.  Current tax rates:

	 Surface Mined Coal

	 Under 7,000 BTU's	 10% of value
	 7,000 BTU's and over	15% of value

•	 Resource Indemnity Trust Tax 
Annual tax of  0.4% of gross value of product. The 
gross value of product is determined by multiplying 
the tons of coal produced and sold by the contract 
sales price.   There are no incentives.

Incentives  Persons producing less than 50,000 tons of 
coal in a year are exempt from severance tax.  Persons 
producing more than 50,000 tons of coal in a year are 
exempt from severance tax on the first 20,000 tons 
produced.  One-half of the contract sales price of coal sold 
by a coal producer who extracts less than 50,000 tons of 
coal in a calendar year is exempt from taxation under the 
gross proceeds tax.

Wyoming

Wyoming levies the following taxes on surface mined 
coal:
•	 A severance tax of 7% of the mine mouth value to a 

maximum of $.60 per ton.  This is a lower base than is 
used in Montana because Wyoming allows deductions 
for costs, such as crushing and transportation to market, 
that occur after the coal has been brought to the mouth 
of the mine.

•	 A “gross products tax.” It is based on the same taxable 
value as that used for severance tax purposes but is 
collected by the counties and based on applicable local 
mill rates.  Average county mill rates for tax year 2013 
range from 59.625 mills to 74.280 mills.

Incentives A maximum severance tax rate of 60 cents per 
ton applies on qualifying coal sales agreements.  

must be omitted from the allocation or have its 
allocation adjusted to reflect the reduction it  
has granted.

1999 Session
 •	 Repealed the exemption for coal burned in small 

boilers, effective July 1, 2003.  

2001 Session
•	 Reduced the 75-cent tax to 37½ cents per ton.
•	 Repealed the exemption for coal burned in small 

boilers, effective July 1, 2001.
•	 Changed the distribution of the 37½-cent tax to allocate 

30% to the coal development trust fund and 70% to  
the counties.

•	 Allowed a county to grant a full or partial exemption 
from its 70% share for coal shipped out of state.

2009 Session
Prohibited imposition of coal severance tax on coal used 
to produce steam that is used in agricultural commodity 
processing facilities in North Dakota or adjacent states or 
any facility owned by the state or a political subdivision of 
the state, or on coal purchased for improvement through 
coal beneficiation and subsequently used in, or used to 
produce steam that is used in, agricultural commodity 
processing facilities located in North Dakota or adjacent 
states or any facility owned by the state or a political 
subdivision of the state.

Provided that after June 30, 2011, the state treasurer shall 
allocate funds provided by legislative appropriation to 
cities, the county general fund, and school districts within 
a coal-producing county to offset 50% of the loss to the 
county's share of coal severance tax revenue allocated to a 
non-coal-producing county in the previous calendar year.
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	 Total	 Land Board		  Lignite
Fiscal Year	 Collections	 Trust Fund	 Counties	 Research

2004	 12,450,642	 3,546,069	 8,274,161	 630,412
2005	 11,458,156	 3,263,399	 7,614,597	 580,160
2006	 12,014,618	 3,421,885	 7,984,398	 608,335
2007	 11,969,504	 3,409,036	 7,954,417	 606,051
2008	 11,585,819	 3,299,759	 7,699,437	 586,624
2009	 12,096,832	 3,446,299	 8,041,364	 609,169
2010	 11,506,451	 3,275,586	 7,643,033	 587,832
2011	 11,254,271	 3,207,838	 7,484,955	 561,478
2012	 11,001,918	 3,132,244	 7,312,615	 557,059
2013	 10,986,898	 3,129,180	 7,301,420	 556,298
2014	 11,233,707	 3,199,474	 7,465,438	 568,795
2015 est.	 11,200,000	 3,192,000	 7,448,000	 560,000	

SOURCE:	 North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner.

20142004

Coal Severance Tax Collections and Distribution

County Breakdown - Coal Severance Tax revenue
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CURRENT LAW

Imposition, Rate and Administration 

The coal conversion facilities privilege tax is imposed on 
the operator of a coal conversion facility for the privilege 
of producing electricity or other products from coal 
conversion plants. A coal conversion facility is defined as 
(1) an electrical generating plant which has at least one 
unit with a generating capacity of 10,000 kilowatts or more 
of electricity, (2) a plant other than an electrical generating 
plant which processes or converts coal and uses or is 
designed to use over 500,000 tons of coal per year,  
or (3) a coal beneficiation plant.

The coal conversion tax is in lieu of property taxes on the 
plant itself, while the land on which the plant is located 
remains subject to property tax. The tax is paid monthly.

Electrical Generating Plants Electrical generating plants, 
as defined above, are subject to two separate levies. One 
levy is .65 mill times 60% of installed capacity times the 
number of hours in the taxable period and the other levy is 
.25 mill per kwh of electricity produced for sale. Installed 
capacity means the rating shown on the nameplate 
assigned to the turbine of the power unit.

Other Coal Conversion Plants A coal gasification plant 
is subject to a monthly tax measured by 13½ cents per 
thousand cubic feet of gas produced for sale or 4.1% of 
gross receipts, whichever is greater. Plants converting 
coal to products other than gas are taxed at 4.1% of gross 
receipts. The tax rate for a coal beneficiation plant is  
20 cents per ton of beneficiated coal produced for sale or 
1.25% of gross receipts, whichever is greater.

Exemptions

Exemptions to the coal conversion tax are as follows:
•	 Synthetic natural gas produced in excess of 110 million 

cubic feet per day.
•	 Income from byproducts of a coal gasification plant to a 

maximum of 20% of gross receipts.
•	 Revenue derived from the sale and transportation of 

carbon dioxide for use in the enhanced recovery of oil 
or natural gas.

•	 Beneficiated coal produced in excess of 80% of plant 
design capacity.

•	 A coal conversion facility that achieves a 20% capture 
of carbon dioxide emissions during a taxable period 

receives a 20% reduction in the State General Fund 
share of the coal conversion tax, and an additional 
reduction of one percent for every additional two 
percentage points of its capture of carbon dioxide 
emissions, up to 50% reduction for 80% or more 
capture.  The reduction is available for ten years from 
the date of first capture or from the date the facility is 
eligible to receive the credit.

•	 A new or re-powered coal-burning electrical generating 
unit is exempt from the State General Fund portion 
of both levies for five years. The county may grant an 
exemption for up to five years from the county’s 15% 
share of the levy on installed capacity.

•	 All new coal conversion plants other than electrical 
generating plants are exempt from the State General 
Fund portion (85%) of the tax for five years. The county 
may grant a partial or complete exemption from the 
county’s 15% share for up to five years.

Distribution of Revenue

Electrical Generating Plants The revenue from the  
.25 mill levy on production is deposited in the State 
General Fund. The revenue from the .65 mill levy on 
installed capacity is distributed as follows:
•	 85% to the State General Fund.  Five percent of all 

funds allocated to the State General Fund must be 
allocated to the Lignite Research Fund through  
July 31, 2018.

•	 15% to the county in which the plant is located. The 
amount distributed to each county is apportioned as 
follows: 40% is deposited in the county general fund; 
30% is divided among all incorporated cities in the 
county according to population; and 30% is divided 
among all school districts in the county on the basis of 
average daily membership.

Other Coal Conversion Plants  Revenue is distributed  
as follows:
•	 85% to the State General Fund.  Five percent of all 

funds allocated to the State General Fund must be 
allocated to the Lignite Research Fund through  
July 31, 2018.

•	 15% to the county in which the plant is located. The 
amount distributed to each county is apportioned as 
follows: 40% is deposited in the county general fund; 
30% is divided among all incorporated cities in the 
county according to population; and 30% is divided 
among all school districts in the county on the basis of 
average daily membership.

Coal Conversion Tax
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HISTORICAL OVERVIEW

Significant Changes in Law

1975 Session
•	 Enacted the privilege tax on coal conversion facilities.
•	 Set the tax rate on electrical generating plants at ¼ mill 

per kilowatt hour (kwh) produced for sale.
•	 Set the tax on all other coal conversion facilities at 2.5% 

of gross receipts or 10 cents per thousand cubic feet 
(mcf) of synthetic natural gas, whichever is greater.

•	 Made the formula for allocation of coal conversion tax 
revenue dependent on the amount of revenue generated 
from each county.

•	 As revenue from a county increased, the percentage 
distributed to the State General Fund increased and the 
percentage distributed to the county decreased.

•	 Apportioned the county share 40% to the county,  
15% to cities, and 45% to school districts.

1977 Session
•	 Changed the revenue distribution formula to 65% to the 

State General Fund and 35% to the county.
•	 Changed allocation of the county share to 40% to the 

county, 30% to cities, and 30% to school districts.

1983 Session
•	 Enacted an additional ¼ mill per kwh tax for electrical 

generating plants, which brought the tax rate on 
electrical generating plants to ½ mill per kwh.

•	 Dedicated revenue from the ¼ mill increase entirely to 
the State General Fund.

•	 Changed filing requirements from a quarterly basis to 
monthly.

1985 Session
•	 Changed the tax rate on coal gasification plants 

constructed before July 1, 1985, from 10 cents to  
15 cents per mcf of gas produced for sale, or 2.5% of 
gross receipts, whichever is greater.

•	 Changed the definition of gross receipts to exclude any 
financial assistance from the federal government.

•	 Provided a five-year exemption from part or all of the 
tax for coal conversion facilities, other than electrical 
generating plants, that were constructed after  
July 1, 1985.

1987 Session
•	 Changed the rate on electrical generating plants to  

1¼ mill levy on 60% of installed capacity times the 
number of hours in the taxable period and 1¼  mill levy 
on production.

•	 Reduced the tax rate on coal gasification plants to  
7 cents per mcf of gas produced for sale or 2.5% of 
gross receipts, whichever is greater.

•	 Exempted synthetic natural gas produced in excess of 
110 million mcf per day.

•	 Exempted byproducts of a coal gasification plant to a 
maximum of 20% of gross receipts.

•	 Made the five-year exemption for coal conversion 
facilities other than electrical generating plants effective 
from the date of first taxable production.

•	 Eliminated the reference to date of construction.

1989 Session
•	 Defined a coal beneficiation plant as a coal conversion 

plant.
•	 Enacted a tax of 20 cents per ton of beneficiated coal or 

1.25 % of gross receipts, whichever is greater, on coal 
beneficiation plants.

•	 Exempted beneficiated coal produced in excess of 80% 
of plant design capacity.

1991 Session
•	 Created a five-year exemption from part of all of the tax 

for new coal-burning electrical generation plants.

1997 Session
•	 Increased the exemption for income from byproducts 

of a coal gasification plant from 20% to 35% from 
January 1, 1997, through December 31, 2000.

•	 Provided the exemption reverts to 20% after 
December 31, 2000.

•	 Exempted revenue derived from the sale and 
transportation of carbon dioxide for use in enhanced 
recovery of oil or natural gas, retroactive to  
January 1, 1997.

2001 Session
•	 Amended the definition of a coal conversion facility to 

include an electrical generating plant that has at least 
one single unit with a capacity of 10,000 kwh or more.

•	 Increased the tax rate on installed capacity to .65 mill 
times 60% of installed capacity times the number of 
hours in the taxable period.

•	 Changed the distribution of the tax on installed capacity 
to 85% to the State General Fund and 15% to the county 
in which the plant is located.

•	 Increased the tax rate on synthetic natural gas to $.135 
per mcf.

•	 Changed the tax rate on gross receipts to 4.1%.
•	 For calculation of gross receipts, established ceiling 

prices per mcf of synthetic natural gas, of $4.25 for 
2001 and 2002; $4.35 for 2003; $4.45 for 2004; $4.55 
for 2005; $4.65 for 2006; $4.75 for 2007; $4.86 for 
2008; and $4.97 for 2009.
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•	 Excluded from the definition of gross receipts any 
revenue received by the operator of a coal gasification 
plant in excess of the amount per mcf of synthetic 
natural gas established as the ceiling price for each 
calendar year from 2001 through 2009.

•	 Required the first $41,666.67 received each month 
from a coal conversion facility other than an electrical 
generating plant to be deposited in the State General 
Fund through December 31, 2009.

•	 Allocated the remaining 85% to the State General Fund 
and 15% to the county in which the plant is located.

•	 Provided that allocation of the coal conversion tax to 
each county may not be less in each calendar year than 
it was in the immediately preceding calendar year.

•	 Provided that any county that has a coal conversion 
facility that was not a coal conversion facility before 
January 1, 2002, had to receive for 2002 at least as 
much as that facility paid in property taxes for taxable 
year 2001.

•	 Provided that for subsequent years the county must 
receive no less than it received in the preceding year.

•	 Required that all amounts received from that facility 
must be allocated in the same manner property taxes 
were allocated for taxable year 2001.

2005 Session
•	 Enacted the Coal Conversion Facility Tax Reduction 

Act that provides a five-year exemption for electrical 
generating plants that complete repowering.

•	 Defined “repowering” as an investment of more than 
$200 million or $1 million per megawatt of installed 
nameplate capacity, whichever is less, in an existing 
power plant that modifies or replaces the process used 
for converting lignite coal from its natural form into 
electric power.

•	 In February 2006, the South Central Judicial District 
Court found the Coal Conversion Facility Tax 
Reduction Act unconstitutional.

2007 Session
•	 Provided that from July 1, 2007, through June 30, 2009, 

3.5% of funds allocated to the State General Fund 
from the coal conversion tax must be allocated to the 
Lignite Research Fund.  After June 30, 2009, 5% of 
all funds allocated to the State General Fund from the 
coal conversion tax must be allocated to the Lignite 
Research Fund, through July 31, 2018.

•	 Expressed legislative intent that $500,000 is to be used 
to pay for fees associated with lignite litigation that 
may be brought by the state to protect and promote 
the continued development of lignite resources.  If 
activities associated with the litigation are not initiated 
by January 1, 2009, the $500,000 must be returned to 
the State General Fund.

•	 Changed statutory references from “lignite” to “coal” 
in legislation enacted in 2005, relating to repowered 
plants, which was found unconstitutional by the South 
Central Judicial District Court.

2009 Session
•	 Clarified that the exemption for new or repowered 

electrical generating plants is limited to a new or 
repowered unit of a plant.

•	 Provided that a coal conversion facility that achieves 
a 20% capture of carbon dioxide emissions during a 
taxable period receives a 20% reduction in the State 
General Fund share of the coal conversion tax, and an 
additional reduction of one percent for every additional 
two percentage points of its capture of carbon dioxide 
emissions, up to 50% reduction for 80% or more 
capture.  The reduction is available for ten years from 
the date of first capture or from the date the facility is 
eligible to receive the credit.
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		  Total	 Distributed to State	 Distributed to
	Fiscal Year	 Collections	 General Fund	 Counties
	 2004	 28,106,144	 24,432,816	 3,673,328
	 2005	 26,264,860	 22,764,015	 3,500,845
	 2006	 27,784,633	 24,042,047	 3,742,586
	 2007		 28,930,510	 25,175,816	 3,754,693
	 2008		 27,461,267	 23,843,410	 3,617,857
	 2009		 29,543,292	 25,595,542	 3,947,751
	 2010		 26,154,150	 21,113,869	 5,040,281
	 2011		  23,118,634	 17,950,430	 5,168,205
	 2012		 25,430,529	 19,498,126	 5,932,403
	 2013		 24,905,909	 18,901,288	 6,004,621	
	 2014		 24,937,582	 19,222,236	 5,715,346	
	 2015 est.	 25,647,000	 19,653,000	 6,014,000

SOURCE:	 North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner.
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CURRENT LAW

Filing Requirements

Every corporation engaged in business in North Dakota 
or having sources of income in North Dakota must file a 
North Dakota corporation income tax return. Most returns 
are due on the 15th day of the fourth month following 
the close of the tax year. Returns filed by cooperatives 
are due on the 15th day of the ninth month following the 
close of the tax year.  Returns of tax-exempt organizations 
reporting unrelated business taxable income are due on the 
15th day of the fifth month after the close of the tax year.  
Payment is made with the return.

A corporation is required to pay estimated tax on a 
quarterly basis if:
•	 the estimated tax due exceeds $5,000, and 
•	 the previous year’s total tax liability exceeded $5,000.

Starting Point for Calculating Tax 

The starting point for calculation of corporation income 
tax is federal taxable income. North Dakota income tax 
law is perpetually federalized for this starting point.

Apportionable Income 

A corporation’s apportionable income is determined by 
adjusting the corporation’s federal taxable income.

Additions to federal taxable income include:
•	 All income, franchise or privilege taxes measured by 

income which were deducted on the federal return.
•	 Interest on state and local obligations (excluding North 

Dakota).
•	 Special deductions and net operating loss deductions 

taken on the federal return.
•	 The amount of the U.S. production activities income 

deducted in calculating federal taxable income.
•	 Amounts related to contributions to an Endowment 

Fund and the Housing Incentive Fund, to the extent a 
North Dakota credit has been claimed.

Subtractions from federal taxable income include:
•	 State income tax refunds.
•	 Interest from U.S. obligations.

•	 Nonbusiness income (net of related expenses) from 
sources outside North Dakota.

North Dakota Taxable Income

North Dakota taxable income is that portion of a 
corporation’s apportionable income which is derived from, 
or attributable to, sources within North Dakota.

A corporation whose business activity is conducted solely 
within North Dakota is a nonapportioning corporation.  
North Dakota taxable income is the entire apportionable 
income reduced by any net operating loss carryforward 
attributable to North Dakota sources.

Parent and subsidiary corporations, which operate totally 
within North Dakota and file a federal consolidated tax 
return, must file a state consolidated corporation income 
tax return using the combined report method.

A corporation whose activity is conducted both within 
and without North Dakota is an apportioning corporation.  
North Dakota taxable income is computed by multiplying 
the apportionable income by an apportionment factor.  This 
amount is reduced by any net operating loss carryforward 
attributable to North Dakota sources, and any applicable 
income exemptions. The apportionment formula includes 
property, payroll and sales factors, and is calculated as 
follows:

   ND Property   +  ND Payroll    +  ND Sales        ÷   3
  Total Property	    Total Payroll      Total Sales

Unitary Report and Water’s Edge Election   
A unitary combined report is required when two or more 
corporations are conducting a unitary business. A unitary 
business is one in which the activities of two or more 
affiliated corporations depend upon, contribute to, or are 
integrated with each other. The combined report includes 
the total apportionable income of all members of the 
unitary group.  To be included in a combined report, an 
affiliated corporation must have more than 50% of its 
voting stock owned directly or indirectly by a common 
parent, which is also a member of the group.

North Dakota applies the unitary concept on a worldwide 
basis.  In other words, total apportionable income includes 
income of all affiliated companies of the unitary group, 

)( 

Corporation Income Tax
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whether those companies are incorporated within or 
outside the United States.  A corporation may elect to 
apportion its income using the water’s edge approach.  
Under such an election, the corporation must comply with 
the following:

1.	 The election must be made on the return as originally 
filed.

2.	 The water’s edge election is binding for five 
consecutive years.

3.	 The water’s edge report must include the income and 
apportionment factors of the water’s edge group,  
30% of foreign dividends, and 30% of net book income 
from 80/20 corporations. An 80/20 corporation refers 
to an affiliated corporation incorporated in the U.S., 
but having less than 20% of its property and payroll 
assigned to U.S. locations.

Rate Table

Effective for tax years beginning after December 31, 2012, 
North Dakota corporation income tax is determined by 
applying the following rates to North Dakota income:

	 TAXABLE INCOME:
	 Up to $25,000................................. 1.48%
	 $25,000 to $50,000......................... 3.73%
	 Over $50,000.................................. 4.53%

Corporations electing the water's edge filing method are 
subject to an additional 3.5% surtax on North Dakota 
taxable income.

Distribution of Revenue

All revenue from the corporation income tax is deposited 
in the State General Fund.

New or Expanding Business Exemptions

Qualifications  A new or expansion project in a primary 
sector or tourism business may qualify for an income tax 
exemption for up to five years. “Primary sector” refers to 
a business that adds value to a product, process or service 
that produces wealth in North Dakota. "Tourism" refers to 
a tourism-related business that is a destination attraction.  
The exemption is limited to income earned from the 
qualifying project. The project operator is required to file 
a state income tax return even though an exemption is 
granted.

Limitations  A business is not eligible for an exemption if:
•	 The business received a property tax exemption under 

tax increment financing;
•	 There is an outstanding recorded lien for delinquent 

property, income, sales or use taxes against the project 
operator or principle officers; or

•	 The exemption fosters unfair competition or endangers 
existing business.  

Application Procedures The business must apply to the 
State Board of Equalization, c/o the Office of State Tax 
Commissioner.
•	 The application must be filed within the first year of 

project operations.
•	 The application is reviewed by the Department of 

Commerce, Division of Economic Development and 
Finance.

•	 The business must provide notice to competitors as 
prescribed by the State Board.

•	 The State Board considers the application and any 
testimony at a public meeting and then grants or denies 
the exemption and certifies the results to the State Tax 
Commissioner.

Business Incentive Agreement Corporations that receive 
an income tax exemption must enter into a Business 
Incentive Agreement with the State Board of Equalization.

Renaissance Zone Exemptions

North Dakota allows these exemptions under the 
Renaissance Zone Act:
•	 A five-year business income exemption for purchasing, 

leasing, or making improvement to real property used in 
an existing business.

•	 A five-year investment income exemption for 
purchasing residential or commercial real property 
solely for investment purposes.

Tax Credits

North Dakota allows corporation income tax credits  
based on:
•	 A portion of North Dakota wages and salaries, if the 

corporation is a new industry.  A corporation which 
receives a new or expanding business income tax 
exemption does not qualify for this credit.

•	 Investment in a certified nonprofit development 
corporation.

•	 Investment in a qualified North Dakota seed capital 
business.

•	 Investment in a qualified North Dakota agricultural 
commodity processing facility.

•	 Research and experimental expenses incurred in  
North Dakota. 
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•	 Contributions to nonprofit private high schools and 
colleges in North Dakota.

•	 Installation of geothermal, solar, wind or biomass 
energy devices.

•	 Portion of wages paid to a developmentally disabled or 
chronically mentally ill employee.

•	 Investment in a Renaissance Fund Organization.
•	 Investment in historic property preservation or 

renovation in a renaissance zone.
•	 Direct costs incurred to retrofit an existing facility or 

adapt a new facility to produce or blend biodiesel or 
green diesel fuel, or to crush soybeans or canola.

•	 Direct costs incurred by licensed fuel sellers to adapt 
or add equipment to enable retail sales of at least 2% 
biodiesel or green diesel fuel blends.

•	 Blending at least 5% blend of biodiesel or green diesel 
fuel by a licensed fuel supplier.

•	 Investment in a certified angel fund.
•	 Compensation paid to college interns working in North 

Dakota.
•	 Compensation paid to employees hired to fill hard-to-fill 

positions in North Dakota.
•	 New investment and employment in a certified 

microbusiness.
•	 Contributions to a qualified endowment fund held by a 

North Dakota nonprofit organization.
•	 Compensation paid to an employee in the National 

Guard or U.S. Armed Forces reserve who is mobilized 
for federal active duty.

•	 Contributions to the Housing Incentive Fund (effective 
through tax year 2014).

•	 Purchases of machinery and equipment to automate 
a manufacturing process (effective for tax years 2013 
through 2015 only).

•	 Contributions to Rural Leadership North Dakota 
Scholarship Tuition Program conducted by the NDSU 
Extension Service.

HISTORICAL OVERVIEW

Significant Changes in Law

Prior to 1979 
•	 The state's first income tax law enacted in 1919. 
•	 In 1923, the income tax law was revised and patterned 

after federal income tax law.
•	 For 1919 through 1936, a flat tax rate of 3% applied. 
•	 In 1937, a graduated set of tax rates was adopted, with 

rates ranging from 3% to 6%.
•	 In 1978, an initiated measure increased the tax rates, 

ranging from 3% to 8.5%.

1979 Session 
•	 A tax credit for contributions to nonprofit private high 

schools was created.  
•	 The 1% business privilege tax on business income was 

repealed.

1981 Session 
•	 A tax credit for the installation of a geothermal energy 

device was created.  
•	 A deduction was created for interest on bonds issued by 

a regional railway authority in North Dakota.  
•	 The tax rates were reduced, ranging from 2% to 7%.

1983 Session 
•	 Estimated tax payments were required for corporations 

with an estimated tax over $5,000.  
•	 Tax rates were increased, ranging from 3% to 10.5%. 

1985 Session 
•	 A tax credit was provided for investments made in a 

North Dakota venture capital corporation.  (Repealed 
effective August 1, 2007, in the 2005 Session.)

1987 Session 
•	 Corporations were allowed to choose the water’s edge 

method of apportioning income for tax years beginning 
after December 31, 1988.  

•	 An alternative minimum tax (AMT) was enacted.  
(Repealed in the 1991 Session.) 

•	 A deduction was added for dividends from the Myron 
G. Nelson Fund, Inc., a state established venture capital 
corporation. (This was renamed the North Dakota Small 
Business Investment Company in the 1995 session and, 
in the 2005 Session, was repealed effective August 1, 
2007.)

•	 Credits were created for research expenditures, for 
investments in the Myron G. Nelson Fund, Inc., and for 
North Dakota wages paid to developmentally disabled 
or chronically mentally ill employees. 

•	 Income tax returns included a provision for optional 
contributions to the Nongame Wildlife Fund.  (Repealed 
in the 1991 Session.) 

•	 Limitations were removed on the type of business 
qualifying for the new business exemption. The 
exemption was expanded to include service and 
retail industries, as well as assembling, fabricating, 
manufacturing, mixing, processing, storing, 
warehousing, or distributing any agricultural, mineral or 
manufactured product.
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1989 Session  
•	 A credit was added for investment in a nonprofit 

development corporation.  
•	 The alternative minimum tax (AMT) rate was changed 

from 5% to 6%.  A credit was created for the amount the 
alternative minimum tax exceeds regular liability in  
past years.

•	 The water’s edge election was made binding for five 
years instead of ten.  The water's edge spreadsheet 
requirement was reduced from yearly to the first year 
and every third year thereafter.  

•	 The Centennial Tree Trust Fund was added as an 
optional contribution.  (Repealed in the 1991 Session.)

1991 Session  
•	 The AMT was repealed, but the remaining AMT 

credit was allowed to be carried over for up to four 
years.  A deduction was added for certain federal AMT 
disallowed on previous state returns. 

•	 The legislature approved the Taxpayer Bill of Rights.  
•	 The income tax exemption for new or expanding 

businesses was decoupled from the property tax 
exemption and was limited to value-added primary 
sector and tourism businesses.

1993 Session  
•	 Limited liability companies (LLC), a new form of 

business entity, were legalized.  
•	 The requirement to file informational returns was 

removed for tax exempt organizations and insurance 
companies subject to the insurance premium tax.  

•	 A credit was created for alternative fuel equipment 
installed on motor vehicles.  (This credit expired 
December 31, 1997.)

1994 Special Session  
•	 Project size limitations were removed as qualifications 

for the new or expanding business tax exemption, 
allowing large projects to qualify.

1995 Session  
•	 Corporations with parent and subsidiaries operating 

totally in the state were required to file a state 
consolidated corporation income tax return using the 
combined reporting method.

1997 Session 
•	 The law was changed for a single member LLC.  A 

single member LLC will be treated as a corporation 
for North Dakota purposes if treated as a corporation 
for federal income tax purposes; otherwise it must be 
disregarded as an entity separate from its owner.  If any 
LLC meets the definition of a financial institution, as 
defined in N.D.C.C. ch. 57-35, it must file as a financial 
institution.  

•	 A corporation may elect to apply an overpayment of 
estimated tax to a specific estimated installment other 
than the first quarter's installment. 

•	 A number of changes were made affecting the interest 
calculation provisions.

1999 Session  
•	 The interest rate on refunds was increased from 10% per 

year to 1% per month (or a fraction of a month), which 
is the same rate charged on late payments or additional 
tax due.  

•	 The Renaissance Zone Program was created, which 
allows cities to designate an area within the city in 
which various investments qualify for income and 
financial institution tax deductions and credits.

2001 Session  
•	 For tax-exempt organizations, the due date to file 

returns reporting unrelated business taxable income was 
changed to the 15th day of the fifth month following the 
tax year end.  

•	 A change was made to extend the time period to assess 
tax.  When a 25% understatement of taxable income 
or income tax exists, an extension may be entered into 
before the six-year assessment statute expires.

•	 The tax credit for geothermal, solar or wind energy 
devices was changed.  Property leased in North 
Dakota became eligible.  For devices installed after 
December 31, 2001, the credit is 3% of acquisition 
and installation cost, in each of the first 5 tax years.  
Passthrough entities' owners claim the entities' credit 
in proportion to the ownership interest.  The credit is 
available for devices installed before January 1, 2011.

•	 For tax assessments made after December 31, 2000, a 
regulated investment company is allowed a deduction 
for dividends paid to the shareholders or to a fund of a 
regulated investment company.

•	 Under the Renaissance Zone Program, the business or 
investment income deduction was expanded to include 
rehabilitations of residential or commercial property.  
Also, the tax credit for investing in the preservation or 
renovation of historic property was reduced to 25% of 
the investment, not to exceed $250,000.  

2003 Session  
•	 The federal income tax deduction was repealed for tax 

years beginning after December 31, 2003.  
•	 The tax rates were reduced, ranging from 2.6 to 7.0%.  

Corporations electing the water's edge filing method are 
subject to an additional 3.5% surtax on North Dakota 
taxable income.  

•	 North Dakota net operating losses in tax years 
beginning after December 31, 2002, cannot be carried 
back to a previous tax year.  
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•	 Due to a North Dakota Supreme Court ruling, the North 
Dakota domestic dividend exclusion was repealed, 
effective for tax years beginning after  
December 31, 1999.

•	 A credit was created for costs incurred to retrofit an 
existing facility or adapt a new facility to produce or 
blend biodiesel fuel.

2005 Session  
•	 Two new addition adjustments to federal taxable 

income were authorized effective for taxable years 
beginning after December 31, 2004:

	 •	 U.S. production activities income deducted to 
compute federal taxable income.

	 •	 Extraterritorial income excluded from the 
computation of federal taxable income (for tax years 
2005 and 2006 only).

•	 The highest tax rate was reduced from 7% to 6.5%, 
effective for taxable years beginning after  
December 31, 2006.

•	 If a corporation is a member of a group of corporations 
filing a consolidated North Dakota return using the 
combined reporting method, the credit for installing a 
geothermal, solar, or wind energy device may be offset 
against the consolidated tax liability (as opposed to 
just the tax liability of the corporation eligible for the 
credit).  Also, an unused credit may be carried forward 
up to five tax years.

•	 Eligibility for the seed capital and agricultural 
commodity processing facility investment tax credits 
was expanded to include regular corporations, trusts 
and passthrough entities (such as S corporations and 
partnerships).  In the case of a passthrough entity, the 
tax credit must be passed through to the entity's owners 
based on their respective ownership interests.  

•	 The amount of investment eligible for the seed capital 
investment tax credit was limited to $500,000 per 
qualified business over the business' lifetime.  For 
investments made after December 31, 2004, the amount 
of tax credits allowed for all investments in all  
qualified businesses was limited to $2.5 million per 
calendar year.

•	 The amount of credit for an investment in an 
agricultural commodity processing facility was limited 
to $50,000.  The total credit a taxpayer is eligible for in 
all tax years was limited to $250,000.  The number of 
tax years over which a taxpayer may carry forward an 
unused tax credit was reduced from fifteen to five years.

•	 For tax payments (other than property taxes), made after 
December 31, 2004, a claim for credit or refund based 
on a claim that the tax or the law is unconstitutional 
must be made within 180 days of the due date of the 
return or payment of the tax, whichever occurs first.

•	 Two new credits related to biodiesel fuel were 

authorized for (1) fuel sellers who adapt or add 
equipment to their facilities to enable the sales of at 
least 2% biodiesel blends and (2) licensed fuel suppliers 
who blend fuel containing at least 5% biodiesel fuel.

2007 Session  
•	 For a short period that is less than 120 days, no 

estimated payment of tax is required.
•	 Revisions were made to the following tax credits:

1)	Seed capital investment tax credit - The calculation 
of the allowable tax credit was changed to be 45% of 
investments made in a tax year, with no limitation of 
the amount of investment or credit.  The limitation on 
the amount of tax credit that can be used in any tax 
year was changed to $112,500.  (Credits in excess of 
$112,500 may be carried over.)  Angel Funds were 
added as eligible for the tax credit.  The credit based 
on the Angel Fund's investment is passed through 
to the Angel Fund investors who claim the credit on 
their own respective returns.

2)	Agricultural commodity processing facility 
investment tax credit - The calculation of the 
allowable credit was changed to be 30% of 
investments made in a tax year, with no limitation of 
the amount of investment or credit.  The limitation 
on the amount of tax credit that can be used in any 
tax year was changed to $112,500.  The carryover 
period for unused credits was increased to 10 years.  
"Qualified investment" was redefined to include 
cash or transfer of interest in real property in North 
Dakota, subject to certain conditions.

3)	Credit for research and experimental expenditures - 
The calculation of the credit was changed from the 
prior computation of 8% of the first $1.5 million 
of eligible expenses and 4% of eligible expenses 
above $1.5 million.  For tax years beginning after 
December 31, 2006, the calculation begins with 
25% of the first $100,000 of eligible expenses.  For 
eligible expenses over $100,000 in a tax year, the 
applicable percentage for tax years 2007 through 
2016 varies based on when qualified research in 
North Dakota began.

	 For tax years after 2016, for eligible expenses over 
$100,000, the applicable percentage for all taxpayers 
is 8%.

	 For taxpayers who began qualified research in North 
Dakota before January 1, 2007, the maximum credit 
allowed in any year is $2 million; any credit over this 
amount is not allowed in any year.

	 For tax years after December 31, 2006, credits earned 
by any corporation in a consolidated corporation 
income tax return may be used to reduce the 
aggregate tax liability of all corporations in the 
return.
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4)	Credit for installation of geothermal, solar or wind 
energy devices - The credit was expanded to include 
devices that use biomass as the renewable energy 
source.  For all eligible devices installed on or after 
January 1, 2007, if ownership of an eligible device 
is sold at the time the installation is completed, and 
the device is fully operational, the tax credit allowed 
to the installer transfers with the device to the 
purchaser.

•	 Saleable Tax Credits - The 2007 Legislative Session 
authorized the first saleable tax credits in North Dakota's 
history as follows:

	 1.	 Credit for research and experimental expenditures 
- Subject to certain conditions, a taxpayer may sell, 
transfer, or assign up to $100,000 of unused credit to 
another taxpayer if the selling taxpayer is certified by 
the Department of Commerce.

	 2.	 Credit for installation of biomass, geothermal, 
solar or wind energy devices - Subject to certain 
conditions, for devices installed on or after 
January 1, 2007, a taxpayer may sell, transfer or 
assign an unused credit to another taxpayer.  This 
provision was repealed in the 2009 Legislative 
Session.

The following new tax credits were authorized:
•	 Angel Fund investment tax credit - Corporations may 

receive a credit equal to 45% of the total investments 
made in Angel Funds in a tax year, up to a maximum 
credit of $45,000 per tax year.  An unused credit in 
the year of the investment may be carried forward 
for up to 4 years.  To qualify, the Angel Fund must be 
incorporated in North Dakota and be in compliance 
with North Dakota securities laws.  (A taxpayer 
claiming this credit may not also claim an income tax 
credit passed through by an angel fund resulting from 
the Angel Fund's own investment under the tax credit 
programs for seed capital investment or investment 
in an agricultural commodity processing facility.)

•	 Internship employment tax credit - Corporations may 
receive a credit equal to 10% of the compensation 
paid to up to 5 interns at a time.  The intern and 
internship must meet certain qualifications.  An 
employer is allowed a maximum of $3,000 in credits 
for all taxable years combined.

•	 Workforce recruitment tax credit - Corporations 
may receive a credit for employing extraordinary 
recruitment methods that result in the hiring of 
employees for hard-to-fill positions in North Dakota.  
The credit is equal to 5% of the compensation paid 
during the first 12 consecutive months such an 
employee is hired and is allowed in the first tax year 
following the completion of those twelve months.  
Any unused credit may be carried forward for up 

to 4 years.  To be eligible, the annual salary for the 
position must be at least 125% of North Dakota's 
average wage (as published by Job Service North 
Dakota).  Also, an employer must have used certain 
prescribed recruitment methods for at least six 
months to fill the position.

•	 Microbusiness income tax credit - A corporation 
is allowed a credit for new investment and new 
employment in a microbusiness in North Dakota 
that creates new income or jobs.  Certain criteria 
must be met to qualify as a microbusiness.  A 
microbusiness must be certified by the Department 
of Commerce and no more than 200 microbusinesses 
may be certified.  The credit is equal to 20% of 
the new investment (increase) in buildings and 
depreciable property and new employment (increased 
compensation for new employees).  An unused credit 
may be carried forward for up to 5 years.

•	 Property tax relief credit - For tax years 2007 and 
2008 only, corporations which own property in 
North Dakota which is classified as commercial 
property may claim a credit of 10% of the property 
tax or mobile home tax levied on the property, up to 
a maximum of $1,000.  For this credit, this means 
property taxes before any discount and before any 
special assessments.  Unused credit may be carried 
forward for up to 5 years.

•	 Credit for contributions to a qualified endowment 
- Corporations may claim a credit for making a 
charitable contribution to a qualified endowment of 
a qualified nonprofit organization in North Dakota.  
The tax credit is equal to 40% of the contributions 
made in a tax year, up to a maximum of $10,000.  
North Dakota taxable income must be increased by 
the amount of the contribution, to the extent that the 
contribution reduced federal taxable income.  An 
unused credit may be carried forward for up to 3 
years.  If a contribution is recovered by a corporation, 
the tax credit allowed for that contribution must be 
added to tax due in the year in which the contribution 
is recovered.

2009 Session  
•	 Both the number of taxable income brackets and 

associated tax rates were reduced.  The taxable income 
brackets were reduced from five to three, and tax rates 
were reduced from a range of 2.60% - 6.50%, to 2.10% 
to 6.40%.   

•	 A requirement was enacted for tax credits earned after 
December 31, 2008.  A claim for refund based on a 
credit carryback must be filed within three years of the 
due date, or extended due date, of the return for the tax 
year in which the credit was claimed. 
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•	 Changes were made to how North Dakota taxable 
income is computed in certain instances:

	 ○	 A new deduction from federal taxable income was 
enacted for certain corporations that elect to be an 
IC-DISC (interest-charge domestic international 
sales corporation).  The deduction is available for 
actual distributions if the IC-DISC elects to use 
certain IRS intercompany pricing rules and is owned 
by one or more individuals or passthrough entities.

	 ○	 Corporations that own a captive real estate 
investment trust (REIT) must add back to federal 
taxable income the amount of the dividends paid 
deduction allowed to the captive REIT on its federal 
income tax return.

	 ○	 For cooperatives for taxable years ended after 
April 30, 2009, the cooperative may not be subject 
to the requirement to add back to federal taxable 
income the full federal domestic production activity 
deduction.  If the cooperative elects to pass through 
the deduction to its patrons under IRC § 199, the 
amount passed through is not added back to federal 
taxable income.

•	 Changes were made to the following tax incentive and 
credit programs:

	 ○	 Renaissance Zone Program - Qualifying projects 
were expanded to include leasehold improvements 
and rehabilitation of public utility infrastructure.  
A new tax credit was created for non-participating 
property owners who must make required changes 
to utility services or building structure as a result of 
another taxpayer's zone project.

	 ○	 Credit for Geothermal, Solar, Wind or Biomass 
Energy Device - The sunset date of the credit was 
extended from January 1, 2011 to  
January 1, 2015.  The carryover period for unused 
credits was extended depending on the date the 
device was installed.  For devices installed after 
September 30, 2008, the carryover period was 
extended from five to ten years.  For a wind energy 
device only that is installed after  
September 30, 2008, and before January 1, 2012,  
the carryover period was extended to 20 years.   
The provision for the sale, assignment or transfer of 
credits to an unrelated taxpayer was repealed.

	 ○	 Credit for Biodiesel Fuel Production - The credit 
was expanded to apply to facilities used to crush 
soybeans or canola.

	 ○	 Credit for Investment in an Angel Fund - 
Clarification was added to the definition of an Angel 
Fund and to the criteria for certification as an Angel 
Fund.  Additionally, a lifetime maximum of  
$5 million in credits was set for all investments  
made in a single Angel Fund.

	 ○	 A new credit was created based on wages paid or a 

reduction in compensation for employees mobilized 
for National Guard or U.S. Armed Forces reserve 
duty.  The credit is limited to $1,000 per eligible 
employee.  An unused credit may be carried forward 
for up to five tax years.

2011 Session  
•	 The tax rates were reduced, ranging from  

1.68% to 5.15%.  
•	 A new tax credit was created for contributions to the 

Housing Incentive Fund administered by the North 
Dakota Housing Finance Agency.   The credit is equal 
to 100% of the amount contributed to the fund and 
applies only to 2011 and 2012 tax years.  The credit has 
a cumulative statewide limit of $15 million dollars of 
credits.   Also, North Dakota taxable income must be 
increased by the amount of the contribution that was 
deducted on the federal tax return.

•	 Changes were made to the Angel Fund investment 
credit to allow passthrough entities to pass the credit 
through to its owners and establish a lifetime limit of 
$150,000 of credits per taxpayer.   The carryover term 
for excess credits was changed from four years to seven 
years.   An additional change was made for tax years 
2011 and 2012 to allow the sale or transfer of credits to 
another taxpayer.

•	 A new credit was created effective for future tax 
years of 2013 through 2015 related to the purchase of 
machinery and equipment for the purpose of automating 
a manufacturing process. 

•	 For the ‘water’s edge’ filing method, the requirement to 
file a domestic disclosure spreadsheet was repealed, for 
tax years after 2010.

2013 Session  
•	 The tax rates were reduced, ranging from  

1.48% to 4.53%. 
•	 The tax credit for contributions to the Housing Incentive 

Fund was extended for the 2013 and 2014 tax years.  
A ceiling of $20 million is set on the total credits 
allowed under the program for the 2013 and 2014 tax 
years. Any unused credit in the year of the contribution 
may be carried over to a subsequent year return for 
up to 10 years. North Dakota taxable income must be 
increased by the amount of the contribution that was 
deducted on the federal tax return.

•	 New renaissance zone projects approved on or after 
August 1, 2013, have the following new limitations.

	 ○	 Expansion project limitation – If a zone project 
consists of a physical expansion of an existing 
building, the amount of the exemption for the tax 
year is limited to an amount equal to the income 
otherwise eligible for the exemption multiplied by an 
expansion ratio. The expansion ratio is equal to the 
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square footage added by the expansion divided by 
the total square footage of the building  
after expansion.

	 ○	 Per taxpayer limitation – The maximum amount of 
eligible income that a taxpayer may exempt from 
income tax for any taxable year is $500,000. This 
limitation applies to the total eligible income that a 
taxpayer derives from all business and investment 
interests held during the tax year.

•	 Beginning with the 2014 calendar year, a remitter of oil 
and gas royalty payments must withhold North Dakota 
income tax from payments made to nonresident royalty 
owners with a nonworking interest in the production. 
Nonresident royalty owners include corporations that 
are domiciled outside North Dakota.  Any amount 
withheld is claimed as a payment when the corporation 
files its tax return.

•	 A new income tax credit is allowed to a corporation 
that makes a contribution to the Rural Leadership North 
Dakota Program conducted by the North Dakota State 
University Extension Service. The credit is equal to 
50% of the total contributions made during the tax 
year.  There is no carryover of an unused credit, and 
the contributions may be designated for a specific 
individual.  

•	 The North Dakota financial institution tax was repealed.  
A financial institution that was previously subject to the 
financial institution tax will be subject to income tax 
beginning January 1, 2013. 

•	 The Angel Fund Investment tax credit program was 
changed to prohibit an Angel Fund from investing 
in real estate or a real estate holding company. Any 
Angel Fund that was certified prior to January 1, 2013, 
that made an investment in real estate is not eligible 
for recertification by the North Dakota Department of 
Commerce. Also, the lifetime limit of credits allowed to 
any taxpayer was increased from $150,000 to $500,000. 

 

	 Fiscal Year	 Net Collections

	 2004	 40,257,083
	 2005	 62,669,889
	 2006	 111,789,587
	 2007	 119,955,748
	 2008	 140,737,698
	 2009	 98,958,239
	 2010	 87,874,592
	 2011 	 146,489,704
	 2012	 198,746,771
	 2013 	 187,067,476
	 2014	 239,404,247
	 2015 est.	 242,112,000

SOURCE:	 North Dakota Office of State Tax 
Commissioner.

Corporation Income Tax 
Collections
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For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2013*
	 North Dakota taxable income:	 over	 but not over
		  $0	 $25,000	 1.48% of North Dakota taxable income
		  $25,000	 $50,000	 $370 + 3.73% of the amount over $25,000
		  $50,000		  $1,302.50 + 4.53% of the amount over $50,000

For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2011 and prior to January 1, 2013*
	 North Dakota taxable income:	 over	 but not over
		  $0	 $25,000	 1.68% of North Dakota taxable income
		  $25,000	 $50,000	 $420 + 4.23% of the amount over $25,000
		  $50,000		  $1,477.50 + 5.15% of the amount over $50,000

For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2009 and prior to January 1, 2011*
	 North Dakota taxable income:	 over	 but not over
		  $0	 $25,000	 2.10% of North Dakota taxable income
		  $25,000	 $50,000	 $525 + 5.25% of the amount over $25,000
		  $50,000		  $1,837.50 + 6.40% of the amount over $50,000

For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2007 and prior to January 1, 2009*
	 North Dakota taxable income:	 over	 but not over
		  $0	 $3,000	 2.60% of North Dakota taxable income
		  $3,000	 $8,000	 $78 + 4.10% of the amount over $3,000
		  $8,000	 $20,000	 $283 + 5.60% of the amount over $8,000
		  $20,000	 $30,000	 $955 + 6.40% of the amount over $20,000
		  $30,000		  $1,595 + 6.50% of the amount over $30,000

For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2004 and prior to January 1, 2007*
	 North Dakota taxable income: 	 over	 but not over
		  $0	 $3,000	 2.60% of North Dakota taxable income
		  $3,000	 $8,000	 $78 + 4.10% of the amount over $3,000
		  $8,000	 $20,000	 $283 + 5.60% of the amount over $8,000
		  $20,000	 $30,000	 $955 + 6.40% of the amount over $20,000
		  $30,000		  $1,595 + 7.00% of the amount over $30,000

For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 1983 and prior to January 1, 2004
	 North Dakota taxable income: 	 over	 but not over
		  $0	 $3,000	 3.00% of North Dakota taxable income
		  $3,000	 $8,000	 $90 + 4.50% of the amount over $3,000
		  $8,000	 $20,000	 $315 + 6.00% of the amount over $8,000
		  $20,000	 $30,000	 $1,035 + 7.50% of the amount over $20,000
		  $30,000	 $50,000	 $1,785 + 9.00% of the amount over $30,000
		  $50,000		  $3,585 + 10.50% of the amount over $50,000

For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 1981 and prior to January 1, 1983
	 North Dakota taxable income:	 over	 but not over
		  $0	 $3,000	 2.00% of North Dakota taxable income
		  $3,000	 $8,000	 $60 + 3.00% of the amount over $3,000
		  $8,000	 $20,000	 $210 + 4.00% of the amount over $8,000
		  $20,000	 $30,000	 $690 + 5.00% of the amount over $20,000
		  $30,000	 $50,000	 $1,190 + 6.00% of the amount over $30,000
		  $50,000		  $2,390 + 7.00% of the amount over $50,000

For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 1978 and prior to January 1, 1981
	 The corporation income tax rates had five brackets ranging from 3% up to 8.5% for income over $25,000.

For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 1937 and prior to January 1, 1978
The corporation income tax rates had four brackets ranging from 3% up to 6% for income over $15,000.

For taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 1919 and prior to January 1, 1937
The corporation income tax rate was 3.0% on North Dakota taxable income.

Historical North Dakota Corporation Income Tax 
Brackets and Rates

* If a corporation elects to use the water’s edge method to apportion its income, the corporation will be subject to an additional  
	 3.5% surtax on its North Dakota taxable income.
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 A comparison of tax obligations would also need to consider complex variables such as different state definitions of taxable income and circumstances 
of each corporation.
			   Tax Rate						      Tax Rate **

			   (percent)						      (percent)		  Federal
			   Corporation			   Tax Brackets			  Financial Institution	 Income Tax
	 State	 Lowest		  Highest	 Lowest		  Highest	 Lowest		  Highest	 Deductible

	 Alabama		  6.5			   Flat Rate			   6.5		  Yes
	 Alaska	 0 		  9.4	 $25,000		  $222,000	 0 		  9.4	 No
*	Arizona		  6.5			   Flat Rate			   6.5		  No
	 Arkansas	 1.0		  6.5	 $3,000		  $100,000	 1.0		  6.5	 No
*	California		  8.84			   Flat Rate			   10.84		  No

	 Colorado		  4.63			   Flat Rate			   4.63		  No
*	Connecticut		  7.5			   Flat Rate			   7.5		  No
*	Delaware		  8.7			   Flat Rate		  8.7		  1.7	 No
*	Florida		  5.5			   Flat Rate			   5.5		  No
	 Georgia		  6.0			   Flat Rate			   6.0		  No

*	Hawaii	 4.4		  6.4	 $25,000		  $100,000		  7.92		  No
*	Idaho		  7.4			   Flat Rate			   7.4		  No
*	Illinois		  9.5			   Flat Rate			   9.5		  No
*	Indiana		  7.5			   Flat Rate			   8.5		  No
	 Iowa	 6.0		  12.0	 $25,000		  $250,000		  5.0		  Yes

*	Kansas		  4.0			   Flat Rate			   2.25		  No
	 Kentucky	 4.0		  6.0	 $50,000		  $100,000		  --		  No
	 Louisiana	 4.0		  8.0	 $25,000		  $200,000	 4.0		  8.0	 Yes
*	Maine	 3.5		  8.93	 $25,000		  $250,000		  1.0		  No
	 Maryland		  8.25			   Flat Rate			   8.25		  No

*	Massachusetts		  8.0			   Flat Rate			   9.0		  No
	 Michigan		  6.0			   Flat Rate			   --		  No
*	Minnesota		  9.8			   Flat Rate			   9.8		  No
	 Mississippi	 3.0		  5.0	 $5,000		  $10,000	 3.0		  5.0	 No	
*	Missouri		  6.25			   Flat Rate			   7.0		  Yes

*	Montana		  6.75			   Flat Rate			   6.75		  No
	 Nebraska	 5.58		  7.81		  $100,000			   --		  No
	 Nevada		  no tax			  no corporate income tax				    No
*	New Hampshire		  8.5			   Flat Rate			   8.5		  No
*	New Jersey		  9.0			   Flat Rate			   9.0		  No

	 New Mexico	 4.8		  7.3	 $500,000		  $1,000,000	 4.8 		  7.3	 No	
*	New York		  7.1			   Flat Rate			   7.1		  No
*	North Carolina		  6.0			   Flat Rate			   6.0		  No
	 NORTH DAKOTA	 1.48 		  4.53	 $25,000		  $50,000	 1.48 		  4.53	 No
*	Ohio					    no corporate income tax		  --		  No

	 Oklahoma		  6.0			   Flat Rate			   6.0		  No
*	Oregon	 6.6		  7.6		  $10,000,000		  6.6		  7.6	 No
	 Pennsylvania		  9.99			   Flat Rate			   --		  No
*	Rhode Island		  9.0 			   Flat Rate			   9.0		  No
*	South Carolina		  5.0			   Flat Rate			   4.5		  No

*	South Dakota		  no tax			  no corporate income tax	 6.0 		  0.25	 No
	 Tennessee		  6.5			   Flat Rate			   6.5		  No
*	Texas										          No
*	Utah		  5.0 			   Flat Rate			   5.0		  No
*	Vermont	 6.0		  8.5	 $10,000		  $25,000		  --		  No

	 Virginia		  6.0			   Flat Rate			   6.0		  No
	 Washington					    no corporate income tax				    No
	 West Virginia		  6.5			   Flat Rate			   6.5		  No
	 Wisconsin		  7.9			   Flat Rate			   7.9		  No
	 Wyoming		  no tax			  no corporate income tax				    No
*	District of Columbia		  9.975			   Flat Rate			   9.975		  No

*	 See footnotes on following page. 
** Rates listed include the corporate tax rate applied to financial institutions or excise taxes based on income.  Some states have other taxes based upon 	
	 the value of deposits or shares.

Comparison of State Corporation Income Tax Rates
As of January 1, 2014
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Footnotes for Comparison of State Corporate Income Tax Rates
Please note that a comparison of corporation income tax obligations would need to consider, in addition to tax rates, complex variables such as 
different state definitions of taxable income and circumstances of each corporation. 
Arizona: Minimum tax is $100 for corporations and financial institutions. Tax rate is scheduled to decrease to 6.0% in tax years 2015.
California: The minimum corporation franchise tax is $800. The additional alternative minimum tax is levied at a 6.65% rate.
Connecticut: Connecticutʼs tax is the greater of the 7.5% tax on net income, a 0.31% tax on capital stock and surplus (maximum tax of $1 
million), or $250 (the minimum tax). Plus, an additional 20% surtax applies for tax years 2012 and 2016.
Delaware: The Delaware Bank marginal rate decreases over 4 brackets ranging from $20 to $650 million in taxable income. Building and loan 
associations are taxed at a flat 8.7%.
Florida: 3.3% Alternative Minimum Tax.  An exemption of $50,000 is allowed.
Hawaii: Hawaii taxes capital gains at 4%. Financial institutions pay a franchise tax of 7.92% of taxable income (in lieu of the corporate 
income tax and general excise taxes).
Idaho: Idahoʼs Minimum tax on a corporation is $20. The $10 Permanent Building Fund Tax must be paid by each corporation in a unitary 
group filing a combined return. Taxpayers with gross sales in Idaho under $100,000, and with no property or payroll in Idaho, may elect to pay 
1% on such sales (instead of the tax on net income).
Illinois: The Illinois rate of 9.5% is the sum of a corporate income tax rate of 7.0% plus a replacement tax of 2.5%.
Indiana: The Indiana tax rate is scheduled to decrease to 7.0% on July 1, 2014. The Financial Institution tax rate will decrease to 7.5% on 
January 1, 2015.
Kansas: In addition to the flat 4% corporate income tax, Kansas levies a 3.0% surtax on taxable income over $50,000. Banks pay a privilege 
tax of 2.25% of net income, plus a surtax of 2.125% (2.25% for savings and loans, trust companies, and federally chartered savings banks) on 
net income in excess of $25,000.
Maine: The state franchise tax on financial institutions is either (1) the sum of 1% of the Maine net income of the financial institution for 
the taxable year, plus 8¢ per $1,000 of the institution's Maine assets as of the end of its taxable year, or (2) 39¢ per $1,000 of the institution's 
Maine assets as of the end of its taxable year.
Massachusetts: Business and manufacturing corporations pay an additional tax of $2.60 per $1,000 on either taxable Massachusetts tangible 
property or taxable net worth allocatable to the state (for intangible property corporations). The minimum tax for both corporations and 
financial institutions is $456.
Minnesota: In addition, Minnesota levies a 5.8% tentative minimum tax on Alternative Minimum Taxable Income.
Missouri: 50% of the federal income tax is deductible.
Montana: Montana levies a 7% tax on taxpayers using water's edge combination. The minimum tax per corporation is $50; the $50 minimum 
applies to each corporation included on a combined tax return. Taxpayers with gross sales in Montana of $100,000 or less may pay an 
alternative tax of 0.5% on such sales, instead of the net income tax.
New Hampshire: New Hampshireʼs 8.5% Business Profits Tax is imposed on both corporations and unincorporated associations with gross 
income over $50,000. In addition, New Hampshire levies a Business Enterprise Tax of 0.75% on the enterprise base (total compensation, 
interest and dividends paid) for businesses with gross income over $150,000 or base over $75,000.
New Jersey: Small businesses with annual entire net income under $100,000 pay a tax rate of 7.5%; businesses with income under $50,000 
pay 6.5%. The minimum Corporation Business Tax is based on New Jersey gross receipts. It ranges from $500 for a corporation with gross 
receipts less than $100,000, to $2,000 for a corporation with gross receipts of $1 million or more.
New York: New Yorkʼs General business corporate rate shown. Corporations may also be subject to AMT tax at 1.5% (3% banks), or a 
capital stocks tax. A minimum tax ranges from $25 to $5,000, depending on receipts ($250 minimum for banks). Certain qualified New York 
manufacturers pay 6.5%. Small business taxpayers in New York pay rates of 6.5%, 7.1%, and 4.35% on 3 brackets of entire net income up to 
$390,000.
North Carolina: Financial institutions are also subject to a tax equal to $30 per one million in assets.
Ohio: Ohio no longer levies a tax based on income (except for a particular subset of corporations), but instead imposes a Commercial Activity 
Tax (CAT) equal to $150 for gross receipts sitused to Ohio of between $150,000 and $1 million, plus 0.26% of gross receipts over $1 million. 
Banks continue to pay a franchise tax of 1.3% of net worth. For those few corporations for whom the franchise tax on net worth or net income 
still applies, a litter tax also applies.
Oregon: Minimum tax for C corporations depends on the Oregon sales of the filing group. The minimum tax ranges from $150 for 
corporations with sales under $500,000, up to $100,000 for companies with sales of $100 million or above.
Rhode Island: Minimum tax is $500 for corporations and financial institutions.
South Carolina: Savings and loans are taxed at a 6% rate.
South Dakota: Minimum tax for banks is $200 per location.
Texas: Texas imposes a Franchise Tax, otherwise known as margin tax, imposed on entities with more than $1,030,000 total revenues at rate 
of 1%, or 0.5% for entities primarily engaged in retail or wholesale trade, on lesser of 70% of total revenues or 100% of gross receipts after 
deductions for either compensation or cost of goods sold.
Utah: Minimum tax is $100 for corporations and financial institutions.
Vermont: Minimum tax is $250 for corporations and financial institutions.
District of Columbia: Minimum tax is $100 for corporations and financial institutions. 
			   SOURCE:  Compiled by FTA from various sources.
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PRIOR LAW 
Applicable through 2004

As a result of federal estate tax law changes, the  
North Dakota estate tax that is based on the state death 
tax credit allowable on the federal return has been phased 
out for estates of decedents whose death occurs after 
December 31, 2004.  Future changes to the state or federal 
estate tax laws will determine whether North Dakota estate 
tax is due.

Imposition and Rate
The estate tax is a tax on the value of an estate transferred 
at death.  North Dakota’s estate tax is perpetually 
“federalized”. North Dakota’s definition of a deceased 
person’s “taxable estate” is identical to the federal 
definition and North Dakota recognizes all federal 
exemptions and deductions.

North Dakota’s estate tax is equivalent to the credit for 
state death taxes allowed on the federal estate tax return 
(or a percentage of that credit equal to the percentage of 
property located in North Dakota). On the federal return, 
the credit for state death taxes is allowed as a credit 
against the federal tax liability. The estate pays the amount 
of this credit to the state. This method of determining 
state estate taxes ensures that estates pay no more in total 
estate taxes than the estate’s federal tax liability. The tax 
is payable without interest for 15 months from the date of 
death.

The estate tax is administered and collected by the Tax 
Commissioner.

Distribution of Revenue
Revenue from the tax is distributed on a quarterly basis by 
the state to the counties and cities in which the property of 
the estate is located.

HISTORICAL OVERVIEW

Significant Changes in Law

1975 Session
•	 The definition of taxable estate is based on the federal 

definition. The estate tax was determined by subtracting 

the federal tax paid from the federal taxable estate, then 
computing a tax using a tax table established in the new 
law.

1977 Session
•	 The legislature allowed the following state exemptions 

and deductions to the value of the federal taxable estate: 
an exemption of $200,000, a deduction for federal 
estate taxes paid, and an exemption for certain gifted 
property. The legislature also provided that the tax was 
either the amount of tax credit for state death taxes on 
the federal return, or a tax computed by use of a tax 
table, whichever was greater.

1979 Session
•	 The rate table was repealed and the law was amended 

so that the state estate tax is equal to the credit for state 
death taxes on the federal estate tax return.

1991 Session
•	 The automatic estate tax lien was repealed.

1997 Session 
•	 The requirement for depositories to file an inventory of 

the contents of a safe deposit box and for the filing of a 
notice of transfer of the decedent's assets was repealed.

1999 Session
•	 The requirement for the register of deeds to forward 

copies of death certificates and property descriptions 
was repealed.

	 Calendar Year	 Total Collections
	 2004	 3,173,650
	 2005	 2,109,496
	 2006	 1,086,192
	 2007	 27,801
	 2008	 87,805
	 2009	 9,776
	 2010	 193
	 2011	 293
	 2012	 27,065
	 2013	 10,440
SOURCE: North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner

Estate Tax

Estate Tax Collections
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PRIOR LAW 
Applicable through 2012

The financial institution tax was repealed effective  
December 31, 2012.  Beginning January 1, 2013, all financial 
institutions are subject to income tax.   See “2013 Session” 
on next page.   During 2014, income tax administrative 
rules were adopted to provide for the same apportionment 
of income of multistate financial institutions that were 
previously applicable for the financial institution tax.

Imposition and Rates 

The financial institution tax was imposed on banks, trust 
companies, building and loan associations, bank holding 
companies, production credit associations, certain leasing 
companies, and other financial institutions.

The financial institution tax was imposed on every financial 
institution for the privilege of transacting, or the actual 
transacting of, business in North Dakota and is based upon 
and measured by the financial institution's taxable income.  
If a financial institution conducts business both within and 
without North Dakota, the financial institution must apportion 
its business income to North Dakota according to the 
apportionment provisions.

The tax liability was determined by multiplying North 
Dakota taxable income by 6.5%, with a minimum tax of fifty 
dollars ($50.00).  This amount, less credits allowed is divided 
between the State General Fund and the Financial Institution 
Tax Distribution Fund.  The net tax payable to the State 
General Fund must be paid on or before April 15 of the year 
following the end of the taxable year.  The net tax payable 
to the Financial Institution Tax Distribution Fund must be 
paid on or before January 15 of the second year following the 
end of the taxable year.  Both payments must be made to the 
Office of State Tax Commissioner.

If a financial institution elects and is granted Subchapter 
S corporation status for federal income tax purposes, 
the Subchapter S status is not recognized for financial 
institution tax purposes and the corporation must file a 
financial institution tax return and pay the tax.  In this 
case, a shareholder—limited to an individual, estate or 
trust—is allowed an adjustment to income in computing 
the shareholder's North Dakota income tax liability.  The 
adjustment, which is equal to the portion of the income 
passed through to the shareholder and subject to North 
Dakota income tax, prevents the financial institution's income 

from being taxed at the financial institution level and the 
individual, estate or trust level.

HISTORICAL OVERVIEW

Significant Changes in Law

1979 Session 
•	 The 1% business privilege tax paid by individuals, estates, 

trusts, partnerships and corporations doing business in the 
state was repealed.

1991 Session 
•	 A state net operating loss was allowed to be carried 

forward. 
•	 Out-of-state banks were allowed to acquire a North Dakota 

bank if the acquiring company was in a reciprocating state 
and the Tax Commissioner was authorized to determine a 
fair method of reporting income to North Dakota.  

•	 Privilege taxes were authorized on North Dakota branches 
if the U.S. Congress authorized interstate branch banking.

1995 Session  
•	 Interstate banking, in-state branching, and interstate 

branching were authorized.  A trust company was allowed 
to establish for itself and its subsidiaries places of business 
within or outside North Dakota.

1997 Session  
•	 Taxation of banks, trust companies and building or savings 

and loan associations was repealed and replaced with a 
financial institution tax.

1999 Session  
•	 Cities were provided authority to create "renaissance 

zones," which allowed opportunities for various income 
exemptions and tax credits for investments in approved 
renaissance zones.

2001 Session  
•	 An exemption was provided for income from property 

located in a renaissance zone and owned or leased for 
either a business or investment purpose.  This exemption 
also extended to qualifying rehabilitations of residential 
or commercial property.  The tax credit for investing 
in the preservation or renovation of historic property 
was changed to 25% of the investment, not to exceed 
$250,000.  The credit must be claimed in the year the work 
is completed.  A December 31, 2004 sunset date for the 
credit was removed.

Financial Institution Tax
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2003 Session  
•	 Financial institutions tax changed to maintain the 

deduction for federal income taxes paid.  The deduction 
had previously been allowed by reference to the income 
tax law.  The change was necessary because the deduction 
was repealed for income tax.  

•	 For tax years after December 31, 1999, the exclusion for 
the North Dakota domestic dividend was repealed based 
on a North Dakota Supreme Court ruling.

2005 Session  
•	 A new financial institution tax credit was created for 

making a contribution to fund a tuition scholarship for 
participation in the Rural Leadership North Dakota 
program conducted through the North Dakota State 
University Extension Service.

•	 Financial institutions that are members of a unitary group, 
and conduct 100% of their business in North Dakota were 
required to file a combined report.

2007 Session
•	 Changes were made to filing requirements for "short 

period" returns, i.e., returns filed for a tax year that is less 
than 12 months.  Such returns must be filed by the later of 
April 15, or the due date prescribed by the IRS.

2009 Session
•	 The only change enacted to the financial institution tax law 

was to eliminate obsolete references.

2011 Session
•	 The overall tax rate was lowered from 7% to 6.5% 

effective beginning with tax year 2011.  The split of the tax 
collections going to the State General Fund was lowered to 
3/13 and the amount going to the Financial Institution Tax 
Distribution Fund was changed to 10/13.  The change to 
the split was designed so the tax rate reduction would only 
impact the State General Fund.

•	 A new tax credit was created for contributions to a 
qualified Endowment Fund.  The credit is equal to 40% 
of the contribution and the maximum limit on the credit is 
$10,000 per taxpayer per year.  The credit is only allowed 
against the State General Fund portion of the tax.   North 
Dakota taxable income must be increased by the amount of 
the contribution for which a credit is claimed.  Any unused 
credit may be carried forward for three years.

•	 A new tax credit was created for contributions to the 
Housing Incentive Fund administered by the North Dakota 
Housing Finance Agency.   The credit is equal to 100% 
of the amount contributed to the fund and applies only 
to 2011 and 2012 tax years.  The credit has a cumulative 
statewide limit of $15 million dollars of credits for all 
income-based taxes.   Also, North Dakota taxable income 
must be increased by the amount of the contribution that 
was deducted on the federal tax return to the extent a credit 
is claimed.

2013 Session
•	 The financial institution tax was repealed effective 

December 31, 2012.  Beginning January 1, 2013, all 
financial institutions will file income tax returns, either as 
corporations or passthrough entities.  A number of one-
time provisions were included to address the transition 
from the financial institution tax to income tax, including 
dealing with 2013 short period returns, payment of 2013 
income tax, and unused North Dakota net operating loss 
or tax credit carryovers for S corporations.  The final year 
of tax revenue related to financial institutions tax was for 
tax year 2012, which was deposited into the Financial 
Institution Tax Distribution Fund and distributed to the 
counties in March 2014.  To address the repeal of the 
tax and the elimination of the Financial Institution Tax 
Distribution Fund that was distributable to the counties, 
the State Aid Distribution Fund allocation to counties and 
cities was increased from 40% to 43.5% of one-fifth of the 
general sales tax.
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	 Tax		  To	 To General
	 Year	 Total	 Counties	 Fund
	 2004	 9,690,881	 6,830,163	 2,860,718
	 2005	 15,587,316	 10,005,681	 5,581,635
	 2006	 18,575,329	 12,558,064	 6,017,265
	 2007	 18,324,871	 12,931,382	 5,393,489
	 2008	 12,083,480	 6,535,072	 5,548,408
	 2009	 12,024,732	 7,940,281	 4,084,451
	 2010	 13,816,254	 9,777,194	 4,039,060
	 2011	 16,352,719	 12,539,063	 3,813,665
	 2012	 21,667,001	 18,272,223	 3,394,778
	 * In general, the financial institution tax liability for tax years 1997 through 2010 was determined by multiplying North Dakota 

taxable income by 7%.  This amount, which may not be less than $50.00, was divided between the State General Fund and the 
Financial Institution Tax Distribution Fund.  For these years, the State General Fund received 2/7 of the tax, while the Financial 
Institution Tax Distribution Fund received 5/7 of the tax.  For tax years 2011 and 2012, the tax rate was reduced to 6.5% and the 
split was changed to be 3/13 to the State General Fund and 10/13 to the Financial Institution Tax Distribution Fund.  

	 The tax collected in the Financial Institution Tax Distribution Fund was distributed to the counties on or before March 1st each 
year.  The final distribution was March 1, 2014.

	 County	 Percentage	 County	 Percentage	 County	 Percentage
	 Adams	 0.2968%	 Grant	 0.3913%	 Ramsey	 2.5621% 
	 Barnes	 2.2119%	 Griggs	 0.9247%	 Ransom	 1.3457% 
	 Benson	 0.3919%	 Hettinger	 0.5873%	 Renville	 0.3585% 
	 Billings	 0.0310%	 Kidder	 0.4219%	 Richland	 2.7733% 
	 Bottineau	 1.8718%	 LaMoure	 0.7904%	 Rolette	 1.0018% 
	 Bowman	 1.1325%	 Logan	 0.7964%	 Sargent	 1.3122% 
	 Burke	 0.4819%	 McHenry	 0.5434%	 Sheridan	 0.2813% 
	 Burleigh	 6.0739%	 McIntosh	 1.1903%	 Sioux	 0.0054% 
	 Cass	 19.2636%	 McKenzie	 1.1826%	 Stark	 4.2348% 
	 Cavalier	 1.6172%	 McLean	 1.3533%	 Steele	 0.5824% 
	 Dickey	 0.9295%	 Mercer	 1.3538%	 Stutsman	 3.4793% 
	 Divide	 0.8446%	 Morton	 2.1364%	 Towner	 0.5375% 
	 Dunn	 0.4347%	 Mountrail	 1.7976%	 Traill	 0.9871% 
	 Eddy	 0.1709%	 Nelson	 1.0597%	 Walsh	 2.5128% 
	 Emmons	 1.2017%	 Oliver	 0.1855%	 Ward	 7.5118% 
	 Foster	 0.9723%	 Pembina	 2.1623%	 Wells	 1.3501% 
	 Golden Valley	 0.5355%	 Pierce	 1.0727%	 Williams	 4.0541%
	 Grand Forks	 8.6988%	
	
*Money in the Financial Institution Tax Distribution Fund for the years through 2012 was divided among the counties based on these percentages.

Financial Institution Tax*

Distribution of Financial Institution Tax*
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CURRENT LAW

Imposition, Rates and Administration

Motor Vehicle Fuel Tax (Gasoline and Gasohol)   
A motor vehicle fuel tax of 23 cents per gallon is imposed 
on motor vehicle fuel (gasoline and gasohol) sold to 
retailers and consumers. Consumers who paid the tax but 
used the fuel in nonlicensed equipment for agricultural or 
industrial purposes may obtain a partial refund.

Seven cents per gallon is withheld from agricultural 
refunds. The seven cents is deposited into an Agricultural 
Research Fund.

One-half cent per gallon is withheld from industrial 
refunds to be deposited into the Agricultural Fuel  
Tax Fund.

The state and political subdivisions may obtain a refund 
of 23 cents per gallon on all motor vehicle fuel used for 
construction, reconstruction, and maintenance of roads and 
highways.

The operator of a licensed emergency medical services 
operation may obtain a refund of 23 cents per gallon on 
all motor vehicle fuel used by emergency medical services 
vehicles.

Special Fuels Taxes Special fuels include diesel, kerosene, 
heating fuel, compressed natural gas (CNG), liquefid 
natural gas (LNG) and liquefied petroleum gas (LPG) 
known as propane. A  special fuels tax of 23 cents per 
gallon is imposed on all undyed (not red) diesel fuels,  
kerosene, CNG, LNG, and LPG sold for use in licensed 
vehicles.

For fuel uses other than in a licensed motor vehicle,  
a 4 cents per gallon special fuels excise tax is imposed on 
dyed (red) diesel fuels, kerosene, and CNG.  A 2% special 
fuels excise tax is imposed on LPG.  LNG and heating 
fuels are exempt from tax.

The 23 cents per gallon and the 4 cents per gallon and the 
2% special fuels excise tax are not refundable. Consumers 
using special fuels for a purpose other than in a licensed 
motor vehicle are urged to purchase special fuel subject 
to the 4 cents per gallon or LPG subject to the 2% special 
fuels excise tax in lieu of the 23 cents per gallon tax.

The operator of a licensed emergency medical services 
operation may obtain a refund of 23 cents per gallon on 
all special fuel used by the emergency medical services 
vehicles.

A consumer, who uses undyed diesel fuel or other special 
fuel for a refrigeration unit on a truck or trailer that has a 
separate supply tank, and pays the special fuels tax of  
23 cents per gallon, may file a claim for a refund.  Four 
cents per gallon is withheld from the refund, the amount 
equal to the tax that would have been imposed if dyed 
diesel or other special fuel product had been used.

Aviation Fuel Tax The aviation fuel tax is imposed on 
the sale of aviation gasoline and jet fuels at a rate of 8 
cents per gallon. Consumers who qualify for a refund of 
the 8 cents per gallon tax become subject to a 4% excise 
tax on the purchase price of the fuel. The 4% excise tax is 
deducted from the refund claim at the time of refund.

The operator of a licensed emergency medical services 
operation may obtain a refund of 8 cents per gallon on all 
aviation fuel used by emergency medical services vehicles.

Tribal Tax The North Dakota portion of the Standing 
Rock Sioux Tribe, the Spirit Lake Tribe, the Three 
Affiliated Tribes, and the Turtle Mountain Band of 
Chippewa passed ordinances imposing Tribal motor 
vehicle fuel and special fuel taxes. The ordinances are 
consistent with North Dakota's state fuel tax laws. The 
initial implementation date for the Standing Rock Sioux 
Tribe was January 1, 1999, for the Spirit Lake Tribe that 
date was November 1, 2006, for the Three Affiliated Tribes 
that date was October 1, 2007, and for the Turtle Mountain 
Band of Chippewa was September 1, 2010.  The amount to 
be distributed to the Tribes and to the state is based on the 
population demographics of the last United States census.

HISTORICAL OVERVIEW

Significant Changes in Law

1977 Session 
•	 The motor vehicle fuel tax and the special fuels tax 

rates increased from 7 cents to 8 cents per gallon.

Fuel Taxes
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1993 Session 
•	 The legislature provided for a "triggered" increase in the 

motor vehicle fuel tax and special fuels tax depending 
on the availability of federal highway matching funds.  
Under this provision the rate increased from 17 cents 
to 18 cents per gallon for the period December 1, 1993 
through December 31, 1995.

1995 Session 
•	 The legislature continued to "trigger" changes in 

the motor vehicle fuel tax and special fuels tax rates 
depending on the availability of additional federal 
highway matching funds.  The rate increased to 20 
cents per gallon for the period January 1, 1996 through 
December 31, 1997.

1997 Session 
•	 The legislature provided for a permanent 20 cents per 

gallon motor vehicle fuel tax and special fuels tax 
through December 31, 1999 and added a provision to 
the special fuels tax chapter allowing the 2% special 
fuels excise tax to be charged on fuel dyed for federal 
motor fuel tax exemption purposes.  

•	 The legislature also revised refund requirements to 
allow refunds of motor vehicle fuel tax and special fuels 
tax to industrial fuel users when the fuel was used in 
nonlicensed equipment on publicly funded projects. 

•	 An additional 4 cents per gallon is withheld from 
agricultural consumer refund claims for deposit into an 
agricultural research fund, and the amount withheld for 
ethanol production incentives was lowered from 2 cents 
per gallon to 1 cent per gallon.

1999 Session 
•	 The legislature reenacted the motor vehicle fuel and 

special fuels tax statutes and increased the taxes to 21 
cents per gallon. 

•	 The legislature also repealed the refund provisions for 
special fuel taxes and enacted a dyed fuel enforcement 
program.  Dyed diesel fuel may not be used in licensed 
motor vehicles, and in the event of a violation, 
administrative fees may be assessed.

2001 Session 
•	 The legislature enacted a decrease in special fuels 

taxes on diesel fuel containing at least 2% biodiesel 
fuel by weight.  The decrease is contingent upon the 
opening of a biodiesel refining facility in this state with 
a production capacity of at least 10 million gallons 
biodiesel per year.  If triggered, the tax on undyed diesel 
fuel containing biodiesel is reduced by one and five-
hundreths cents per gallon, and the tax on dyed diesel 
fuel containing biodiesel is reduced to one and nine-
tenths percent.

1979 Session 
•	 The legislature enacted a 4 cents per gallon tax rate for 

alcohol blended fuel.

1983 Session 
•	 The motor vehicle fuel tax and the special fuels tax 

rates increased from 8 cents to 13 cents per gallon. 
•	 The rates were reduced for alcohol blended fuel by 4 

cents per gallon through December 31, 1983; 5 cents 
per gallon for calendar year 1984; 6 cents per gallon 
for calendar year 1985; and 4 cents per gallon from 
January 1, 1986 through June 30, 1992.

1985 Session 
•	 The reduction for alcohol blended fuel was amended 

to 8 cents per gallon for July 1, 1985 through June 30, 
1987 and 4 cents per gallon for July 1, 1987 through 
December 31, 1992.

1987 Session 
•	 The motor vehicle fuel tax and special fuels tax rates 

increased from 13 cents to 17 cents per gallon.

1989 Session 
•	 The motor vehicle fuel tax rate increased from 17 cents 

to 20 cents per gallon and the special fuels tax rate 
increased from 17 cents to 19 cents per gallon. 

•	 The rate reduction for alcohol blended fuel was 
suspended for July 1, 1989 through June 30, 1991 and 
replaced with an ethanol production subsidy.  

•	 An additional 1½ cents was withheld from farmers' 
refunds and deposited in the Agricultural Fuel Tax 
Fund. 

•	 Enabling legislation was passed to allow the director 
of the new Department of Transportation to enter the 
International Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA) for base 
state fuel tax licensing and reporting. The State Tax 
Commissioner retained non-IFTA importer for use tax 
administration.

1989 Referral Election 
•	 The tax rate increases passed by the 1989 Legislature 

were rejected in a Special Election.  The tax rates for 
the motor vehicle fuel tax and the special fuels tax 
remained 17 cents per gallon.

1991 Session 
•	 An additional 2 cents per gallon was withheld from 

farmers' refunds and deposited in the Highway Tax 
Distribution Fund for incentives to North Dakota 
ethanol plants. 

•	 The rate reduction for alcohol blended fuel was 
eliminated.



42 ND Office of 
State Tax Commissioner

2013 Session 
•	 A special fuel tax exmption is provided for liquefied 

natural gas (LNG) used for an agricultural, industrial, 
or railroad purpose after an LNG liquefaction plant is 
constructed in North Dakota.

•	 The entire 7¢ per gallon withheld from agricultural 
refunds of motor vehicle tax is deposited in the 
Agricultural Research Fund.

•	 A consumer advisory is requried to be displayed on all 
retail pumps dispensing dyed special fuel providing 
information regarding the administrative fee imposed 
for use of dyed special fuel in a licensed motor vehicle.

•	 Provided for increased administrative fees for first, 
second, third, and fourth violations for use of dyed 
special fuel in a licensed motor vehicle.

Tax Types
Motor Vehicle Fuel Tax (23¢ per gallon):
	 23¢	 Highway Tax Distribution Fund
Withheld from farmers’ refunds (7¢ per gallon):
	 7¢	 Agricultural Research Fund
Withheld from Industrial users’ refunds
 (½¢ per gallon):
	 ½¢	 Agricultural Products Utilization Fund
Withheld from state or political subdivision
and emergency medical services' refunds
 (0¢ per gallon)
Special Fuels Tax (23¢ per gallon):
	 23¢	 Highway Tax Distribution Fund
Withheld from emergency medical services' refunds
(0¢ per gallon)
Withheld from refrigeration unit refunds (4¢ per gallon)
Special Fuels Excise Tax (4¢ per gallon):
	 100% Highway Tax Distribution Fund
Special Fuels Excise Tax - LPG (2% of sales price):
	 100% Highway Tax Distribution Fund	
Aviation Fuel Tax (8¢ per gallon):
	 8¢	 Aeronautics Commission Special Fund
Withheld from refunds:
	 4% Aviation fuel excise tax
Withheld from emergency medical services' refunds
(0¢ per gallon):
Aviation Fuel Excise Tax (4% of sales price):
	 100% Aeronautics Commission Special Fund

Highway Tax Distribution Fund
•	 61.3% allocated to state highway purposes
•	 34.5% allocated to the counties and cities
•	 2.7% allocated to townships
•	 1.5% allocated to public transportation

2005 Session 
•	 The legislature provided for an increase in the tax rates 

for both motor vehicle fuel and special fuels from 21 
cents per gallon to 23 cents per gallon. 

•	 E85 was defined and a reduced rate of 1 cent per gallon 
was imposed on all E85 sold in the state until a total of 
1.2 million gallons were sold, at which time the tax rate 
reverted to the 23 cents motor fuel tax rate. 

•	 A special fuels tax exemption was provided through 
June 30, 2010, for the sale of hydrogen used to fuel an 
internal combustion engine or fuel cell.  

•	 Provided for motor vehicle and special fuel tax refunds 
to Native Americans and established a refund reserve 
fund for this purpose.

2007 Session   
•	 Motor fuel refunds are available for emergency medical 

services.  
•	 The special fuels excise tax rate for all special fuels, 

except LPG, changed from 2% of the value to 4 cents 
per gallon.  

•	 The special fuels excise tax rate for heating fuel was 
reduced to 1% for LPG and 2 cents per gallon for all 
other special fuels through June 30, 2009; beginning 
July 1, 2009, heating fuels are exempt from tax.  

•	 Taxpayers are required to report actual physical 
inventories on a monthly basis.  

•	 The requirement that tax be listed as a separate item, 
or a statement that the tax is included in the price, on a 
claim for refund was repealed.

2009 Session   
•	 Township highway aid funds no longer withheld from 

refunds, townships receive 2.7% of highway funds.  
•	 Counties, cities, and townships are required to submit 

annual reports providing information on use of revenue 
received for transportation purposes.  

•	 Refunds are allowed for difference in on-road rates on 
diesel fuel when on-road fuel is used in the refrigeration 
unit on a truck with a separate supply tank.  

•	 Special fuel tax collected from sale of diesel fuel to 
railroads up to $1.6 million dedicated to a fund to be 
used for crossing safety purposes.  

•	 Allows cities with a computerized tracking system for 
vehicle fuel use to use off-road fuel and report and pay 
the difference between the off-road fuel and on-road 
fuel rates.

2011 Session 
•	 Based on information provided on a special fuel 

license application, the Tax Commissioner may make a 
determination if a special fuel license is required.

•	 Allows for cooperative agreements between agencies 
for the exchange of information regarding interstate and 
international motor fuel use.

Distribution of Revenue
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	 GASOLINE	 DIESEL FUEL	 GASOHOL
	 Excise	 Fee/Tax	 Total	 Excise	 Fee/Tax	 Total	 Excise	 Fee/Tax	 Total	 Notes
Alabama (1)	 16.0	 2.0	 18.0	 19.0		  19.0	 16.0	 2.0	 18.0	 Inspection fee
Alaska	 8.0		  8.0	 8.0		  8.0	 8.0		  8.0
Arizona	 18.0	 1.0	 19.0	 26.0	 1.0	 27.0	 18.0	 1.0	 19.0	 Leaking underground storage tank tax (9)

Arkansas	 21.5	 0.3	 21.8	 22.5	 0.3	 22.8	 21.5	 0.3	 21.8	 Environmental fee
California 	 39.5	 7.0	 46.5	 10.0	 28.0	 38.0	 39.5	 7.0	 46.5	 Includes prepaid sales tax (8)

Colorado	 22.0		  22.0	 20.5		  20.5	 20.0		  20.0
Connecticut	 25.0		  25.0	 54.9		  54.9	 25.0		  25.0	 Plus an 8.1% petroleum tax
Delaware	 23.0		  23.0	 22.0		  22.0	 23.0		  23.0	 Plus 0.9% gross receipts tax
Florida  (2)	 4.0	 13.1	 17.1	 4.0	 27.3	 31.3	 4.0	 13.1	 17.1	 Sales tax added to excise  (2)

Georgia	 7.5	 11.8	 19.3	 7.5	 13.8	 21.3	 7.5	 11.8	 19.3	 Sales tax added to excise
Hawaii  (1)	 17.0		  17.0	 17.0		  17.0	 17.0		  17.0	 Sales tax additional
Idaho	 25.0	 1.0	 26.0	 25.0	 1.0	 26.0	 25.0	 1.0	 26.0	 Clean water tax (7)

Illinois  (1)	 19.0	 1.1	 20.1	 21.5	 1.1	 22.6	 19.0	 1.1	 20.1	 Sales tax add., environ. & leak. tank fees (3)

Indiana	 18.0		  18.0	 16.0		  16.0	 18.0		  18.0	 Sales tax additional (3)

Iowa	 21.0	 1.0	 22.0	 22.5	 1.0	 23.5	 19.0	 1.0	 20.0	 Environmental fee
Kansas	 24.0	 1.03	 25.03	 26.0	 1.03	 27.03	 24.0	 1.03	 25.03	 Environmental & inspection fees
Kentucky	 29.4	 1.4	 30.8	 26.4	 1.4	 27.8	 29.4	 1.4	 30.8	 Environmental fee (3) (4)

Louisiana	 20.0	 0.125	 20.125	 20.0	 0.125	 20.125	 20.0	 0.125	 20.125	 Inspection fee
Maine	 30.0		  30.0	 31.2		  31.2	 30.0		  30.0	 (5)

Maryland	 27.0		  27.0	 27.75		  27.75	 27.0		  27.0
Massachusetts	 24.0		  24.0	 24.0		  24.0	 24.0		  24.0
Michigan	 19.0		  19.0	 15.0		  15.0	 19.0		  19.0	 Sales tax additional
Minnesota	 28.5	 0.1	 28.6	 28.5	 0.1	 28.6	 28.5	 0.1	 28.6	 Inspection fee (5)

Mississippi	 18.0	 0.4	 18.4	 18.0	 0.4	 18.4	 18.0	 0.4	 18.4	 Environmental fee
Missouri	 17.0	 0.3	 17.3	 17.0	 0.3	 17.3	 17.0	 0.3	 17.3	 Inspection fee
Montana	 27.0		  27.0	 27.75		  27.75	 27.0		  27.0
Nebraska	 26.4	 0.9	 27.3	 26.4	 0.3	 26.7	 26.4	 0.9	 27.3	 Petroleum fee (5)

Nevada  (1)	 23.0	 0.805	 23.805	 27.0	 0.75	 27.75	 23.0	 0.805	 23.805	 Inspection and cleanup fee
New Hampshire	 18.0	 1.625	 19.625	 18.0	 1.625	 19.625	 18.0	 1.625	 19.625	 Oil discharge cleanup fee
New Jersey	 10.5	 4.0	 14.50	 13.5	 4.0	 17.50	 10.5	 4.0	 14.50	 Petroleum fee
New Mexico	 17.0	 1.875	 18.875	 21.0	 1.875	 22.875	 17.0	 1.875	 18.875	 Petroleum loading fee
New York	 8.0	 18.4	 26.4	 8.0	 16.65	 24.65	 8.0	 18.4	 26.4	 Petroleum & sales taxes additional
North Carolina	 37.5	 0.25	 37.75	 37.5	 0.25	 37.75	 37.5	 0.25	 37.75	 Inspection tax (4)

North Dakota	 23.0		  23.0	 23.0		  23.0	 23.0		  23.0
Ohio	 28.0		  28.0	 28.0		  28.0	 28.0		  28.0
Oklahoma	 16.0	 1.0	 17.0	 13.0	 1.0	 14.0	 16.0	 1.0	 17.0	 Environmental fee
Oregon  (1)	 30.0		  30.0	 30.0		  30.0	 30.0		  30.0
Pennsylvania	 40.7		  40.7	 51.0		  51.0	 40.7		  40.7	 Oil franchise tax only
Rhode Island	 32.0	 1.0	 33.0	 32.0	 1.0	 33.0	 32.0	 1.0	 33.0	 Leaking underground storage tank tax
South Carolina	 16.0	 0.75	 16.75	 16.0	 0.75	 16.75	 16.0	 0.75	 16.75	 Inspection fee & leak. storage tank tax
South Dakota  (1)	 22.0	 2.0	 24.0	 22.0	 2.0	 24.0	 22.0	 2.0	 24.0	 Inspection fee
Tennessee  (1)	 20.0	 1.4	 21.4	 17.0	 1.4	 18.4	 20.0	 1.4	 21.4	 Petroleum tax & environmental fee
Texas	 20.0		  20.0	 20.0		  20.0	 20.0		  20.0
Utah	 24.5		  24.5	 24.5		  24.5	 24.5		  24.5
Vermont  (10)	 18.2	 13.77	 31.97	 27.0	 4.0	 31.0	 18.2	 13.77	 31.97	 Cleanup and Transportation fees
Virginia  (1)	 11.1		  11.1	 20.2		  20.2	 11.1		  11.1	 (6)

Washington	 37.5		  37.5	 37.5		  37.5	 37.5		  37.5	 0.5% privilege tax
West Virginia	 20.5	 15.2	 35.7	 20.5	 15.2	 35.7	 20.5	 15.2	 35.7	 Sales tax added to excise
Wisconsin	 30.9	 2.0	 32.9	 30.9	 2.0	 32.9	 30.9	 2.0	 32.9	 Petroleum inspection fee
Wyoming	 23.0	 1.0	 24.0	 23.0	 1.0	 24.0	 23.0	 1.0	 24.0	 License tax
Dist. of Columbia	 23.5		  23.5	 23.5		  23.5	 23.5		  23.5
Federal	 18.3	 0.1	 18.4	 24.3	 0.1	 24.4	 13.0	 0.1	 13.1	 Leaking underground storage tank tax (7)

SOURCE:  Compiled by Federation of Tax Administrators from various sources.
(1)	 Tax rates do not include local option taxes: Alabama, 1-3¢; Hawaii, 8.8-18¢; Illinois, 5¢ in Chicago and 6¢ in Cook county (gasoline only); Nevada, 4-9¢; Oregon, 

1-3¢; South Dakota and Tennessee, 1¢; and Virginia, 2%.
(2)	 Local taxes for gasoline and gasohol vary from 10.8-19.1¢.  Plus a 2.071¢ per gallon pollution tax.
(3)	 Carriers pay an additional surcharge: Illinois, 21¢ (gasoline), 19.5¢ (diesel); Indiana, 11¢; and Kentucky, 2% (gasoline), 4.7% (diesel).
(4)	 Tax rate is based on the average wholesale price and is adjusted quarterly. The actual rates are: Kentucky, 9%; and North Carolina, 17.5¢ + 7%.
(5)	 Portion of the rate is adjustable based on maintenance costs, sales volume, cost of fuel to state government, or inflation.
(6)	 Large trucks pay an additional 12.6¢ (gasoline), 3.5¢ (diesel). Actual rates are 3% for gasoline and 6% for diesel.
(7)	 Tax rate is reduced by the percentage of ethanol used in blending (reported rate assumes the maximum 10% ethanol).
(8)	 Gasoline is subject to a 2.25% sales tax and diesel is subject to a 9% sales tax.
(9)	 Diesel rate specified is the fuel use tax rate on large trucks. Small vehicles are subject to 18¢ tax rate.
(10)	 Diesel rate is scheduled to increase by 1¢ on July 1, 2014.

State Motor Fuel Tax Rates
January 1, 2014
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CURRENT LAW

Imposition and Rates

A gaming tax is levied each quarter on the total gross 
proceeds from games of chance conducted by licensed 
organizations.  “Gross proceeds” means all cash and 
checks received from conducting games.  The gaming tax 
rates are as follows:				  
	 Total Quarterly Gross Proceeds		  Rate
	 $0 to $1,500,000   ................................	 1%
	 Exceeding $1,500,000..........................$15,000 + 2.25% 	
	                                                   of any amount over $1,500,000

The Attorney General administers the gaming tax.

Gaming Regulation

Certain organizations which conduct only limited sports 
pools, raffles, bingo, paddlewheels, twenty-one, or poker 
may be issued a local permit or charity local permit by a 
city or county. The current fiscal or calendar year prize 
limit for organizations conducting under a local permit is 
$12,000.  In other instances, organizations must receive a 
license from the Attorney General to conduct games.  The 
maximum number of sites an organization may operate is 
25.  The Attorney General conducts criminal history record 
checks of all potential new employees.  Persons who have 
committed any felony or certain misdemeanor offenses are 
prohibited from employment in the gaming industry. 

All net proceeds from games must be disbursed for 
educational, charitable, patriotic, fraternal, religious or 
public-spirited uses.  “Net proceeds” means adjusted 
gross proceeds less allowable expenses and gaming tax. 
"Allowable expenses" per quarter are limited to 60% of 
adjusted gross proceeds. “Adjusted gross proceeds” means 
gross proceeds less cash prizes, cost of merchandise prizes, 
gaming tax, and federal excise tax.

Organizations may conduct games of poker,  
twenty-one, punchboards, pull tabs, bingo, raffles, 
calcuttas, paddlewheels, and sports pools.  Video 
surveillance systems are required at sites where  
twenty-one wagers exceed $2 and gross proceeds 
from twenty-one activity exceed $10,000 per quarter.  
Organizations may use dispensing devices to conduct  
pull tabs and have bar employees redeem players'  
winning pull tabs.

Distribution of Revenue

Revenue from the gaming tax is deposited in the State 
General Fund.  For the 2011-13 biennium, the legislature 
appropriated 7% of gaming taxes collected, up to 
$510,000, for cities and counties for gaming enforcement.

HISTORICAL OVERVIEW

Significant Changes in Law

1977 through 1987 
•	 1977 Session - Bingo, raffles, pull tabs, punchboards, 

and sports pools were legalized.  The gaming tax was 
established at 3% of adjusted gross proceeds.

•	 1979 Session - The gaming tax rate was increased from 
3% to 5% of adjusted gross proceeds.

•	 1981 Session - The game of twenty-one with a $2 
maximum wager was legalized.

•	 1983 Session - The gaming tax rate was changed 
from 5% of adjusted gross proceeds to 5% of the 
first $600,000 of adjusted gross proceeds and 20% of 
adjusted gross proceeds over $600,000.

•	 1987 Session - The game of poker was legalized.

1989 Session 
•	 The game of calcuttas for certain North Dakota sporting 

events was legalized. 
•	 The maximum wager for the game of twenty-one was 

increased from $2 to $5.  
•	 The legislature changed the gaming tax rates on 

adjusted gross proceeds.  
•	 A 2% excise tax was imposed on pull tab gross 

proceeds.

1991 Session 
•	 The game of paddlewheels was legalized with a $2 

maximum wager. 
•	 Employees of bars were authorized to assist 

organizations with pull tab dispensing devices.  
•	 The State Gaming Commission was created.

1993 Session 
•	 The excise tax on pull tab gross proceeds was increased 

from 2% to 4.5%. 
•	 Organizations were required to install a video 

surveillance system at certain sites for the game of 
twenty-one.

Gaming/Pari-Mutuel Taxes

Gaming Taxes
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1995 Session  
•	 The work permit system was replaced by a law that 

enables the Attorney General's Office to conduct 
criminal history record checks of all potential new 
employees of organizations and distributors. 

•	 2.5% of gross proceeds of pull tabs was added to the 
allowable expense limit for organizations.

1997 Session  
•	 For the game paddlewheels, in which prizes are a 

variable multiple of the players' wagers, chips rather 
than paper tickets were authorized to be used.  

•	 The organizations' allowable expense limit was 
increased for capital expenditures for security or video 
surveillance equipment.  

•	 The license fee for manufacturers of pull tabs, paper 
bingo cards, and dispensing devices was increased 

	 to $4,000.  
•	 The Department of Human Services received an 

appropriation of $150,000 to outsource contract for 
compulsive gambling prevention, awareness, crises 
intervention, rehabilitation, and treatment services.

1999 Session  
•	 The maximum monthly rent that an organization may 

pay a bar owner for conducting pull tabs or operating a 
dispensing device on a site increased.  

•	 The Attorney General may require certain organizations 
to make estimated gaming and excise tax payments.

2001 Session  
•	 Bingo halls and on-site food concessions were restricted 

from operating between the hours of 12 midnight 
Saturday through 12 noon on Sunday.  

•	 Employees of bars may sell raffle tickets for 
organizations authorized to conduct games at those bars.  

•	 Manufacturers of paper bingo cards and pull tabs were 
generally required to sell their products to all licensed 
distributors. 

•	 The wager limit was increased from $5 to $25.

2003 Session  
•	 Authority was granted to the Attorney General's Office 

to allow an organization to pay delinquent tax, interest, 
and penalty on an installment plan.  

•	 The license fee for manufacturers of pull tab dispensing 
devices only was reduced from $4,000 to $1,000.  

•	 Employees of bars may provide limited assistance to 
organizations in the conduct of sports pools.

2005 Session 
•	 For a raffle, a licensed organization may, at the request 

of a winning player, exchange a merchandise prize 
valued up to $25,000 for a cash prize once per year.

2007 Session  
•	 The sales tax on the sale of bingo cards was replaced 

with a 3% excise tax on the gross sales of bingo cards. 
•	 The single cash prize limit for raffles was increased 

from $1,000 to $4,000 and the total cash prizes in a day 
was increased from $3,000 to $4,000. 

•	 Licensed organizations are allowed, at their discretion, 
to exchange a merchandise prize valued up to $25,000 
for a cash prize twice per year.

2009 Session  
•	 The excise tax on pull tab gross proceeds was decreased 

from 4.5% to 3%.
•	 The primary prize limit under a local permit or charity 

local permit was increased from $2,500 to $6,000 
(except that cash prizes under a raffle are still limited 

	 to $4,000) .
•	 The 3% bingo excise tax was eliminated for 

organizations operating under a local permit or charity 
local permit.

2011 Session  
•	 Excise taxes on pull tabs and bingo were eliminated 

and the previous four-tiered gaming tax on adjusted 
gross proceeds was replaced with a new four-tiered 
incremental tax on total gross proceeds.

•	 The multiple calculations for allowable expenses were 
replaced with a simple calculation of 60% of adjusted 
gross proceeds.

•	 Nonprofit organizations that sell an alcoholic beverage 
as part of certain fundraising activities are exempt from 
the alcoholic beverage licensing requirements provided 
that the alcoholic beverage is not consumed at the 
event. 

2013 Session  
•	 The four-tiered incremental tax on total gross proceeds 

was replaced with a two-tiered progessive tax rate.
•	 The maximum rent allowed at pull tab sites that do not 

conduct twenty-one and paddlewheels was increased to 
$400 per month.

•	 The $4,000 maximum cash prize limits for raffles 
conducted by public spirited organizations that support 
amateur collegiate athletics was eliminated.

 	 Total
Fiscal Year	 Collections
2012	 5,521,000
2013 	 5,358,000
2014 	 3,363,601
2015 est.	 3,100,000

Gaming Tax Collections
Levied on Total Gross Proceeds
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 	 Total
Fiscal Year	 Collections
2004	 3,432,000
2005	 3,361,000
2006	 3,010,000
2007	 2,940,000
2008	 3,274,000
2009	 3,060,000
2010	 2,990,000
2011	 3,123,000
2012*	 0

Gaming Tax Collections
Levied on Total Adjusted Gross Proceeds

	 State
Fiscal Year	 General Fund

	 2004	 6,483,000
	 2005	 6,361,000
	 2006	 6,080,000
	 2007	 5,963,000
	 2008*	 7,145,000
	 2009*	 7,018,000
	 2010*	 4,900,000
	 2011	 5,193,000
	 2012*	 0

Excise Tax Collections
Levied on Gross Proceeds of Pull Tabs

	        State
Fiscal Year	 General Fund
	 2004	 111,964
	 2005	 253,268
	 2006	 44,739
	 2007	 184,317
	 2008	 171,159
	 2009	 73,781
	 2010	 54,070
	 2011	 82,084
	 2012	 100,061 
	 2013	 124,323
*	 Horse racing taxes are deposited in the General Fund. Several other 

portions of wagers are distributed to other racing-related funds and 
are not included in the table.

SOURCE:  North Dakota Racing Commission. 

Pari-Mutuel Racing
Tax Collections*

Levied on On- and Off-Track Horse Racing

CURRENT LAW
A pari-mutuel tax is levied upon total wagers placed on 
race performances through live, simulcast and account 
wagering.

Two percent of live wagers are assessed as follows:
•	 One-half of one percent to the State Treasurer to be 

deposited in the State General Fund. 
•	 One-half of one percent to the commission to be 

deposited in the Breeder's Fund.
•	 One-half of one percent to the commission to be 

deposited in the Purse Fund.
•	 One-half of one percent to the commission to be 

deposited in the Racing Promotion Fund.

Pari-mutuel taxes on simulcast and account wagering 
are assessed as follows:
•	 One-sixteenth of one percent to the State Treasurer to be 

deposited in the State General Fund. 
•	 One-sixteenth of one percent to the commission to be 

deposited in the Breeder's Fund.
•	 One-sixteenth of one percent to the commission to be 

deposited in the Purse Fund.
•	 One-sixteenth of one percent to the commission to be 

deposited in the Racing Promotion Fund.

Pari-mutuel taxes and special funds are administered by 
the North Dakota Racing Commission.

HISTORICAL OVERVIEW

Significant Changes in Law

2009 Session  
•	 The pari-mutuel tax was decreased from 3.5% and  

4% to 2% for simulcast and live racing.  

2011 Session  
•	 The amount a licensee pays the Commission for all 

unclaimed tickets and breakage is based on the first  
$20 million wagered with each provider.  The amount 
the Commission may receive from the Promotion Fund 
for operating expenses is limited to $25,000 or 25% of 
the balance, whichever is greater.

2013 Session
•	 The tax rate for simulcast wagering was set at the same 

rate as account wagering (.25%).
•	 The total taxes paid on simulcast and account wagering 

were capped at $400,000 for fiscal year 2014 and 
$420,000 for each fiscal year thereafter.

•	 All unclaimed tickets and breakage must be deposited 
into the promotion fund rather than split among the 
three funds administered by the Commission. 

Pari-Mutuel Taxes

* Excise taxes and the previous gaming tax on adjusted gross proceeds were eliminated on July 1, 2011, and replaced with a new gaming tax based on total gross proceeds.
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CURRENT LAW

Filing Requirements

Every resident of North Dakota who has a federal income 
tax filing requirement is required to file a North Dakota 
income tax return.

Every nonresident who has a federal income tax filing 
requirement and derives income from North Dakota 
(except interest and dividends from nonbusiness sources, 
pensions and annuities) is required to file a North Dakota 
income tax return.  There are exceptions for certain Native 
Americans, interstate transportation employees, 
Minnesota and Montana residents, and military 
personnel and their spouse.

An individual income tax return is due the 15th day of the 
4th month following the end of the tax year.

Choice of Methods  Full-year residents have the option to 
file using either Form ND-1EZ or Form ND-1, depending 
on certain criteria.  Part-year residents and full-year  
nonresidents must file using Form ND-1 along with 
Schedule ND-1NR.  The Form ND-2 (long form) was 
repealed after tax year 2008.

Filing Status  The same filing status (that is, single, 
married filing jointly, head of household, etc.) used 
for federal purposes must be used when filing for state 
purposes.

Taxable Income North Dakota taxable income for 
most individuals will equal federal taxable income. For 
some individuals, North Dakota taxable income must be 
calculated by adjusting federal taxable income by:
•	 Adding a lump-sum distribution from a qualified 

pension plan reported on Form 4972.
•	 Adding a loss from a former financial institution that is 

an S corporation that elected to be taxed as a  
C corporation.

•	 Adding a charitable contribution deducted from federal 
taxable income on which the North Dakota planned gift 
tax credit or qualified endowment tax credit is based.

•	 Adding a charitable contribution deducted from federal 
taxable income on which the North Dakota Housing 
Incentive Fund credit is based.

• 	 Subtracting 40% of a net long-term capital gain 
allocable to North Dakota.

•	 Subtracting 40% of a qualified dividend allocable to 
North Dakota.

•	 Subtracting interest income from U.S. obligations.
•	 Subtracting exempt income of a Native American.
•	 Subtracting retirement, unemployment, and sick pay 

benefits from the U.S. Railroad Retirement Board.
•	 Subtracting income from former financial institution 

that is an S corporation that elected to be taxed as a  
C corporation.

•	 Subtracting income exempted under the Renaissance 
Zone Act.

•	 Subtracting income exempted under the new or 
expanding business exemption.

•	 Subtracting the pay received by a National Guard/
Reserve member for service in U.S. armed forces.

•	 Subtracting the pay received by a nonresident for 
service in the U.S. armed forces.

•	 Subtracting up to $10,000 of medical expenses and lost 
wages for donating a human organ.

•	 Subtracting the amount of a taxable signing bonus, 
moving expense reimbursement, or nontypical fringe 
benefits received for filling an employment position 
eligible for the workforce recruitment credit.

•	 Subtracting up to $5,000 ($10,000, if joint return) of 
contributions to a North Dakota College SAVE account.

	
Tax Rates The applicable tax rates depend on the 
taxpayer’s filing status. The tax rates applicable to each 
filing status for the 2014 tax year are as follows:

	 Single
	 ND taxable income
		  Over			   But not over	 Tax rate	
	 $	 0	 $	 36,900  ............. 1.22%
	 $	 36,900 	 $	 89,350  ............. 2.27%
	 $	 89,350	 $	 186,350  ............. 2.52%
	 $	 186,350	 $	 405,100  ............. 2.93%
	 $	 405,100  ............................................3.22%

	 Married filing jointly or qualifying widow(er)
	 ND taxable income
		  Over			   But not over	 Tax rate	
	 $	 0	 $	 61,700 ...............1.22%
	 $	 61,700 	 $	 148,850  ..............2.27%
	 $	 148,850	 $	 226,850  ..............2.52%
	 $	 226,850 	 $	 405,100  ..............2.93%
	 $	 405,100   ...........................................3.22%

	

Individual Income Taxes



49December 2014

Married filing separately
	 ND taxable income
		  Over			   But not over	 Tax rate	
	 $	 0	 $	 30,850  ..............1.22%
	 $	 30,850	 $	 74,425  ..............2.27%
	 $	 74,425	 $	 113,425  ..............2.52%
	 $	 113,425	 $	 202,550  ..............2.93%
	 $	 202,550  ............................................3.22%

	 Head of household
	 ND taxable income
		  Over			   But not over	 Tax rate	
	 $	 0	 $	 49,400  ..............1.22%	
	 $	 49,400 	 $	 127,500  ..............2.27%
	 $	 127,500	 $	 206,600  ..............2.52%
	 $	 206,600	 $	 405,100  ..............2.93%
	 $	 405,100  ............................................3.22%

The income brackets are indexed for inflation each year. 
A 3-year income averaging method is available for 
calculating the tax on farm income if the taxpayer elects to 
use the federal 3-year income averaging method.

Nonresident Tax Calculation  Residents and nonresidents 
calculate North Dakota taxable income the same way.  For 
a nonresident, however, the tax calculated on North Dakota 
taxable income (which includes income from all sources) 
is multiplied by a ratio equal to North Dakota source 
income divided by federal adjusted gross income (reduced 
by interest from U.S. obligations and nonresident military 
pay).

Credits Tax credits are available for:
•	 Paying income tax to another state (North Dakota 

resident only).
•	 Paying qualified expenses to care for a qualified family 

member to avoid placement in a long-term care facility.
•	 Investment in a renaissance fund organization.
•	 Investment in historic property preservation or 

renovation in a renaissance zone.
•	 Purchasing or rehabilitating a single-family residence in 

a renaissance zone.
•	 Investment in a qualified North Dakota seed capital 

business.
•	 Investment in a qualified North Dakota agricultural 

commodity processing facility.
•	 Making a planned gift to a North Dakota qualified 

nonprofit organization or its qualified endowment fund.
•	 Blending at least 5% blend of biodiesel or green diesel 

fuel by a licensed fuel supplier.
•	 Direct costs incurred by licensed fuel seller to adapt or 

add equipment to enable retail sales of at least  
2% biodiesel or green diesel fuel blend. 

•	 Providing “marriage penalty” relief for eligible joint 
filers.

•	 Compensation paid to college interns working in North 
Dakota.

•	 New investment or employment in a certified 
microbusiness.

•	 Research expenses incurred in North Dakota.
•	 Investment in a certified angel fund.
•	 Compensation paid to employee hired to fill hard-to-fill 

position in North Dakota.
•	 Installation of geothermal energy device after December 

31, 2008.
•	 Compensation paid to an employee in the National 

Guard or U.S. armed forces reserve who is mobilized 
for federal active duty.

•	 Premiums paid for a long-term care partnership plan 
insurance policy.

•	 Contribution of at least $5,000 to a qualified endowment 
fund held by a qualified nonprofit organization in North 
Dakota.

•	 Contribution to the North Dakota Housing Incentive 
Fund, effective through 2014 tax year.

•	 Purchasing machinery and equipment to automate a 
manufacturing process, effective for 2013 through 2015 
tax years.

Optional Contributions A taxpayer may make a 
contribution to the Watchable Wildlife Fund, the Trees For 
North Dakota Program Trust Fund, or both. A contribution 
will increase a balance due or reduce an overpayment on 
the return.

Payment of Estimated Tax

Individuals are required to pay estimated North Dakota 
income tax if all of the following conditions apply:
1.	 The individual is required to pay estimated federal 

income tax; AND
2.	 The individual’s previous year’s net tax liability was 

$1,000 or greater; AND
3.	 The individual expects to owe, after subtracting 

withholding, at least $1,000; AND
4.	 The individual expects withholding to be less than the 

smaller of:
	 a.	 90% of current year’s net tax liability or 
	 b.	 100% of previous year’s net tax liability. (This does 

not apply if the individual moves into North Dakota 
during the previous year.)

Employer Wage Withholding

An employer is required to withhold North Dakota income 
tax from the wages of an employee if federal income tax is  
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required to be withheld from such wages. Wages paid by 
farmers and ranchers are exempt from this requirement.

North Dakota withholding is computed using one of the 
following two methods:
•	 Method 1: Percentage of Wages (Primary Method) 
	 This method is similar to the IRS’s Percentage Method 

in Publication 15 (Circular E). It is the method 
recommended for use in all cases.

•	 Method 2: Withholding Tables
	 This method is identical to Method 1, the primary 

method, except that no calculations are required. 
Instead, a table is used to look up the withholding 
amount.

Employers must register with the North Dakota Office of 
State Tax Commissioner.  Forms to register for income 
tax withholding, sales and use tax permit, unemployment 
insurance and workers compensation purposes are part of a 
consolidated registration package.

New Jobs Training Program  Under the New Jobs 
Training Program, a new or expanding primary sector 
business may use income tax withheld from new 
employees to pay for the cost of training the employees.  
Application for the program is made through Job Service 
North Dakota.

Income Tax Withholding on Royalties
Beginning January 1, 2014, income tax was required to 
be withheld on oil and gas royalties paid to nonworking 
interest owners that are either nonresident individuals or 
non-North Dakota domiciled business entities.  There are 
some exceptions to the withholding requirement for small 
producing remitters and certain types of royalty owners.  
The income tax withholding from royalties is administered 
similar to employers wage withholding, in which the 
remitter files a quarterly return, remits withheld tax each 
quarter, and files an annual informational return.  The 
tax that is withheld is generally at the highest rate either 
for an individual or corporation.  The remitter reports the 
amount of income tax withheld to each royalty owner on 
Form 1099-MISC that it issues to each royalty owner.  The 
royalty owner claims credit on its income tax return for the 
income tax withheld from its royalties. 

Fiduciary Income Tax (Estates and Trusts)

A fiduciary for a resident trust or estate, or a fiduciary for 
a nonresident trust or estate which derives income from 
North Dakota sources, must file a North Dakota fiduciary 
income tax return (Form 38) if required to file a federal 
fiduciary income tax return.

Tax Rates The applicable tax rates for the 2014 tax year 
are as follows: 
	 ND taxable income
		  Over	 But not over	 Tax rate	
	 $	 0	 $	 2,500  .....................1.22%
	 $	 2,500	 $	 5,800  .....................2.27%
	 $	 5,800	 $	 8,900  .....................2.52%
	 $	 8,900	 $	12,150  .....................2.93%
	 $	12,150  ................................................3.22%

The requirement for an estate or trust to pay estimated 
North Dakota income tax also follows the same rules 
applicable to individuals.  A beneficiary of an estate or 
trust may be required to file a North Dakota income tax 
return to report the income distributed or distributable to 
the beneficiary.

A fiduciary income tax return is due the 15th day of the 4th 
month following the end of the tax year.

Distribution of Revenue

All revenue from the individual income tax is deposited in 
the State General Fund.

HISTORICAL OVERVIEW

Significant Changes in Law

Before 1977  
•	 The state’s first income tax law was imposed in 1919. 
•	 In 1923, it was revised and patterned after federal 

income tax law. 
•	 Between 1923 and 1977, numerous changes were made 

to the law.

1977 Session  
•	 A tax credit for the installation of a solar or wind energy 

device was created.

1978 Initiated Measure  
•	 Voters in the 1978 General Election passed a measure 

decreasing individual income tax rates.

1979 Session  
•	 The beginning farmer program deductions, a deduction 

for gains from property subject to eminent domain, 
and a credit for contributions to nonprofit private high 
schools were created.  

•	 The 1% business privilege tax was repealed for tax 
years after 1980.
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1980 Initiated Measure  
•	 In the 1980 General Election, voters approved the oil 

extraction tax initiated measure that included an energy 
cost relief credit of up to $100.

1981 Session  
•	 The simplified optional short form system was created 

for individuals, on which the tax was determined by 
multiplying the federal income tax liability by a flat tax 
rate of 7½%.  

•	 For long form filers, the beginning businessman 
program deductions, a deduction for interest from a 
North Dakota financial institution, and a tax credit for 
installing a geothermal energy device were created.

1983 Session  
•	 The energy cost relief credit was repealed.  
•	 The tax rate on the simplified optional short form was 

increased to 10½%.  
•	 The tax rates on the long form were increased, ranging 

from 2% on the first $3,000 of taxable income to 9% on 
taxable income over $50,000.

1985 Session  
•	 For long form filers, a tax credit for investing in a 

venture capital corporation and a deduction for an 
adopted child under the age of 21 were created.

1986 Special Session  
•	 General income tax withholding and estimated income 

tax laws were created.  
•	 The simplified optional short form tax rate was 

increased to 14%.  
•	 The tax rates on the long form were proportionally 

increased, ranging from 2.67% on the first $3,000 of 
taxable income to 12% on taxable income over $50,000.

1987 Referred Measure  
•	 State voters upheld the 1986 Special Session changes 

increasing the tax rates and creating the general 
withholding and estimated tax laws.

1987 Session  
•	 A 10% surtax on state income tax liability was created 

for tax year 1987 only.  
•	 Beginning in 1988, the tax return had to include a line 

for an optional contribution to the Nongame Wildlife 
Fund.  

•	 For long form filers, tax credits were added for 
investment in the Myron G. Nelson Fund, Inc., and for 
wages paid to a developmentally disabled or chronically 
mentally ill employee.

1989 Session  
•	 On the long form, deductions were created for federal 

retirement benefits not previously eligible, for highway 
patrol retirement benefits, and for investment in a 
venture capital corporation or the Myron G. Nelson 
Fund, Inc.  

•	 A credit was created on the long form for an investment 
in a nonprofit development corporation, and beginning 
in 1989, the tax return had to include a line for an 
optional contribution to the Centennial Tree program 
Trust Fund.  Taxpayers must use the same filing status 
and the same standard or itemized deductions used for 
federal purposes.  

•	 North Dakota income tax law was perpetually 
federalized for tax years beginning after  
December 31, 1988.  

•	 The short form tax rate increased to 17%.  
•	 The long form tax rates were increased proportionately, 

ranging from 3.24% on the first $3,000 of taxable 
income to 14.57% on taxable income over $50,000.

1989 Referral Election  
•	 Tax rate increases passed by the 1989 Legislature were 

rejected in a December Special Election.

1991 Session  
•	 A deduction was created for distributions from mutual 

funds that hold U.S. government securities.  
•	 Wages paid by farmers and ranchers were exempted 

from withholding requirements.  
•	 The North Dakota Taxpayer Bill of Rights was created.  
•	 The income tax exemption for new or expanding 

businesses was decoupled from the property tax 
exemption and was limited to value-adding primary 
sector and tourism businesses.

1993 Session  
•	 Credits were added to the long form for “seed capital 

investment” in a new or expanding business, for long 
term care insurance premiums, and for alternative fuel 
equipment installed on motor vehicles. 

•	 The New Jobs Training Program was created to allow 
new or expanding businesses to use income tax withheld 
from new employees to pay for the employees’ training. 

•	 Also, a limited liability company form of business entity 
was legalized.

1994 Special Session  
•	 The project size limitations were removed as 

qualifications for the new or expanding business tax 
exemption.
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1995 Session  
•	 A deduction was added to the long form for part of the 

gain on sale or exchange of stock of a corporation that 
relocates significant operations to North Dakota. 

•	 The number of new jobs a business must create to 
qualify for the New Jobs Training Program was 
decreased.  

•	 The Myron G. Nelson Fund, Inc. was changed to 
the Small Business Investment Company, a state 
established limited partnership.  

•	 Authorized the taxation of a nonresident's income from 
gambling in North Dakota.

1997 Session  
•	 A tax credit for qualified care expenses to avoid the 

placement of a qualifying family member in a long-term 
care facility was created on the long form.  

•	 An individual who files a claim for unemployment 
compensation benefits may elect to have federal and 
state income tax withheld from the benefits.

1999 Session  
•	 The interest rate on refunds was increased from 10% 

per year to 1% per month.
•	 The Renaissance Zone Program was created, which 

allows cities to designate an area within the city in 
which various investment qualify for income and 
financial institution tax deductions and credits.

2001 Session  
•	 The simplified short form method (on which the tax 

was calculated as a percentage of the federal tax 
liability) was repealed.  It was replaced with a method 
that uses federal taxable income as the starting point 
in calculating North Dakota taxable income, to which 
is applied a set of five tax rates—2.1%, 3.92%, 4.34%, 
5.04%, and 5.54%.  Each rate corresponds to one of five 
income brackets, each of which varies by filing status 
(that is, single, married filing jointly, head of household, 
etc).  

•	 The estimated income tax requirements for individuals, 
estates, and trusts were changed to provide that no 
estimated tax has to be paid if the preceding tax year's 
net tax liability is less than $500.  

•	 The threshold for filing an annual withholding return by 
an employer was increased to $500.  

•	 A credit was created for investing in a North Dakota 
agricultural commodity processing facility.  

•	 The partnership provisions were changed to exempt 
guaranteed payments of a nonresident partner of a 
professional service partnership for work performed 
outside North Dakota.  

•	 Changes were made to the Renaissance Zone Act 
provisions, including the addition of rehabilitation work 
as a qualifying transaction.  

•	 On the long form, the deduction for adopting a child 
under age 21 was increased to $1,750 with a 5-year 
carryforward of an unused amount.

•	 On the long form, the geothermal, solar, and wind 
energy device credit was allowed for a device installed 
on property leased by the taxpayer.

2003 Session  
•	 The seed capital investment tax credit rate was 

increased to 45%, and thresholds on eligible 
investments and credits were increased.  

•	 A payroll service provider who electronically transmits 
an employer's withholding return and taxes for 
federal purposes must electronically transmit the state 
withholding returns and taxes.  

•	 The legislature required the Tax Commissioner to 
conduct a tax amnesty program.  

•	 The new or expanding business income exemption was 
allowed on Form ND-1.  On Form ND-2, the dividend 
deduction was repealed.  

•	 A deduction was created for compensation that a 
National Guard or Reserve member receives for federal 
active duty service.

2005 Session  
•	 The long-term capital gain exclusion on Form ND-1 

was limited to a gain allocable to North Dakota.  
•	 Lottery winnings were subjected to income tax 

withholding.  
•	 The geothermal, solar, or wind energy device credit was 

changed to allow a five-year carryforward of an unused 
credit.  

•	 A deduction of up to $10,000 of medical expenses 
and lost wages related to a human organ donation was 
created.  

•	 A passthrough entity was required to withhold income 
tax from the distributive shares of income of its 
nonresident individual owners or beneficiaries.  

•	 A credit for blending biodiesel fuel by a supplier was 
created.  

•	 A credit for adding equipment necessary for the retail 
sale of biodiesel fuel was created.  

•	 The seed capital and ag commodity investment tax 
credit provisions were changed to allow the credits to 
corporations and all passthrough entities and to revise 
various limitation provisions.   

•	 A credit for planned gifts to qualified North Dakota 
nonprofit organizations was created.

2007 Session 
•	 New income tax credits were created for: (1) Investing 

in a North Dakota Angel Fund; (2) Employing college 
interns; (3) Employing extraordinary recruitment 
methods to fill hard-to-fill positions in North Dakota; 
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(4) Increasing employment and/or purchasing additional 
tangible personal property in a North Dakota business; 
(5) Filing a joint return by certain married persons; 
and, (6) Owning an interest in a passthrough entity that 
invests in a North Dakota Endowment Fund. 

•	 The existing research credit was changed to allow it to 
include all taxpayer types. 

•	 The agricultural commodity processing facility and seed 
capital investment tax credit programs were changed to 
broaden and simplify their provisions. 

•	 The energy device credit provisions were expanded to: 
(1) Include biomass as an energy source; (2) Allow the 
sale, assignment, or transfer of an unused credit under 
certain conditions; and, (3) Allow the transfer of the 
credit under a turnkey arrangement. 

•	 The planned gift credit provisions were changed to 
increase the amount of the credit allowed. 

•	 For the 2007 and 2008 income tax years only, two 
separate credits—one for residential and agricultural 
property and the second for commercial property— 
were created. 

•	 The family member care credit provisions were changed 
to clarify and simplify them. 

•	 New deductions were created for: (1) Contributing to 
a North Dakota College SAVE account; (2) Income of 
a Native American derived from reservations where 
not enrolled as a member; and, (3) Certain payments 
received for employment in a position eligible for the 
workforce recruitment credit. 

•	 The beginning entrepreneur program deductions were 
repealed.

2009 Session  
•	 The optional method for computing tax (found on 

Form ND-2) was repealed, as were the deductions and 
tax credits that were available to individuals only if they 
filed Form ND-2.

•	 Income tax rates were reduced approximately 12.3% 
for individuals, estates, and trusts.  Income brackets 
changed only for indexing, but the tax rates for the 
five brackets were reduced from 2.1%, 3.92%, 4.34%, 
5.04%, and 5.54% to 1.84%, 3.44%, 3.81%, 4.42%, and 
4.86%, respectively.

•	 New income tax credits were created for: (1) Installing 
a Geothermal Energy Device after December 31, 2008 
on property owned or leased in North Dakota; (2) 
Paying wages to an employee mobilized as a National 
Guard or Reserve member; and (3) Paying premiums 
for a long-term care "partnership plan" insurance policy.

•	 For the 2009 income tax year only, a credit was created 
for certain taxpayers who were ineligible for the 
property tax relief income tax credit under the 2-year 
program enacted by the 2007 North Dakota Legislature.

•	 A new deduction was created for qualified dividends 
received during the tax year that are allocable to North 
Dakota.  This deduction is available to individuals, 
estates, and trusts.

•	 The Renaissance Zone program was changed to:  
 (1) Increase the ceiling on the total credits allowed for 
investments made in a Renaissance Fund organization 
from $5 million to $7.5 million; and, (2) Add a new 
credit for a property owner not participating in a zone 
project who is required to make changes in utility 
services or building structure solely because of changes 
directly resulting from another taxpayer's zone project.

•	 The law governing the Angel Fund investment tax 
credit was changed to: (1) Provide a definition of what 
constitutes a qualifying Angel Fund; and, (2) Require 
the Angel Fund to be certified by the North Dakota 
Commerce Department.

•	 A new ND-EZ form was created for full-year residents 
of North Dakota who have simple returns and choose to 
file on paper.  It is a shorter version of Form ND-1 and 
uses the same tax rates to compute the tax due.

2011 Session  
•	 Income tax rates were reduced approximately 17.9%, 

with the new rates ranging from 1.51% to 3.99%
•	 New income tax credits were created for contributing 

to the Housing Incentive Fund, contributing to a 
qualified endowment fund, and purchasing new or used 
machinery and equipment to automate a manufacturing 
process.

•	 A new deduction was created for married persons filing 
jointly, which applies only if the standard deduction at 
the federal level for married persons filing jointly is less 
than 200% of the standard deduction for a single filer.

•	 Mobile Workforce legislation established new 
exemptions for individual income tax and income tax 
withholding based on the amount of time nonresidents 
are working in North Dakota, the type of work they are 
performing, and other facts related to the individual.

•	 Changes were made to the Angel Fund investment 
credit including making certain credits transferable and 
adding additional limitation on the amount of credits 
that can be earned by a taxpayer.  Also, passthrough 
entities were added to the list of eligible investors to 
receive a tax credit and the carryover provision for 
unused credits was extended from four years to seven 
years.

•	 Changes were made to the Renaissance Fund 
Organization investment tax credit increasing the 
maximum credits available and altering requirements 
for the Renaissance Fund Organizations.
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	 Fiscal Year	 Net Collections
	 2004		 214,145,899
	 2005		 241,319,731
	 2006		 274,621,741
	 2007		 318,433,494
	 2008		 308,889,352
	 2009		 378,135,463
	 2010		 304,252,924
	 2011		 429,848,371
	 2012		 432,132,062
	 2013		 617,933,162
	 2014		 516,139,885
	        2015 est.	 436,711,000
SOURCE:	 North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner.

2013 Session  
•	 Income tax rates were reduced approximately 19.3%, 

with rates ranging from 1.22% to 3.22%.
•	 The exclusion of long term capital gains and qualified 

dividends was increased to 40%.  
•	 A new income tax withholding requirement was 

established January 1, 2014, for remitters of oil and gas 
royalties to certain nonresident owners of nonworking 
royalty interests.  There are exceptions to the 
withholding requirement for small producing remitters 
and certain types of royalty owners.  

•	 The provisions related to income tax withholding 
by passthrough entities were expanded to require 
passthrough entities to withhold income tax from the 
distributive share of income of its owners that are  
non-North Dakota domiciled passthrough entities.  
Also, the type of entity that may be included in a 
composite return was expanded to include non-North 
Dakota domiciled passthrough entities and the settlor of 
a grantor trust.

•	 The tax credit for contributions to the Housing Incentive 
Fund was extended to the 2013 and 2014 tax years, 
with a ceiling of $20 million was set on the total credits 
available under the program.

•	 The Angel Fund investment tax credit lifetime 
limitation of $150,000 per taxpayer was increased to 
$500,000.  The Angel Fund program was also changed 
to restrict Angel Funds that were certified prior to 
January 1, 2013, from investing in real estate and to 
prohibit recertification if it had invested in real estate.

•	 Two changes were made to the Renaissance Zone 
program for projects approved after August 1, 2013.   
A new limitation (based on square footage) was placed 
on the amount of business or investment income that 
can be excluded when the project consists of a physical 
expansion of a building.  An annual limitation of 
$500,000 per taxpayer was also placed on the amount of 
income from all projects that may be exempted.

•	 A new adjustment was created for a shareholder of an  
S corporation that was subject to the North Dakota 
financial institution tax prior to 2013 and elects to be 
taxed as a C corporation for North Dakota income tax 
purposes.  The adjustment must be made to remove 
income or loss received from the S corporation from the 
shareholder's North Dakota taxable income to prevent 
double taxation of the income or a double deduction of 
the loss.  

•	 The net tax liability threshold for when quarterly 
estimated tax payments are required was increased from  
$500 to $1,000.

Individual Income Tax 
Collections
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*	 Seven states levy no individual income tax:  Alaska, Florida, Nevada, South Dakota, Texas, 
Washington, and Wyoming.

SOURCE:	 U.S. Department of Commerce, Bureau of the Census.

Rank	 State			   Per Capita

1	 Connecticut			   $2,172
2	 New York			   $2,047
3	 Massachusetts			   $1,924
4	 California			   $1,743
5	 Minnesota			   $1,651
6	 Oregon			   $1,593
7	 New Jersey			   $1,361
8	 Virginia			   $1,320
9	 Maryland			   $1,298
10	 Illinois			   $1,284
11	 Wisconsin			   $1,259
12	 Hawaii			   $1,236
13	 Delaware			   $1,221
14	 Maine			   $1,153
15	 Nebraska			   $1,125
16	 North Carolina			   $1,124
17	 Iowa			   $1,112
18	 Vermont			   $1,057
19	 Colorado			   $1,049
20	 Rhode Island			   $1,035
21	 Montana			   $1,030
22	 Kansas			   $1,022
23	 Utah			   $983
24	 West Virginia			   $969
25	 Arkansas			   $895
26	 Missouri			   $890
27	 North Dakota			   $888
28	 Georgia			   $878
29	 Ohio			   $853
30	 Kentucky			   $847
31	 Pennsylvania			   $844
32	 Michigan			   $833
33	 Idaho			   $802
34	 Oklahoma			   $757
35	 Indiana			   $757
36	 South Carolina			   $703
37	 Alabama			   $662
38	 New Mexico			   $595
39	 Louisiana			   $592
40	 Mississippi			   $587
41	 Arizona			   $513
42	 New Hampshire			   $75
43	 Tennessee			   $40

Per Capita Comparison of Individual Income Tax Collections* 
Fiscal Year 2013

$0 $500 $1,000 $1,500 $2,000 $2,500
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	 Tax Rate Range	 Number			   Federal
	 (in percents)	 of	 Income Brackets 	 Personal Exemptions	 Income Tax	
State	 Low	 High	 Brackets	 Lowest	 Highest	 Single	 Married	 Dependents	 Deductible	

Alabama	 2.0	 -	 5.0		 3	 500	 (b)	 -	 3,001	 (b)	 1,500		  3,000		  500	 (e)	 Yes
Alaska	 No State Income Tax
Arizona	 2.59	 -	 4.54	 5	 10,000	 (b)	 -	 150,001	 (b)	 2,100		  4,200		  2,100
Arkansas (a)	 1.0	 -	 7.0		 6	 4,199		  -	 34,600		  26	 (c)	 52	 (c)	 23	 (c)
California (a)	 1.0	 -	 12.3(f)	 6	 7,587	 (b)	 -	 508,500	 (b)	 106	 (c)	 212	 (c)	 326	 (c)	
Colorado	 4.63				    1			   Flat rate			   3,950	 (d)	 7,900	 (d)	 3,950	 (d)
Connecticut	 3.0	 -	 6.7		 6	 10,000	 (b)	 -	 250,000	 (b)	 13,000	 (g)	 24,000	 (g)	 0
Delaware	 2.2	 -	 6.6		 6	 5,000		  -	 60,001		  110	 (c)	 220	 (c)	 110	 (c)
Florida	 No State Income Tax
Georgia	 1.0	 -	 6.0		  6	 750	 (h)	 -	 7,001	 (h)	 2,700		  5,400		  3,000
Hawaii	 1.4	 -	 11.00		 12	 2,400	 (b)	 -	 200,001	 (b)	 1,040		  2,080		  1,040
Idaho (a)	 1.6	 -	 7.4		  7	 1,409	 (b)	 -	 10,568	 (b)	 3,950	 (d)	 7,900	 (d)	 3,950	 (d)
Illinois	 5.0				    1			   Flat rate			   2,000		  4,000		  2,000
Indiana	 3.4				    1			   Flat rate			   1,000		  2,000		  2,500	 (i)
Iowa (a)	 0.36	 -	 8.98		 9	 1,515		  -	 68,175		  40	 (c)	 80	 (c)	 40	 (c)	 Yes
Kansas	 2.7	 -	 4.8	 (j)	 2	 15,000	 (b)	 -	 30,001	 (b)	 2,250		  4,500		  2,250
Kentucky	 2.0	 -	 6.0		  6	 3,000		  -	 75,001		  20	 (c)	 40	 (c)	 20	 (c)
Louisiana	 2.0	 -	 6.0		  3	 12,500	 (b)	 -	 50,001	 (b)	 4,500	 (k)	 9,000	 (k)	 1,000		  Yes
Maine (a)	 0	 -	 7.95		 3	 5,700	 (b)	 -	 20,900	 (b)	 3,900		  7,800		  3,900
Maryland	 2.0	 -	 5.75		 8	 1,000	 (l)	 -	 250,000	 (l)	 3,200		  6,400		  3,200
Massachusetts (a)	 5.2				    1			   Flat rate			   4,400		  8,800		  1,000
Michigan (a)	 4.25				    1			   Flat rate			   3,950		  7,900		  3,950	 (k)
Minnesota (a)	 5.35	 -	 9.85		 4	 24,680	 (m)	 -	 152,541	 (l)	 3,950	 (d)	 7,900	 (d)	 3,950	 (d)
Mississippi	 3.0	 -	 5.0		  3	 5,000		  -	 10,001		  6,000		  12,000		  1,500
Missouri	 1.5	 -	 6.0		  10	 1,000		  -	 9,001		  2,100		  4,200		  1,200		  Yes	(n)
Montana (a)	 1.0	 -	 6.9		  7	 2,700		  -	 16,400		  2,280		  4,560		  2,280		  Yes	(n)
Nebraska (a)	 2.46	 -	 6.84		 4	 3,000	 (b)	 -	 29,001	 (b)	 128	 (c)	 256	 (c)	 128	 (c)
Nevada	 No State Income Tax
New Hampshire		 State Income Tax of 5% on Dividends and Interest Income Only.
New Jersey	 1.4	 -	 8.97		 6	 20,000	 (o)	 -	 500,000	 (o)	 1,000		  2,000		  1,500
New Mexico	 1.7	 -	 4.9		  4	 5,500	 (p)	 -	 16,001	 (p)	 3,950	 (d)	 7,900	 (d)	 3,950	 (d)
New York	 4.0	 -	 8.82		 8	 8,200	 (b)	 -	 1,029,250	 (b)	 0		  0		  1,000
North Carolina	 5.8				    1	 		  Flat rate		  	
North Dakota (a)	 1.22	 -	 3.22		 5	 36,900	(q)	 -	 405,100	(q)	 3,950	(d)	 7,900	 (d)	 3,950	(d)
Ohio (a)	 0.534	 -	 5.392	 9	 5,000		  -	 200,000		  1,000	 (r)	 3,400	 (r)	 1,700	 (r)
Oklahoma	 0.5	 -	 5.25		 7	 1,000	 (s)	 -	 8,701	 (s)	 1,000		  2,000		  1,000
Oregon (a)	 5.0	 -	 9.9		  4	 3,250	 (b)	 -	 125,000	 (b)	 191	 (c)	 382	 (c)	 191	 (c)	 Yes	(n)
Pennsylvania	 3.07				    1			   Flat rate					     None
Rhode Island	 3.75	 -	 5.99		 3	 59,600		  -	 135,500		  3,800		  7,600		  3,800
South Carolina (a)	 0.0	 -	 7.0		  6	 2,880		  -	 14,400		  3,950	 (d)	 7,900	 (d)	 3,950	 (d)
South Dakota	 No State Income Tax
Tennessee		 State Income Tax of 6% on Dividends and Interest Income Only.			   1,250		  2,500		  0
Texas	 No State Income Tax
Utah	 5.0				    1			   Flat rate				    (t)		  (t)		  (t)
Vermont (a)	 3.55	 -	 8.95		 5	 36,900	 (u)	 -	 405,100	 (u)	 3,950	 (d)	 7,900	 (d)	 3,950	 (d)
Virginia	 2.0	 -	 5.75		 4	 3,000		  -	 17,001		  930		  1,860		  930
Washington	 No State Income Tax
West Virginia	 3.0	 -	 6.5		  5	 10,000		  -	 60,000		  2,000		  4,000		  2,000
Wisconsin (a)	 4.6	 -	 7.65		 4	 7,500	 (v)	 -	 225,000	 (v)	 700		  1,400		  700
Wyoming	 No State Income Tax
Dist. of Columbia	 4.0	 -	 8.95		 4	 10,000		  -	 350,000		  1,675		  3,350		  1,675
SOURCE:  Compiled by Federation of Tax Administrators.

Comparison of Individual Income Tax Features by State
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Footnotes
(a)	 17 states have statutory provisions for automatically adjusting to the rate of inflation the dollar values of the income tax 

brackets, standard deductions, and/or personal exemptions. Massachusetts, Michigan, and Nebraska index the personal 
exemption only. Oregon does not index the income brackets for $125,000 and over. Maine has suspended indexing for 
2014 and 2015.

(b)	 For joint returns, taxes are twice the tax on half the couple’s income.

(c)	 The personal exemption takes the form of a tax credit instead of a deduction

(d)	 These states use the personal exemption amounts provided in the federal Internal Revenue Code.

(e)	 In Alabama, the per-dependent exemption is $1,000 for taxpayers with state AGI of $20,000 or less, $500 with AGI from 
$20,001 to $100,000, and $300 with AGI over $100,000.

(f)	 California imposes an additional 1% tax on taxable income over $1 million, making the maximum rate 13.3% over  
$1 million.

(g)	 Connecticut’s personal exemption incorporates a standard deduction. An additional tax credit is allowed ranging from 75% 
to 0% based on state adjusted gross income. Exemption amounts are phased out for higher income taxpayers until they are 
eliminated for households earning over $71,000.

(h) 	 The Georgia income brackets reported are for single individuals. For married couples filing jointly, the same tax rates 
apply to income brackets ranging from $1,000, to $10,000.

(i) 	 Indiana includes an additional exemption of $1,500 for each dependent child.

(j)	 Kansas tax rates are scheduled to decrease on 1/1/2015. New rates will range from 2.7% to 4.6%.

(k)	 The amounts reported for Louisiana are a combined personal exemption-standard deduction.

(l)	 The income brackets reported for Maryland are for single individuals. For married couples filing jointly, the same tax rates 
apply to income brackets ranging from $1,000, to $300,000.

(m)	The income brackets reported for Minnesota are for single individuals. For married couples filing jointly, the same tax 
rates apply to income brackets ranging from $36,080 to $254,241.

(n)	 The deduction for federal income tax is limited to $5,000 for individuals and $10,000 for joint returns in Missouri and 
Montana, and to $6,100 for all filers in Oregon.

(o)	 The New Jersey rates reported are for single individuals. For married couples filing jointly, the tax rates also range from 
1.4% to 8.97%, with 7 brackets and the same high and low income ranges.

(p)	 The income brackets reported for New Mexico are for single individuals. For married couples filing jointly, the same tax 
rates apply to income brackets ranging from $8,000 to $24,000.

(q)	 The income brackets reported for North Dakota are for single individuals. For married couples filing jointly, the same tax 
rates apply to income brackets ranging from $61,700 to $405,100.

(r)	 Ohio provides an additional tax credit of $20 per exemption.

(s)	 The income brackets reported for Oklahoma are for single persons. For married persons filing jointly, the same tax rates 
apply to income brackets ranging from $2,000, to $15,000.

(t)	 Utah provides a tax credit equal to 6% of the federal personal exemption amounts (and applicable standard deduction).

(u)	 Vermont’s income brackets reported are for single individuals. For married taxpayers filing jointly, the same tax rates 
apply to income brackets ranging from $61,600, to $405,100.

(v)	 The Wisconsin income brackets reported are for single individuals. For married taxpayers filing jointly, the same tax rates 
apply to income brackets ranging from $10,000, to $300,000.
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CURRENT LAW

Imposition, Rates and Administration

Every insurance company licensed to do business in North 
Dakota is subject to a premium tax on the gross amount 
of its annual premiums, membership fees, and policy fees 
received from North Dakota policyholders. The premium 
tax rate is 2% for life insurance, and 1.75% for accident, 
health, property, casualty and surplus lines of insurance. 
A company domiciled in another state may be charged 
retaliatory tax--the tax rate of the home state‑‑if the rate 
in the home state is higher than North Dakota’s applicable 
premium tax rate.

A minimum $200 annual filing fee is required provided 
the total tax liability of an entity required to pay tax is less 
than $200.

The insurance premium tax is administered by the State 
Insurance Commissioner and is collected quarterly.

Exemptions and Credits

Gross receipts from annuities and from policies of benevo
lent and fraternal benefit companies are exempt. Credits 
against tax due are provided to insurers for the following 
situations:
•	 Assessment paid as a member of a comprehensive 

health association.
•	 Examination costs paid to the North Dakota Insurance 

Department (NDID) or contract examiners representing 
the NDID and for travel expense reimbursements paid 
directly to examiners.

•	 Ad valorem taxes on the premises occupied as the 
principal office in the state for over 50% of the year for 
which tax is paid.

•	 Investments in securities offered by a small business 
investment company created by the Myron G. Nelson 
Fund, Inc.

•	 Assessment paid to the Life and Health Insurance 
Guaranty Association.

•	 Insurers making or participating in incentive fund to 
make loans to low-risk businesses for primary sector 
business projects (N.D.C.C. ch. 26.1-50).

Distribution of Revenue

Collections are deposited in the State General Fund. 
The legislature may appropriate insurance premium tax 
revenue to the Insurance Tax Distribution Fund.

Insurance premium tax collections are deposited in the 
Insurance Tax Distribution Fund until the legislatively 
appropriated amounts are met. The remainder is deposited 
in the State General Fund. In the past, the Legislature 
has appropriated funds to the North Dakota Health 
Department Emergency Medical Services grants, North 
Dakota Firefighters Association and to the certified city 
and rural fire districts.

HISTORICAL OVERVIEW

Significant Changes in Law

1935 Session  
•	 The first general sales tax in North Dakota was enacted 

at a rate of 2%.  The tax base generally consisted of 
all sales to consumers of personal property; sales or 
service of gas, electricity, water and communication; 
and sales of tickets to places of amusement.

Before 1983 
•	 Out-of-state insurance companies were subject to a 

2.5% premium tax. 
•	 North Dakota insurance companies were subject to 

corporation income tax, rather than insurance  
premium tax.

1983 Session
•	 Insurance companies doing business in the state, 

whether incorporated in North Dakota or any other 
state, became subject to the insurance premium tax and 
exempt from the corporation income tax. 

•	 The legislature provided for a 2% rate for life 
insurance, 0.5% for accident and health insurance, and 
1% for property, casualty and other types of insurance.

1987 Session
•	 The legislature increased the insurance premium 

tax rate from 0.5% to 1.25% for accident and health 
insurance and from 1% to 1.25% for property, casualty 
and other insurance. 

•	 A credit was created for investments in the  
Myron G. Nelson Fund, Inc.

Insurance Premium Tax
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1989 Session
•	 The legislature increased the insurance premium tax 

rate from 1.25% to 1.75% for accident, health, property, 
casualty and other types of insurance.

1991 Session
•	 The legislature adopted a $200 annual filing fee for all 

insurance companies.

1997 Session
•	 A credit was created for any insurance company making 

or participating in a loan under the North Dakota Low-
Risk Incentive Fund (see N.D.C.C. ch. 26.1-50-05).

1999 Session
•	  The method for calculating a penalty for failure to pay 

tax was changed.

2011 Session
• 	 The Surplus Lines Insurance Multistate Compact
	 (SLIMPACT) was enacted to allocate among the states
	 the surplus lines premium tax paid to the insurer’s home
	 state. The compact only becomes effective if 10 states 

join the compact or states representing more than  
40 percent of the surplus lines insurance premium join.

2013 Session
• 	 The Legislature, through H.B. 1145, increased the 

distribution of insurance premium tax revenue to the 
North Dakota Firefighters Association and the certified 
city and rural fire districts to $15,336,386.

			   Per Capita Insurance
	 Rank	 State	 Premium Taxes

	 1	 Tennessee	 $106
	 2	 Hawaii	 $97
	 3	 Delaware	 $95
	 4	 Vermont	 $92
	 5	 Rhode Island	 $90
	 6	 Nevada	 $89
	 7	 Louisiana	 $86
	 8	 South Dakota	 $85
	 9	 Alaska	 $82
	 10	 West Virginia	 $82
	 11	 Maine	 $75
	 12	 Minnesota	 $74
	 13	 Montana	 $74
	 14	 New York	 $73
	 15	 Maryland	 $72
	 16	 Mississippi	 $71
	 17	 Oklahoma	 $70
	 18	 Texas	 $68
	 19	 Connecticut	 $67
	 20	 North Dakota	 $66
	 21	 Arizona	 $64
	 22	 New Jersey	 $64
	 23	 New Hampshire	 $63
	 24	 Washington	 $63
	 25	 Pennsylvania	 $62
	 26	 Alabama	 $62
	 27	 New Mexico	 $60
	 28	 Massachusetts	 $60
	 29	 Kansas	 $60
	 30	 California	 $58
	 31	 North Carolina	 $55
	 32	 Arkansas	 $55
	 33	 Virginia	 $48
	 34	 Missouri	 $45
	 35	 Idaho	 $45
	 36	 Ohio	 $44
	 37	 Colorado	 $40
	 38	 Utah	 $38
	 39	 Nebraska	 $37
	 40	 Iowa	 $34
	 41	 Florida	 $34
	 42	 Georgia	 $33
	 43	 Kentucky	 $32
	 44	 Indiana	 $32
	 45	 Wyoming	 $32
	 46	 South Carolina	 $31
	 47	 Wisconsin	 $31
	 48	 Michigan	 $30
	 49	 Illinois	 $28
	 50	 Oregon	 $26
		  US Average	 $55
SOURCE:	 US Dept. of Commerce, Census Bureau
                   Department.

				    Firefighter
			   Ins.	 Death
Fiscal	 Total	 General	 Dist.	 Benefit
 Year	 Collections	 Fund	 Fund	 Fund

2005	 30,671,102	 28,019,102	 2,652,000
2006	 29,124,817	 25,864,817	 3,260,005
2007	 30,168,197	 27,008,197	 3,160,000
2008	 37,425,546	 33,590,546	 3,785,000	 50,000
2009	 34,583,055	 30,798,055	 3,785,000	 0
2010	 35,893,902	 31,098,902	 4,782,691	 10,000
2011	 36,686,391	 31,901,391	 4,785,000
2012	 42,818,733	 38,758,733	 4,060,000
2013	 47,866,948	 43,806,948	 4,060,000
2014	 51,047,337	 42,754,144	 8,293,193
2015 est.	 50,428,000	 42,135,000	 8,293,000

SOURCE: 	North Dakota Insurance Department.

Insurance Premium Tax
Collections and Disbursements

Insurance Premium Tax 
Collections Per Capita   

Fiscal Year 2013
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CURRENT LAW

Imposition and Administration

The tax on liquor and beer is a privilege tax imposed 
on all alcoholic beverage wholesalers doing business in 
North Dakota. In addition, direct shippers, microbrew 
pubs, domestic wineries and domestic distilleries pay the 
taxes on alcoholic beverages made by those facilities and 
sold directly to consumers. A pub, winery, or distillery 
may not engage in any wholesaling activities.  The State 
Tax Commissioner administers the tax and licenses of 
wholesalers, direct shippers, microbrew pubs, domestic 
wineries and domestic distilleries.  The tax is collected on 
either a monthly or annual calendar year basis.  Licenses 
are also required for alcoholic beverage suppliers shipping 
product to a North Dakota wholesaler and out of state 
direct shippers of alcoholic beverages to North Dakota 
consumers.

Exemptions

If the alcohol is used for non-beverage purposes, it is 
exempt from the tax. These exemptions include:
•	 Denatured alcohol
•	 Patent, proprietary, medical, pharmaceutical, antiseptic 

and toilet preparations
•	 Flavoring extracts
•	 Syrups and food products
•	 Scientific chemical and industrial products
•	 Wines delivered to priests, rabbis and ministers for 

sacramental use

Rates

The amount of the tax is determined by the type of 
beverage and the gallonage sold by a wholesaler. The tax 
rate schedule is as follows:
	 Per Wine Gallon
Beer in bulk containers	 $	 .08
Beer in bottles and cans	 $	 .16
Wine (less than 17% alcohol),
  including sparkling wine	 $	 .50
Wine (17% to 24% alcohol)	 $	 .60
Distilled Spirits	 $	 2.50
Alcohol	 $	 4.05

Distribution of Revenue

Revenue from the liquor and beer tax is deposited in the 
State General Fund.

HISTORICAL OVERVIEW

Significant Changes in Law

1967 Session  
•	 The alcoholic beverage tax law was rewritten and the 

tax rates were restructured.

1991 Session 
•	 Microbrew pubs became subject to the liquor and beer 

tax.

1995 Session 
•	 Bonding repealed.

1995 Session 
•	 Microbrew pubs became subject to new licensing 

requirements.

1999 Session 
•	 Establish penalties for the shipping of out-of-state sales 

of alcoholic beverages from an out-of-state location 
directly to a person in North Dakota who is not a 
wholesaler.

2001 Session 
•	 The wholesale alcoholic beverage administration was 

transferred from the state treasurer to the state Tax 
Commissioner effective July 1, 2001.  

•	 Effective August 1, 2001, direct shippers of alcoholic 
beverages and farm wineries are required to obtain 
annual licenses and pay the wholesaler and applicable 
retailer taxes to the state Tax Commissioner.

2003 Session 
•	 The alcoholic beverages law was amended to replace 

"farm winery" with "domestic winery."

2005 Session 
•	 Suppliers became subject to new licensing 

requirements.  
•	 Brand registration requirements were repealed.  
•	 Thresholds for point-of-sale and dispensing equipment 

provided by wholesalers to retailers were increased. 

Liquor and Beer Taxes
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•	 The percentage volume of North Dakota produced 
ingredients that must be included in wine produced by a 
domestic winery was defined.

2007 Session
•	 Container capacity was defined for “bottle or can” and 

bulk sales.  
•	 The reciprocity with other states with regard to wine 

sales was repealed.  
•	 Direct shipments to consumers inside or outside of the 

state are allowed by domestic wineries. 
•	 Domestic winery reporting requirements were defined.  

The revocation of a suppliers license is provided for 
failure to comply with reporting requirements.

2009 Session
•	 Domestic distilleries required to obtain annual license 

and pay the wholesaler and applicable retailer taxes to 
the State Tax Commissioner.  

•	 Tax rate on sparkling wine reduced to $.50 per wine 
gallon.  

•	 Updated obsolete law references for microbrew pubs 
and referenced monthly tax reporting by microbrew 
pubs.

2011 Session
•	 Expanded the number of days the Tax Commissioner 

may issue permits for a domestic winery or domestic 
distillery to participate in special events.  Participation 
has been increased from twenty days to twenty events 
plus all Pride of Dakota events.  

2013 Session
•	 Alcohol Carriers and Logistics Shippers became subject 

to new licensing requirements.
•	 Brewer Taproom licensing provisions were established.
•	 Direct to retail sales provisions for licensed wineries 

were established

	

	
	 Fiscal Year	 Total Collections
	 2000 	 5,420,486
	 2001	 5,455,921
	 2002	 5,493,783
	 2003	 5,662,052
	 2004	 5,910,349
	 2005	 5,979,513
	 2006	 6,340,589
	 2007	 6,478,280
	 2008	 6,959,464
	 2009		  7,208,645
	 2010		  7,411,422
	 2011		  7,798,552
	 2012		  8,523,427
	 2013		  9,221,955
	 2014		  9,220,018
	        2015 est.	 9,115,000
	
SOURCE:	 Office of State Tax Commissioner. 
 

Liquor and Beer Taxes 
Collection
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State
Sales Taxes

Applied

State Rate
on Beer

($ per gallon)
Alabama	 $0.53	 Yes		  $0.52/gallon local tax
Alaska	 1.07	 n.a.
Arizona	 0.16	 Yes
Arkansas	 0.23	 Yes		  3% off-premise and 10% gross receipts on-premise tax
California	 0.20	 Yes
Colorado	 0.08	 Yes
Connecticut	 0.24	 Yes
Delaware	 0.16	 n.a.
Florida	 0.48	 Yes		
Georgia	 0.32	 Yes		  $0.53/gallon local tax
Hawaii	 0.93	 Yes		  $0.54/gallon draft beer
Idaho	 0.15	 Yes		  over 4% - $0.45/gallon
Illinois	 0.231	 Yes		  $0.29/gallon in Chicago and $0.06/gallon in Cook County
Indiana	 0.115	 Yes
Iowa	 0.19	 Yes
Kansas	 0.18	 --		  over 3.2% - 8% enforcement tax + 10% on-premise, under 3.2% - 4.23% sales tax
Kentucky	 0.08	 Yes	*	 11% wholesale tax
Louisiana	 0.32	 Yes		  0.048/gallon local tax
Maine	 0.35	 Yes		  7% on-premise tax 
Maryland	 0.09	 Yes		  9% sales tax; 0.2333/gallon in Garrett County
Massachusetts	 0.11	 Yes		  0.57% on private club sales
Michigan	 0.20	 Yes	
Minnesota	 0.15	 --		  under 3.2% - $0.077/gallon.  9% sales tax
Mississippi	 0.4268	 Yes
Missouri	 0.06	 Yes
Montana	 0.14	 n.a.
Nebraska	 0.31	 Yes
Nevada	 0.16	 Yes
New Hampshire	 0.30	 n.a.		
New Jersey	 0.12	 Yes
New Mexico	 0.41	 Yes
New York	 0.14	 Yes		  $0.12/gallon in New York City
North Carolina	 0.6171	 Yes
North Dakota	 0.16	 --		  7% state sales tax, bulk beer $0.08/gallon
Ohio	 0.18	 Yes
Oklahoma	 0.40	 Yes		  under 3.2% - $0.36/gallon; and 13.5% on-premise
Oregon	 0.08	 n.a.
Pennsylvania	 0.08	 Yes		
Rhode Island	 0.11	 Yes		  $0.04/case wholesale tax
South Carolina	 0.77	 Yes
South Dakota	 0.27	 Yes
Tennessee	 0.15	 Yes		
Texas	 0.20	 Yes		  14.95% - on-premise and $0.05/drink on airline sales
Utah	 0.41	 Yes		  over 3.2% - sold through state store
Vermont	 0.265	 Yes		  more than 6% alcohol - 0.55; 10% on-premise sales tax
Virginia	 0.26	 Yes
Washington	 0.26	 Yes
West Virginia	 0.18	 Yes
Wisconsin	 0.06	 Yes
Wyoming	 0.02	 Yes
District of Columbia	 0.09	 Yes		  9% off- or on-premise sales tax
U.S. (median)	 $0.20

* Sales tax is applied to on-premise sales only.

SOURCE:  Distilled Spirits Council of the U.S., October 2014.

Other Taxes

Comparison of State Tax Rates - Beer
January 1, 2014
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Alabama	 $1.70		  Yes	 Local - $0.26/gal. Over 14% alcohol content - $9.16/gal.
Alaska	 2.50		  (2)

Arizona	 0.84		  Yes	 Over 24% alcohol content - $4.00/gal.
Arkansas	 0.75		  Yes	 Under 5% alcohol content - $0.25/gal. Case - $0.05. Off-premises - 3%. On-premises - 10%.
California	 0.20		  Yes	 Sparkling wine - $0.30/gal.
Colorado	 0.28		  Yes
Connecticut	 0.72		  Yes	 Over 21% alcohol content - $1.80/gal. Sparkling wine - $1.80/gal.
Delaware	 0.97		  (2)

Florida	 2.25		  Yes	 Over 17.259% alcohol content - $3.00/gal. Sparkling wine - $3.50/gal.
Georgia	 1.51		  Yes	 Over 14% alcohol content - $2.54/gal. Local tax - $0.83/gal.
Hawaii	 1.38		  Yes	 Sparkling wine - $2.12/gal. Wine coolers - $0.85/gal.
Idaho	 0.45		  Yes
Illinois	 1.39		  Yes	 Over 20% alcohol content - $8.55/gal. Chicago: $0.36 - $0.89/gal. Cook County: $0.16 - $0.30 /gal.
Indiana	 0.47		  Yes	 Over 21% alcohol content - $2.68/gal.
Iowa	 1.75		  Yes	 Under 5% alcohol content - $0.19/gal.
Kansas	 0.30		  No	 Over 14% alcohol content - $0.75/gal. Off-premises - 8%. On-premises - 11%.
Kentucky	 0.50		  Yes	 Wholesale - 11%.
Louisiana	 0.11		  Yes	 14% - 24% alcohol content - $0.23/gal. Over 24% alc. content - $1.59/gal. Sparkling wine - $1,59/gal.
Maine	 0.60		  Yes	 Over 15.5% alcohol content - sold through state stores. Sparkling wine - $1.25/gal. On-premises - 7%.
Maryland	 0.40		  No	 9% sales tax.
Massachusetts	 0.55		  No	 Sparkling wine - $0.70/gal.
Michigan	 0.51		  Yes	 Over 16% alcohol content - $0.76/gal.
Minnesota	 0.30		  No	 14% - 21% alcohol content - $0.95/gal. Under 24% alc. cont. - $1.82/gal. Sparkling wine - $1.82/gal.             

Over 24% alc. cont. - $3.52/gal. Bottle (except miniatures) - $0.01. 9% sales tax.
Mississippi	 0.35		  Yes	 Sparkling wine and champagne - $1.00/gal.
Missouri	 0.42		  Yes
Montana	 1.06		  (2)	 Over 16% alcohol content - sold through state stores.
Nebraska	 0.95		  Yes	 Over 14% alcohol content - $1.35/gal.
Nevada	 0.70		  Yes	 14% - 22% alcohol content - $1.30/gal. Over 22% alcohol content - $3.60/gal.
New Hampshire	 (1)	 (2)

New Jersey	 0.875		  Yes
New Mexico	 1.70		  Yes	
New York	 0.30		  Yes
North Carolina	 1.00		  Yes	 Over 17% alcohol content - $1.11/gal.
North Dakota 	 0.50		  No	 Over 17% alcohol content - $0.60/gal. 7% sales tax.
Ohio	 0.32		  Yes	 14% - 21% - $1.00/gal. Vermouth - $1.10/gal. Sparkling wine - $1.50/gal.
Oklahoma	 0.72		  Yes	 Sparkling wine - $2.08/gal. On-premises - 13.5%.
Oregon	 0.67		  (2)	 Over 14% alcohol content - $0.77/gal.
Pennsylvania	 (1)	 Yes
Rhode Island	 1.40		  Yes	 Sparkling wine - $0.75/gal.
South Carolina	 0.90		  Yes	 Additional tax - $0.18/gal.
South Dakota	 0.93		  Yes	 14% - 20% alcohol content - $1.45/gal. Over 21% alco. cont. - $2.07/gal. Sparkling wine - $2.07/gal. 

Wholesale tax - 2%.
Tennessee	 1.21		  Yes	 On-premises - 15%.
Texas	 0.204		  Yes	 Over 14% alcohol content - $0.408/gal. Sparkling wine - $0.516/gal. On-premises - 14.95%. Airline 

sales - $0.05/drink.
Utah	 (1)	 	 Yes
Vermont	 0.55		  Yes	 Over 16% alcohol content - sold through state store. On premises - 10%.
Virginia	 1.51		  Yes	 Under 4% alcohol content - $0.2565/gal. Over 14% alcohol content - sold through state stores.
Washington	 0.87		  Yes	 Over 14% alcohol content - $1.72/gal.
West Virginia	 1.00		  Yes	 Local tax - 5%.
Wisconsin	 0.25		  Yes	 Over 14% alcohol content - $0.45/gal.
Wyoming	 (1)	 	 Yes

District of Columbia	 0.30		  No	 Over 14% alcohol content - $0.40/gal. Sparkling wine - $0.45/gal.

U.S. (median)	 0.72

(1)	 All wine sales are through state stores.  Revenue in these states is generated from various taxes, fees, price mark-ups, and net profits.
(2)	 These states do not have a general sales tax.

SOURCE:  Compiled by Federation of Tax Administrators from state sources.

General
Sales Tax
Applies

State  Rate
on Wine

($ per gallon) Other TaxesState

Comparison of State Tax Rates - Wine
January 1, 2014
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Alabama	 (1)	 Yes
Alaska	 $12.80	 n.a.		  Under 21% alcohol content - $2.50/gal.
Arizona	 3.00	 Yes
Arkansas	 2.50	 Yes	 Under 5% alcohol content - $0.50/gal. Under 21% alco. content - $1.00/gal. 
					     Case - $0.20. On-premises - 14%. Off-premises - 3%.
California	 3.30	 Yes	 Over 50% alcohol content - $6.60/gal.
Colorado	 2.28	 Yes
Connecticut	 5.40	 Yes	 Under 7% alcohol content - $2.46/gal.
Delaware	 3.75	 n.a.	 25% or less alcohol content - $2.30/gal.
Florida	 6.50	 Yes	 Under 17.259% alcohol content - $2.25/gal. Over 55.780% alco. content - $9.53/gal.
Georgia	 3.79	 Yes	 Local tax - $0.83/gal.	
Hawaii	 5.98	 Yes	
Idaho	 (1)	 Yes
Illinois	 8.55	 Yes	 Under 20% alcohol content - $1.39/gal. Chicago - $2.68/gal. Cook Cty. - $2.00/gal.
Indiana	 2.68	 Yes	 Under 15% alcohol content - $0.47/gal.
Iowa	 (1)	 Yes
Kansas	 2.50	 No	 On-premises - 10%. Off-premises - 8%.
Kentucky 	 1.92	 Yes	 Under 6% alcohol content - $0.25/gal. Case - $0.05. Wholesale tax - 11%.
Louisiana	 2.50	 Yes	
Maine	 (1)	 Yes		
Maryland	 1.50	 Yes	
Massachusetts	 4.05	 Yes	 Under 15% alcohol content - $1.10/gal. Over 50% alco. content - $4.05/proof gal.
	 Private club sale - 0.57%
Michigan	 (1)	 Yes
Minnesota	 5.03	 No	 Bottle (except miniatures) - $0.01. Sales tax - 9%.
Mississippi	 (1)	 Yes
Missouri	 2.00	 Yes
Montana	 (1)	 n.a.
Nebraska	 3.75	 Yes
Nevada	 3.60		  Yes	 5% - 14% - $0.70/gal. 15% - 22% - $1.30/gal.
New Hampshire	 (1)	 n.a.
New Jersey	 5.50	 Yes
New Mexico	 6.06	 Yes	
New York	 6.44	 Yes	 Under 24% - $2.54/gal. New York City - $1.00/gal.
North Carolina	 (1)	 Yes (2)

North Dakota 	 2.50	 No	 Sales tax - 7%.
Ohio	 (1)	 Yes
Oklahoma	 5.56	 Yes	 On-premises - 13.5%.
Oregon	 (1) 	 n.a.
Pennsylvania	 (1)	 Yes
Rhode Island	 5.40	 Yes
South Carolina	 2.72	 Yes	 Case - $5.36. Surtax - 9%. On-premises - 5%.
South Dakota	 3.93	 Yes	 Under 14% alcohol content - $0.93/gal. Wholesale tax - 2%.
Tennessee	 4.40	 Yes	 Under 7% alcohol content - $1.10/gal. On-premises - 15%.
Texas	 2.40	 Yes	 On-premises - 14.95%. Airline sale - $0.05/drink.
Utah	 (1)	 Yes	
Vermont	 (1)	 No		  On-premises - 10%.
Virginia	 (1)	 Yes
Washington (3)	 14.27	 No	 Retail sales tax - 20.5%. On-premises retail sales tax - 13.7%. On-premises - $9.24/gal.
West Virginia	 (1)	 Yes
Wisconsin	 3.25	 Yes	 Administrative fee - $0.11/gal.
Wyoming	 (1)	 Yes

District of Columbia	 1.50	 No	 On-premises and off-premises sales tax - 9%.
U.S. (median)	 $3.75	

(1)	 In 17 states, the government directly controls the sales of distilled spirits.  Revenue in these states is generated from various taxes, 
fees, price mark-ups, and net liquor profits.

(2)	 General sales tax is applied to on-premise sales only.
(3)	 Washington privatized liquor sales starting June 1, 2012.

SOURCE:  Compiled by Federation of Tax Administrators from state sources.

General
Sales Tax
Applies

State Rate
on Spirits

($ per gallon) Other TaxesState

Comparison of State Tax Rates - Distilled spirits
January 1, 2014
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CURRENT LAW

On November 5, 2002, North Dakota citizens approved 
a constitutional amendment that enabled the state to 
participate in multi-state lottery games.  The 2003 
Legislative Assembly passed House Bill No. 1243 that 
became law on April 4, 2003.  This law, Chapter 53-12.1 
of the North Dakota Century Code, created the North 
Dakota Lottery as a division within the Office of Attorney 
General.  The law restricts the Lottery to only conduct 
online games, while the constitution restricts the lottery to 
only conduct multi-state games.  The administrative rules, 
Chapter 10-16 of the North Dakota Administrative Code, 
address general rules, retailer, conduct and play, and game 
rules.

Scope of Operation

The North Dakota Lottery is responsible for administering, 
regulating, enforcing, and promoting the state's lottery.

The Lottery selects and licenses retailers; trains employees 
of retailers to use lottery terminals and sell and redeem 
tickets; develops administrative rules and proposes laws; 
investigates allegations of unlawful activity; assists 
retailers in promoting lottery games; pays high-tier prizes 
to players; ensures that retailers and players comply with 
the lottery law and rules; and provides full accountability 
to the public and Legislature.

Lottery Advisory Commission

The Attorney General and Chairman of the Legislative 
Management appointed a five-member Lottery Advisory 
Commission.  The Commission serves as a policy advisory 
to the Attorney General and director of the Lottery 
and serves as the Audit Committee of the Lottery.  The 
Commission oversees the general operation of the Lottery 
and is consulted on all substantive Lottery policies, 
plans, issues, contracts, timelines, and activities.  The 
Commission meets at least on a quarterly basis.

Product Mix

North Dakota Lottery conducts the games of Powerball®, 
Hot Lotto®, Wild Card 2®, 2by2®, and Mega Millions®.  
Powerball was launched on March 25, 2004, Hot Lotto on 
June 24, 2004, Wild Card 2 on September 23, 2004, 2by2 

on February 2, 2006, and Mega Millions on January 31, 
2010.  These games have a range of minimum jackpots 
of $22,000 to $40 million, and overall odds of winning a 
prize of 1:3.59 to 1:31.85.

The Lottery launched the North Dakota Lottery Players 
ClubSM on July 6, 2014 to provide players additional 
opportunities to win.  As a member of the Players Club, 
players can enter special web code entries to earn points 
that he/she can use to redeem for special members-only 
benefits and prizes.  Membership is free and members can 
enjoy all these great benefits:  Points for Prizes®, Points 
for Drawings™, Second Chance Drawings, Subscription 
Service, and free FunPlay™ games.

In addition to the Players Club, the Lottery launched a new 
Subscription service on July 6, 2014.  As a benefit of the 
Players Club, subscribers can prepay and be automatically 
entered in drawings from just one (1) draw up to 52 weeks.  
A subscriber is now able to buy, track, manage, and renew 
his/her subscriptions online; as well as earn points for his/
her subscription purchases.  Subscriptions are available 
for Powerball®, Hot Lotto®, Wild Card 2®, 2by2®, and 
Mega Millions®.  Subscriptions are a convenience for 
players who cannot always get to a Lottery retailer before 
every draw.

Retailers

As of July 7, 2014, the Lottery had 429 licensed lottery 
retailers located in 126 towns and cities throughout 52 
counties.

Debt Setoff

The Lottery has established a debt setoff program in 
which a lottery prize of $600 or more is used to setoff 
a delinquent debt owed to any state agency or collected 
through a state agency on behalf of a third party.

North Dakota Lottery
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*MUSL - Multi-State Lottery Association

SOURCE:  North Dakota Lottery.

	
FY 2010 FY 2011 FY 2012 FY 2013 Unaudited FY 2014

Ticket Sales $24,422,716 $23,002,610 $26,043,816 $27,837,316 $26,934,289
Total Prizes $12,643,632  $11,941,258 $13,407,269 $14,216,632 $13,796,338
Retailer Commissions  $1,194,589  $1,125,708 $1,274,067  $1,359,799  $1,313,359
Retailer Bonuses $57,750 $53,250 $41,000 $37,000 $35,550 

Transfers 2007-09 Biennium 2009-11 Biennium 2011-13  Biennium 2013-15  Biennium
Compulsive Gambling Prevention and Treatment Fund  $400,000  $400,000  $400,000  $400,000 
State General Fund  $11,055,000  $10,400,000  $14,300,000  $15,200,000 
Multi-Jurisdictional Drug Task Force Grant Fund  $845,000  $845,000  $845,000  $845,000 

ND Lottery Financial Data

Percent Allocation of Lottery Ticket Sales

Prizes - 50%

MUSL* Prize Reserve Pools - 1%

Advertising & Marketing - 2%

Admin. & Operating - 4%

Contractual Services - 9%Retailer Commissions - 5%

Compulsive Gambling Fund - 1%

Multi-Jurisdictional 
Drug Task Force Grant Fund - 2%

General Fund - 26%
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CURRENT LAW

Oil And Gas Gross Production Tax

Imposition and Rates

The oil and gas gross production tax is imposed in lieu of 
property taxes on oil and gas producing properties.

Oil  A 5% rate is applied to the gross value at the well of 
all oil produced, except royalty interest in oil produced 
from a state, federal or municipal holding and from 
an interest held by an organized Indian tribe. Both the 
producer and purchaser of the oil are required to submit 
reports to the Tax Commissioner on a monthly basis.  The 
reports show the volume and taxable value of sales of the 
production from each well.  The producer remits the tax 
on oil not sold at the well.  The purchaser is primarily 
responsible for remitting the tax on oil bought during 
a production month.  The Tax Commissioner has the 
authority to waive a producer's filing requirement if certain 
conditions are met.  Purchasers are required to file monthly 
reports electronically.

Gas  The gross production tax on gas is an annually 
adjusted flat rate per thousand cubic feet (mcf) of all 
nonexempt gas produced in the state.  The annual 
adjustments are made according to the average producer 
price index for gas fuels.  Rates through June 30, 2015 are 
as follows:

	 Time Period	 Tax Rate
	 July 1, 2010 - June 30, 2013	 $.1143
	 July 1, 2013 - June 30, 2014	 $.0833
	 July 1, 2014 - June 30, 2015	 $.0982

Exempt from the tax is gas used on the lease for 
production purposes and the royalty interest in gas 
produced from a state, federal or municipal holding and 
from an interest held by an organized Indian tribe.

Shallow gas produced during the first 24 months of 
production from and after the first date of sales from a 
shallow gas zone, is exempt from gross production tax.

•	 Gas, that would otherwise be flared, is exempt from the 
gross production tax when it is used in a generation unit 
producing electricity for use on site.

Monthly reports to the Tax Commissioner are required 
from both the producer and the purchaser/processor of 
the gas.  The producer remits the tax on unprocessed gas 
and the purchaser/processor remits the tax on processed 
gas.  The Tax Commissioner has the authority to waive a 
producer's filing requirement if certain conditions are met.  
Purchasers/processors are required to file monthly reports 
electronically.

Distribution of Revenue

During the 2013-15 biennium, revenue from the gross 
production tax is distributed under the following formula:
•	 One-fifth of the tax is deposited with the state treasurer 

who shall:
	 ○	 Allocate to the “hub” cities of Williston, Dickinson, 	
		  and Minot a monthly amount that will provide 	
		  $375,000 per fiscal year for each percentage point of 	
		  employment engaged in the mining industry
	 ○	 Allocate to the “hub” schools a monthly amount 	
		  that will provide $125,000 per fiscal year for each 	
		  percentage point of employment engaged in the 	
		  mining industry
	 ○	 Credit the oil and gas impact grant fund revenues up 	
		  to $240 million per biennium
	 ○	 Credit 4% of the total to the outdoor heritage fund, 	
		  up to $15 million per fiscal year
	 ○	 Credit 4% of the total to the abandoned oil and gas 	
		  well plugging and site reclamation fund, up to  
		  $5 million per fiscal year
	 ○	 Four-fifths of the tax is allocated between the 
		  producing county and the state according to the 	
		  formula:
	 ○	 100% of the first $5 million will be allocated to the 	
		  producing county
	 ○	 25% of annual revenue in excess of the first $5 	
		  million will be allocated to the producing county, 	
		  with the remaining 75% allocated to the state

Tax revenue distributed to a county is further split 
among the cities and schools within the county, based on 
population and average daily attendance, respectively.  
Additionally, a portion is shared with hub cities and with 
the townships in the largest producing counties.

After all the allocations above, the amount remaining 
is allocated first to provide for the deposit of 30% of all 
gross production tax revenue collected in the Legacy 

Oil and Gas Taxes
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Fund as provided by the Constitution of North Dakota.  
The remainder must be allocated to the state.  These 
state revenues, along with 30% of the oil extraction tax 
revenues, shall be distributed under the 
following formula:	
•	 The first $200 million to the state general fund
•	 The next $341,790,000 into the property tax relief 

fund
•	 The next $100 million to the state general fund
•	 The next $100 million to the strategic investment and 

improvements fund
•	 The next $22 million to the state disaster relief fund
•	 Any additional revenues to the strategic investment 

and improvements fund.

This distribution formula sunsets at the close of 
the 2013-15 biennium.

Oil Extraction Tax

Imposition and Rates

The oil extraction tax is levied on the extraction of oil 
from the earth.  The tax rate is 6.5% of the gross value at 
the well of crude oil.  However, the rate is reduced to  
4% for oil produced from the following:
•	 A vertical or horizontal new well, after the appropriate 

exemption expires.
•	 A workover well after the exemption expires.
•	 Incremental oil from a qualifying secondary or tertiary 

recovery project, after the 5-year or 10-year exemption 
expires.

•	 Nonincremental oil from a qualifying secondary 
recovery project that has reached an average production 
level of at least 25% over normal operations for six 
consecutive months.

•	 Nonincremental oil from a qualifying tertiary recovery 
project that has reached a production level of at 
least 15% over normal operations for one month and 
continues to be operated as a qualifying project.

A qualifying secondary recovery project is a unit that 
uses water flooding and is certified by the North Dakota 
Industrial Commission.  A qualifying tertiary recovery 
project is a unit that uses an enhanced recovery method 
which conforms with federal tax code provisions and is 
certified by the North Dakota Industrial Commission.

The rate is reduced to 2% for the first 75 thousand 
barrels or the first $4.5 million of gross value at the 
well whichever is less during the first 18 months after 
completion of a horizontal well drilled and completed after 

April 30, 2009 and before July 1, 2015.  The rate reduction 
is effective the month following a month in which the 
average price of a barrel of crude is less than $55.  The 
rate reduction becomes ineffective the month following 
a month in which the average price of a barrel of crude 
exceeds $70.

For a well that is located both outside of the Bakken 
and Three Forks formations as well as 10 miles or more 
outside of an established field that includes the Bakken or 
Three Forks formation, the rate is reduced to 2% for the 
first 75 thousand barrels of oil during the first 18 months 
after completion.

The oil extraction tax is paid monthly with the gross 
production tax on a combined reporting form.

Exemptions

To receive the full benefit of an exemption, the  
4% reduced rate, or the 2% reduced rate, a producer must 
file the Industrial Commission’s certification of well status 
with the Tax Commissioner within 18 months of the first 
day of eligibility.  If the producer does not file within 
the 18‑month period, then the exemption or reduced rate 
begins the first day of the month in which the certification 
is received by the Tax Commissioner.

The exemptions to the oil extraction tax are as follows:
•	 Royalty interest in oil extracted from a state, federal or 

municipal holding and from a Native American holding 
within the boundary of a reservation.

•	 Oil extracted from a certified stripper well property.   
A stripper well property is property whose average 
daily production during a 12-month period did not 
exceed 10 barrels per day for a well of a depth of 6,000 
feet or less, 15 barrels per day for a well of a depth of 
more than 6,000 feet but not more than 10,000 feet, 
and 30 barrels per day for a well of a depth of more 
than 10,000 feet outside the Bakken and Three forks 
formations, and 35 barrels per day for wells of a depth 
of more than 10,000 feet in the Bakken and Three Forks 
formations.

•	 Oil produced during the first 15 months of production 
from a vertical new well.  This exemption is subject to 
the “trigger” provisions described below.

•	 Oil produced during the first 24 months of production 
from a horizontal new well.  The exemption is subject 
to the “trigger” provisions described below.

•	 Oil produced from a horizontal reentry well for a 
period of 9 months beginning on the date the well is 
recompleted as a horizontal well.  The exemption is 
subject to the “trigger provisions” described on the  
next page.
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•	 Oil produced from a two-year inactive well for a period 
of ten years beginning the first day of the month in 
which the Industrial Commission’s certification is 
received by the Tax Commissioner.  The exemption is 
subject to the “trigger" provisions described below.

•	 Oil produced from a qualifying well that has been 
worked over.  The exemption is for a 12-month period 
starting with the first day of the third month after 
completion of the workover project.  A qualifying well 
is a well that has produced less than 50 barrels per day 
during the last six months of continuous production 
before workover.  The well operator must notify the 
Industrial Commission before beginning the project.  
Project cost must exceed $65,000 or production must 
increase 50% or more in the first two months after 
project completion.  The exemption is subject to the 
“trigger" provisions described below.

•	 Oil produced from a two-year inactive well for a period 
of ten years after being recompleted or returned to 
production.  The exemption is subject to the "trigger" 
provisions described below.

•	 Incremental oil from a qualifying secondary or tertiary 
recovery project.  The exemption is 5 years for  
secondary recovery projects and 10 years for tertiary 
recovery projects from the date the incremental 
production begins.

“Trigger” Provisions

The reduced rate provisions for new wells,  horizontal 
wells, horizontal reentry wells, two-year inactive wells, 
workover wells, and enhanced recovery wells are 
ineffective if the average price of a barrel of crude oil 
exceeds the trigger price (thirty-five dollars and fifty cents, 
as indexed for inflation) for each month in any consecutive 
five-month period.  Except for incremental oil produced 
from enhanced recovery wells, exemptions for the above 
wells also become ineffective if the average price of a 
barrel of crude exceeds the trigger price for the same 
consecutive five-month period.  The reduced rates and 
exemptions are reinstated if the average price falls below 
the trigger price for each month in any consecutive five-
month period.

The Tax Commissioner has determined that the tax 
incentives subject to the trigger price became ineffective 
for production periods beginning October 1, 2004, and 
until such time as the statutory provisions for reinstatement 
are met.

The trigger prices effective for calendar years through 
December 31, 2014 are as follows:

	 Time Period	 Trigger Price
	 Jan. 1, 2012 - Dec. 31, 2012	 $50.07
	 Jan. 1, 2013 - Dec. 31, 2013	 $52.20
	 Jan. 1, 2014 - Dec. 31, 2014	 $52.06

Distribution of Revenue

Revenue from the oil extraction tax is distributed as 
follows:
•	 30% allocated to the Legacy Fund as provided by the 

Constitution of North Dakota.
•	 30% to the State General Fund.
•	 20% divided equally between the Common Schools 

Trust Fund and Foundation Aid Stabilization Fund.
•	 20% to the Southwest Water Pipeline Sinking Fund 

and to a Resources Trust Fund.  Principal and income 
from the Resources Trust Fund may be expended only 
pursuant to legislative appropriation and are available 
for water and certain energy related projects.

HISTORICAL OVERVIEW

Oil And Gas Gross Production Tax

Significant Changes In Law

1953 Session  
•	 The gross production tax was imposed at a rate of 

4.25% of gross value at the well.

1957 Session  
•	 The rate was increased from 4.25% to 5% and the 

revenue distribution formula was adjusted.

1981 Session  
•	 The revenue distribution formula was amended.

1983 Session  
•	 Monthly rather than quarterly remittance was required, 

and the maximum distributions to the counties was 
increased.

1985 Session  
•	 Oil reclaimed from tank bottoms and pit oil material has 

value for tax purposes only if a cash price is paid by the 
oil reclaimer.
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1989 Session  
•	 The law was changed to specifically state the gross 

production tax is a real property tax.  
•	 The revenue distribution formula was amended, 

effective July 1, 1991 to allocate 33 1/3 % of the first 
one-fifth portion to the Oil and Gas Impact Grant Fund.

1991 Session  
•	 The tax on gas was changed from 5% of gross value to 

an annually adjusted flat rate per mcf. Procedures were 
provided for determining gross value at the well of oil 
under arm’s length and non-arm’s length contracts. 

•	 The legislature approved the Taxpayer Bill of Rights.

1993 Session  
•	 The interest accrual period was changed on tax refunds 

for periods after June 30, 1993. Interest begins to accrue 
60 days after the due date of the return, after the return 
was filed, or after the tax was fully paid, whichever 
occurs later. 

•	 Tax from undetermined sources will be allocated 
between the State General Fund and the county that 
received the least amount of revenue during the fiscal 
year. 

1997 Session  
•	 The periods for assessment or refund run from the due 

date of the original return or the date the original return 
was filed whichever is later.  The Tax Commissioner has 
two years after an amended return is filed to audit that 
return and assess any additional tax that is due.  

•	 The Tax Commissioner has authority to require 
purchasers to file monthly reports by electronic data 
interchange or other form of electronic media and can 
waive the producer's requirement to file a monthly 
return.  

•	 Legislation passed that authorized the use of 
alternative methods for signing, subscribing, or 
verifying a return filed by electronic means, including 
telecommunications.  

•	 A Permanent Oil Tax Trust Fund was established for 
the deposit of oil extraction and gross production tax 
revenues, which exceed specific amounts in a biennium.

1999 Session  
•	 The legislature changed the manner in which 

unallocated oil and gas gross production taxes collected 
from unidentified sources is distributed.  Previously, the 
unallocated taxes were distributed to the county with 
the lowest total gross production tax distribution for the 
fiscal year.  After June 30, 1999, the unallocated taxes 
are distributed to each county in the same proportion as 
total gross production tax allocations for the fiscal year.

2003 Session  
•	 An oil and gas research council was created and an 

Oil and Gas Research Fund was established with a 
continuing appropriation provided.  

•	 A temporary exemption from gross production tax was 
provided for gas produced from shallow gas wells with 
an expiration date of June 30, 2007.

2007 Session
•	 The expiration date for the gross production tax 

exemption for shallow gas wells was eliminated.  
•	 The distribution formulas for the county share of 

gross production tax was increased to 100% of the 
first million, 75% of the second million, 50% of the 
third million, and 25% for amounts over $3 million.  
A county may receive $1 million in addition to the 
amount of the cap if during the fiscal year the county 
levies a total of at least 10 mills for road and bridge 
purposes.

 
2009 Session  
•	 Increased the distribution of Gross Production Tax 

(GPT) to counties and cities.
•	 Created an infrastructure fund for distribution to 

townships with impact.
•	 Required counties and townships to levy 10 mills for 

road purposes.
•	 Required counties and townships to submit annual 

reports providing information on use of revenue 
received for transportation purposes.

•	 Provided for an exemption from GPT for gas that would 
otherwise be flared when it is used in a generation unit 
producing electricity for use on site or for sale.

2011 Session  
•	 Removed the city cap of $750 per capita in the 

distribution formula for gross production tax.

2013 Session  
•	 Income tax withholding is required for certain oil and 

gas royalties.
•	 The revenue sharing percentage of oil and gas tax 

revenue subject to the Tribal agreement was changed 
to 50% of all revenue.  The Tribe is required to report 
annually on investments in infrastructure on the Fort 
Berthold Reservation.

Oil Extraction Tax

Significant Changes in Law

1980 Initiated Measure  
•	 Voters in the 1980 General Election passed an initiated 

measure creating the 6.5% oil extraction tax.  
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•	 The revenue distribution formula was: 45% to the State 
General Fund, 45% to schools, and 10% to the Trust 
Fund.  

•	 The measure also included an individual income tax 
energy cost relief credit.

1981 Session  
•	 The legislature amended the distribution formula.

1983 Session  
•	 The distribution formula was changed.  
•	 Filing requirements were changed from a quarterly to a 

monthly basis.

1987 Session  
•	 An exemption for the first 15 months of production 

from a new well (drilled and completed after  
April 27, 1987) was provided.  

•	 The rate was reduced from 6½% to 4% for a new well 
after the 15-month exemption and for production from 
a qualifying secondary or tertiary recovery project well.  
These incentives would be eliminated if the average 
crude oil price is $33 or more per barrel.  

•	 The legislature repealed the exemption for private 
royalty interest and expanded the stripper well 
definition to allow more marginal wells to qualify for  
an exemption.

1989 Session  
•	 A 12-month exemption was provided for production 

from a qualifying well after completion of a workover 
project.  This incentive is subject to the “trigger.”

1991 Session  
•	 An exemption was created for incremental oil from a 

qualifying secondary or tertiary recovery project.  
•	 A June 30, 1995 sunset was placed on certification of 

secondary projects.  After the expiration of the exempt 
period, the incremental oil would be eligible for the  
4% reduced rate.  The reduced rate incentive is subject 
to the “trigger.”  

•	 The “trigger” was amended to reinstate the reduced 
rates and exemptions if the average crude oil price falls 
below $33 per barrel. 

1993 Session  
•	 The workover exemption was amended to eliminate the 

$30,000 minimum project cost requirement and a  
4% reduced rate was adopted for oil produced from 
wells that receive the workover exemption after  
June 30, 1993.

1995 Session  
•	 The stripper well definition was broadened from  

20 to 30 barrels per day for wells over 10,000 feet deep.  
•	 The exemption for a horizontal new well was increased 

from 15 to 24 months and a 9-month exemption was 
created for a horizontal reentry well.  

•	 A 10-year exemption was created for oil from a 
two-year inactive well.  To get the full benefit of an 
exemption or the 4% reduced rate, producers were 
given an 18-month period to file the Industrial  
Commission’s certification of well status with the Tax 
Commissioner.  

•	 For secondary recovery projects, the sunset for 
certification was removed. 

•	 The revenue distribution formula was changed.

1997 Session  
•	 A 60-month exemption was created for production from 

a well drilled and completed on an Indian reservation or 
on tribal trust land after July 31, 1997.  

•	 Previous legislation was amended to keep the current 
distribution factors at the current percentages.

2001 Session  
•	 The "trigger" provision for exemptions and rate 

reductions was amended to clarify when the trigger 
was to be become effective.  All rate reductions and 
exemptions subject to the trigger provision become 
ineffective if the average price of a barrel of crude 
oil exceeds the trigger price for each month in any 
consecutive five-month period.  The reduced rates 
and exemptions are reinstated if the average price 
falls below the trigger price for each month in any 
consecutive five-month period.  Average price is defined 
as the monthly average of the daily closing price for 
a barrel of west Texas intermediate Cushing crude 
oil minus two dollars and fifty cents.  Trigger price is 
defined as thirty-five dollars and fifty cents, as indexed 
for inflation.

2003 Session  
•	 An oil and gas research council was created and an 

Oil and Gas Research Fund was established with a 
continuing appropriation provided.  

•	 A temporary exemption from gross production tax was 
provided for gas produced from shallow gas wells with 
an expiration date of June 30, 2007.  

•	 The two-year inactive well exemption was amended to 
clarify the definition of a two-year inactive well and to 
provide an 18 month provision to qualify the well for an 
exemption to be consistent with other oil extraction tax 
exemptions.  

•	 The workover well exemption was amended to remove 
the requirement that a notice of intention must be filed 
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before a workover project is commenced to qualify for 
an exemption.

2005 Session  
•	 The legislature provided for a sales and use tax 

exemption for carbon dioxide used for the enhanced 
recovery of oil or natural gas.

2007 Session
•	 The legislature provided for an oil extraction tax rate 

reduction to 2% for the first 75 thousand barrels of oil 
produced during the first 18 months after completion 
from a well drilled and completed in the Bakken 
formation after June 30, 2007, and before July 1, 2008.

•	 The expiration date for the gross production tax 
exemption for shallow gas wells was eliminated.  

•	 The distribution formulas for the county share of 
gross production tax was increased to 100% of the 
first million, 75% of the second million, 50% of the 
third million, and 25% for amounts over $3 million.  A 
county may receive $1 million in addition to the amount 
of the cap if during the fiscal year the county levies a 
total of at least 10 mills for road and bridge purposes.  

•	 The Governor, in consultation with the Tax 
Commissioner, is authorized to enter into agreements 
with the Three Affiliated Tribes relating to taxation and 
regulation of oil and gas exploration and production 
within the boundaries of the Fort Berthold Reservation.

2009 Session
•	 Provided an incentive with a reduced oil extraction tax 

(OET) rate of 2% for horizontal wells drilled when the 
average price of oil is below $55.

•	 Rate increased to full rate of 6.5% when average price is 
above $70.

2011 Session
•	 Extended the 2% rate reduction incentive for horizontal 

wells to June 30, 2013.

2013 Session
•	 The North Dakota Industrial Commission is required 

to recertify stripper wells reentered or recompleted as 
horizontal wells.

•	 Stripper well property determinations were eliminated 
after June 30, 2013.  Stripper wells are required to be 
certified on a well basis. 

•	 A 35 barrel per day production determination is 
provided for stripper well qualifications in the Bakken 
and Three Forks formations.

•	 The 60 month oil extraction tax exemption for wells 
drilled on Indian land was eliminated. 

•	 An oil extraction rate reduction was provided for 
wells drilled and completed at least ten miles from an 
established Bakken or Three Forks formation field.

•	 Income tax withholding is required for certain oil and 
gas royalties. 

•	 The revenue sharing percentage of oil and gas tax 
revenue subject to the Tribal agreement was changed 
to 50% of all revenue. The Tribe is required to report 
annualy on investments in infrastructure on the Fort 
Berthold Reservation.
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Gross Production Tax

	 (1)	 For the 1981-83 biennium only, the legislature provided that up to $32 million of the 1/5 State General Fund share be distributed to the Highway Tax Distribution Fund 
and to township road and bridge funds.

	 (2)	 Each city in a oil-producing county which has a population of 12,500 or more and more than 1% of its private covered employment engaged in the mining industry was 
allocated $500,000 per fiscal year ($1,000,000 per fiscal year if more than 7.5% of mining employment) through the 2011-13 biennium.  In the 2013-15 biennium, these 
hub cities received $375,000 per percentage point of mining employment per fiscal year.  Schools in these hub cities received $125,000 per percentage point of mining 
employment per fiscal year. 	

	 (3)	 The total amount dedicated to the Oil and Gas Impact Grant Fund was increased to $8 million in the 2009 session, to $100 million in the 2011 session, and to $240 million 
in the 2013 session.	

	 (4)	 The Legacy Fund was established as a Constitutional amendment and requires 30% of all revenue to be deposited into this fund.
	 (5)	 4%, up to $15 million per fiscal year, is deposited in the Outdoor Heritage Fund.  An additional 4%, up to $5 million per fiscal year, is deposited in the Abandoned Oil and 

Gas Well Plugging and Site Reclamation Fund.  The total amount in this fund cannot exceed $75 million. 	

	 (6)	 Counties with revenue up to $5 million per fiscal year receive 100% of the 4/5’s share and have the revenue distributed as shown.  Counties with revenue exceeding $5 
million receive 100% of the first $5 million and 25% of the revenue over $5 million, and have the revenue distributed as shown.  
Oil Extraction Tax
	 State General Fund	 Legacy Fund	 Education Funds	 Water Pipeline & Trust Fund

	 1980 Measure #6	 45%			   45%	 10%
	 1981 Session	 30%			   60%	 10%
	 1983 Session	 90%			   10%
	 1995 Session:
		  FY 1996 and 1997	 60%			   20%	 20%
		  After FY 1997	 70%			   20%	 10%
	 1997 Session:
		  After FY 1997	 60% 	 		  20%	 20%
	 2011 Session
		  After FY 2011	 30%		  30% (1)	 20%	 20%

	 (1)	 The Legacy Fund was established as a Constitutional amendment and requires 30% of all revenue to be deposited into this fund.

}

}
}

}

Increments

State Counties Maximum County

General  
Funds

Oil & 
Gas 

Impact 
Grant 
Fund

Legacy 
Fund

Other 
Fund

Total 
County 

% Cities
School 

Districts

Road & 
Bridge 
Fund

General 
Fund

Townships 

& Hub 
Cities

Under 
3,000

3,000 to 
6,000

Over 
6,000

1957 Session First 1/5:..................	
Remaining 4/5:.........
1st $200,000............	
2nd $200,000............
3rd $400,000............	

100%

25%
50%
75%

75%
50%
25%

15% 45% 40%

1981 Session First 1/5:..................	
Remaining 4/5:.........
1st $ Million............	
2nd $ Million............
Over $2 Million.......	

100%(1)

25%
50%
75%

75%
50%
25%

20% 35% 45%
$3.2 M

$3.8 M

FY-1982
$3.5 M

FY-1983
$4.0 M

$4.0 M

$4.6 M

1983 Session ................................ $3.9 M $4.1 M $4.6 M

1989 Session First 1/5:..................	 66 2/3% 33 1/3%

2007 Session First 1/5:..................	
Remaining 4/5:.........
1st $ Million............	
2nd $ Million............
Over $3 Million.......	

66 2/3%

0%
25%
50%
75%

33 1/3%

100%
75%
50%
25%

20% 35% 45% $3.9 M $4.1 M $4.6 M

2009 Session First 1/5:..................	
Remaining 4/5:.........
1st $2 Million........
$2 - $3 Million.........	
$3 - $4 Million............
$4 - $18 Million..........
Over $18 Million.........

(2)

0%
25%
50%
75%
90%

(3)

100%
75%
50%
25%
10%

20% 35% 45%

2011 Session .............................. (3) 30%(4)

2013 Session First 1/5:..................	
Remaining 4/5:.........
1st $5 Million.......(6)

Over $5 Million.......(6)

(2)

0%
75%

(3) 30%(4) (5)

100%
25%

20%
20%

35%
5%

45%
60% 15%

Oil and Gas Taxes Distribution Formula Changes
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		  Total	 State
	 Fiscal Year	 Net Collections	 General Fund

	 2004	 47,519,075	 28,256,440
	 2005		  74,046,219	 49,629,401
	 *	2006		  104,378,689	 45,774,119
	 *	2007		  118,782,343	 -0-
	 *	2008		  209,457,069	 39,309,315
	 *	2009		  221,462,334	 -0-
	 *	2010		  302,099,211	 32,718,333
	 *	2011		  481,083,658	 -0-
	 *	2012		  795,681,003	 146,501,416
	 *	2013		  1,130,369,449	 16,956,688
	 * 2014		  1,492,982,452	 146,071,108
	 * 2015 est.	 1,545,188,000	 -0-

SOURCE:	North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner, Comparative Statement of Collections.

	 	 Total	 State
	 Fiscal Year	 Net Collections	 General Fund

		  2004		  25,638,914	 15,291,025
		  2005		  45,566,628	 27,301,469
	 *	2006		  61,767,934	 25,225,881
	 *	2007		  67,187,829	 -0-
	 *	2008		  182,366,018	 31,691,685
	 *	2009		  185,814,920	 -0-
	 *	2010		  280,611,437	 38,281,667
	 *	2011		  496,749,735	 -0-
	 *	2012		  865,121,628	 112,550,313
	 *	2013		  1,277,370,124	 23,991,583
	 * 2014		  1,754,824,617	 153,928,892
	 * 2015 est.	 1,963,676,000	 -0-

SOURCE:	North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner, Comparative Statement of Collections.

*	 Oil and Gas Gross Production Tax and Oil Extraction Tax revenues had a statutory cap of $71 million in distributions 
to the State General Fund during the 2005-07, 2007-09, and 2009-11 bienniums.  That cap was reached in FY 2006, 
FY 2008, and FY 2010.  The statutory cap was increased to $300 million per biennium starting with the  
2011-13 biennium, and was reached in FY 2014.

Oil and Gas Gross Production Tax Revenue

Oil Extraction Tax Revenue
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Oil Extraction Tax  

Gross Production Tax

2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014

Calendar Years 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013

Price $35.83 $51.09 $57.86 $64.36 $89.63 $52.36 $69.60 $87.90 $83.30 $89.26

Production 31.1 35.5 39.9 45.1 62.7 79.7 115.50 150.70 240.69 309.84

25.6
47.5

45.6
74.0

61.8
104.4

67.2
118.8 209.4

188.0 185.8
221.5

280.6

302.1

496.7

481.1

865.1

795.7

1,277.4

1,130.4

1,754.8

1,493.0
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80%
20%

(1% of the 5%)
(4% of the 5%)

20%

State
General Fund
($300M cap)

30%

Oil 
Extraction 

Tax

Legacy Fund, 
$2,170.4Property Tax Relief 

Fund, $341.8

Strategic Investment 
& Improvement Fund, 

$1,077.2

Found. Aid Stab.  
Fund, $334.9

Common Schools Trust 
Fund, $334.9

Tribal Allocation, 
$513.3

State General Fund, $300

Counties, 
Cities, Schools, 

Townships, $710.9

Impact Grant Fund, $100.0

Legacy 
Fund

30%

Education 
Purposes

20%

50% 
Common 

School Trust 
Fund

50% 
Foundation 

Aid 
Stabilization 

Fund

Water 
Resources 

Trust Fund

5% Gross Production Tax

6.5% Oil Extraction Tax Estimated Distribution

•	 Hub Cities 
•	 Hub Schools
•	 Impact Grant Fund
•	 Heritage Fund
•	 Reclamation Fund

•	 County General Fund
•	 Cities within County
•	 Schools within County
•	 Townships within County
•	 Townships within Region
•	 Hub Cities

2013-15 Biennium

Resources Trust 
Fund, $669.8

Disaster Fund, $22.0

Breakdown of the 4%
$0 - $5,000,000 100% County 0% State
Over $5,000,000 25% County 75% State
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					     Annual Production
					     (Million Barrels)
	 Severance or	 Local
	 Gross Production	 Ad Valorem Taxes	 Misc.
State	 Tax Rate	 Effective Rate	 Taxes	 Total Taxes	 2006	 2008	 2010	 2012	

Alaska	 0% to 25.0%	 *	 .01% - .04%	 0% - 25.0%	 270.5	 249.9	 219.5

California (1)		  1.139%		  1%	 223.4	 214.5	 201.4

Colorado (2)	 2% to 5%	 4% to 10%	 0.14%	 7.14%	 23.4	 24.1	 32.6

Kansas  (3)	 4.33%	 3.67%		  8%	 35.7	 39.6	 40.5

Louisiana	 3.125% to 12.5%	 *		  3.125% - 12.5%	 73.9	 73	 67.4

Michigan	 4% to 6.6%	 *		  6.6%	 5.1	 6.2	 6.8

Mississippi	 0% to 6.0%	 *		  0% - 6.0%	 17.4	 22.1	 23.6

Montana (4)	 .5% to 14.8%			   .5% - 14.8%	 36.3	 31.5	 25.3

New Mexico	 3.75%	 2.339%		  9.479%	 59.8	 59.4	 65.4
			   3.39%

NORTH DAKOTA(5)	 5.0%, 7.0%, 9.0%,	 *		  5% - 11.5%	 39.9	 62.8	 113.1
	 or 11.5%

Oklahoma	 1% to 7.0%	 *	 0.9 of 1%	 1% - 7.095%	 62.8	 64.1	 67.7	 93.6

South Dakota	 4.5%		  .24%	 4.74%	 1.4	 1.7	 1.6

Texas (6)	 0% to 4.6%	 4% to 5%	 ½ cent	 4.0% - 10.0% plus	 397.2	 398	 429.3		
			   per bbl.	 ½ cent per bbl.

Utah (6) (7)	 0%, 3.0% or 5.0%	 4% to 5%	 0.2%	 0% - 5% +	 17.9	 22	 24.7		
				    ad valorem
				    (4%-5%)

Wyoming	 2% to 6.0%	 6.7%		  8.7% - 12.7%	 52.9	 52.9	 53.3

*	 Severance (or gross production) tax is in lieu of local property taxes on the oil.

(1)	 California's statutory tax rate is 1% but is subject to increases based on needs to retire voter approved credit.
(2)	 Colorado has a 2% to 5% severance tax but allows 87.5% of local property taxes as a credit against the tax. Since property taxes average about 

7% this credit generally eliminates the severance tax liability.
(3)	 Kansas has an 8.0% severance tax but allows a credit of up to 3.67% for property taxes paid on oil properties. The severance tax is based on 

value.  Actual rate paid after credit is 4.33%.
(4)	 Montana's tax rates vary based on the type of well, when the well was drilled, and whether the taxpayer has a working or non-working interest. 

A portion of the production tax is allocated back to local governments in lieu of property taxes.
(5)	 North Dakota, has a gross production tax rate of 5% with no exemptions and oil extraction tax rates of 0.0%, 2.0%, 4.0% and 6.5%.
(6)	 Texas and Utah have property taxes on oil properties but it was not possible for local authorities to estimate an effective percentage rate.
(7)	 Utah's severance tax is 3% on the first $13 per barrel and 5% on any amount over $13 per barrel.

SOURCE:	 Survey of states conducted by North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner, Oil and Gas Section, September 2012.
	 Interstate Oil and Gas Compact Commission and the Dept. of Energy. 

Oil Taxes in the 14 Major Oil Producing States
September 2014
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Alaska

Effective April 2006, the oil and gas production tax system 
in Alaska changed from a tax on the gross proceeds of 
oil and gas production to a tax on the net proceeds of 
oil and gas production.  Originally called the Petroleum 
Production Tax (PPT), the Alaska legislature made several 
additional changes to the production tax in November 
2007, resulting in the Alaska Clear and Equitable Share 
(ACES) production tax.  The tax is calculated on oil and 
gas producing companies operating in Alaska as follows:

Oil reserves are not subject to ad valorem property taxes 
in Alaska, but equipment and physical property used in the 
production of oil and gas are, at a rate of 20 mills, or 2% of 
assessed value.

Incentives.  The oil and gas production tax system offers 
several different types of tax credits to be used against the 
production tax liability.  Most of these credits may be sold 
or transferred, and they do not expire.  For example, the 
ACES tax offers credits for up to 20% of qualified capital 
expenditures against a tax liability in a given period, 
and credits of up to 50% for certain exploration-related 
capital expenditures.  Credit in the amount of 25% of a 
company's net loss for the period may be redeemed under 
the production tax system.  Companies producing less than 
50,000 barrels of oil equivalent per day are eligible for a 
tax credit in the amount of $12 million annually.

OIL TAXES IN OTHER STATES

ACES Tax Liability = [Value - Costs * Tax 
Rate] - Credits

The terms used in the equation are defined as follows:

Value = Volume of Oil and Gas Produced x Wellhead 
Value

Costs = Operating Expenditures + Capital 
Expenditures

Tax Rate = 25% of the production tax value per 
BTU equivalent barrel of oil or gas.  When the 
average monthly tax value is more than $30 per 
barrel but less than $92.50 an additional 0.4% 
progressive tax is due for each additional dollar of 
production tax value per barrel.  When the average 
monthly production tax value exceeds $92.50 per 
barrel the tax rate is the sum of 25% and 0.1% 
of the difference between the average monthly 
production tax value and $92.50.  The maximum 
tax may not exceed 75%.

California

California levies ad valorem taxes on real property, 
including mineral properties.  Values are determined and 
assessed at the county governmental level.  The statutory 
tax rate is 1%, but is subject to increases based on needs 
to retire voter approved debt.  In fiscal year 2012-2013 
the rate was 1.139%.  Values are based on an adjusted 
acquisition value or the current market value, whichever 
is lower.  Adjustments to acquisition value are made for 
depletion and increases in reserves and added or removed 
improvements.

There are no statewide severance taxes levied in 
California.  Some local municipalities levee a severance 
tax.  A nominal per barrel fee is collected to fund the 
Department of Conservation, Division of Oil, Gas & 
Geothermal Resources.  

Colorado 

Colorado has a 2% to 5% severance tax but allows 87.5% 
of local property taxes as a credit against the tax.  Since 
property taxes average about 7%, this credit generally 
eliminates the severance tax liability.

A conservation tax of 0.14% is administered by the Oil and 
Gas Conservation Commission.

Kansas

Kansas levies an 8% value-based severance tax but all 
oil properties receive a 3.67% credit for property taxes 
paid.  The net severance tax rate for all taxable production 
is 4.33%.  “Minimum production” (stripper) wells are 
exempt but eligibility is based on the depth of the well 
and the spot price of crude oil.  Effective May 1, 2000, 
wells under 2,000 feet must have five barrels per day of 
production or less, while deeper wells may have six barrels 
per day or less, depending on the price.  (If the well is 
using waterflood, the required barrels per day are adjusted 
to six and seven, respectively.) Stripper status is granted to 
wells with higher daily production in times of lower price.  
All tertiary recovery oil is eligible for an exemption.

Kansas also levies a volume-based 9.1% conservation fee 
administered by the Kansas Corporate Commission.

Incentives  A “new pool” incentive provision exempts oil 
from newly discovered pools for wells producing  
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50 barrels or less per day for a period ending two years 
from the date of first production.

A tax exemption is also available for wells that have 
completed production enhancement projects or were new 
discoveries using three-dimensional seismic studies.  The 
tax exemption is good for 7 years but is dependent on the 
price of oil in the previous calendar year.  This exemption 
is 4.33%.  “Minimum production” (stripper) wells are 
exempt but eligibility is based on the depth of the well 
and the spot price of crude oil.  Effective May 1, 2000, 
wells under 2,000 feet must have five barrels per day of 
production or less, while deeper wells may have six barrels 
per day or less, depending on the price.  (If the well is 
using waterflood, the required barrels per day are adjusted 
to six and seven, respectively.) Stripper status is granted to 
wells with higher daily production in times of lower price.  
All tertiary recovery oil is eligible for an exemption.

Kansas also levies a volume-based 9.1% conservation fee 
administered by the Kansas Corporate Commission.

Louisiana

A 12.5% severance tax is levied in lieu of all other taxes, 
including ad valorem taxes, on the oil and condensate 
production.  Stripper wells (those with production of 
10 barrels per day or less) are taxed at 3.125%, while 
“incapable” wells (those producing between 10 and 25 
barrels per day and having at least a 50% sediment and 
water) are taxed at 6.25%.  Tertiary recovery wells are 
exempt from  
severance tax until the tertiary project reaches payout.

Louisiana also levies an “oil field site restoration fee” of 
1½¢ per barrel. The fee is reduced to ¾¢ per barrel for 
incapable wells and ⅜¢ per barrel for stripper wells.

An "oil spill contingency fee" of 2¢ per barrel is levied on 
crude oil loaded or off loaded at a marine terminal facility 
in Louisiana waters.  This fee is collected and remitted by 
the marine terminal operator.

Incentives. Oil production from certified deep wells and 
horizontal wells is exempt from severance tax for two 
years or until payout of well costs, whichever occurs first. 
Oil production from certified wells is exempt for any 
month in which the gross value is below $20 per barrel.

Michigan

Michigan levies a severance tax of 6.6% on oil and  
5% on gas based on the gross cash market at the place 
where production was severed from the soil.   

Michigan also levies an oil and gas maintenance fee that is 
used for monitoring wells that does not exceed 1% of the 
gross cash market value.

Incentives  Michigan offers a reduced rate of 4% for oil 
produced from stripper wells and marginal properties, and 
carbon dioxide secondary or enhanced recovery projects 
approved after March 30, 2014.

Mississippi

Mississippi levies a 6% severance tax on the value of 
production at the mouth of the well.  A maintenance tax of 
4.4¢ per barrel and 0.5¢ per mcf is administered by the Oil 
& Gas Board.

Incentives  Beginning April 1, 1994, wells that use an 
approved Enhanced Oil Recovery method receive a  
3% reduced rate.

Montana

Tax rates vary by type of production, by the date the well 
was drilled, and for working interests and non-working 
interests.  The following is a summary of the tax rates 
effective January 2, 2000.

		  Working	 Non-Working
		  Interest	 Interest
•	 Primary Recovery Production
	 First 12 months	  	 .5%	 14.8%
	 Pre-1999 Well		  12.5%	 14.8%
	 Post-1999 Well		  9%	 14.8%

•	 Stripper Production(1)

	 First 1-10 barrels	  5.5%	 14.8%
	 Over 10 barrels		  9%
	 Stripper well exemption	 .5%	 14.8%
	 Stripper well bonus production	 6%	 14.8%

•	 Horizontally Drilled Wells
	 First 18 months		  .5%	 14.8%
	 Pre-1999 after 18 months	 12.5%	 14.8%
	 Post-1999 after 18 months	 9%	 14.8%

•	 Incremental Production (2)

	 Secondary Production	 8.5%	 14.8%
	 Tertiary Production	  5.8%	 14.8%

*	 Horizontally Recompleted
	 First 18 months		  5.5%	 14.8%
	 Pre-1999 after 18 months	 12.5%	 14.8%
	 Post-1999 after 18 months	 9%	 14.8%
(1)	 Stripper oil is oil produced from any well that produced less than 10 

barrels a day for the calendar year immediately preceding the current 
year.

(2)	 This is the volume of oil in excess of the production decline curve as 
approved by the Board of Oil and Gas Conservation.	
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New Mexico

New Mexico levies four tax types on the value of oil.   
An intergovernmental production tax credit of 75% of 
the lesser of the state tax rate or the Native American tax 
rate on the value of new production severed within the 
boundaries of Native American tribal land is given to each 
tax type.

Severance Tax:  3.75% of value of oil.  Incentives include 
1.875% on qualified enhanced recovery projects, 2.45% 
on qualified workover wells, and variable rates on stripper 
properties.  A 10-year exemption is given to qualified 
production restoration projects.

Most of the incentives (well workover, production 
restoration, and enhanced oil recovery) are tied to posted 
prices of West Texas Intermediate (WTI) crude and 
subject to an exemption sunset based on a statutory price 
threshold.  These incentives have now been subjected to 
the statutory sunset provisions based on reported prices.

Emergency School Tax:  3.15% of value of oil with 
variable rates on stripper properties.

Conservation Tax:  0.19% of the value of oil.  When the 
average price of WTI crude in the previous quarter exceeds 
$70.00 per barrel, the rate of the total tax on oil shall be 
0.24% of the taxable value of the sold product.

Ad Valorem Production Tax:  Rates vary and are 
established by producing counties and school districts and 
are effective each September.

A Tribal Capital Improvements Credit of the lesser of the 
amount of the tribal capital improvements tax or seven-
tenths of one percent of the taxable value of the products is 
available for products subject to the oil and gas emergency 
school tax and severed from qualifying wells located on 
Jicarilla Apache tribal land.

Oklahoma

Oklahoma’s Gross Production Tax is a value based 
severance tax that is levied upon the production of oil and
natural gas. The Gross Production Tax is in lieu of Ad
Valorem Tax on minerals and the equipment that is
essential to the production of a well. 

The Gross Production Base Tax rate is levied at 7%. 
Currently, Oklahoma provides for an incentive tax rate 
of 4% on qualified deep wells for a period of up to 
60 months and a 1% incentive tax rate on qualified
horizontal wells for a period of 48 months. 

Effective July 1, 2015, the aforementioned incentive tax 
rates expire and a new incentive tax rate of 2% will be 
levied on all new wells drilled. The reduced rate shall 
be effective for the first 36 months of production on a 
qualified well, and thereafter, the tax rate will change to 
the 7% base rate.

In addition to the Gross Production Tax, Oklahoma levies 
a Petroleum Excise Tax on the production of oil and 
natural gas equal to .095 of 1% of the product’s gross 
value.
    
Incentives. The State of Oklahoma provides for a rebate 
of Gross Production Tax as an incentive for operators to 
reestablish or enhance the production of existing wells and 
to encourage the drilling of new wells. 

The rebate of tax is equal to 6/7ths of the 7% base Gross 
Production Tax rate. Wells currently qualifying for the 
rebate are as follows:
•	 The reestablished production of a well that is  

non-productive for 1 year (Expires July 1, 2020),
•	 The enhancement of production through workover or 

recompletion (Expires July 1, 2020), 
•	 Wells drilled to a total footage greater than 12,500 feet 

(Expires July 1, 2015),
•	 Wells qualified as being new discovery  

(Expires July 1, 2015),
•	 Wells that are drilled using 3-D seismic technology 

(Expires July 1, 2015),
•	 Wells meeting the criteria of being economically  

at-risk (Expires July 1, 2020).

South Dakota

South Dakota levies a 4.5% oil severance tax and a  
.24% conservation tax.  The tax is determined by 
multiplying the tax rate times the taxable value less any 
rental or royalty payment applicable to the United States 
or the State of South Dakota and its political subdivisions.  
The taxable value is the posted field price per unit at the 
point of production. 

Texas

Texas levies a 4.6% severance tax on the value of oil 
produced.  This tax is reduced to 2.3% or to 0.00% if the 
oil qualifies for certain tax incentives.  Oil properties in 
Texas are also subject to normal property taxes and to 
a 3/16 of a cent per barrel "regulatory tax," as well as a 
regulatory fee of 5/16 of a cent ($0.003125) per barrel for 
report periods prior to September 2001 and 5/8 of a cent 
($0.00625) per barrel for report periods September 2001 
and later.
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Incentives.  Oil produced from Enhanced Oil Recovery 
(EOR) projects is taxed at 2.3% of the market value.  Oil 
produced from well bores certified by the Texas Railroad 
Commission as 2-year or 3-year inactive well bores is 
exempt from the tax for 10 years.

Producers are eligible for a production tax credit for crude 
oil from low producing wells ranging from 100% if the 
average price is $22 or less to 0% if the average price is 
more than $30 per barrel.  A certified orphan well put back 
in production is eligible for a 100% exemption from the oil 
production tax and the oilfield cleanup fee.

Utah

Utah levies a severance tax of 3% on the first $13 per 
barrel and 5% on any amount over $13 per barrel.  This tax 
is in addition to a normal ad valorem tax on the reserves 
and a 0.2% conservation tax.  Stripper wells, defined as 
wells that produce 20 barrels per day or less, are exempt 
from the severance tax.

Incentives.  The first six months’ production from any 
new development well and the first 12 months' production 
from any new wildcat well are exempt from the tax.  All 
transportation and processing costs can be deducted 
from value to determine taxable value.  There is a 50% 
tax rate reduction on incremental production achieved 
from any enhanced recovery project.  New workover 
or recompletion projects receive a 20% tax credit, up to 
$30,000 per well.

Wyoming

A severance tax is levied at 6% of the value of the oil 
produced.  Stripper wells are eligible for a reduced tax rate 
of 4%.  

An ad valorem tax is levied on the same value as that used 
for severance tax purposes but is collected by the counties 
and based on the applicable local mill rates.  Currently, the 
ad valorem taxes average about 6.7% of the value of the 
oil produced.

Incentives.  Wyoming grants the reduced rate of 2% on 
the first 60 barrels per day from new wells for 24 months 
and all incremental oil from workovers and recompletions.  
New wells must have been drilled between July 1, 1993 
and March 31, 2003. Workovers or recompletions must 
have been performed between July 1, 1993 and  
March 31, 2001.  In the case of new oil wells, the incentive 
is canceled if the average price of oil is equal to or exceeds 
$22 per barrel for the preceding six (6) month period.

Oil produced from previously shut in wells is subject to a 
reduced severance tax rate of 1.5% for five years from the 
date of first renewed production.  Wells must have had no 
production for two years prior to January 1, 1995.  This 
incentive is canceled if the average price of oil exceeds 
$25 per barrel for six straight months.
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SOURCE:	 Hughes rig count (annual average). These states have similar geographical formations and similar technologies are used in 
oil production.

Production
Million
Barrels

North Dakota

New Mexico

Colorado

Wyoming
Utah

Kansas

Montana

Western Oil and Gas Producing States 
Average Annual Rig Activity

Calendar Years 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013

North Dakota 14 15 21 32 39 68 50 114 168 188 173

Montana 14 20 24 22 17 11 3 7 9 20 12

Wyoming 54 74 78 99 74 74 40 40 48 47 48

Colorado 39 54 74 89 107 114 50 58 72 65 63

Utah 14 22 28 40 42 42 18 27 28 37 29

Kansas 9 7 7 10 14 11 20 20 28 30 27

New Mexico 64 67 83 94 78 78 44 62 79 84 77
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CURRENT LAW

LOCALLY ASSESSED PROPERTY

Imposition, Administration and Distribution of 
Revenue

All real property, unless specifically exempted, is subject 
to a property tax.  A mobile home used as a residence or 
business is subject to the tax if it is 27 or more feet long or 
is attached to utility services.

The property tax is determined by multiplying the mill rate 
times the taxable value of real property.

The county determines and collects the tax and distributes 
the revenue to the county, cities, townships, school 
districts, and other taxing districts.  The tax is due January 
1 of each year following the year of assessment and is 
payable without penalty until March 1.  A 5% discount is 
allowed for taxes paid in full before February 15th.

Mill Rates

Local mill rates are established to meet the revenue 
needs of the taxing district.  Each taxing district prepares 
a proposed budget to determine the money needed to 
provide services.  After public hearings, the elected 
governing bodies adopt final budgets and certify tax 
levies (total property taxes) to the county auditor.  The 
tax levy may not exceed the legal maximum.  The only 
increases allowed without voter or legislative approval are 
for property added to the tax rolls. To determine the mill 
rate, the county auditor divides the total property taxes to 
be collected for each taxing district by the district’s total 
taxable value.

Taxable Value

Residential  The determination of taxable value begins 
with the true and full value or market value of the 
property.  The true and full value of residential property 
is established by the local assessor.  The assessed value is 
50% of the true and full value and the taxable value is 9% 
of the assessed value.  

Commercial  The true and full value of most commercial 
property is established by the local assessor.  The assessed 

value is 50% of the true and full value and the taxable 
value is 10% of the assessed value.  The true and full value 
of railroad, public utility, and airline property is centrally 
determined by the State Board of Equalization (see 
Centrally Assessed Property on page 86).

Agricultural  The true and full value of agricultural 
property is based on productivity as established through 
computations made by North Dakota State University 
of the capitalized average annual gross return of the 
land.  This information is forwarded to the State Tax 
Commissioner who certifies to the county directors 
of tax equalization the estimated average true and full 
agricultural value of farm and grazing land in each county.

The county tax directors use the certified estimates of the 
county average agricultural values to determine the average 
value of agricultural lands within each assessment district 
in the county. This estimate is based on the relative value of 
lands for each assessment district compared to the county 
average.  In determining the relative value, the county tax 
directors are to use soil type and soil classification data 
from detailed and general soil surveys.  In determining the 
relative value of each assessment parcel, the local assessor 
applies the following considerations in descending order of 
significance to the assessment determination:

a.	 Soil type and soil classification data from detailed or 
general soil surveys.

b.	 The schedule of modifiers that must be used to adjust 
agricultural property assessments within the county 
as approved by the State Supervisor of Assessments.

c.	 Actual use of the property for cropland or 
noncropland purposes by the owner of the parcel.

The assessed value of agricultural land is 50% of the true 
and full value and the taxable value is 10% of the assessed 
value.

Equalization Process  Equalization is a method required 
by law to adjust assessments so that they are consistent 
with market value or, in the case of agricultural land, the 
value of agricultural productivity.  Local assessments are 
reviewed and equalized by either the Township Board of 
Equalization on the second Monday in April or the City 
Board of Equalization on the second Tuesday in April.  The 
Board of County Commissioners meets within the first ten 
days of June to equalize among assessment districts within 
the county.  The State Board of Equalization has the  
responsibility to equalize among counties and assessment 

Property Taxes

Calendar Years 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013

North Dakota 14 15 21 32 39 68 50 114 168 188 173

Montana 14 20 24 22 17 11 3 7 9 20 12

Wyoming 54 74 78 99 74 74 40 40 48 47 48

Colorado 39 54 74 89 107 114 50 58 72 65 63

Utah 14 22 28 40 42 42 18 27 28 37 29

Kansas 9 7 7 10 14 11 20 20 28 30 27

New Mexico 64 67 83 94 78 78 44 62 79 84 77
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districts in a county and meets the second Tuesday  
in August.

Exemptions and Credits

Property tax exemptions and credits are listed below 
according to type of property.

Residential Property
•	 Personal property is exempt.
•	 A property tax exemption of up to five years is available 

for the value added by rehabilitation or remodeling to 
property which is 25 years old or older if the city or 
county approves the exemption.

•	 Homes owned and occupied by persons who are blind 
or disabled may be eligible for exemption or partial 
exemption from property taxes, subject to annual 
review.

•	 A geothermal, solar or wind energy system may qualify 
for a five-year exemption.

•	 Qualifying new single-family residences and 
condominiums may be exempt for two years, provided 
the exemption is approved by the city or county.  The 
exemption is limited to a maximum of $150,000 of the 
structure’s value.

•	 New single-family residential property, exclusive of 
land, may be exempt for the taxable year in which 
construction began and the next two taxable years if the 
property remains owned by the builder and unoccupied, 
provided the exemption is approved by the city or 
county.

•	 A single-family residence located in a Renaissance 
Zone may be exempt for five years provided the city 
approves the exemption.

•	 Homeowners who are 65 years of age or older or who are 
certified as permanently and totally disabled regardless of 
age may be entitled to certain property tax credits under 
the homestead property tax credit program. Qualifications 
include an annual income of $42,000 or less (including 
Social Security and pensions) and assets of $500,000 or 
less (including the market value of the homestead).  A 
qualifying homeowner may receive a credit to reduce the 
property’s taxable value by up to $4,500.  Applications 
are filed with the local assessor.

	 ○	 In addition, these homeowners may qualify for a 
special assessment credit which becomes a lien 
on the real property and must be repaid when the 
property is transferred.

•	 Renters who are 65 years of age or older or who are 
certified as permanently and totally disabled regardless 
of age and who have an annual income from all sources 
of $42,000 or less may be entitled to rent refunds under 
the homestead property tax credit program.  Those who 

qualify may receive rent refunds of up to $400 if 20% of 
the rent they pay exceeds 4% of their income.  Renters 
apply to the Office of State Tax Commissioner for this 
refund.

•	 A disabled veteran with an armed forces service-
connected disability of 50 percent or greater may qualify 
for a property tax credit on the veteran's homestead.  
The percentage of credit is equal to the percentage of 
the veterans disability compensation rating for service 
connected disabilities, and is applied to the first $150,000 
of true and full value of the fixtures, buildings, and 
improvements of the homestead.

Commercial Property
•	 Personal property is exempt.
•	 A property tax exemption of up to five years and in 

certain cases up to ten years is available to a qualifying 
new or expanding business (see page 85, New Business 
Exemption).

•	 An exemption of up to five years is available for the 
value added to property by rehabilitation or remodeling 
if the city or county approves the exemption.

•	 The portion of a building used primarily for licensed 
day care is exempt if the city or county approves the 
exemption.

•	 Fixtures, buildings, and improvements used primarily 
as an adult care center are exempt upon approval by the 
city or county.

•	 A geothermal, solar or wind energy system may qualify 
for a five-year exemption.

•	 A cooperative or nonprofit organization that provides 
water to its members and customers may be eligible for 
an exemption for its buildings and structures.

•	 A public parking structure is eligible for an exemption.
•	 A pollution control improvement is exempt if the city or 

county approves the exemption.
•	 A commercial building located in a Renaissance Zone 

may be exempt for five years provided the city approves 
the exemption.

•	 Property of a housing authority used for administration 
and property solely owned and used by authority to 
conduct powers granted under N.D.C.C. ch. 23-11 are 
exempt from all taxes and special assessments.

Agricultural Property
•	 Personal property is exempt.
•	 Farm structures are exempt if located on agricultural land 

and used in operations normally associated with farming 
and ranching.  Farm residences are exempt if located on 
10 acres or more of agricultural land, if occupied or used 
by a farmer who normally devotes the major portion of 
time to farming operations, and if the farmer receives not 
less than 50% of annual net income from these operations 
in any one of the preceding three years.  The residence is 



85December 2014

not eligible if the farmer has received more than $40,000 
of non-farm income in each of the three preceding years.  
The income requirements apply to the combined income 
of the farmer and spouse.

•	 A qualifying wetland is exempt if the owner signs an 
agreement to keep the property as wetland.  If the land is 
removed from wetland status, the landowner must repay 
up to ten years of the taxes forgiven.  This exemption is 
available if funds are available for the state to reimburse 
the political subdivisions for all revenue losses.

•	 State-owned land leased for grazing or pasture purposes 
is exempt.  State-owned land leased for growing crops 
is exempt if payments in lieu of property taxes are made 
by the state.

•	 The surviving spouse of a farmer who at the time of 
death was an active farmer is eligible for the farm 
residence exemption through the end of the fifth taxable 
year after the taxable year of death of the deceased 
active farmer.  The farm residence exemption applies 
for as long as the residence is continuously occupied by 
the surviving spouse of an individual who at the time of 
death was a retired farmer.

Other Property
•	 Property owned by a governmental unit is exempt.
•	 Property owned and used exclusively for religious or 

charitable purposes is exempt.
•	 Property belonging to institutions of public charity, used 

wholly or in part for public charity is exempt.
•	 Property owned by a religious organization used for 

religious services of the organization or as a residence 
for the minister in charge of services is exempt.  
Property owned by a religious organization may retain 
its exemption if the property is rented to a tax-exempt 
organization and no profit is realized from the rent.

•	 Property owned by a lodge, club, association or like 
organization is exempt if the organization is nonprofit, 
if the property is used for meeting and for conducting 
business or ceremony, and if food or alcoholic beverages 
are not sold for profit on the premises.  This property, 
however, is subject to taxation by cities for the cost of 
fire protection services.

•	 All property belonging to an educational institution and 
not used for profit is exempt.

•	 Property owned by a nonprofit corporation and used 
for promoting athletic and educational needs at a state 
educational institution is exempt.

•	 All land used exclusively for burying grounds or 
cemeteries is exempt.

•	 Land belonging to a military organization and used as 
a public park or monument ground and not for gain is 
exempt.

•	 Minerals in place in the earth are exempt if, at the time 
of extraction, they are subject to either the oil and gas 

gross production tax or the coal severance tax.
•	 Property of Native Americans, where the title cannot be 

transferred without the consent of the U.S. Secretary of 
the Interior, is exempt.

•	 Forested land may be eligible for a reduced property tax 
rate of 50 cents per acre.

•	 All property, including any possessory interest therein, 
relating to waterworks, mains, water distribution 
systems, sewage systems, and facilities for the collection, 
treatment, purification and disposal in a sanitary manner 
of sewage, leased to the state or any agency or institution 
of the state, or to a private entity, which property is 
operated by, or providing services to, a municipality or 
other political subdivision is exempt.

•	 All property, including any possessory interest therein, 
belonging to the state or an agency or institution 
of the state leased to a private entity pursuant to 
N.D.C.C. § 54-01-02, which property is operated by, or 
providing services to, the state or its citizens is exempt.

•	 Property owned by the state and held under a lease and 
any structure, fixture, or improvement located on that 
property is not taxable to the leaseholder if the structure, 
fixture, or improvement is used primarily for athletic and 
educational purposes at any state institution of higher 
education.

New Business Exemption

Parameters A new or expanding business project may be 
granted a property tax exemption for up to five years. Two 
extensions are available:
•	 Agricultural processors may be granted a partial or full 

exemption for up to five additional years.
•	 A project which is located in property leased from a 

governmental entity qualifies for an exemption for up 
to five additional years upon annual application by the 
project operator.

In addition to or instead of an exemption, local 
governments and any project operator may negotiate 
payments in lieu of property tax for a period of up to 
20 years from the date project operations begin.

Qualifications  A qualifying “project” is any new or 
expanded revenue-producing enterprise.  Before a 
municipality may grant a property tax exemption, the 
project must be certified as a primary sector business by 
the ND Commerce Department. A city or county with a 
population under 40,000 may grant an exemption to a 
project operating in the retail sector if the governing body 
has obtained approval from a majority of the qualified 
electors.  All buildings, structures or improvements used 
in or necessary to the operation of the project qualify.  The 
structure may be the project’s building or the project’s 
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quarters within a larger building.  An exemption may 
not be granted for land.  A project is not eligible for 
an exemption if the project received a tax exemption 
under tax increment financing or if the governing body 
determines the exemption fosters unfair competition or 
endangers existing business.

Application Procedures  The project operator applies 
to the city governing body if the project is located within 
city boundaries. If the project is located outside city 
boundaries, application is made to the county commission.
•	 The application for exemption must be made and 

approved before construction of a new structure 
begins.  If the project will occupy an existing structure, 
application must be made and approved before the 
structure is occupied.  Application for payments 
in lieu of property tax need not be made prior to 
commencement of construction or occupancy of an 
existing building.

•	 The governing body confirms primary sector 
certification for property tax exemption application.

•	 If the city or county governing body determines there 
are local competitors, the project operator must publish 
two notices in the official newspaper of the city or 
county at least one week apart, and the last notice must 
be published at least 15 days, but not more than 30 days, 
before the city or county considers the application. For 
example, notices published one week apart on May 1 and 
May 8 are appropriate for a hearing scheduled anytime 
between May 23 and June 7.

•	 The city or county governing body holds a public 
hearing on the application.

•	 After the public hearing, the city or county governing 
body acts on the application.

CENTRALLY ASSESSED PROPERTY

Assessment Procedures

Assessments for property tax purposes of railroads, investor-
owned public utilities, and airlines are determined by the 
State Board of Equalization.  The assessed value of centrally 
assessed property is 50% of the true and full value and the 
taxable value is 10% of the assessed value for all centrally 
assessed property except wind turbine electric generation 
units with a nameplate generation capacity of 100 kilowatts 
or more.  Taxable value is 1.5% for units for which a 
purchased power agreement was executed between April 30, 
2005 and January 1, 2006, and construction was begun 
between April 30, 2005, and July 1, 2006, and for a centrally 
assessed wind turbine electric generation unit of 100 
kilowatts or more on which construction is completed after 
June 30, 2006, and before January 1, 2015.  Taxable value 

is 3% for all other units on which construction is completed 
before January 1, 2015.  The taxable value of centrally 
assessed property is subject to property taxes as discussed 
below for each type of property.

Steps in the assessment process are as follows:
1.	 The company must file an annual report with the State 

Tax Commissioner by May 1st.
2.	 The State Tax Commissioner prepares a tentative 

assessment by July 15th.
3.	 Notice of tentative assessment is sent to the company 

ten days prior to the State Board of Equalization 
meeting.

4.	 The State Board of Equalization meets the first 
Tuesday in August at the Office of State Tax 
Commissioner to receive testimony on the value 
of centrally assessed property and to make the 
assessments.

5.	 Following the action of the State Board of 
Equalization, the State Tax Commissioner certifies the 
assessments to the counties.

Airlines

A regularly scheduled airline serving North Dakota cities 
pays a property tax computed by applying the average of 
all mill levies in the municipalities served by regularly 
scheduled airlines against the taxable valuation of an 
airline’s operating real property located in North Dakota.

The Tax Commissioner collects the tax and the State 
Treasurer distributes the revenue to the municipalities 
in which the airline operates.  The revenue is used 
exclusively for airport purposes.

Public Utilities

Centrally assessed public utilities are investor-owned 
power, gas and pipeline companies.  The tax for 
telecommunications carriers is discussed below.  The 
taxable value of a utility’s North Dakota real and personal 
operating property is subject to the mill levies of the taxing 
districts in which the property is located.

The tax is collected by the county and distributed to the 
taxing districts within the county.

A 10-year exemption is allowed for pipelines carrying 
CO2 for use in enhanced recovery of oil or natural gas.  
The state reimburses political subdivisions for the lost tax 
revenue.

A transmission line of 230 kilovolts or larger, and its 
associated transmission substations, initially placed in 



87December 2014

service or substantially expanded on or after October 1, 
2002, is exempt from property taxes for the first taxable 
year.  Subsequent years' taxable value must be reduced by 
75% for the second year, 50% for the third year, and 25% 
for the fourth year.  After the fourth year, the transmission 
line and substations are exempt from property taxes and 
are subject to a tax of $300 per mile.

Railroads

Railroad operating real property is taxed at the mill rates of 
the taxing districts in which the property of the railroad is 
located. The tax is collected by the county and distributed 
to the various taxing districts within the county.

TAXES PAID IN LIEU OF PROPERTY TAXES

Telecommunications Carriers

Telecommunications carriers are assessed a tax of 2.5% 
of their adjusted gross receipts by the State Board of 
Equalization.  The gross receipts tax is paid annually to 
the Tax Commissioner.  The state allocates $8.4 million 
annually to the counties for distribution to political 
subdivisions.  Revenue in excess of $8.4 million is 
deposited in the State General Fund.

Rural Electric Cooperatives

Property of rural electric cooperatives is subject to 
generation, distribution, and transmission taxes under 
N.D.C.C. ch. 57-33.2.  The taxes are in lieu of property 
taxes on all property other than land, owned and used by 
a company in the operation and conduct of the business of 
generation or delivery of electricity through distribution or 
transmission lines.

Other companies engaged in electric generation, 
distribution, and transmission may file an irrevocable 
election to be taxed under ch. 57-33.2 and exempt from ad 
valorem taxation under ch. 57-06.

Coal Conversion Facilities

The coal conversion tax is in lieu of property taxes on 
investor-owned or cooperative electrical generating plants 
which have at least one unit with a generating capacity 
of 10,000 kilowatts or more of electricity, other coal 
conversion facilities consuming 500,000 tons or more of 
coal per year, or coal beneficiation plants.  (See page 21.)

Tourism or Concession License Fee

A license fee in lieu of property taxes is payable for state-
owned property leased from the Superintendent of the 
State Historical Board or the Director of State Parks and 
Recreation and used for tourism or concession purposes.  
The fee is set by the superintendent or by the director and 
is at least $1, but not more than 1% of the tenant’s gross 
receipts. The tenant pays the license fee to the county 
treasurer, who deposits the payment into the county 
general fund.

HISTORICAL OVERVIEW

Significant Changes in Law

Before 1981  Prior to the 1981 Legislative Session, the 
standard of value was market value, but property was 
assessed at a fraction of its market value.  By law, all real 
property was in one class, but a de facto classification 
system existed.  Limitations were imposed on the number 
of mills which could be levied.

1981 Session
•	 Changed the procedures for determining the value 

of property for tax purposes to include methods of 
establishing the true and full value, assessed value, 
and taxable value of property, according to a new 
classification system.

•	 Placed limits on the dollar amount of change in a levy 
rather than on the number of mills that could be levied.

•	 Allowed up to a 7% increase in the number of dollars 
levied.

•	 Increased the maximum qualifying income for the 
homestead credit and renter’s refund from $9,000 to 
$10,000 per year.

1983 Session  
•	 Allowed for a 4% increase in the number of dollars 

levied.
•	 Authorized cities and counties to give two-year 

exemptions for new single-family, condominium, or 
townhouse property.

•	 Increased the new business exemption’s cost and sales 
limitations from $100 million to $150 million.

1985 Session
•	 Allowed for a 3% increase in the number of dollars 

levied.
•	 Enacted an exemption for qualifying wetlands, effective 

for tax years beginning after December 31, 1986.
•	 Increased the maximum qualifying income for 
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homestead credit and renter’s refund from $10,000 to 
$12,000 per year.

1987 Session
•	 Allowed for a 5% increase in the number of dollars 

levied.
•	 Removed limitations on the type of business qualifying 

for the new business exemption, in effect, including 
service and retail industries.  Previously, the exemption 
was limited to assembling, fabricating, manufacturing, 
mixing, processing, storing, warehousing, or 
distributing any agricultural, mineral, or manufactured 
product.

1989 Session
•	 Allowed for a 5% increase in the number of dollars 

levied.
•	 Enacted an exemption for day care in commercial 

property.
•	 Expanded the exemption for religious organizations to 

include property rented to a tax-exempt organization.
•	 Increased the maximum qualifying income for the 

homestead credit and renter’s refund from $12,000 to 
$13,000 per year.

•	 Repealed the requirement that the State Board of 
Equalization approve the property tax exemption for 
new businesses.

•	 Excepted property in cities of 3,000 population or less 
from the vacancy requirement in the new business 
exemption law.

•	 Excluded projects exempt under tax increment financing 
from the new business exemption.

•	 Extended the allowable property tax exemption to up 
to ten years for new projects located in property leased 
from a governmental entity.

1991 Session
•	 Allowed for a 4% increase in the number of dollars 

levied.
•	 Broadened the property tax exemption to include 

expanding businesses.
•	 Decoupled the property tax exemption from the income 

tax exemption.
•	 Repealed the vacancy requirement for existing 

buildings.
•	 Provided a partial exemption for the sixth through tenth 

years for projects that produce or manufacture a product 
from agricultural commodities grown in North Dakota.

•	 Enacted a ten-year exemption for pipelines carrying 
CO2 to an enhanced recovery project in a North Dakota 
oil field.

•	 Provided for a license fee in lieu of property taxes 
for certain state-owned property leased for tourism or 
concession purposes.

•	 Provided for a 50-cents-per-acre property tax rate for 
forested land and several administrative changes.

1993 Session
•	 Set the maximum levy increase at 3% for taxes payable 

in 1994 and 2% for taxes payable in 1995.
•	 Permitted cities and counties to exempt pollution 

control improvements.
•	 Granted an exemption for state-owned land leased for 

grazing or pasture purposes.
•	 Granted an exemption for state-owned land leased for 

growing crops if payments in lieu of taxes are made by 
the state.

•	 Increased the maximum qualifying income for the 
homestead credit and renter’s refund from $13,000 to 
$13,500 per year beginning with the 1995 tax year.

1994 Special Session
•	 Removed project size limitations from the new or 

expanding business tax exemption, allowing large 
projects to qualify.

•	 Changed the extended exemption for agricultural 
processors from a partial exemption to either a partial or 
complete exemption.

•	 Enabled a local government and any project operator to 
negotiate payments in lieu of property taxes for a period 
of up to 20 years.

1995 Session
•	 Allowed for a 2% increase in the number of dollars 

levied for taxes payable in 1996 and 1997.
•	 Provided that the only increase allowed after 1998 

without voter or legislative approval is for property 
added to the tax rolls.

•	 Exempted railroad personal property from property 
taxes.

•	 Required that before a city or county grants a new and 
expanding business exemption or payments in lieu of 
taxes, the affected school districts and townships must 
be consulted.

1997 Session
•	 Allowed for a 2% increase in the amount levied to 

match federal funds.
•	 Required the state water commission to make payments 

in lieu of taxes for land acquired for the Devils Lake 
project.

•	 Extended the agricultural production data used by 
NDSU for the agricultural land formula to a ten-year 
period for the 2000 assessment.

•	 Made permanent a 50% expense allowance for 
agricultural revenue from irrigated cropland. 

•	 Allowed the temporary requirement that school districts 
and townships be consulted before granting a new 
business property tax incentive to expire. 
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•	 Defined the income requirement for the farm residence 
exemption as more than 50% from farming activities in 
any one of the preceding three years. 

•	 Increased allowable nonfarm income to $40,000 during 
each of the preceding three years.

•	 Provided that park model trailer owners could pay a 
fee of $20 per year to the motor vehicle department to 
exempt the trailer from taxation as a mobile home for 
tax years 1997 and 1998.

•	 Increased the maximum general fund tax levy for fire 
protection districts from 10 to 13 mills.

•	 Gave the state engineer authority to take remedies when 
man-made objects situated in, on the bed of, or adjacent 
to a navigable lake are, or are imminently likely to be, 
a menace to life or property or public health or safety; 
and to assess costs of action against any property of the 
person responsible. 

•	 Changed the agricultural property definition for 
property platted after March 30, 1981.

•	 Provided that a pipeline and associated equipment, not 
including land, constructed after 1996 for transportation 
or storage of CO2 for use in enhanced recovery of oil 
or natural gas is tax exempt during construction and 
the first ten full taxable years.  The property is subject 
to assessment by the State Board of Equalization and 
payments in lieu of taxes by the State Treasurer during 
the time it is exempt.

1999 Session
•	 Made income and expense statements provided by 

commercial property owners to assessors confidential.
•	 Allowed an abatement of property tax for damage to a 

building, mobile home, structure, or other improvement 
caused by natural disaster.

•	 Increased the income limitation for the homestead credit 
and renter's refund from $13,500 to $14,000.

•	 Made permanent the $20 permit fee for a park model 
trailer in lieu of the mobile home tax.

•	 Expanded the farm building exemption to include 
feedlots and buildings used primarily, rather than 
exclusively, for farming purposes.

•	 Allowed depreciation expense as an addition to net farm 
income for the farm residence exemption.

•	 Granted the farm residence exemption to beginning 
farmers.

•	 Established a class of inundated agricultural property 
that is assessed at 10% of the noncropland value.

•	 Changed the agricultural land valuation formula to 
require inclusion of a production cost factor.

•	 Made permanent the requirement that school districts 
and townships be included in the negotiations for the 
new business exemption.

•	 Changed the payments in lieu of taxes for new 
businesses to include existing buildings as well as new 
buildings.

•	 Extended the period of exemption for remodeling from 
three to five years and allowed an addition to an existing 
building to be exempted as an eligible improvement.

•	 Changed the tax deed proceedings from a sale of tax 
delinquent property to foreclosure of tax lien.

•	 Changed the county levy for Social Security to allow 
up to five mills to be used for county automation and 
telecommunications.

•	 Increased the levy of a tax for programs and activities 
for senior citizens by a county or city from one to two 
mills.

•	 Provided that a school district may levy up to 15 
mills for removal or abatement of asbestos in school 
buildings and for providing an alternative education 
program.

2001 Session
•	 Required that when the board of county commissioners 

rejects an application for abatement, a written 
explanation of the rationale for the decision must be 
attached to the application and mailed to the applicant.

•	 Provided that the taxable value of a centrally assessed 
wind turbine electric generation unit with a capacity of 
100 kwh or more is 3% of assessed value.

•	 Provided that a county officer or employee will not 
refund a fee or tax of less than $5.00.

•	 Provided that a municipality may provide partial or 
complete exemption of residential property, exclusive of 
land, if the property was rehabilitated by an individual 
for the primary place of residence as a renaissance 
zone project.  Provided for exemptions of buildings, 
structures, fixtures and improvements rehabilitated as a 
zone project for any business or investment purpose.  A 
taxpayer may not be delinquent in payment of any state 
or local tax to benefit from those provisions.

•	 Defined inundated agricultural land as agricultural 
property containing a minimum of 10 contiguous acres 
if the value exceeds 10% of the average agricultural 
value of noncropland for the county.  Provided the land 
must have been unsuitable for growing crops or grazing 
farm animals for at least two consecutive growing 
seasons, and produced revenue less than the county 
average revenue per acre for noncropland.

•	 Required a nonprofit organization to make payments in 
lieu of taxes on property acquired for conservation.

•	 Provided that a township may defray expenses of 
improvements by special assessment.

2003 Session
•	 Provided that land acquired by tax deed must be sold to 

the highest qualified bidder.  Provided that a person is 
unqualified to be the highest bidder for property if the 
person owes delinquent taxes to any county.
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•	 Provided that any privately owned structure, fixture, or 
improvement located on state-owned land is not exempt 
from special assessments levied for flood control 
purposes if it is used for commercial purposes, unless it 
is primarily used for athletic or educational purposes at 
a state institution of higher learning.

•	 Exempted from property taxation all property 
including any possessory interest therein, relating to 
any waterworks, mains, and water distribution system, 
or sewage systems and facilities for the collection, 
treatment, purification, and disposal in a sanitary 
manner of sewage, leased to the state or any agency 
or institution of the state, or to a private entity, which 
property is operated by, or providing services to, a 
municipality or other political subdivision.

•	 Exempted from property taxation any property, 
including any possessory interest therein, belonging to 
the state or any agency or institution of the state, leased 
to a private entity pursuant to N.D.C.C. § 54-01-27, 
which property is operated by, or providing services to, 
the state or its citizens.

•	 Provided that property owned by the state and held 
under a lease and any structure, fixture, or improvement 
located on that property is not taxable to the leaseholder 
if the structure, fixture, or improvement is used 
primarily for athletic and educational purposes at any 
state institution of higher education.

•	 Provided for one year's exemption and three years of 
graduated tax rates for new or substantially expanded 
investor-owned and cooperative-owned transmission 
lines of 230 kilovolts or larger, and associated 
transmission substations, initially placed in service on 
or after October 1, 2002.  After the fourth year, those 
lines are taxed at $300 per mile.

•	 Provided that the rate used for capitalization of the 
average annual gross return of agricultural land may not 
be less than 9.5%.

2005 Session
•	 Created the North Dakota transmission authority.  

Provided that transmission facilities built under the 
authority are exempt from property taxes for a period 
not to exceed five years.  After the initial period, 
transmission lines of 230 kilovolts or larger and 
associated transmission substations are subject to a  
per-mile tax at the full rate and subject to the same 
manner of imposition and allocation as imposed on 
cooperative-owned transmission lines.

•	 Required the county auditor to certify if there is an 
unsatisfied lien for homestead credit for special 
assessments against land in a document presented 
for transfer.  Provided that the county recorder may 
not record any deed for property on which the county 
auditor has determined that there is an unsatisfied lien 

for homestead credit for special assessments, except for 
a transfer between spouses because of the death of one 
of them.

•	 Required a recipient to enter into a business incentive 
agreement with each grantor of a business incentive 
granted by the state or a political subdivision.  Provided 
a penalty for a recipient that fails to meet goals.

•	 Provided that agricultural property includes land on 
which a greenhouse is located if the land is used for a 
nursery or other purpose associated with the operation 
of the greenhouse.  Provided that a greenhouse located 
on agricultural land and used primarily for growing of 
horticultural or nursery products is a farm building or 
improvement.

•	 Provided that a centrally assessed wind turbine electric 
generation unit with a nameplate generation capacity 
of 100 kilowatts or more, for which a purchased power 
agreement was executed after April 30, 2005, and before 
July 1, 2006, and construction was begun after  
April 30, 2005, and before July 1, 2006, must be valued 
at 1.5 of assessed value to determine taxable value.

•	 Increased the maximum qualifying income for the 
homestead credit and renter's refund from $14,000 to 
$14,500.  Increased the maximum amount of taxable 
value credit to $3,038.  Increased the unencumbered 
amount of homestead valuation that may be excluded 
from the asset test for homeowners to $100,000.

•	 Provided that the rate used for capitalization of the 
average annual gross return of agricultural land may 
not be less than 8.9% for 2005 and 8.3% for subsequent 
years.

•	 Authorized housing authorities to provide housing for 
persons of moderate income.  Provided that property 
of an authority used for moderate income housing is 
exempt from all taxes except special assessments unless 
specifically exempted from a special assessment by the 
political subdivision.

•	 Provided that in lieu of exemption of a park model 
trailer located in a trailer park or campground, the 
department of transportation shall register the trailer as a 
travel trailer for a registration fee of $20 per year.

2007 Session
•	 Provided that a centrally assessed wind turbine electric 

generation unit with a nameplate generation capacity 
of 100 kilowatts or more on which construction is 
completed after June 30, 2006, and before  
January 1, 2011, must be valued at 1.5% of assessed 
value to determine taxable value.

•	 Provided that the value of carbon dioxide pipeline 
property for which payments in lieu of taxes are 
required must be excluded from the valuation of 
property in the taxing district for purposes of 
determining the mill rate for the taxing district.
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•	 Created the North Dakota pipeline authority to facilitate 
development of pipeline facilities to support production, 
transportation, and utilization of North Dakota energy-
related commodities.  Provided for exemption of 
pipeline property owned by the pipeline authority and 
constructed after 2006, during construction and for the 
first five years of operation.  The property is subject 
to assessment by the State Board of Equalization and 
payments in lieu of taxes by the State Treasurer during 
the time it is exempt.

•	 Required a resolution by the board of county 
commissioners to use any proceeds of a tax levy in 
excess of the amount needed to match federal funds for 
surfacing or maintenance of roads within the county 
road program for which the levy was originally made, 
or for any new project included in an amended program. 

•	 Defined the uncontested amount of taxes paid under 
protest as the amount that will be payable if the 
application for abatement, adjustment, or refund is 
approved by the board of county commissioners.  
Provided that the uncontested amount of taxes under 
protest may be allocated immediately.

•	 Provided that an applicant for abatement is limited to 
the relief claimed in the application for abatement.

•	 Required the county director of tax equalization to use 
soil type and soil classification data from detailed and 
general soil surveys to determine the relative value 
of lands for each assessment district compared to the 
county average value.  

•	 Required local assessors, in determining the relative 
value of each assessment parcel, to apply the following 
considerations in descending order of significance: soil 
type and soil classification data from the detailed or 
general soil surveys; the schedule of modifiers approved 
by the State Supervisor of Assessments and provided by 
the county director of tax equalization; and actual use 
of the property for cropland or noncropland purposes by 
the owner of the parcel.

•	 Provided 5% of a county’s allocation from the State Aid 
Distribution Fund shall be withheld from any county 
that has not fully implemented use of soil type and soil 
classification data from detailed or general soil surveys 
for any taxable year after 2009, until implementation is 
complete. 

•	 Required that during the 2007-2008 interim, each 
county that has not fully implemented use of soil type 
and soil classification data from the detailed and general 
soil surveys shall report to the Legislative Council the 
reason for failure to do so and the anticipated date for 
full implementation.

•	 Provided that unless delinquent taxes, special 
assessments, penalty, interest, and costs on real property 
are paid by October 1 of the second year following 
the year in which taxes became delinquent, the county 

auditor will foreclose on the tax lien and issue a tax 
deed to the county. 

•	 Provided that an excess levy may be authorized for a 
township up to 100% over and above the basic legal 
limitations.

•	 Increased the maximum qualifying income for the 
homestead credit and renter’s refund from $14,500 
to $17,500 per year for tax year 2007.  Increased the 
maximum taxable value of the homestead that may be 
exempted to $3,375.

•	 Required that when any assessor has increased the 
true and full value of any lot or tract of land and 
improvements by more than 10% of the last assessment, 
notice must be delivered or mailed in writing to the 
property owner, or provided to the property owner by 
electronic mail with verification of receipt, not fewer 
than 15 days before the meeting of the local board of 
equalization.  

•	 Provided that after June 30, 2007, in any school 
district election for approval of unlimited or increased 
levy authority, the ballot must specify the number of 
mills, the percentage increase in dollars levied or that 
unlimited mill levy authority is proposed for approval, 
and the number of taxable years for which that approval 
is to apply.

•	 Provided that approval of unlimited or increased levy 
authority may not be effective for more than ten taxable 
years.

•	 Provided that the question of authorizing or 
discontinuing specific number of mills authority or 
unlimited taxing authority in any school district must 
be submitted to the electors at the next regular election 
upon resolution of the school board or filing of a 
petition signed by 10% of the electors.

•	 Provided that the property tax statement must include, 
or be accompanied by a separate sheet with, three 
columns showing for the taxable year to which the 
statement applies and the two immediately preceding 
taxable years, the property tax levy in dollars against 
the parcel by the county, school district, and city or 
township.

•	 Provided for an income tax credit for 2007 and 2008 
of 10% of property taxes or mobile home taxes that 
became due during the income tax taxable year and 
are paid.  See “Historical Overview” under Individual 
Income Tax on page 53 and Corporation Income Tax on 
page 30.

•	 Provided that mobile home tax statements must 
include three columns showing for the taxable year for 
which the statement applies and the two immediately 
preceding taxable years, the property tax levy in dollars 
against the mobile home by the county, school district, 
and any city or township that levied taxes against the 
mobile home.
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•	 Required the Legislative Council to study in each 
interim through 2012 the feasibility and desirability of 
property tax reform and providing property tax relief, 
with the goal of reduction of each taxpayer’s annual 
property tax bill to not more than 1.5% of the true and 
full value of the property.

•	 Provided that a certificate from a licensed physician 
or a written determination of disability from the 
Social Security Administration is acceptable proof 
of permanent and total disability for purposes of the 
homestead credit and renter’s refund.

•	 Increased the true and full value of improvements 
owned and occupied as a homestead for which a 
paraplegic disabled veteran may receive property tax 
exemption from $80,000 to $120,000.

•	 Repealed the income test for a disabled veteran with 
50% or greater certified rated service-connected 
disability.  

•	 Provided that a disabled veteran with a 50% or greater 
certified rated service-connected disability is eligible 
for an exemption equal to the percentage of the disabled 
veteran’s disability applied against the first $120,000 
of true and full value of improvements owned and 
occupied by the disabled veteran as a homestead.

•	 Provided that after the initial filing of a claim for 
exemption, the exemption is automatically renewed 
each year, but the veteran or veteran’s unremarried 
surviving spouse must re-file if that person sells the 
property or no longer claims it as a primary place of 
residence, or if the veteran dies or receives a change in 
the percentage of certified rated service-connected 
disability.

•	 Provided that the disabled veteran’s exemption does 
not apply within a county in which a resolution adopted 
by the board of county commissioners is in effect 
disallowing the exemption for the taxable year.

•	 Provided that the governing body of a city may 
establish valuations that recognize the supply of vacant 
lots available for sale.

2009 Session
•	 Increased the maximum ad valorem exemption for the 

homestead of a blind person to true and full value of 
$160,000 of fixtures, buildings, and improvements.

•	 Provided that if the owner of a manufactured home 
records an affidavit of affixation, the manufactured 
home is considered real property and is assessed with 
the land on which it is located.

•	 Provided that all oil or gas pipeline property that is 
not exempt from ad valorem taxation is subject to 
assessment by the State Board of Equalization.

•	 Provided that the State Board of Equalization may not 
approve valuation and assessment in any taxing district 
in which the true and full value for residential and 

commercial property exceeds the true and full value for 
those property classifications in that taxing district as 
determined by the sales ratio study.

•	 Extended the date by which a centrally assessed wind 
generation unit with a nameplate generation capacity of 
100 kilowatts or more must be completed to qualify for 
1.5% taxable valuation rate until January 1, 2015.

•	 Repealed N.D.C.C. sections 57-02-24 and 57-02-25 
relating to taxation of minerals, the ownership of which 
has been severed from the ownership of the overlying 
land.

•	 Enacted property tax relief for all North Dakota 
taxpayers by providing mill levy reduction grants to 
school districts and requiring school districts to reduce 
their mill levies.  Terminated authority for school 
districts to have unlimited mill levies effective for 
taxable years after 2015.  Required electors desiring 
levies up to a specified number of mills above 185 mills 
to approve a levy up to a specific number of mills, for a 
period not to exceed ten years, by December 31, 2015.

•	 Provided a state-funded property tax credit to 
reimburse political subdivisions for property tax 
losses experienced because of exemption of qualifying 
disabled veterans' homesteads from property taxes.  
Required a qualifying applicant to furnish to assessment 
officials, when requested to do so, any information 
which is believed will support the claim for credit for 
any subsequent year.  Repealed language that permitted 
a county to disallow disabled veterans' exemptions.

•	 Enacted an exemption for new single-family residential 
property, exclusive of land, for the year in which 
construction began and the next two taxable years, if the 
property remains owned by the builder and unoccupied, 
provided the exemption is approved by the city or 
county.

•	 Provided that the surviving spouse of a farmer who at 
the time of death was an active farmer is eligible for 
the farm residence exemption through the end of the 
fifth taxable year after the taxable year of death of the 
deceased active farmer.  The farm residence exemption 
applies for as long as the residence is continuously 
occupied by the surviving spouse of an individual who 
at the time of death was a retired farmer.

•	 Increased the maximum amount of exemption allowed 
for new single-family, condominium, and townhouse 
property, exclusive of land, to $150,000 for the first 
two taxable years after the taxable year in which 
construction is completed and the residence is owned 
and occupied for the first time, provided the exemption 
is approved by the city or county.

•	 Increased the maximum mill levy allowed for a soil 
conservation district to 2 mills.

•	 Increased the maximum qualifying income for 
applicants for homestead property tax credit to $26,000.  
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Increased the maximum exemption under the homestead 
credit program to $4,500 taxable value ($100,000 true 
and full value) of the person's homestead.  Raised the 
asset limitation for qualifying applicants to $75,000 
excluding the first $100,000 unencumbered value of the 
homestead.

•	 Increased the maximum qualifying income for 
applicants for the renter's property tax refund to $26,000 
and increased the maximum refund to $400.

•	 Provided that property owned by a nonprofit entity and 
used exclusively as a cemetery is exempt from special 
assessments.

•	 Provided that when any assessor has increased the 
true and full value of any lot or tract of land and 
improvements by $3,000 or more and 10% or more 
than the amount of the last assessment, written notice 
must be delivered or mailed to the property owner, or 
provided to the property owner by electronic mail with 
verification of receipts, not fewer than 15 days before 
the meeting of the local board of equalization.

2011 Session
•	 Enacted a potash and byproducts tax in lieu of ad 

valorem taxes on any property rights attached to or 
inherent in the right to produce potash and potash 
byproducts; upon producing potash and potash 
byproducts leases; upon machinery, appliances, and 
equipment used in and around any well producing 
potash or potash byproducts and actually used in the 
operation of the well; and upon any investment in 
property.  Provided that the land and processing plant, 
mining facility, or satellite facility must be assessed 
and taxed as other property within the taxing district in 
which the property is situated, is taxed.

•	 Extended property tax relief enacted by the 2009 
legislature through the biennium ending June 30, 2013.

•	 Provided that for any county that has not fully 
implemented use of soil type and soil classification 
data by February 1 of any year after 2011, the Tax 
Commissioner shall direct the state treasurer to 
withhold 5 percent of that county’s allocation each 
quarter from the State Aid Distribution Fund.  Provided 
that the amount withheld must be deposited in the 
agricultural land valuation fund.  Directed that all 
moneys deposited must be allocated to the county from 
which the withholding was made upon certification 
from the Tax Commissioner of the implementation of 
subsection 7 of section 57-02-27.2 by that county.

•	 Required that land that was assessed as agricultural 
property at the time the land was put to use for 
extraction of oil, natural gas, or subsurface minerals 
as defined in section 38-12-01 must continue to be 
assessed as agricultural property if the remainder of 
the surface owner’s parcel continues to qualify for 

assessment as agricultural property.
•	 Amended section 57-02-27.1 to provide that the 

governing body of a township, as well the governing 
body of a city, may establish valuations that recognize 
the supply of vacant lots available for sale.

•	 Provided for a city or county to impose crew housing 
permit fees on crew housing facilities.  Provided that a 
city or county may share revenues from the fees with 
other taxing districts in which the property is located.

•	 Required a city, city park district, county, or school 
district to publish a property tax increase notice and 
hold a public hearing if it intends to impose a property 
tax levy in a greater number of mills than would 
be needed to raise the same amount of property tax 
revenue as the property tax levy in the prior year.  Does 
not include taxing districts that levied a property tax of 
less than $100,000 in the prior year and set a budget for 
the current year calling for a property tax levy of less 
than $100,000.   

•	 Amended the disabled veterans’ property tax credit.  
Authorized 100 percent credit for a disabled veteran 
who has an extra-schedular rating to include individual 
unemployability that brings the total disability rating 
to 100 percent as determined by the Department of 
Veterans' Affairs, and for an unremarried surviving 
spouse who is receiving dependency and indemnity 
compensation.     

•	 Exempted from property tax the leasehold interest in 
property leased by a political subdivision from another 
political subdivision.

•	 Increased the number of mills that a county may levy 
for emergency purposes to 4 mills in a county with a 
population under 30,000 but more than 5,000, and 6 
mills in a county with a population of 5,000 or lower.  A 
county with a population of 30,000 or more may levy a 
tax not exceeding 2 mills.

•	 Expanded the property tax exemption for property of 
religious corporations or organizations to include all 
buildings used for religious services; the residence of 
the minister in charge of services; land under those 
buildings; unimproved off-street parking or reasonable 
landscaping or sidewalk area adjoining the main church 
building; and a maximum of two additional acres.  If the 
minister’s residence is not adjacent to the church, that 
residence with up to two acres of land is exempt.

•	 Provides that for purposes of property tax exemption, 
property is not used wholly or in part for public charity 
if that property is residential rental units leased to 
tenants based on income levels that enable the owner to 
receive a federal low-income housing income tax credit.

•	 Provides that for purposes of tax increment financing 
(TIF) districts, “blighted area” does not include any 
land that has been assessed as agricultural property 
within the last ten years unless it was located within 
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the interior boundaries of a city for at least ten 
years.  Limited the number of years the base year for 
a TIF district may be used without a new base year 
being established.  Allowed surplus funds on hand 
to be distributed to political subdivisions.  Set out 
requirements for public hearings and annual reports to 
the Department of Commerce.

•	 Provided for suspension or revocation of a certificate 
issued by the State Supervisor of Assessments for 
probable cause, for a hearing and appeal, and for 
restoration of the certificate.  Set out requirements for 
property records and their maintenance.  Gave authority 
to the State Board of Equalization to equalize the 
classification and exemption status of real property.  
Provided for review by the Tax Commissioner, State 
Supervisor of Assessments, or their designee of selected 
properties within each county, and examination of the 
reviews by the State Board of Equalization.  Provided 
that if any county or county official fails to take 
action ordered by the State Board of Equalization, the 
State Board of Equalization may petition any judge 
of the district court to require the county or county 
official to comply with the order of the State Board of 
Equalization.  Provided that the county commissioners, 
Tax Commissioner, or State Board of Equalization may 
order a new assessment.  Provided an appeal process for 
any owner of property included in a new assessment.

2013 Session
•	 Amended the base year calculation for school district 

general funds and reduced the number of special 
purpose levies available to schools.

•	 Increased the maximum qualifying income for the 
homestead credit and renter’s refund program from 
$26,000 to $42,000.  Increased maximum assets 
allowed for homeowners to $500,000, including the 
market value of the homestead.

•	 Provided that the governing body of a municipality may 
revoke or reduce an exemption or revoke or increase 
payments in lieu of tax for reasons specified  
in negotiation documents or as provided  
in N.D.C.C. 40-57.1-03.

•	 Provided that a property owner may appeal assessment, 
classification, and exempt status of owner’s property 
to the State Board of Equalization if the property 
owner was foreclosed from attending the assessment 
proceedings because of the failure to substantially 
comply with notice requirements or irregularity of the 
local assessment proceedings.

•	 Provided for the State Board of Equalization to add 
a penalty of $5,000, to be collected as part of the tax, 
against a public utility company that fails to make the 
required report for three consecutive years. 

•	 Provided exemption from all taxes and special 
assessments for property of a housing authority used for 

authority administration, or other property solely owned 
by the authority and used to conduct powers granted to 
the authority by law.

•	 Repealed provisions for maintaining privacy of sale 
prices for real estate transactions.

•	 Increased acreage exempted from taxation for religious 
purposes to five acres.

•	 Increased the maximum property tax credit for a 
disabled veteran to $6,750 taxable value of fixtures, 
buildings, and improvements to the homestead. 

•	 Amended notice of increase in assessment to include 
a statement informing the owner that an increase in 
assessment does not mean that property taxes will 
increase.  Each taxing district must base its tax rate on 
the number of dollars raised from property taxes in the 
previous taxable year.

•	 Provided that the assessor must provide a list of 
individuals that received a notice of increase of 
assessment to each city, county, school district, and park 
district that levied $100,000 or more in the previous 
year.

•	 Amended language on property tax statements to 
include “legislative tax relief” which identifies the 
dollars of property tax savings provided by the state of 
North Dakota.

•	 Provided a 12% credit for property taxes levied against 
real property or mobile homes and specific centrally 
assessed property.

•	 Required a township to provide a response to a 
building permit application within 60 days of receipt of 
application.

•	 Provided that a school district may establish an early 
childhood program and support it with local tax 
revenues, gifts, grants, donations, state moneys and 
federal funds designated for the program.

•	 Required primary sector certification to be determined 
prior to municipality extending a new or expanding 
business exemption.

•	 Provided that cities or counties with a population of 
less than 40,000 must first receive voter approval for 
allowing new or expanding business exemptions to 
retail sector businesses.

•	 Reduced tax rate of the distribution tax from $1.00 per 
megawatt hour to 80 cents per megawatt hour for retail 
sale of electricity delivered to a consumer in this state.

•	 Extended time frame for electric company to opt into  
the irrevocable election to be taxed under  
N.D.C.C. 57-33.2.

•	 Provided exemption from taxation for all residential 
rental property used as affordable housing for the 
property’s period of affordability.

•	 Provided that neither the state nor any political 
subdivision may impose any mortgage tax or any sales 
or transfer taxes on the mortgage or transfer of real 
property.
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All property in North Dakota is subject to property tax unless it is specifically exempted. Except for a one-mill levy for the State 
Medical Center, property taxes are administered, levied, collected and expended at the local level for the support of schools, 
counties, cities, townships and other local units of government. The State does not levy a property tax for general government 
operations.

The property tax is an "ad valorem" tax, that is, it is based on the value of the property subject to tax. The other element of the 
property tax is the amount of revenue that needs to be raised.

North Dakota Property Tax System

Total
Proposed Local

Budget

Adjustments to the
Proposed Budget
After Input From
Public Hearings

−
All Non-Property

Tax Revenue
• State Aid
• Unobligated Cash
• Fees, etc.

=
Property Tax

Revenue Needed
(Levy in Dollars)

True and Full Value
(Agricultural Value)

(Market Value) × 50% = Assessed Value

	 9%	 Residential
	 10%	 Commercial
	 10%	 Agricultural
	 10%	 Centrally Assessed
	 3%	 Wind Generator
	 or
	 1.5%	 Wind Generator

× =
Total Taxable 

Value
of All Property
in the Taxing 

District

Property Tax
Revenue Needed
(Levy in Dollars)

±

÷
Total Taxable 

Value
of All Property
in the Taxing 

District

= Mill Rate

Your Property’s
Taxable Value × Mill Rate = Your Net  

Property 
Tax Due

Consolidated Tax − 12% State 
Paid Credit =

Ad Valorem Taxes	 State Paid Tax Credit		  Net Tax              
$786,233,820.42		  $94,348,058.46			   $691,885,761.96

12% State Paid Credit
Levid in 2013 - Payable in 2014
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SOURCE:  North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner. Property Tax Division, "Property Tax Statistical Report."

General Property Taxes by County
Payable in 2011-2014

County

2011 Total 
Ad Valoerm 

Property 
Taxes

Percent 
Change

2012 Total 
Ad Valoerm 

Property 
Taxes

Percent 
Change

2013 Total 
Ad Valoerm 

Property 
Taxes

Percent 
Change

2014 Total 
Ad Valoerm 

Property 
Taxes

Percent 
Change

Adams 2,597,099 -1.1 2,699,061 3.9 3,040,005 12.6 3,145,493 3.5
Barnes 15,418,987 12.3 16,249,392 5.4 16,939,763 4.2 15,426,554 -8.9
Benson 4,565,021 10.8 4,997,257 9.5 5,244,552 4.9 5,108,902 -2.6
Billings 877,030 4.2 921,145 5.0 1,043,266 13.3 1,721,699 65.0
Bottineau 9,059,668 10.6 9,328,708 3.0 10,090,483 8.2 9,402,435 -6.8
Bowman 3,450,355 7.1 3,864,571 12.0 4,385,060 13.5 4,048,843 -7.7
Burke 2,332,258 3.5 2,736,469 17.3 3,171,618 15.9 3,621,460 14.2
Burleigh 81,019,841 3.0 83,866,500 3.5 87,880,694 4.8 83,274,094 -5.2
Cass 174,875,840 5.3 185,642,925 6.2 191,534,773 3.2 172,035,017 -10.2
Cavalier 7,554,484 -2.2 7,755,895 2.7 8,622,146 11.2 8,421,941 -2.3
Dickey 7,419,341 12.2 7,952,125 7.2 8,217,795 3.3 7,915,935 -3.7
Divide 2,766,682 0.7 2,963,037 7.1 3,535,146 19.3 3,929,407 11.2
Dunn 3,693,033 2.9 4,029,511 9.1 4,403,200 9.3 4,885,813 11.0
Eddy 2,432,591 6.5 2,691,379 10.6 2,935,761 9.1 2,723,543 -7.2
Emmons 4,277,439 3.0 4,622,327 8.1 4,998,407 8.1 4,530,549 -9.4
Foster 4,267,796 6.9 4,492,681 5.3 4,718,434 5.0 4,555,697 -3.4
Golden 1,665,445 5.5 1,775,888 6.6 1,899,861 7.0 1,847,968 -2.7
Grand 73,301,944 4.4 76,060,376 3.8 79,763,228 4.9 74,847,935 -6.2
Grant 2,988,930 3.4 3,257,833 9.0 3,533,096 8.4 3,079,428 -12.8
Griggs 3,839,658 18.2 4,210,439 9.7 4,725,873 12.2 4,287,204 -9.3
Hettinger 3,152,197 2.1 3,932,104 24.7 4,708,783 19.8 4,261,384 -9.5
Kidder 3,045,493 0.9 3,120,387 2.5 2,946,328 -5.6 2,874,721 -2.4
LaMoure 5,925,438 8.7 5,996,796 1.2 6,515,873 8.7 6,366,874 -2.3
Logan 2,387,730 6.1 2,680,460 12.3 2,819,296 5.2 2,663,948 -5.5
McHenry 6,468,961 14.9 6,968,402 7.7 7,772,537 11.5 7,092,922 -8.7
McIntosh 3,350,668 6.2 3,591,068 7.2 3,679,627 2.5 3,224,790 -12.4
McKenzie 3,667,889 10.8 4,261,718 16.2 5,681,790 33.3 9,618,269 69.3
McLean 8,458,517 6.7 8,960,803 5.9 9,235,942 3.1 8,233,454 -10.9
Mercer 6,560,294 6.5 6,851,345 4.4 7,380,068 7.7 6,909,050 -6.4
Morton 28,884,442 4.2 29,826,222 3.3 30,743,540 3.1 28,155,390 -8.4
Mountrail 8,042,897 36.8 9,584,234 19.2 10,996,135 14.7 12,014,776 9.3
Nelson 4,863,173 13.0 5,285,887 8.7 5,609,595 6.1 5,096,543 -9.1
Oliver 2,274,853 3.9 2,310,812 1.6 2,411,610 4.4 2,203,417 -8.6
Pembina 10,614,686 13.6 10,863,954 2.3 12,176,848 12.1 11,063,957 -9.1
Pierce 5,083,143 18.5 5,319,483 4.6 5,716,931 7.5 5,692,467 -0.4
Ramsey 11,078,529 5.1 11,756,855 6.1 12,447,069 5.9 11,201,313 -10.0
Ransom 6,635,971 6.5 7,118,967 7.3 7,461,625 4.8 6,903,101 -7.5
Renville 3,055,986 7.8 3,440,200 12.6 3,806,846 10.7 3,681,803 -3.3
Richland 20,284,144 5.4 21,211,761 4.6 22,291,733 5.1 21,130,518 -5.2
Rolette 3,689,278 6.1 3,662,076 -0.7 3,745,751 2.3 3,375,835 -9.9
Sargent 6,559,122 6.6 6,865,012 4.7 7,337,556 6.9 6,971,645 -5.0
Sheridan 1,888,415 5.4 2,056,432 8.9 2,180,058 6.0 2,032,243 -6.8
Sioux 735,538 8.0 748,609 1.8 742,983 -0.8 639,383 -13.9
Slope 894,307 -1.6 1,178,819 31.8 1,332,317 13.0 1,311,685 -1.5
Stark 21,032,219 7.1 22,911,038 8.9 26,481,769 15.6 30,345,625 14.6
Steele 5,193,902 24.1 5,587,701 7.6 5,822,761 4.2 5,784,906 -0.7
Stutsman 22,453,499 4.1 23,520,439 4.8 24,480,683 4.1 22,756,567 -7.0
Towner 4,091,641 5.6 4,125,774 0.8 4,456,802 8.0 4,431,461 -0.6
Traill 10,693,263 9.6 10,596,669 -0.9 11,157,620 5.3 10,607,475 -4.9
Walsh 13,073,530 8.8 13,051,885 -0.2 13,790,821 5.7 13,072,916 -5.2
Ward 54,907,979 8.4 53,901,128 -1.8 65,939,042 22.3 68,124,737 3.3
Wells 5,807,606 7.8 6,379,562 9.8 6,799,723 6.6 6,432,130 -5.4
Williams 18,729,492 8.0 19,984,882 6.7 25,588,681 28.0 33,148,597 29.5

Total 721,988,244 6.4 757,769,003 5.0 814,941,904 7.5 786,233,819 -3.5
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2.4% - Miscellaneous Districts(1)

$22,035,870
2.5% - Townships

$22,823,814

GRAND TOTAL - $900,058,134*

(1)	 Includes Garrison Diversion Conservancy District, rural fire protection districts, hospital district, soil conservation districts, rural ambulance districts, 
recreation service districts, Southwest Water Authority and all special assessments for rural districts.  Also including constitutional one mill levy for medical 
center at the University of North Dakota.

(2)	 Includes city park districts, special assessments, and tax increments.
(3)	 Includes county park districts, county library, county airport, water management districts, vector control, irrigation and water districts, unorganized townships 

and board of county parks.

*Twelve percent of all ad valorem and certain special property taxes were paid by the state to the counties and political subdivisions.  This property tax relief 	
	 was authorized by the 2013 Legislature and signed into law by the Governor.  It is currently effective for property taxes due in 2014 and 2015.

SOURCE: 	 North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner, Property Tax Division, "Property Tax Statistical Report." 

Percent of Property Taxes by Taxing District
Levid in 2013 - Payable in 2014

SOURCE:  North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner. Property Tax Division, "Property Tax Statistical Report."

35% - Schools
$314,939,859

30.5% - Cities(2)

$274,940,475

29.5% - Counties(3)

$265,318,116
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$1,000 Ad Valorem and Special Taxes by Property Class
For Taxes Payable in 2005-2014*

Millions  
of Dollars

2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014
$688.73 $733.39 $785.53 $824.96 $868.96 $774.60 $816.22 $853.78 $918.72 $900.06

Special Assessments

Special Taxes

Cenrtally Assessed

Commercial

Residential

Agricultural	

Ad Valorem and Special Taxes by Taxing District
For Taxes Payable in 2005-2014*

Millions  
of Dollars

2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014
$688.73 $733.39 $785.53 $824.96 $868.96 $774.60 $816.22 $853.78 $918.72 $900.06

SOURCE:  North Dakota 
Office of State Tax 
Commissioner, Property 
Tax Division.

SOURCE:  North Dakota 
Office of State Tax 
Commissioner, Property 
Tax Division.
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Taxable Value by Property Class

For Taxes Payable in 2005-2014

2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014
$1,534.82 $1,642.67 $1,777.59 $1,888.39 $1,990.65 $2,125.30 $2,289.12 $2,428.46 $2,774.12 $3,217.29

SOURCE:  North Dakota 
Office of State Tax 
Commissioner, Property 
Tax Division.

Centrally Assessed

Commercial

Residential

Agricultural	

Millions  
of Dollars

Average Mill Levies by Taxing District
For Taxes Payable in 2005-2014

2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014
$402.70 $401.66 $397.41 $392.15 $390.02 $319.36 $315.40 $312.04 $293.77 $244.38

SOURCE:  North Dakota 
Office of State Tax 
Commissioner, Property 
Tax Division.
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True and full value:  For residential and commercial property 
"true and full value" is the local assessor's estimate of the market 
value of the property. For agricultural property, true and full 
value is based on agricultural production and is typically less 
than its market value or selling price.

Effective Tax Rate:  In relation to property tax, the effective 
tax rate is expressed as the ratio between the property value and 
the current tax bill.  For North Dakota, the rate is calculated by 
dividing the tax levied by the true and full value.  Alternatively, 
the rate may be calculated by multiplying the mill levy by the 
taxable value rate.  The taxable value rate is 5% for all property, 
except for residential property the taxable value rate is 4.5% 
(50% X 9%).  Wind generation units subject to ad valorem tax 
may have a taxable rate of 1.5% or 0.75% depending on the date 
construction is completed.

Trends:  During the first 5 years, mill rates remained relatively 
level as total taxable valuations were increasing at a steady 
rate.  For taxes payable in 2010 the statewide average mill 
rate decreased primarily due to the North Dakota Legislature 
providing additional funding for school districts.  This additional 
state funding continued for taxes payable in 2011 and 2012 and 
mill rates remained in a narrow range.  For taxes payable in 
2013, the statewide average mill rate decreased by an amount 
more than the trend in 7 of the 10 years.  This decrease may 
have been in response to the total taxable valuation increasing 
by two times the trended valuation of the previous 8 years.  The 
total taxable valuation for taxes payable in 2014 also increased 
substantially.  For taxes payable in 2014, the decrease in mill 
rates was due again to additional funding for school districts, and 
as a counterbalance to the increase of total taxable valuation.

Ad Valorem Property Taxes 
Percent of Total by Classification

 Payable in 2012, 2013 and 2014

	 Property	 Effective Rate

	 Classification	 2012	 2013	 2014

	Residential	 1.51%	 1.46%	 1.22%

	Agricultural	 1.29%	 1.18%	 1.00%

	Commercial	 1.80%	 1.73%	 1.41%

	Centrally Assessed*	 1.24%	 1.10%	 0.89%

	Total	 1.49%	 1.41%	 1.17%

*The effective rate on centrally assessed wind turbine electric 
generation units is understated because of their reduced taxable value 
percentage.  That causes the effective rate on the centrally assessed 
property to be understated.

Effective Rates by 
Classification

 Payable in 2012, 2013 and 2014

Explanation of Terms and Trends

2012 2013 2014
Residential 44.4% 42.7% 41.7%
Agricultural 22.9% 24.5% 23.7%
Commercial 26.1% 26.4% 27.7%
Centrally Assessed 6.6% 6.4% 6.9%
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	 SOUTH DAKOTA1	 MONTANA2	 MINNESOTA3

		  Tax		  Tax		  Tax
	 City	 Amount	 City	 Amount	 City	 Amount

	 Aberdeen	 $	 3,439	 Miles City	 $	 2,784	 Bemidji	 $	 2,468

	 Rapid City		  3,100	 Great Falls		  1,959	 St. Cloud		  2,692

	 Sioux Falls		  3,122	 Billings	 $	 1,953	 Minneapolis		  2,520

(1)	 Owner-occupied residences receive a tax reduction of between 23% and 30%.
(2)	 44% homestead credit for all residential property and phase in of new values over a 6-year period.
(3)	 Homestead Market Value Exclusion:  Starting with taxes payable in 2014, the maximum exclusion of 40% of value occurs at 

$76,000 and phases out as home value grows.

SOURCE:  Survey by North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner, Property Tax Division.

STATE COMPARISONS
North Dakota's property taxes are relatively moderate 
compared to those in other states, whether measured per 
capita or per $1,000 of personal income.  In recent years, 
property values have increased significantly resulting in 
a corresponding increase in property tax assessments.  In 
response, many states have implemented various property 
tax relief initiatives in an effort to reduce the property tax 
burden.  The tables compare the property taxes on equally 
valued homes in similar size North Dakota cities as well 
as from neighboring states.  Neighboring states' property 
taxes on similarly valued residences may appear less than 
North Dakota's because those states provide a homestead 

	 $100,000 Home	 $200,000 Home
	 City	 Tax Amount*	 City	 Tax Amount*
	 Bowman	 $1,034	 Bismarck	 $2,230
	 Carrington	 $1,438	 Devils Lake	 $2,936
	 Grafton	 $1,918	 Dickinson	 $2,014
	 Kenmare	 $1,019	 Fargo	 $2,785
	 Lisbon	 $1,437	 Grand Forks	 $3,144
	 Rugby	 $1,250	 Jamestown	 $3,145
	 Washburn	 $800	 Mandan	 $2,831
			   Minot	 $2,130
			   Valley City	 $2,831
			   Wahpeton	 $3,532
			   West Fargo	 $2,889
			   Williston	 $1,585
* Calculations assume taxes are paid by February 15th, allowing the taxpayer a 5% discount.
SOURCE: Survey by North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner, Property Tax Division, October 2014.

credit for all owner-occupied residential property.  North 
Dakota's homestead credit is available only to elderly and 
disabled persons with limited income.

Rankings (as shown on the following page) based on 
collections offer insight into overall tax levels.  However, 
further analysis is needed to see the details of how state 
tax systems differ. Property taxes may vary by property 
classification and different types of property may be taxed 
or excluded.  Some states, such as Wyoming, use the 
property tax to tax mineral wealth while states like North 
Dakota levy separate severance taxes.  In Alaska, because 
of its oil reserves fund, residents receive annual payments 
of about $1,000 per person.

Property Taxes on an Owner Occupied Home in 
North Dakota - Payable in 2014

Property Taxes on a $200,000 Owner Occupied Home in 
Neighboring States - Payable in 2014
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Rank	 State	 Amount
1		 New Jersey	 $2,909
2		 Connecticut	 $2,622
3		 New Hampshire	 $2,579
4		 New York	 $2,421
5		 Wyoming	 $2,264
6		 Rhode Island	 $2,231
7		 Vermont	 $2,199
8		 Alaska	 $2,049
9		 Massachusetts	 $2,041
10	 Illinois	 $1,982
11	 Maine	 $1,789
12	 Wisconsin	 $1,750
13	 Nebraska	 $1,580
14	 Texas	 $1,524
15	 Iowa	 $1,469
16	 Minnesota	 $1,450
17	 Virginia	 $1,373
18	 Maryland	 $1,359
19	 Montana	 $1,359
20	 Kansas	 $1,357
21	 California	 $1,345
22	 Michigan	 $1,342
23	 Pennsylvania	 $1,336
24	 Washington	 $1,323
25	 Colorado	 $1,319
26	 Oregon	 $1,281
27	 Florida	 $1,258
28	 South Dakota	 $1,193
29	 Ohio	 $1,172
30	 North Dakota	 $1,096
31	 Georgia	 $1,037
32	 Arizona	 $1,033
33	 South Carolina	 $1,023
34	 Nevada	 $1,019
35	 Indiana	 $987
36	 Missouri	 $953
37	 Hawaii	 $933
38	 Utah	 $923
39	 North Carolina	 $903
40	 Mississippi	 $867
41	 Idaho	 $864
42	 Tennessee	 $790
43	 Louisiana	 $787
44	 Delaware	 $751
45	 Kentucky	 $712
46	 New Mexico	 $684
47	 Arkansas	 $659
48	 Oklahoma	 $595
49	 Alabama	 $528
50	 West Virginia	 $79

		  US	 $1,411

	 Rank	 State	 Amount
	 1	 New Jersey	 $52.51
	 2	 New Hampshire	 $50.53
	 3	 Vermont	 $48.37
	 4	 Rhode Island	 $47.49
	 5	 New York	 $44.45
	 6	 Maine	 $43.71
	 7	 Connecticut	 $43.22
	 8	 Wyoming	 $42.89
	 9	 Illinois	 $42.19
	 10	 Alaska	 $40.86
	 11	 Wisconsin	 $40.47
	 12	 Massachusetts	 $35.65
	 13	 Texas	 $34.75
	 14	 Montana	 $34.52
	 15	 Michigan	 $34.36
	 16	 Nebraska	 $33.52
	 17	 Iowa	 $32.82
	 18	 Oregon	 $32.15
	 19	 Kansas	 $30.54
	 20	 Minnesota	 $30.53
	 21	 Florida	 $30.32
	 22	 Pennsylvania	 $28.92
	 23	 Ohio	 $28.55
	 24	 South Carolina	 $28.54
	 25	 Colorado	 $28.13
	 26	 Virginia	 $28.11
	 27	 Arizona	 $27.94
	 28	 California	 $27.77
	 29	 Washington	 $27.73
	 30	 Georgia	 $27.40
	 31	 Nevada	 $25.97
	 32	 South Dakota	 $25.92
	 33	 Mississippi	 $25.57
	 34	 Indiana	 $25.57
	 35	 Maryland	 $25.25
	 36	 Utah	 $25.20
	 37	 Idaho	 $23.91
	 38	 Missouri	 $23.44
	 39	 North Carolina	 $23.34
	 40	 Hawaii	 $20.65
	 41	 North Dakota	 $20.59
	 42	 Tennessee	 $19.98
	 43	 Kentucky	 $19.67
	 44	 Louisiana	 $19.09
	 45	 New Mexico	 $19.00
	 46	 Arkansas	 $17.95
	 47	 Delaware	 $16.77
	 48	 Alabama	 $14.48
	 49	 Oklahoma	 $14.22
	 50	 West Virginia	 $2.22

		  US	 $31.52

SOURCE:  US Census Bureau, 2015
US Department of Commerce, Bureau of Economic Analysis, 
Regional Economic Accounts, www.bea.gov/regional.

SOURCE:  US Census Bureau, 2015
US Department of Commerce, Bureau of Economic Analysis, 
Regional Economic Accounts, www.bea.gov/regional.

Per Capita State & Local 
Property Taxes 

2013

Per $1,000 of Personal Income 
State & Local Property Taxes 

2013



103December 2014

CURRENT LAW

Sales, Use, and Gross Receipts Tax

Imposition and Rates

Sales Tax  North Dakota imposes a sales tax on the gross 
receipts of retailers.  The tax is paid by the purchaser and 
collected by the retailer.

The sales tax is levied as follows:
•	 3% rate on the gross receipts from retail sales of new 

mobile homes.
•	 3% sales tax surcharge on each motor vehicle rental 

contract for a period of fewer than thirty (30) days, 
provided the gross vehicle weight of the motor vehicle 
is ten thousand pounds or less.

•	 5% general rate on the gross receipts from retail sales 
of tangible personal property, communication services, 
magazines and other periodicals sold over the counter, 
cigarettes and tobacco products, and admission to 
recreation activities; from the rental of hotel, motel, and 
bed and breakfast accommodations for periods of less 
than 30 consecutive days; from the leasing of tangible 
personal property; and from the rental of motor vehicles 
for periods less than 30 days.

Use Tax  The purchase price of tangible personal 
property purchased outside of the state for storage, use 
or consumption within the state is subject to a use tax.  
In addition, tangible personal property not originally 
purchased for use in North Dakota is subject to a use tax 
based upon its fair market value at the time it was brought 
into the state.  Credits are allowed for sales and use taxes 
paid to other states.

The use tax is collected by any retailer who maintains 
in this state, directly or indirectly, an office, distribution 
house, sales house, warehouse, or other place of business 
or has a sales representative operating in this state either 
permanently or temporarily.

Use tax is paid by contractors installing materials in real 
property, including real property owned by government 
and tax-exempt entities.  North Dakota use tax is also 
paid by contractors buying materials in North Dakota and 
installing them in other states, unless the materials are 
exempt in the state where installed.

Use tax rates are the same as the sales tax rates listed. 

Local Sales and Use Taxes  Cities or counties that have 
adopted home rule charters may levy sales and use taxes.  
North Dakota home rule statutes require the North Dakota 
Office of State Tax Commissioner to administer the local 
taxes.  The state pays the revenue collected to the local 
governments on a monthly basis.  Cities and counties with 
a local tax during the 2011-2013 biennium are listed on 
page 114.

Farm Machinery Gross Receipts Tax  North Dakota 
imposes a 3% gross receipts tax on retail sales of new farm 
machinery and new irrigation equipment used exclusively 
for agricultural purposes.  A person that receives new farm 
machinery or new irrigation equipment for storage use, or 
consumption in North Dakota is also subject to the gross 
receipts tax.  Credits are allowed for similar taxes paid to 
other states.  Used farm machinery and repair parts and 
used irrigation equipment and repair parts used exclusively 
for agricultural purposes are exempt from sales, use and 
gross receipts taxes.  New equipment subject to gross 
receipts tax is not subject to sales tax.

Alcoholic Beverage Gross Receipts Tax  North Dakota 
imposes a 7% gross receipts tax on retail sales of alcoholic 
beverages sold for consumption either on or off the 
premises.  A person that receives alcoholic beverages 
for storage use, or consumption in North Dakota is also 
subject to the gross receipts tax.  Credits are allowed for 
similar taxes paid to other states. Alcoholic beverages are 
not subject to sales tax. 

Exemptions

Receipts from the sale of tangible personal property for 
the purpose of “resale” or “processing” by the purchaser 
are not subject to the sales, use, or gross receipts tax. In 
addition, receipts from the sale of the following items are 
exempt from sales, use, and gross receipts tax:
•	 Food and food ingredients for human consumption 

except for prepared food for immediate consumption, 
candy, and soft drinks.

•	 Food used as samples in grocery stores.
•	 Commercial fertilizers, fungicides, herbicides, 

adjuvants, feeds, and seeds used for agricultural 
purposes.

•	 Agricultural by-products used to produce steam  
or electricity.

Sales and Use Taxes
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•	 Interstate communications (telephone calls, etc.).
•	 Hotel or motel rooms rented and used by the same 

individual for 30 or more consecutive days.
•	 Machinery and equipment that a new or expanding 

plant uses primarily for manufacturing, processing or 
recycling.  The company must get pre-approval for the 
exemption or pay the tax and apply for a refund.

•	 Materials used to construct an agricultural processing 
plant.  The company must get pre-approval for the 
exemption or pay the tax and apply for a refund.

•	 Computer and telecommunications equipment that is an 
integral part of a new or expanding  business (except a 
manufacturer or recycler) that is certified as a primary 
sector business by the ND Commerce Department.  The 
company must get pre-approval for the exemption or 
pay the tax and apply for a refund.

•	 Production equipment and other tangible personal 
property used to construct certain defined electrical 
power generating plants.  To qualify, a plant must 
produce a specified amount of electricity and use certain 
power sources (coal, wind, and other sources).  The 
plant operator must get pre-approval for the exemption 
or pay the tax and apply for a refund.  The exemption 
for a wind-powered generation facility applies to plants 
completed before January 1, 2017.

•	 Production equipment and other tangible personal 
property used to repower an existing power plant.  
Repowering means an investment of more than two 
hundred million dollars or one million dollars per 
megawatt of installed nameplate capacity, whichever is 
less.  Environmental upgrade equipment used in power 
plants, repowering existing power plants, oil refineries, 
or gas processing plants.  The plant operator must get 
pre-approval for the exemption or pay the tax and apply 
for a refund.

•	 Tangible personal property used in compressing, 
processing, gathering, collecting or refining gas 
recovered from an oil or gas well.  The plant operator 
must get pre-approval for the exemption or pay the tax 
and apply for a refund.

•	 Tangible personal property used to construct or expand 
any of the following:

1.	 Gas processing facility.
2.	 Liquefied natural gas production facility.
3.	 Oil refinery with a capacity to process at least five 	

	 thousand barrels of oil per day.
4.	 Coal gasification by-product processing or 	

	 extraction facility.
5.	 Telecommunications service infrastructure 	

	 owned by a telecommunications company.  This is 	
	 scheduled to expire June 30, 2017.

	 The plant operator must get pre-approval for the 
exemption or pay the tax and apply for a refund.

•	 Machinery and equipment purchased to produce 
coal from a new mine.  Replacement machinery and 

equipment qualifies for exemption if the capitalized 
investment in the new mine exceeds twenty million 
dollars.  The mine operator must pay the tax and apply 
for a refund.  The exemption may not exceed five 
million dollars of tax paid for each new mine.

•	 Used mobile homes.
•	 Used farm machinery, used irrigation equipment, and 

new and used farm machinery and farm irrigation repair 
parts.

•	 Newspapers.
•	 Newsprint and printer’s ink sold to publishers.
•	 Magazine subscriptions.
•	 Electricity.
•	 Water.
•	 Steam used to process agricultural products.
•	 Flight simulators or mechanical equipment used with a 

flight simulator.
•	 Money.
•	 Lottery tickets and bingo cards.
•	 Admissions to, or sales made at, an annual church 

supper or bazaar held in a publicly-owned building.
•	 Admission tickets to state or local fairs.
•	 Performances of community non-profit music or 

dramatic arts organizations.
•	 Film rentals if admissions to view the film are subject to 

sales tax.
•	 Prescription drugs.
•	 Artificial medical devices.
•	 Mobility-enhancing equipment for use by physically 

disabled persons.
•	 Oxygen and anesthesia gases for medical purposes.
•	 Diabetic and bladder dysfunction supplies.
•	 Ostomy devices and supplies.
•	 Items sold to federal chartered credit unions.
•	 Items subject to other taxes such as coal, beneficiated 

coal, aircraft, motor vehicles, gasoline, and combustible 
fuels.

•	 Items sold to private non-profit schools.
•	 Bibles, hymnals, textbooks, prayerbooks sold to 

nonprofit religious organizations.
•	 Items sold to governmental agencies, including public 

schools.
•	 Items sold to residents of Montana, including business 

entities where the individual owners are Montana 
residents or they are domestic Montana corporations, if 
the total sales price exceeds $50.

•	 Items sold to residents of Canada if purchase is over 
$25 (must apply on-line for a refund of tax paid).

•	 Items sold to a Commerce Authority for use in the 
Authority's infrastructure.

•	 Items sold on an Indian reservation to an enrolled 
Native American or to the tribal government.

•	 Goods sold to a hospital or skilled nursing facility, basic 
care or intermediate care facility, assisted living facility, 
or emergency medical service provider.
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•	 Items sold at an auction unless the auctioneer is selling 
retail inventory or consigned goods owned by an 
undisclosed principal.

•	 Items sold to a charitable organization to be awarded 
as a prize in a raffle if the winner is subject to tax upon 
receipt.

•	 CO2 used for enhanced oil recovery.
•	 Equipment used to sell biodiesel fuel.
•	 Hydrogen used to power internal combustion engines or 

fuel cells.
•	 Natural gas.
•	 Equipment used to produce and store hydrogen.
•	 Precious metal bullion with purity not less than .999.
•	 Memberships and entrance fees to activities and 

events organized and operated by nonprofit social and 
recreational clubs exempt from federal income tax.

•	 Equipment used by licensed special fuel dealers to sell 
green diesel.

•	 Gross receipts from coin-operated amusement.

Administration 

Every business making taxable retail sales and every 
business accruing a use tax liability must obtain a North 
Dakota sales and use tax permit from the North Dakota 
Office of State Tax Commissioner.  A consolidated form is 
available to register for a sales and use tax permit, income 
tax withholding, unemployment insurance and workers 
compensation.

Most businesses pay sales, use, and gross receipts taxes on 
a quarterly basis.  However, businesses reporting taxable 
sales and purchases of $333,000 or more during the 
previous calendar year must file monthly returns.  

Whether the tax is paid monthly or quarterly, the tax 
payment and a return reporting all sales and purchases 
are due the last day of the month following the end of the 
reporting period.

As compensation for collecting and remitting sales and use 
taxes, all sales tax permit holders may retain 1.5% percent 
of the combined state sales, use, and gross receipts tax due 
with each sales tax return up to $110.

Motor Vehicle Excise Tax

Distribution of Sales, Use, Gross Receipts and 
Motor Vehicle Excise Tax Revenue

Revenue collected from the sales, use, farm machinery 
gross receipts, alcoholic beverage gross receipts, and 
motor vehicle excise taxes is divided between the State 
General Fund and the State Aid Distribution Fund.  The 

formula to determine the State Aid Distribution Fund 
portion is designed to keep the amount constant regardless 
of tax rate changes effective July 1, 2014. The formula is:
	 43.5% (1% ÷  by general sales tax rate) (net collections)

This formula to determine the State Aid Distribution Fund 
currently yields 8.7% of the net collections.  Before  
July 1, 2014, 8% of the net collections were deposited in 
the State Aid Distribution Fund.  The distribution of the 
State Aid Distribution Fund portion is 53.7% to revenue 
sharing for counties and 46.3% for cities.

Imposition and Rates

The purchase price of any motor vehicle purchased or 
acquired, either within or outside of North Dakota, for use 
on the streets or highways of this state is subject to a motor 
vehicle excise tax if the vehicle is required to be registered 
in North Dakota.

The motor vehicle excise tax is 5% of the purchase price 
(the sale price less any trade-in amount). If the vehicle is 
acquired by means other than purchase, the tax is 5% of 
the fair market value. When a motor vehicle weighing less 
than ten thousand pounds is leased for at least one year, the 
motor vehicle excise tax is 5% of the lease consideration.  
All other leased vehicles are taxed at 5% of the purchase 
price.  North Dakota excise tax is due on the fair market 
value of the motor vehicle when it enters North Dakota to 
be registered for use.  North Dakota allows credit for any 
excise tax paid on a motor vehicle in another state if that 
state allows a reciprocal credit.

The motor vehicle excise tax is in addition to motor 
vehicle registration fees for license plates. The registration 
fees are paid annually to the Department of Transportation.

Exemptions

Discounts and other incentives offered by vehicle 
manufacturers are exempt from tax when the incentive 
reduces the amount paid by the purchaser to the seller 
at the time of purchase.  In addition, a motor vehicle is 
exempt from motor vehicle excise tax if the vehicle is:

•	 Purchased for resale by a licensed dealer.
•	 Owned by a person who has a change of name due to 

marriage, adoption, or court order.
•	 Subject to a lien change but the registered owner has 

not changed.
•	 Inherited.
•	 A gift between a husband and wife, parent and child, or 

brother and sister.
•	 Transferred between joint tenants in whose names 



106 ND Office of 
State Tax Commissioner

the vehicle was previously titled and the vehicle is 
transferred without monetary consideration.

•	 Transferred because of a business reorganization and 
ownership of the reorganized business remains in 
the same person or persons and the title transfer is 
completed within 180 days of the reorganization.

•	 Transferred from a revocable living trust to the trustor 
or to the spouse, child, or sibling of the trustor.

•	 Transferred without consideration into a trust in which 
the beneficiary is previous vehicle title holder.

•	 Transferred between a lessee and a lessor if the lessee 
has been in continuous possession of the vehicle for 
one year or longer and the lessor has paid tax on its 
purchase price of the vehicle at the time of titling.

•	 Purchased or leased by the federal government, the 
State of North Dakota, or a political subdivision of the 
state.

•	 Acquired by a private nonprofit school for the 
transportation of students.

•	 A bus purchased by a nonprofit senior citizens’ or 
handicapped persons’ organization.

•	 Acquired by a nonprofit county or local historical 
society that is exempt from federal income tax.

•	 An ambulance purchased for use by emergency medical 
service operators.

•	 Transferred without consideration to or from a person 
within 30 days before the person enters into or is 
discharged from the armed services of the United States 
or while the person is serving in the armed forces of the 
United States.

•	 Purchased by a disabled veteran or by an unremarried 
surviving spouse of the veteran.

•	 Specially equipped for a disabled person.
•	 Purchased by a resident who was a prisoner of war and 

registers the vehicle with a distinctive license plate.
•	 Purchased by a charitable organization to be awarded as 

a prize in a raffle and the vehicle will be subject to tax 
when registered.

•	 Purchased by the state lottery to be awarded as a prize.
•	 Manufactured by persons for their own use.
•	 A motor carrier vehicle.
•	 A class six, seven, or eight chassis and purchased for 

installation or assembly of heavy duty equipment 
by a person engaged in the business of installing or 
assembling the equipment.

•	 Purchased by an enrolled Native American that resides 
on a North Dakota reservation.

Administration

The motor vehicle excise tax is collected by the 
Department of Transportation.

Music And Dramatico-Musical Composition 
Performing Rights Tax

A 5% tax is levied on the gross receipts from all sales, 
licenses and other dispositions of performing rights in 
music or dramatico-musical compositions. The tax is 
administered by the North Dakota Office of State Tax 
Commissioner and revenue from the tax is placed in the 
State General Fund.

Provider Assessment for Intermediate Care

A quarterly assessment is billed to each licensed North 
Dakota intermediate care facility for the mentally retarded 
(ICFMR).  The assessment is charged for each licensed 
bed at the facility on the first day of each calendar quarter 
and is payable by the last day of each calendar quarter.  
The assessment amount, which is effective each July 1, is 
calculated by the Department of Human Services and may 
not be greater than the following:

[1.5% times aggregate annual gross revenues of all ICFMR
as of December 31] ÷

Number of licensed beds as of December 31

The Provider Assessment is administered by the Office of 
State Tax Commissioner and is deposited in the Provider 
Assessment Fund.  The quarterly assessment rate as of 
July 1, 2014 was $2,306 for each licensed bed.

City Lodging, Restaurant and Motor Vehicle 
Rental Taxes

Imposition and Rates

The governing body of any city may, by ordinance, impose 
a city tax, not to exceed 2%, upon the receipts from leasing 
or renting hotel and motel accommodations.  Revenue 
from the tax must be deposited in a city visitors promotion 
fund to be used for tourism promotion.  These funds may 
not be used for capital construction.

A city may impose an additional 1% tax on lodging 
accommodations and on receipts from restaurant sales 
of prepared food or beverages.  Revenue from this tax 
must be deposited in the city visitors promotion capital 
construction fund.

A city may also impose by ordinance a tax, not to exceed 
1%, on the gross receipts of retailers on the rental of motor 
vehicles for fewer than thirty days if the motor vehicle is 
either delivered to a renter at an airport or delivered to a 
renter who was picked up at an airport.  Revenue from the 
tax must be deposited in a city visitors promotion fund.
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Administration

The North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner 
administers and collects all city motor vehicle rental taxes 
and most city lodging taxes and remits the revenue to 
the cities on a monthly basis.  An administrative fee of 
3% of collections is deposited in the State General Fund.  
Fargo, Grand Forks, Minot, Valley City and West Fargo 
administer their lodging taxes themselves.

Aircraft Excise Tax

Imposition and Rates

A 5% tax is imposed on the purchase price or market value 
of aircraft registered in North Dakota.  The tax applies 
whether the aircraft is purchased in North Dakota or 
outside the state.  If the aircraft is purchased for lease or 
rental, the tax may be imposed on the lease or rental cost 
of the aircraft.

On aircraft designed exclusively for aerial applications of 
agricultural fertilizers, pesticides and other agricultural 
materials, a reduced tax rate of 3% applies to the purchase 
price or rental cost of the aircraft.

Exemptions

An aircraft is exempt from the aircraft excise tax if the 
aircraft is:
•	 A gift between a husband and wife, parent and child, or 

brother and sister.
•	 Inherited.
•	 Purchased for resale by a licensed dealer.
•	 Purchased by a disabled veteran.
•	 Purchased or leased by the federal government, the 

State of North Dakota, or a political subdivision of the 
state.

•	 Owned by an individual and transferred to a partnership 
or corporation.

•	 Transferred from a partnership without consideration to 
one of the partners when the partnership dissolves.

•	 Acquired by a private nonprofit school.
•	 Transferred between joint tenants in whose names the 

aircraft was previously titled if the aircraft is transferred 
without monetary consideration.

•	 Owned by a person who has a change of name due to 
marriage, adoption, or court order.

•	 Subject to a lien change but only if the registered owner 
has not changed.

•	 Transferred from a corporation to one of the 
stockholders when a corporation is dissolved.

•	 An air ambulance purchased for use by emergency 

medical service operators.
•	 Acquired by a nonprofit aviation museum exempt from 

federal income taxes

Administration

The tax is paid by the purchaser to the Director of 
Aeronautics when the aircraft is acquired.  The purchaser 
is required to submit the tax with an “aircraft purchaser’s 
certificate” showing a description of the aircraft, the 
names and addresses of the buyers and sellers, and the full 
purchase price of the aircraft.

Distribution of Revenue

Revenue from the tax is deposited in the Aeronautics 
Commission Special Fund.

Prepaid Wireless Emergency 911 Fee

A 2% fee is imposed on the retail sale of all prepaid 
wireless telecommunication services. The fee, which is 
administered by the Office of State Tax Commissioner, is 
collected from the purchaser by the retailer at the time of 
sale. The fee revenue is deposited in the Prepaid Wireless 
Emergency 911 Fee Fund and remitted quarterly to the 
governing joint powers entity responsible for managing 
emergency communication services.  Proceeds from 
the fee must be used for implementation, maintenance, 
or operation of the emergency services communication 
system.

HISTORICAL OVERVIEW

Significant Changes in Law

1935 Session  
•	 The first general sales tax in North Dakota was enacted 

at a rate of 2%.  The tax base generally consisted of all 
sales to consumers of personal property; sales or service 
of gas, electricity, water and communication; and sales 
of tickets to places of amusement.

1939 Session  
•	 A 2% general use tax was enacted.

1963 Session  
•	 The sales and use tax rate increased from 2% to 2.25%.
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1983 Session  
•	 The general sales and use tax rate and the motor vehicle 

excise tax rate were increased from 3% to 4% and the 
rate for farm machinery, irrigation equipment, and new 
mobile homes was increased from 2% to 3%.  

•	 The legislature increased the rate for alcoholic 
beverages from 3% to 5%.  

•	 The requirements for remittance of sales and use tax 
were changed from a quarterly basis to a monthly 
basis for businesses with taxable sales and purchases 
greater than $333,000 in the preceding calendar year.  
Retailers required to file on a monthly basis were given 
a deduction for administrative expenses. 

•	 The tax on aircraft sales was changed from the sales tax 
to a separate aircraft excise tax.

1985 Session  
•	 Exemptions for sales of candy, pop and chewing gum 

were repealed.  
•	 The legislature authorized home rule counties to 

contract with the Tax Commissioner to collect county 
sales and use taxes.  

1986 Special Session  
•	 The general sales and use tax rate and the motor vehicle 

excise tax rate was increased from 4% to 5%.  
•	 The rate on farm machinery repair parts was lowered 

from 4% to 3%, and the rate on alcoholic beverages was 
increased from 5% to 6%.  

•	 No change was made in the 3% rate for farm machinery, 
irrigation equipment, and new mobile homes.

1987 Session  
•	 The legislature increased the general sales and use tax 

rate and the motor vehicle excise tax rate from 5% to 
5.5%; the rate on farm machinery, irrigation equipment, 
farm machinery repair parts and new mobile homes 
from 3% to 3.5%; and the rate on alcoholic beverages 
from 6% to 6.5%.

•	 The legislature added cable TV services to the tax base.  
[However, in a 1988 referred measure, the cable TV 
provision was rejected and did not take effect.]  

•	 Exemptions were created for flight simulators, annual 
church suppers and bazaars, and adjuvants used with 
farm chemicals.  The legislature required use tax 
collection by those who solicit sales by mail or other 
communication systems.

•	 Effective July 1, 1989 a portion of the sales, use, and 
motor vehicle excise tax collections was allocated to the 
State Aid Distribution Fund to finance revenue sharing 
and personal property tax replacement.  

•	 Cities were granted authority to impose a 1% lodging 
and restaurant tax. 

1965 Referred Measure  
•	 The sales tax law was referred and disapproved.  

Consequently, during the period July 1, 1965 to  
April 1, 1967 use tax was collected in place of the 
disapproved sales tax.

1967 Session  
•	 New sales and use tax laws were enacted imposing 

a 3% tax on the same sales transactions that were in 
effect through the 1963 sales tax law.  

•	 The legislature enacted a separate 3% motor vehicle 
excise tax. 

1969 Session  
•	 Sales tax, use tax, and motor vehicle excise tax rates 

were increased from 3% to 4%.  The increase was used 
to replace revenue lost to local governments by the 
repeal of the personal property tax.

•	 The sales tax base was broadened to include tobacco 
products, alcoholic beverages, and oleomargarine.

1973 Session  
•	 Food purchased for off premises consumption was 

exempted from the sales and use tax.

1975 Session  
•	 Exemptions were added for sales of artificial devices 

for handicapped persons, coal, sales to nursing homes 
and intermediate care facilities, and the sales of certain 
religious books to nonprofit religious organizations.

1976 Initiated Measure  
•	 An initiated measure reduced the sales and use tax 

rate and the motor vehicle excise tax rate from 4% to 
3%, reduced the rate on farm machinery and irrigation 
equipment from 4% to 2%, and eliminated the tax on 
electricity.

1977 Session  
•	 The legislature authorized home rule cities to contract 

with the Tax Commissioner to collect city sales and use 
taxes.

1979 Session  
•	 Exemptions to the sales and use tax law were added for 

sales to hospitals and for ostomy devices and supplies.  
•	 The exemption for devices to aid the handicapped was 

expanded. 

1981 Session  
•	 The sales and use tax on water, used mobile homes, and 

magazine subscriptions was eliminated.  
•	 The tax rate on new mobile homes was reduced from 

3% to 2%.  
•	 Cities were permitted to levy a 2% city lodging tax.
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1989 Session  
•	 The general sales and use tax rate and the motor vehicle 

excise tax rate was increased from 5.5% to 6%.  
•	 The rate on farm machinery, irrigation equipment, farm 

machinery repair parts, and new mobile homes was 
increased from 3.5% to 4%; and the rate on alcoholic 
beverages was increased from 6.5% to 7%.  

•	 The legislature created a new rate of 3% on machinery 
and equipment used in manufacturing or in processing 
agricultural products.

•	 The tax base was broadened to include bingo cards, 
coffee, tea, cocoa, and certain bottled water.  State 
chartered credit unions lost the sales tax exemption on 
items purchased for their own use.  

•	 The existing exemption for residents of Montana was 
modified and the exemption for residents of Canada 
was replaced with a refund provision.  

•	 An exemption was created for prepared food given 
away as samples in a grocery store.  

•	 A portion of sales, use and motor vehicle excise tax 
collections was allocated to the Capital Construction 
Fund. The legislature enacted a controlled substances 
tax.

1989 Referral Election  
•	 The general sales and use tax rate and the motor vehicle 

excise tax rate were reduced from 6% to 5%.  
•	 The rate on farm machinery, irrigation equipment, farm 

machinery repair parts and new mobile homes was 
reduced from 4% to 3%.  

•	 The rate on alcoholic beverages remained at 7%.

1991 Session  
•	 The legislature approved a gradual decrease in the rate 

on natural gas from 5% to 4% on January 1, 1993; to 
3% on January 1, 1994; and to 2% on January 1, 1995.  

•	 The 3% special rate for manufacturing equipment was 
changed to an exemption and an exemption was created 
for production equipment in coal-burning power plants.  

•	 The legislature approved the Taxpayer Bill of Rights. 
•	 The destination of aircraft excise tax revenue was 

changed from the State General Fund to the Aeronautics 
Commission Special Fund. 

•	 A waste collection surcharge was imposed.

1993 Session  
•	 The Capital Construction Fund was repealed.  
•	 The exemption for manufacturing machinery and 

equipment was clarified and expanded to include 
recycling machinery and equipment.  

•	 Performances of community non-profit music or 
dramatic arts organizations held in a public facility 
were exempted.  

•	 Items purchased by political subdivisions of another 

state were made taxable if the other state also taxes the 
items.  

•	 A new highway contract privilege tax was established at 
5% of the gross contract amount for contracts bid after 
July 31, 1993.  This tax terminated December 31, 1997.

1994 Special Session  
•	 Further expanded the manufacturing exemption to 

include machinery and equipment used primarily 
in manufacturing and research and development 
equipment.  

•	 A new exemption was created for materials used to 
construct an agricultural commodity processing facility.

1995 Session  
•	 Tire retreading was made taxable.  
•	 The tax on controlled substances and the waste 

collection surcharge were repealed.

1997 Session  
•	 The legislature approved a sales and use tax of 6 cents 

per million British thermal units (MBTU) on all sales of 
coal, except for coal used for heating buildings or used 
in agricultural processing or sugar beet refining plants, 
or coal exempted from the tax imposed by  
N.D.C.C. ch. 57-61.

•	 An exemption was provided to a political subdivision of 
another state provided a sale to a North Dakota political 
subdivision is treated as an exempt sale in that state.

1999 Session  
•	 The legislature changed the 6 cents per million  

British thermal units (MBTU) sales tax rate on coal to 
75 cents per ton.  

•	 The sales tax rate on used farm machinery, used 
irrigation equipment, and new and used farm machinery 
repair parts was reduced from 3% to 1.5%.  

•	 The exemption on manufacturing machinery and 
equipment was expanded to include crude oil refineries 
for the period February 1, 1999 through July 1, 2002.  

•	 The legislature provided for corporations and LLCs to 
post a cash or surety bond in lieu of personal liability of 
the corporate offices, governors or managers.

2001 Session  
•	 The 75 cents per ton sales tax on out-of-state coal was 

repealed.  
•	 The sales tax rate on used farm machinery, used 

irrigation equipment, and new and used farm machinery 
repair parts was changed from 1.5% to a complete 
exemption effective July 1, 2002.  

•	 The exemption for new power plants was expanded to 
include wind-powered electrical generating facilities 
and a new exemption was created for computer and 
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telecommunication equipment purchased by new 
or expanding primary sector businesses other than 
manufacturers or recyclers.  

•	 Sales tax was imposed on all vehicle rentals of less than 
30 days at a rate of 5% and an additional 3% surcharge 
was imposed on vehicles weighing less than ten 
thousand pounds.  

•	 The rate of penalty applied to delinquent sales tax 
returns was changed to 5% per month up to a maximum 
of 25%.  

•	 The method of imposing motor vehicle excise tax on 
leased vehicles (cars and light trucks) was changed 
from paying tax on the lessor's purchase price to paying 
tax on the total lease consideration.

2003 Session  
•	 The legislature increased the tax rate on the rental 

of hotel, motel, and tourist court accommodations 
(excluding bed and breakfast facilities) from 5% to 6% 
from July 1, 2003 through June 30, 2007.  

•	 New exemptions were created for purchases made by 
Commerce Authorities, purchases of raffle prizes made 
by charitable organizations when the prize winner is 
responsible for the tax, and on sales of lottery tickets.  

•	 The legislature adopted the Streamlined Sales Tax 
Agreement effective January 1, 2006.  The agreement 
is a cooperative effort between business representatives 
and state tax and revenue departments to modernize 
and simplify sales and use taxes across the country.  
Changes necessary for North Dakota to become 
compliant with the terms of the agreement were passed 
with a January 1, 2006 effective date.

2005 Session  
•	 The legislature authorized cities to impose a tax up to 

1% on the rental of motor vehicles for less than 30 days.
•	 The legislature also reduced the sales tax rate on the 

rental of hotel, motel, and tourist court accommodations 
(excluding bed and breakfast facilities) from 6% to 5% 
and imposed through June 30, 2007 a separate 1% gross 
receipts tax on these accommodations. 

•	 New exemptions were created for purchases made 
by assisted living facilities and emergency medical 
service providers, purchases of CO2 used for enhanced 
oil recovery, retail purchases of equipment used to 
sell biodiesel fuel, retail purchases of hydrogen to 
power internal combustion engines and fuel cells and 
equipment used to produce and store hydrogen.  

•	 Exemptions were also created for the portion of a 
bundled telecommunications charge that is attributable 
to nontaxable services, sales of precious metal bullion, 
and purchases after June 30, 2007 of equipment used 
in an environmental upgrade of an oil refinery or gas 
processing plant.  

•	 The legislature also finalized the changes necessary 
for North Dakota to be in full compliance with the 
Streamlined Sales Tax Agreement and moved the 
effective date of these changes to October 1, 2005.  The 
most significant change was to exempt the sales of farm 
machinery, farm irrigation equipment, and alcoholic 
beverages from sales tax and to impose separate gross 
receipts taxes on these products.

2007 Session  
•	 The legislature exempted coal used for heating purposes 

and reduced the tax rate on natural gas from 2% to 1% 
beginning January 1, 2008.  Natural gas became exempt 
from tax effective July 1, 2009.    

•	 The sales tax exemption available to Native Americans 
was expanded to include members that are enrolled in 
any federally recognized tribe and that reside on the 
reservation where the goods are delivered. 

•	 The legislature authorized retailers to voluntarily cap 
the amount of local tax collected for a city or county 
that has limited its tax to a maximum amount per 
transaction.  

•	 New exemptions were authorized for the sale of 
bingo cards, materials purchased and used to gather, 
compress, and process gas and materials used to build 
or expand a gas processing facility or oil refinery.   

•	 An exemption was also authorized for materials used to 
construct a new category of electrical generating power 
plants.  

•	 New motor vehicle excise tax exemptions were 
also approved for ambulances purchased for use 
by emergency medical service operators, vehicles 
purchased by the state lottery to be awarded as a prize, 
and certain purchases of vehicles by disabled veterans. 
In addition, the exemption from motor vehicle excise 
tax for Native Americans was expanded to include 
motor vehicles delivered anywhere within North Dakota 
to an enrolled member of any federally recognized 
tribe if the Native American resides on a North Dakota 
reservation.

2009 Session  
•	 The legislature repealed the requirement for permit 

holders that reported more than $333,000 of taxable 
sales or purchases in the previous calendar year to file 
the May monthly sales and use tax return at the end of 
each biennium by June 22nd.    

•	 Exemption for farm irrigation repair parts. 
•	 The legislature extended the sales tax exemption on 

production equipment or tangible personal property 
used to construct a wind-powered electrical  
generation facility on construction completed  
before January 1, 2015.  
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•	 Effective July 1, 2009, the initial sale of beneficiated 
coal became exempt from sales tax.   

•	 Clarified the exemption passed in the 2007 legislature 
to exempt tangible personal property used to compress, 
process, gather, or refine gas from both gas and 
oil wells.  The tangible personal property must be 
incorporated into a new or expanded system.  

•	 Effective July 1, 2009, purchases of tangible 
personal property purchased to construct or expand 
a telecommunications service infrastructure is 
exempt from sales tax.  Telecommunications 
company is defined as a person engaged in furnishing 
telecommunications service in North Dakota.

•	 Native American tribal governments will be exempt 
from sales tax effective July 1, 2009.  Qualifying tribal 
governments are not entities or agencies that exist to 
primarily operate a business enterprise and are still 
taxable.

•	 The legislature passed with an emergency clause to 
expand the sales tax exemption for residents of Montana 
to include Montana business entities.  Business entities 
that qualify for the exemption are domestic Montana 
corporations or other entities where the owners, 
partners, members are individual Montana residents or 
Montana corporations.

•	 Effective July 1, 2009, the legislature approved 
all changes required for North Dakota to remain 
in compliance with the streamlined sales use tax 
agreement.

•	 The streamlined sales tax definition of specified digital 
products was adopted by the legislature effective  
July 1, 2009.  

•	 New motor vehicle excise tax exemptions were also 
approved to authorize the Department of Transportation 
to determine the fair market value of a motor vehicle 
leased for one year or more and with an actual weight 
of ten thousand pounds or less for the purposes of 
calculating the amount of motor vehicle excise tax due.

2011 Session  
•	 The legislature created new sales tax exemptions 

for the purchase of machinery and equipment used 
to produce coal from a new mine, the gross receipts 
from memberships and entrance fees to activities and 
events organized and operated by nonprofit social and 
recreation clubs organized under section 501(c)(7) of 
the Internal Revenue code, the purchase of equipment 
used by licensed special fuel dealers to sell green diesel, 
and for agrichemical tank cleaners and foam markers 
used by farmers.

•	 New motor vehicle excise tax exemptions were also 
created for vehicles transferred without consideration 
from a revocable living trust back to the trustor, for 
vehicles purchased by unremarried surviving spouses 

of disabled veterans that are receiving Veterans’ Affairs 
dependency and indemnity compensation, and for 
vehicles transferred back to the original owner if the 
vehicle was previously exempted from tax under a 
business reorganization.

•	 An aircraft excise tax exemption was created for aircraft 
acquired by a nonprofit aviation museum located in 
North Dakota and exempt from federal income tax 
under Internal Revenue Code section 501(c)(3).

•	 Compensation for sales tax permit holders was 
expanded to include all retailers that file a sales and use 
tax return and the maximum compensation allowed on 
each return was increased from $85 to $93.75.

2013 Session  
•	 The legislature created new sales tax exemptions for 

tangible personal property used in the construction 
or expansion of two additional types of processing 
plants: facilities to produce liquefied natural gas and 
facilities to extract or process by-products associated 
with a coal gasification plant. The existing exemption 
for production equipment and other tangible personal 
property used to construct or expand a wind-powered 
electrical generating facility was extended two years 
to include plants completed before January 1, 2017. In 
addition, the exemption for tangible personal property 
used to construct or expand a telecommunication 
infrastructure was extended from January 1, 2013 
through June 30, 2017. The exemption for tangible 
personal property used to build or expand a gas 
compressing, gathering, or processing system was also 
expanded to include a system that “collects” gas from 
oil or gas wells.

•	 Effective July 1, 2013, new manufactured homes that 
are sold with installation are treated as construction 
contracts. As a result, the dealer is required to pay 3% 
use tax on its purchase price of the manufactured home 
and incorporate the tax into the contract price agreed 
to with the purchaser rather than collect sales tax on 
the selling price of the home. Installation means any 
method authorized by the Community Services Division 
of the Department of Commerce.

•	 The legislature revised the method of imposing farm 
machinery gross receipts tax on equipment leases for 
periods of more than eleven months. Effective  
July 1, 2013, the lessor must pay sales tax on its 
purchase price of qualifying farm machinery and farm 
irrigation equipment or collect tax on three years of 
lease payments regardless of the lease term. In addition, 
a farmer may receive a trade-in credit for the value of 
replacement equipment owned or leased when entering 
into a new lease.

•	 The legislature authorized sales tax refunds to victims 
of 2011 river flooding. Individuals approved to receive 
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Fiscal	 Local Sales 	 City	 City Motor	 City Restaurant	 Music and	 Provider
Year	 & Use (1)	 Lodging (2)	 Vehicle Rental (3)	 and Lodging	 Composition	 Assessment 
	2004	 68,644,864	 958,482		  2,393,809	 91,113	 3,129,863
2005	 78,761,154	 1,095,595		  2,725,275	 93,875	 3,250,759
2006	 87,563,544	 1,173,548	 13,327	 2,887,157	 46,749	 3,781,260
2007	 92,143,032	 1,339,278	 98,422	 3,511,966	 170,518	 3,700,675
2008	 96,566,720	 1,474,318	 92,014	 3,663,163	 131,470	 3,983,220
	2009	 108,264,455	 1,718,675	 100,917	 4,075,402	 138,342	 3,809,126
	2010	 119,411,810	 1,872,368	 110,557	 4,289,399	 155,923	 4,094,197
2011	 144,237,942	 2,443,479	 127,952	 4,651,722	 143,774	 4,508,026
2012	 191,754,625	 3,438,749	 192,917	 5,478,371	 147,883	 4,719,614
2013	 206,247,609	 3,751,242	 197,511	 5,801,405	 132,391	 5,482,322
2014	 228,776,287	 4,373,399	 189,413	 6,327,731	 171,020	 5,901,063

(1)	 Collections by the North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner. Collections include Gross Receipts tax.
(2)	 Amounts are city lodging taxes collected by the North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner.  Devils Lake, Fargo,  

Grand Forks, Minot, and Valley City administer city lodging taxes themselves and those collections are not included here.
(3)	 City motor vehicle rental tax was authorized by the 2005 Legislature.  Currently, Bismarck, Minot and Grand Forks impose  

this 1% tax.
 
SOURCE:	 North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner.

disaster assistance from FEMA were eligible to apply 
for a refund of state sales tax paid on replacement of 
major appliances, residential building supply items, 
and furniture damaged or destroyed by flooding. The 
deadline to submit refund applications was  
December 31, 2013 and the maximum refund  
allowed was $2,500.

•	 The legislature authorized refunds of motor vehicle 
excise tax to disabled individuals that qualified for 
an exemption at the time of purchase but that did not 
provide required exemption documentation when 
the vehicle was titled and licensed. Refunds may be 
obtained for up to three years after the date of purchase.

•	 Effective January 1, 2014, sales tax permit holders 
required to file monthly sales tax returns because they 
reported $333,000 of taxable sales and purchases in the 
previous calendar year must file the monthly returns 
electronically.

•	 Compensation for sales tax permit holders was 
increased from $93.75 to $110 a return.

•	 The legislature defined “automated sales suppression 
device,” “zapper,” and “phantom-ware” and made it 
a felony to sell, purchase, possess, install, transfer, 
manufacture, own or use these products except for 
legitimate purposes.

•	 The legislature imposed a 2% fee on prepaid wireless 
telecommunications services. The fee is collected 
from the purchaser by the seller at the time of sale. 
Proceeds from the fee must be used for implementation, 
maintenance, or operation of the emergency services 
communication systems.

•	 The legislature modified the formula that determines the 
portion of sales, use, farm machinery and alcohol gross 
receipts, and motor vehicle excise taxes deposited into 
the State Aid Distribution Fund. Effective  
July 1, 2014, the formula increased the State Aid 
Distribution Fund’s share from 8% to 8.7% of the total 
sales, use, gross receipts, and motor vehicle excise taxes 
collected. The balance of collections is deposited into 
the General Fund.

Other Revenue Collections
Local Option Taxes, Music and Composition Tax and Provider Assessment collections
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TOTAL (Sales, Use, Gross Receipts, and Motor Vehicle Excise Taxes)
			   	 To	 To
			   To	 State Aid	 Highway
	 Fiscal	 All Funds	 General	 Distribution	 Distribution
	 Year	 Total	 Fund	 Fund (1)	 Fund
	 2004	 438,530,207	 403,447,790	 35,082,417
	 2005	 480,575,627	 442,315,674	 38,259,953
	 2006	 495,565,709	 456,024,312	 39,541,397
	 2007	 555,981,644	 511,629,001	 44,352,463
	 2008	 611,082,615	 554,779,839	 48,869,266	 7,433,510
	 2009	 683,559,324	 621,857,379	 54,674,531	 7,027,414
	 2010	 684,133,784	 609,730,225	 55,911,259	 18,492,300
	 2011 	 870,094,332	 781,906,507	 69,159,829	 19,027,996
	 2012	 1,253,929,914	 1,153,615,521	 100,314,393	 0
	 2013	 1,408,934,591	 1,296,087,675	 112,846,916	 0
	 2014	 1,470,103,954	 1,350,402,059	 119,701,895	 0
	 2015 est.	 1,615,338,000	 1,474,276,000	 141,062,000	 0

	 Sales, Use, and Gross Receipts Taxes	 Motor Vehicle Excise Tax
		  Total		  State Aid	 Total		  State Aid	 Highway
	 Fiscal	 Sales and	 General	 Distribution	 Motor Veh.	 General	 Distribution 	 Distribution
	 Year	 Use	 Fund	 Fund (1)	 Taxes	 Fund	 Fund (1)	 Fund
	 2004		  368,415,222	 338,942,004	 29,473,218	 70,114,985	 64,505,786	 5,609,199
	 2005		  411,553,514	 378,815,330	 32,738,184	 69,022,113	 63,500,344	 5,521,769
	 2006		  428,906,406	 394,697,753	 34,208,653	 66,659,303	 61,326,559	 5,332,744
	 2007		  485,986,114	 447,233,113	 38,753,001	 69,995,530	 64,395,888	 5,599,642
	 2008		  530,283,623	 487,878,783	 42,404,840	 80,798,992	 66,901,056	 6,464,426	 7,433,510
	 2009		  607,170,311	 558,606,901	 48,563,410	 76,389,013	 63,250,478	 6,111,121	 7,027,414
	 2010		  603,732,481	 554,253,326	 49,479,155	 80,401,303	 55,476,899	 6,432,104	 18,492,300
	 2011		  774,954,353	 712,958,005	 61,996,348	 95,139,978	 68,948,502	 7,163,481	 19,027,996
	 2012		  1,121,132,626	 1,031,442,016	 89,690,610	 132,797,288	 122,173,505	 10,623,783	 0
	 2013		  1,267,030,354	 1,165,535,777	 101,494,577	 141,904,237	 130,551,898	 11,352,339	 0
	 2014		  1,320,167,042	 1,212,460,100	 107,706,942	 149,936,912	 137,941,959	 11,994,953	 0
	 2015 est.	 1,449,403,000	 1,322,902,000	 126,501,000	 165,935,000	 151,374,000	 14,561,000	 0	

(1)	 The formula to calculate the State Aid Distribution Fund (S.A.D.F.) is: 40% (1% ÷ general sales tax rate) (net collections 
of sales, use, and motor vehicle excise tax collections).  Revenues deposited in the State Aid Distribution Fund are 
provided as a standing and continuing appropriation.

SOURCE:  North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner and estimates prepared with the Office of Management and 
Budget.

Sales, Use, Gross Receipts, and Motor Vehicle Excise 
Taxes Collections and Disbursements
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SOURCE:  North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner.	 *	 The Start Date is the original date the local tax was initiated.

Local Sales, Use and Gross Receipts Taxes
Net Collections Remitted 2011-2013 Biennium

Anamoose 1/09 19,553.21 17,018.94 36,572.15
Aneta 1/05 16,774.18 15,711.70 32,485.88
Ashley 4/98 61,970.83 61,582.45 123,553.28
Beach 10/97 171,141.45 172,065.97 343,207.42
Belfield 4/95 702,793.77 958,226.87 1,661,020.64
Berthold 1/96 284,509.73 434,911.59 719,421.32
Beulah 10/03 393,332.83 442,522.15 835,854.98
Bisbee 1/12 13,204.22 34,293.64 47,497.86
Bismarck 4/86 15,003,356.86 16,824,261.41 31,827,618.27
Bottineau 10/93 860,606.09 1,061,510.35 1,922,116.44
Bowman 10/94 326,637.26 369,946.29 696,583.55
Buffalo 1/03 24,430.88 27,388.56 51,819.44
Cando 1/98 154,888.16 157,203.35 312,091.51
Carrington 1/94 428,755.23 429,218.78 857,974.01
Carson 10/02 19,080.25 22,836.01 41,916.26
Casselton 4/98 225,919.15 216,637.52 442,556.67
Cavalier 10/94 373,950.39 377,076.53 751,026.92
Cooperstown 7/96 162,642.41 170,987.19 333,629.60
Crosby 1/93 261,704.69 428,470.01 690,174.70
Devils Lake 7/88 3,035,813.26 3,079,976.61 6,115,789.87
Dickinson 7/90 9,115,655.36 10,813,987.93 19,929,643.29
Drake 7/05 46,413.13 51,615.17 98,028.30
Drayton 10/97 97,354.53 98,989.74 196,344.27
Dunseith 1/05 62,682.59 77,204.63 139,887.22
Edgeley 1/97 164,466.89 156,938.41 321,405.30
Edinburg 4/99 18,773.60 17,116.58 35,890.18
Elgin 4/00 52,874.26 52,385.35 105,259.61
Ellendale 1/95 139,101.95 122,157.64 261,259.59
Enderlin 10/98 166,506.77 190,540.27 357,047.04
Fairmount 4/05 36,531.14 56,227.86 92,759.00
Fargo 4/89 42,701,555.96 40,340,961.76 83,042,517.72
Finley 10/98 65,242.38 92,645.26 157,887.64
Forman 1/09 33,183.90 76,017.03 109,200.93
Fort Ransom 1/00 17,605.05 19,149.87 36,754.92
Gackle 1/06 19,952.12 18,388.19 38,340.31
Garrison 1/96 309,237.52 350,015.13 659,252.65
Glen Ullin 1/07 51,610.68 51,235.14 102,845.82
Glenburn 7/08 33,590.03 53,445.57 87,035.60
Grafton 1/91 809,788.33 1,005,466.80 1,815,255.13
Grand Forks 1/85 18,074,424.91 19,180,870.12 37,255,295.03
Granville 7/10 18,756.79 23,510.44 42,267.23
Grenora 10/02 26,709.20 83,282.48 109,991.68
Gwinner 4/05 363,413.14 429,878.22 793,291.36
Halliday 7/96 56,681.04 144,177.63 200,858.67
Hankinson 10/97 188,394.43 170,679.17 359,073.60
Hannaford 10/04 16,938.56 16,576.49 33,515.05
Harvey 10/91 228,912.68 247,850.99 476,763.67
Harwood 1/09 46,238.57 47,883.76 94,122.33
Hatton 4/98 89,375.52 96,690.50 186,066.02
Hazelton 10/00 22,493.35 26,049.22 48,542.57
Hazen 4/95 239,517.54 250,771.21 490,288.75
Hettinger 7/96 278,389.15 311,832.63 590,221.78
Hillsboro 10/98 275,297.52 342,517.40 617,814.92
Hoople 1/99 18,330.81 16,547.13 34,877.94
Hope 1/01 61,811.46 111,359.76 173,171.22
Jamestown 7/91 4,536,805.68 4,901,178.00 9,437,983.68
Kenmare 1/93 507,959.61 469,098.32 977,057.93
Killdeer 4/95 659,727.55 916,853.15 1,576,580.70
Kindred 4/12 17,406.04 181,510.84 198,916.88
Kulm 4/98 62,623.95 63,036.78 125,660.73
Lakota 1/07 73,862.12 74,879.35 148,741.47
LaMoure 1/97 203,693.98 183,184.78 386,878.76
Langdon 1/94 521,210.17 531,881.47 1,053,091.64
Larimore 1/95 69,589.15 66,728.75 136,317.90
Leonard 4/07 26,034.20 29,309.44 55,343.64
Lidgerwood 10/00 66,873.40 57,757.85 124,631.25
Linton 10/93 177,141.75 163,733.20 340,874.95
Lisbon 7/95 471,128.88 473,930.42 945,059.30
Maddock 10/02 72,189.49 91,845.40 164,034.89
Mandan 4/91 1,820,713.17 2,136,664.03 3,957,377.20
Mapleton 7/07 80,569.45 103,951.64 184,521.09
Max 2/11 17,384.70 29,242.88 46,627.58

Mayville 1/97 357,030.73 350,053.11 707,083.84
McClusky 1/96 20,150.25 21,751.60 41,901.85
McVille 1/02 34,213.59 38,320.12 72,533.71
Medora 1/00 635,005.73 554,102.04 1,189,107.77
Michigan 10/01 35,363.11 32,263.17 67,626.28
Milnor 10/98 53,865.89 57,210.53 111,076.42
Minnewaukan 1/07 41,872.90 30,934.93 72,807.83
Minot 4/86 25,010,736.41 24,255,443.81 49,266,180.22
Minto 4/07 74,418.66 50,305.28 124,723.94
Mohall 10/92 126,447.66 128,029.11 254,476.77
Mott 4/97 123,071.71 143,065.24 266,136.95
Munich 1/99 15,649.97 15,163.86 30,813.83
Napoleon 10/96 166,380.06 178,705.23 345,085.29
Neche 1/04 61,713.04 52,718.48 114,431.52
New England 10/02 127,461.23 136,894.59 264,355.82
New Leipzig 1/99 14,539.51 17,470.12 32,009.63
New Rockford 10/96 257,731.30 250,494.25 508,225.55
New Salem 4/07 124,215.92 129,589.44 253,805.36
Northwood 1/03 136,879.60 153,189.01 290,068.61
Oakes 10/96 439,599.72 440,873.09 880,472.81
Oxbow 1/02 20,286.45 22,815.76 43,102.21
Page 4/05 18,697.68 19,166.57 37,864.25
Park River 1/95 291,608.37 330,990.91 622,599.28
Pembina 1/93 251,965.57 244,009.01 495,974.58
Portland 1/97 58,459.27 58,775.07 117,234.34
Powers Lake 4/97 81,381.69 117,694.91 199,076.60
Ray 1/13 0 106,524.86 106,524.86
Reeder 1/03 13,617.13 11,665.69 25,282.82
Regent 1/97 38,505.03 56,252.23 94,757.26
Richardton 10/97 183,547.01 142,721.64 326,268.65
Rolette 1/03 51,401.72 45,858.69 97,260.41
Rolla 1/94 479,650.73 481,487.39 961,138.12
Rugby 1/93 676,387.60 715,856.40 1,392,244.00
Scranton 4/02 37,128.54 41,628.42 78,756.96
South Heart 4/13 0 30,731.57 30,731.57
St. John 1/01 16,269.67 19,748.99 36,018.66
Stanley 10/95 1,014,661.26 1,240,979.25 2,255,640.51
Steele 10/96 177,094.80 184,220.28 361,315.08
Strasburg 4/93 68,095.80 70,218.92 138,314.72
Streeter 1/09 11,095.27 16,283.10 27,378.37
Surrey 7/12 0 86,868.37 86,868.37
Tioga 1/95 1,005,262.72 1,678,209.82 2,683,472.54
Tower City 10/02 28,846.60 33,501.70 62,348.30
Towner 10/98 46,170.57 46,075.83 92,246.40
Turtle Lake 10/00 67,888.03 76,641.66 144,529.69
Underwood 10/06 211,387.46 253,294.20 464,681.66
Valley City 1/92 1,899,280.97 1,982,362.68 3,881,643.65
Velva 1/99 212,495.10 194,660.91 407,156.01
Wahpeton 7/91 1,949,199.54 2,111,015.72 4,060,215.26
Walhalla 10/97 180,663.98 143,946.93 324,610.91
Washburn 10/00 286,070.32 187,702.17 473,772.49
Watford City 10/98 1,526,706.71 2,152,880.51 3,679,587.22
West Fargo 10/94 3,079,382.21 3,527,724.73 6,607,106.94
Westhope 7/10 58,387.97 90,098.10 148,486.07
Williston 7/91 14,394,830.58 28,238,661.13 42,633,491.71
Wilton 10/00 163,100.20 81,192.26 244,292.46
Wimbledon 1/05 27,112.47 28,170.83 55,283.30
Wishek 4/97 95,513.73 111,911.76 207,425.49
Woodworth 1/09 6,944.78 9,333.43 16,278.21
Wyndmere 10/12 37,942.33 74,560.10 112,502.43
Totals for Cities 162,497,175.85 183,024,617.21 345,521,793.06

Counties
Cass County 10/99 13,958,154.09 14,911,257.08 28,869,411.17
Steele County 4/05 123,813.59 156,075.26 279,888.85
Walsh County 4/01 0 285,992.33 285,992.33
Ward County 4/13 246,607.94 908,833.36 1,155,441.30
Williams County 10/06 14,944,179.01 7,068,735.54 22,012,914.55
Totals for Counties 29,272,754.63 23,330,893.57 52,603,648.20
Total Local Option 
Taxes Paid 191,769,930.48 206,355,510.78 398,125,441.26

City
Start 
Date*

Tax 
FY-2012

Tax 
FY-2013

Biennium 
Total City

Start 
Date*

Tax 
FY-2012

Tax 
FY-2013

Biennium 
Total
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STATE COMPARISONS

There are 12 states with general state sales tax rates lower 
than North Dakota's 5% rate. However, in comparing 
North Dakota’s sales tax to other states, one must also 
consider the tax base, the goods and services subject to the 
tax, as well as the level of local sales taxes.

Tax Base  Does a state include groceries, electricity, 
prescription drugs, and services such as legal, business, 
accounting, architecture, lawn care? 

In an effort to lessen the impact of taxes on a family's 
ability to buy necessities, North Dakota exempts groceries, 
residential electricity, natural gas and heating fuels, and 
a few other essentials. States can also make a sales tax 
somewhat more progressive by taxing goods or services 
used mostly by upper income purchasers.  The charts on 
the next few pages detail specific items taxed in each state.

Local Sales Taxes In addition to a general state sales tax, 
most states allow local subdivisions to levy a sales tax as 
well. In some cases (Colorado, for example), the local rate 
may actually be higher than the state rate. As of  
October 2014, 133 cities and 6 counties impose a local tax 
from .25 to 3%.  However, most local taxes have a refund 
provision that allows the purchaser to obtain a refund of 
the local tax paid on any portion of a purchase greater than 
$2,500.

Fifty-two city and county taxes are imposed at a rate of 1% 
or less and the remaining eighty-seven local taxes have a 
rate greater than 1%.

Example  A comparison of sales taxes in North Dakota 
and South Dakota provides a good example of the impact 
of different tax bases and local taxes. Because more 
goods and services are taxed in South Dakota, that state's 
4% state sales tax rate generally results in a higher tax 
payment than North Dakota's 5% rate.

	 Number of States

	 Rates Lower	 Rates the Same	 Rates Higher
	 Than N.D.	 As N.D.	 Than N.D.

	 Other States' Rates Compared to ND's	 12	 1	 32

Note:	 Out of a possible 168 taxable services, North Dakota taxes only 25 services and does not tax 
groceries or electricity.

	 Five states do not levy a sales tax:  Alaska, Delaware, Montana, New Hampshire, and 
Oregon.

SOURCE:  Survey of states conducted by North Dakota Office of State Tax Commissioner, Sales 
Tax Section, October 2014.

State Sales Tax Rates Comparison with the Other 45 
States (and D.C.) that Levy a Sales Tax - October 1, 2014
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	 		  Per Capita General
			   Sales and Gross
	 Rank	 State	 Receipts Taxes
	 1	 Hawaii	 $2,097
	 2	 North Dakota	 $1,755
	 3	 Washington	 $1,596
	 4	 Nevada	 $1,304
	 5	 Wyoming	 $1,205
	 6	 Connecticut	 $1,072
	 7	 Mississippi	 $1,067
	 8	 Florida	 $1,063
	 9	 Indiana	 $1,034
	 10	 Tennessee	 $1,021
	 11	 South Dakota	 $1,010
	 12	 Kansas	 $1,001
	 13	 Texas	 $988
	 14	 Arizona	 $977
	 15	 Arkansas	 $959
	 16	 New Jersey	 $950
	 17	 New Mexico	 $944
	 18	 Minnesota	 $924
	 19	 Nebraska	 $893
	 20	 California	 $885
	 21	 Michigan	 $851
	 22	 Rhode Island	 $838
	 23	 Idaho	 $821
	 24	 Iowa	 $816
	 25	 Maine	 $807
	 26	 Massachusetts	 $775
	 27	 Wisconsin	 $768
	 28	 Ohio	 $746
	 29	 Pennsylvania	 $724
	 30	 Maryland	 $694
	 31	 Kentucky	 $688
	 32	 West Virginia	 $677
	 33	 South Carolina	 $670
	 34	 Oklahoma	 $654
	 35	 Utah	 $649
	 36	 Illinois	 $633
	 37	 New York	 $617
	 38	 Louisiana	 $611
	 39	 North Carolina	 $568
	 40	 Vermont	 $554
	 41	 Georgia	 $528
	 42	 Missouri	 $522
	 43	 Alabama	 $482
	 44	 Colorado	 $459
	 45	 Virginia	 $449
	 46	 Alaska	 n/a
	 47	 Delaware	 n/a
	 48	 Montana	 n/a
	 49	 New Hampshire	 n/a
	 50	 Oregon	 n/a

		  US Average	 $806

SOURCE:	US Dept. of Commerce, Census Bureau.

 
	 		  Per Capita Total
			   Sales and Gross
	 Rank	 State	 Receipts Taxes
	 1	 Hawaii	 $2,801
	 2	 North Dakota	 $2,439
	 3	 Washington	 $2,101
	 4	 Nevada	 $1,960
	 5	 Connecticut	 $1,876
	 6	 Vermont	 $1,568
	 7	 Indiana	 $1,567
	 8	 Minnesota	 $1,529
	 9	 Mississippi	 $1,528
	 10	 Texas	 $1,485
	 11	 Florida	 $1,459
	 12	 South Dakota	 $1,454
	 13	 Rhode Island	 $1,441
	 14	 Wyoming	 $1,417
	 15	 Tennessee	 $1,405
	 16	 West Virginia	 $1,391
	 17	 New Jersey	 $1,371
	 18	 Arkansas	 $1,358
	 19	 Maine	 $1,340
	 20	 Pennsylvania	 $1,339
	 21	 Kansas	 $1,293
	 22	 New Mexico	 $1,272
	 23	 California	 $1,254
	 24	 Michigan	 $1,240
	 25	 Maryland	 $1,239
	 26	 Arizona	 $1,238
	 27	 Wisconsin	 $1,234
	 28	 New York	 $1,181
	 29	 Ohio	 $1,178
	 30	 Nebraska	 $1,176
	 31	 Iowa	 $1,168
	 32	 Kentucky	 $1,163
	 33	 Illinois	 $1,142
	 34	 Massachusetts	 $1,114
	 35	 Idaho	 $1,100
	 36	 Louisiana	 $1,076
	 37	 Oklahoma	 $999
	 38	 North Carolina	 $986
	 39	 Alabama	 $974
	 40	 Utah	 $944
	 41	 South Carolina	 $938
	 42	 Colorado	 $812
	 43	 Missouri	 $793
	 44	 Virginia	 $750
	 45	 Georgia	 $741
	 46	 New Hampshire	 $715
	 47	 Montana	 $551
	 48	 Delaware	 $526
	 49	 Oregon	 $348
	 50	 Alaska	 $340

		  US Average	 $1,242
Total Sales and Gross Receipts Taxes includes taxes on alcoholic 
beverages, amusements, insurance premiums, motor fuels, pari-mutuels, 
public utilities, tobacco products and other selective sales.

SOURCE:  US Dept. of Commerce, Census Bureau.

Total Sales and Gross 
Receipts Tax Collections 

Per Capita Fiscal Year 2013

General Sales and Gross 
Receipts Tax Collections 

Per Capita Fiscal Year 2013
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	 NORTH	 SOUTH
	 DAKOTA	 DAKOTA	 WYOMING	 MINNESOTA	 IOWA	 MANITOBA	 SASKATCHEWAN

	GENERAL STATE RATE	 5%		  4%		  4%		  6.875%		  6%		  8%	 (2)	 5%	 (2)

	MAXIMUM LOCAL RATE	 3%		  2%		  3%		  1%		  1%

	PRODUCTS
	Motor Vehicles (sales or excise tax)	 5%		  3%		  4%		  6.5%				    8%		  5%	 (6)
	Natural Gas (sales or utility)			   4%	 (1)	 4%	 (3) (4)	 6.875%	 (5)	 6%		  8%	 (16)	 5%	 (46)
	Electricity			   4%		  4%	 (3) (4)	 6.875%	 (1) (5)	 6%		  8%	 (14) (16)	 5%	 (50)
	Coal				    4%		  4%	 (1)			   6%		  8%
	City and Rural Water							       6.875%	 (8)	 6%
	Newspapers (retail & subscription)			   4%								        8%
	Magazines (retail)	 5%		  4%		  4%		  6.875%		  6%		  8%
	Magazines (subscriptions)			   4%		  4%				    6%		  8%
	Bibles/Textbooks to Religious Groups			   4%			   (33)	  	 (15)	 6%		
	 Prescription Drugs
	Agricultural Supplies			   4%	 (7)	 4%	 (7)						      (41)		  (49)
	New Farm Machinery	 3%		  4%									         (41)
	Farm Machinery Parts					     4%							       (41)
	Alcoholic Beverages	 7%		  4%		  4%		  6.875% or 9.375%	 (12)	 6%		  8%			   (30)
	Money (gold & silver coins)									         6%		  8%	 (47)	 5%	 (47)
	Mobile Homes - - New	 3%		  3%		  4%	 (10)	 6.9		  5%	 (38)	 8%	 (17)		  (31)

	Mobile Homes - - Used			   3%					     (20)		  (42)	 8%	 (17)		  (42)
	Grocery Foods			   4%			   (34)
	Restaurant	 5%		  4%		  4%		  6.875%		  6%		  8%

	MISCELLANEOUS
	Hotel & Motel Accommodation Rental	 5%	 (18)	 4%		  4%		  6.875%		  5%	 (39)	 8%	 (18)	 5%
	Film Rental to Theaters & TV Stations					     4%	
	Film Rentals (other than to Theatres/TV)	 5%		  4%		  4%	 (45)	 6.875%		  6%		  8%		  5%
	State/Local Fairs/Admission							       6.875%						    
	 Inter-State Telephone							       6.875%				    8%		  5%
	Cable Television			   4%			   (21)	 6.875%		  6%		  8%		  5%
	Receipts from Vending Machines	 5%		  4%		  4%		  6.875%		  6%		  8%		
	Sales to Private and Parochial Schools					     4%	 (22)					     8%		  5%
	Sales to Hospitals			   4%	 (11)	 4%	 (22)	 6.875%	  (36) 			   8%	 (29)		  (43)
	Sales to Nursing Homes			   4%		  4%	 (22)	 6.875%	  (36) 	 6%		  8%	 (29)		  (43)

	 SERVICES  
  Number of Taxable Services (23)	 26		  143		  58		  66		  94		  N/A		  18
	Veterinary Services			   4%										          5%
	Financial Services			   4%	 (24)					     6%		  8%	 (9)
	Oil & Gas Field Services (non-materials)			   4%		  4%	 (32)
	Construction (non-materials)			   2%	 (25)							       8%	 (28)
	 Funeral Services			   4%
	Miscellaneous Personal Services			   4%	 (26)					     6%
	Transportation Services			   4%	 (19)	 4%	 (13)				  
	Lawn Care Services 			   4%				    6.875%		  6%
	Engineering, Architecture & Surveying			   4%								        8%	 (48)		  (44)
	Health Services
	Laundry & Dry Cleaning Service			   4%		  4%		  6.875%	 (37)	 6%		  8%		  5%
	Beauty and Barber Shops			   4%						      6%		  8%	 (40)
	Farm Machinery Repair					     4%				    6%			   (41)
	Automotive Repair			   4%		  4%				    6%		  8%		  5%
	Miscellaneous Repair			   4%		  4%				    6%		  8%		  5%
	Accounting, Auditing & Bookkeeping			   4%								        8%		  5%
	Business Services (consulting, etc.)			   4%							       (35)
	Legal Services			   4%								        8%		  5%

COMPENSATION TO RETAILERS	 Yes (27)	 Yes	 Yes	 No	 No	 Yes (27)	 Yes

				    (effective 1/1/15) 
	

Sales & Gross Receipts Tax Comparison of Surrounding States and Provinces
Rates in Effect October 1, 2014
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Sales & Gross Receipts Tax Comparison of Surrounding States and Provinces Footnotes
	 (1)	Exempt as a fuel for use as boiler fuel in the production of electricity.
	 (2)	Canada also levies a federal goods and services tax (GST) of 5% in addition to the general provincial sales tax (PST).
	 (3)	Exempt for agricultural use.
	 (4)	Exempt if used directly in manufacturing, processing, or agriculture.
	 (5)	Exempt for agricultural and industrial production of personal property and exempt for residential use during the winter months.
	 (6)	PST no longer applies to the sale of eligible used light vehicles on which PST has previously been paid in full.  These include cars, sport utilities, light vans and 

light trucks (one ton or less).
	 (7)	Exempt if feeds, seeds, roots, bulbs, small plants & fertilizer.
	 (8)	Residential water bills are exempt.
	 (9)	Effective July 15, 2012, sales tax applies on the following types of insurance contracts: property & casualty, group life, trip cancellation, baggage, and land title 

insurance. Sales tax does not apply to Autopac vehicle premiums or health, accident, sickness, and individual life insurance.
	(10)	 70% of price.
	(11)	Exempt if hospital is charitable or non-profit.
	(12)	 3.2 beer and any intoxicating liquor is taxed at 6.875% plus an additional 2.5% gross receipts tax, however grocery stores are not required to charge the 

additional 2.5% on 3.2 beer and wine coolers.
	(13)	 Intrastate passenger transportation services are taxable and interstate transportation of freight and passengers are exempt in Wyoming.
	(14)	Reduced rate for use in manufacturing, mining and oil well operators
	(15)	Textbooks required for a course of study are exempt.
	(16)	Exempt for domestic heating and for farm use.
	(17)	A point-of-sale exemption is available on the residential purchase of a mobile, modular or ready-to-move home.  Vendors will apply sales tax, at point of sale, at 

a rate of 4% of the basic selling prices (excluding furniture, appliances, etc.).
	(18)	Rooms rented by and for the same individual are exempt if rented for 30 consecutive days in North Dakota, or 31 consecutive days in Iowa. In Manitoba, hotels 

and motels rented for one continuous month or more are exempt, as well as rooms in a lodging/rooming/boarding house with accommodations for less than four 
tenants.

	(19)	Only passenger transportation is taxable in South Dakota.
	(20)	 65% of dealer's cost of new mobile homes for residential purposes is taxed at 6.875% (effective rate of 4.469%). Used homes for residential purposes are 

exempt.  New and used homes for non-residential purposes are taxed at 6.875% of sales price.
	(21)	Cable service itself is not enumerated as taxable by statute.  Rental of equipment (i.e. cable box, remotes, etc.), video on demand, and pay-per-view are taxable.
	(22)	Sales to schools, hospitals or nursing homes considered charitable or religious are exempt in Wyoming.
(23)		The number of taxable services in the study "Sales Taxation of Services". Federation of Tax Administrators, 2007
	(24)	Real estate commissions are taxable; other financial services are exempt.
	(25)	 2% on prime contract.
	(26)	Most membership fees are exempt.
	(27)	Maximum compensation to retailer in North Dakota is $93.75 per monthly return or 1.5% ($1,125 per year), and in Manitoba, $58 per return. Vendors with tax 

reported of greater than $3,000 in one period no longer receive compensation.
	(28)	Mechanical and/or Electrical (M&E) trades are considered to be working on tangible personal property (TPP). The RST on M&E work applies to the total 

selling price on all contracts or service/maintenance work. Other construction services are not taxable.
	(29)	Equipment and supplies designed solely for the use of physically disabled persons or chronic invalids, and drugs dispensed on the prescription of a medical 

practitioner are exempt in Manitoba.
	(30)	 10% liquor tax.
	(31)	New residential at 2.5% and new commercial at 5%.
	(32)	Oil and gas services rendered at the well site of an oil or gas well in the production casing phase are taxable.  Services rendered in the pre-production casing 

phase and associated with building the location are exempt.
	(33)	Purchases made by religious and charitable organizations for fund-raising purposes for the conduct of regular religious or charitable functions and activities and 

not in the course of any regular business are exempt from sales/use tax.
	(34)	Food for domestic home consumption is sales/use tax exempt while prepared food and foods sold through vending machines remains taxable.
	(35)	 Investment counseling is taxable at 6%.
	(36)	Sales to non-profit hospitals and nursing homes, as well as to local government hospitals and nursing homes, are exempt.
	(37)	Coin-operated washers and dryers exempt
	(38)	All taxable mobile homes or manufactured housing is subject to a 5% use tax in an amount equal to 20 percent of the mobile home's manufactured housing's 

purchase price (80 percent of the home's or housing's purchase price is exempt from use tax).
	(39)	 5% excise tax and if applicable an additional hotel/motel tax which cannot exceed 7% and must be imposed in increments of one or more full percentage points.
	(40)	Effective July 1, 2012, sales tax will apply on the following personal services: spa treatments, non-medical skin and nail services (such as manicures, pedicures 

and facials), tattooing, piercing, and hair services (including hair removal and augmentation, hairstyling, haircuts and barber services). Haircuts costing less than 
$50 will continue to be exempt from sales tax.

	(41)	Agricultural supplies, farm machinery and farm machinery repair parts can be purchased exempt by a farmer in Manitoba by completing a farm-use certificate.
	(42)	Only residential are exempt if tax was previously paid.
	(43)	Some exemptions apply.
	(44)	Only 30% of certain aspects of Engineering and Architecture are taxable.  Surveying is not taxable.
	(45)	Electronically delivered specific digital products, which includes digital audio-video works, digital audio works and digital books, where the customer does 

not receive permanent possession of the product are no longer subject to Wyoming sales tax.  However, these same products are taxable if the customer DOES 
receive permanent possession of the product.

	(46)	Natural gas only used to operate stationery internal combustion engines is taxable.
	(47)	Taxable if sold above face value.
	(48)	Engineering and architectural design services are taxable in Manitoba.  Surveying is exempt.
	(49)	Some supplies are exempt such as feed and seed, but other agricultural supplies are taxable.
	(50)	Residential use is exempt.
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CURRENT LAW
 
Imposition

The Unemployment Insurance Program provides 
temporary income for persons who have lost employment 
through no fault of their own while they search for new 
jobs.

The intent of the program is not only to protect an
unemployed worker's financial health, but also to help 
keep main street businesses and a community's economy 
stable during periods of high unemployment.

Unemployment Insurance taxes are paid by employers 
under two tax systems, federal and state.  Taxes are 
paid to the federal government under the Federal 
Unemployment Tax Act (FUTA).  These taxes are used to 
fund the administrative costs of the federal and state 
programs, to finance a variety of services provided 
through the network of state employment security 
agencies, and the federal costs associated with extended 
benefits.  All state premiums go into the North Dakota 
Unemployment Insurance Trust Fund.  The Trust Fund is 
used solely to pay unemployment insurance benefits to 
unemployed workers.

Employers subject to North Dakota 
Unemployment Compensation Law

•	 Any employer with one or more workers during  
20 different weeks in a calendar year or who has paid 
$1,500 or more in wages in a calendar quarter. 

•	 Any employer who acquires the business of another 
liable employer. 

•	 Any employer employing workers in North Dakota 
who is liable under the Federal Unemployment Tax Act 
(FUTA). 

•	 Political subdivisions and Indian tribes or business 
enterprises wholly owned by Indian tribes become 
liable immediately upon employing any non-excluded 
workers.

•	 Nonprofit organizations with 501(c)(3) income tax 
exemptions are liable if they employ four or more 
workers during 20 different weeks in a calendar year.

•	 Employers of agricultural labor are covered if they 
pay $20,000 or more in wages in a calendar quarter or 
employ ten or more workers in 20 different weeks in a 
calendar year.

•	 Employers of domestic labor in a private home, local 
college club, or local chapter of a college fraternity 
or sorority are covered if they pay $1,000 or more in 
wages in a calendar quarter.

Services Excluded From Coverage

Some types of employment are excluded from 
unemployment insurance taxes. The most notable 
exclusion is for services performed for a son, daughter, or 
spouse, or services performed by a child under age 18 for a 
parent while living in the parents' home.

This exclusion does not apply to corporations or certain 
limited liability companies (LLC). It applies to 
partnerships only if the worker has an exempting 
relationship with each partner.

Corporations and Limited Liability Companies

Corporate officers who perform services for the 
corporation and receive remuneration for that service 
are considered employees. The same applies to LLC 
managers if: 1) the LLC is treated as a corporation for 
federal income taxation or, 2) the manager(s) is not a 
member. Employers of certain corporate officers and 
certain covered LLC managers with 25% or more 
ownership interest may, with the concurrence of the officer 
or manager, apply to exclude the officer's or LLC 
manager's services from employment. The application to 
do so must be filed within 60 days of formation of the 
corporation/LLC, or in January of the year in which the 
exclusion is to begin.

Taxes

Employers pay the entire tax for both federal and state 
unemployment compensation taxes.  Tax rates are 
calculated each year and will vary based upon a 
variety of factors such as projected statewide benefits 
paid, projected income and the condition of the state's 
unemployment compensation trust fund.  

When an employer becomes liable for unemployment 
insurance, the employer is classified as a "new employer" 
and is assigned a new employer rate. Tax rates are 
re-determined for each calendar year based on the 
employer's history as of the preceding October.

Unemployment Insurance
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If, prior to October, "non-construction" employers have 
at least six quarters of coverage and "construction" 
employers have at least ten quarters of coverage, they are 
classified as "experience-rated employers" beginning 
the following calendar year.  Experience-rated 
employers are assigned rates based on their record of 
unemployment insurance taxes paid and benefits charged.

Employers who acquire an existing business may apply 
for the experience record of the previous owner. If the 
experience record is transferred, the new owner is also 
held accountable for any benefits paid to the previous 
owner's workers. In certain cases, such as those where 
common ownership, management or control exist, the 
transfer of the experience record may be mandatory.

Some entities, such as government, tribal or 501(c) (3)
organizations, have the option of financing benefits 
by reimbursement rather than the payment of taxes. 
Under this method, the employer reimburses the trust fund 
each quarter for all benefits paid to the employer's 
former workers. 

Wage Base

For federal tax purposes, the taxable wage base is the 
first $7,000 of each employee’s wages. For state tax 
purposes, the taxable wage base is 70% of the statewide 
average annual wage. For 2014, the North Dakota taxable 
wage base is $33,600.

Rates

Newly liable non-construction employers are assigned a 
tax rate equal to 90% of the maximum positive rate.  For 
2014 the new non-construction rate is 1.22%.

Newly liable construction employers are assigned a tax 
rate equal to the maximum negative rate.  For 2014 the 
new construction rate is 9.76%.

For other than newly liable employers, tax rates are 
determined by an experience-rating system which 
establishes the rate on the basis of the employer's 
experience with the unemployment insurance program.

Rate Schedules

To determine an employer’s rate schedule placement the 
employer's lifetime reserve and 6-year reserve balances 
are used.  

There are two tax rate schedules:
1.	 Positive Balance Schedule 

a. Employer has a positive lifetime reserve. Employer 	
	 tax contributions exceed employer benefits charged 
b. For 2014, rates for these employers range from 	
	 0.16% to 1.35%

2.	 Negative Balance Schedule 
a. Employer has a negative lifetime reserve. Employer 	
	 benefits charged exceed employer tax contributions 
b. For 2014, rates for these employers range from 	
	 6.16% to 9.76%

After being placed within the positive or negative rate 
schedule, the rate an employer is assigned within the 
respective schedule is determined on the basis of the 
relationship between the employer's last 6-year reserve 
balance and the employer’s 3-year average taxable payroll.

Payments

Liable employers must file Employer's Contribution and 
Wage Reports quarterly.  Reports must be completed 
and returned with the tax due by the end of the month 
following each calendar quarter. Reports and payments 
not submitted timely are subject to interest and penalty 
charges. 

State law requires employers with 25 or more employees 
to file quarterly reports electronically via a method 
approved by Job Service North Dakota, such as UI EASY 
at www.jobsnd.com.

Tax payments can be made through electronic funds 
transfer (EFT) via ACH Debit within the UI EASY 
system. ACH credit is also available. Payers making 
payments on behalf of another must make the payments 
electronically.

Benefits

To be eligible for unemployment benefits a claimant must:

•	 Have been separated from employment through no fault 
of their own or have had their hours reduced.

•	 Be able to work.
•	 Be available for work.
•	 Be actively seeking employment.

An unemployed worker may file a claim for benefits by 
either internet at www.jobsnd.com or by telephone at   
701-328-4995.

 If the claimant has sufficient work history and wage 
credits in their base period, a claim will be filed and the 
claimant’s most recent employer and all base period 
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employers are notified that a claim for benefits has been 
filed.   

In addition to the notification, employers will be asked for 
information relating to the separation from employment 
in order to assist in determining the eligibility of the 
claimant.

Unemployed workers filing claims may be disqualified for 
a variety of reasons such as: if they voluntarily quit their 
last employment without good cause attributable to the 
employer; were discharged for misconduct connected with 
their last work; failed to apply for or accept suitable work; 
lost employment due to participation in a labor dispute; or 
failed to disclose work and earnings during a period of 
claim filing.

Weekly Benefit Amount (WBA)

The WBA table is recalculated each year and is based upon 
the average statewide annual wage and a comparison of the 
North Dakota average tax rate to the national average tax 
rate.  The maximum WBA cannot exceed 65% of the 
average statewide weekly wage of all covered workers. 
The yearly calculated WBA table takes effect on all claims 
filed with an effective date on or after July 1 of each year. 

•	 The minimum WBA for the period July 6, 2014 through 
July 4, 2015 is $43. 

•	 The maximum WBA for the period July 6, 2014 through 
July 4, 2015 is $594.

Administration

Job Service North Dakota (JSND) administers the state’s 
unemployment insurance programs.  For further 
information write to Job Service North Dakota,
PO Box 5507, Bismarck, ND 58506-5507.  You can also 
contact the Unemployment Insurance Tax Unit of Job 
Service North Dakota through e-mail at jsuits@nd.gov or 
telephone at 701-328-2814. Or visit the website 
www.jobsnd.com.

HISTORICAL OVERVIEW

Significant Changes in Law

2005 session
•	 Provided that Job Service is to receive notice of 

school district dissolution and reorganization; and that 
reorganizing or dissolving districts are to set aside funds 

with the county auditor or the North Dakota School 
Boards Association to cover the amount calculated by 
JSND as potential liability for claims of the terminating 
school district.

•	 Ended the requirement to deduct a portion of Social        
Security retirement benefits from Unemployment 
Insurance weekly benefits, effective August 1, 2005.

•	 Amended current law to provide that base period 
employers' Unemployment Insurance accounts 
would not be charged if the claimant had quit or been 
discharged by that employer either during or after the 
base period.

•	 Amended subsection 1 of section 52-06-02 to provide 
that if a claimant left employment due to illness or 
injury and pursuant to a doctor's orders, with certain 
other prerequisites, the account of the separating 
employer is not to be charged with the benefits paid 
in that circumstance, UNLESS that employer is a 
reimbursing employer.

2007 session
•	 Enacted legislation requiring employers with more than 

99 employees to file contribution and wage reports via 
an electronic method approved by Job Service North 
Dakota. This section also requires payers making 
payments on behalf of more than one employer to make 
those payments electronically.

•	 Enacted legislation that provided for a minimum 
multiplier of 100% for all rates within the negative tax 
rate structure. The statute impacts negative balance 
employers (those whose benefit charges have exceeded 
their contributions). It does not allow these employers 
to share in the benefit of a reduction in tax rates made 
for the purpose of reducing the amount of money 
retained in the UI Trust Fund.

•	 Enacted legislation concerning the calculation of tax 
rates for positive balance employers. This law provides 
for the assignment of employers paying 60% of the 
wages within the lowest rate category. Also impacted 
were the calculations to determine the gap between the 
highest positive rate category and the lowest negative 
rate category as well as the calculation to determine the 
tax rates for new employers.

2009 session
•	 Amended subsection 2 of 52-04-11 of the North Dakota 

Century Code to increase penalties assessed due to 
late submission of wage and contribution reports. The 
minimum penalty was increased from $25 to $50. The 
maximum penalty for any single report was increased 
from $250 to $500. The minimum penalty was doubled 
for any subsequent delinquent reports that occur in the 
same calendar year.
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•	 Amended subsections 1 and 2 of 52-06-02 of the North 
Dakota Century Code to establish that wages used 
to overcome a monetary penalty associated with a 
disqualifying separation must be earned after the date 
of filing the claim in which the monetary penalty was 
assessed.

•	 Amended 52-04-01.1 of the North Dakota Century 
Code to require electronic filing of contribution wage 
reports for employers with more than 24 employees. 

2011 session
•	 Amended subdivision b of subsection 2 of section 

52-04-07 and subdivision j of subsection 1 of section 
52-06-02 of the North Dakota Century Code to provide 
eligibility for unemployment insurance benefits to 
individuals having to separate from employment when 
the separation from employment is directly attributable 
to domestic violence or sexual assault. 

2013 session
•	 Amended 52-06-33 to impose a monetary penalty upon 

individuals who provide a false statement in order to 
obtain unemployment insurance benefits.  The penalty 
amount is 15% of the overpaid benefit amount.  The 
monetary penalty created by this bill is a federally 
mandated requirement that was passed into law as 
part of the amendments made to the Trade Adjustment 
Assistance Extension Act of 2011 (TAAEA).  Failure to 
enact the minimum 15% penalty would result in North 

Dakota employers no longer being eligible to receive 
the 5.4% Federal Unemployment Tax Act (FUTA)  
tax credit.

•	 Amended subsection 2 of 52-04-12 to provide Job 
Service the ability to file liens through the Secretary of 
State’s office.  

•	 Amended subsection 3 of 52-04-07 to prohibit 
relieving employers from charges resulting from the 
improper payment of benefits to past employees when 
the employer is found to be at fault for the improper 
payment.  The prohibition on non-charging became 
effective October 21, 2013 as outlined in federal law.  
The prohibition on the relief of charges is a federally 
mandated requirement that was passed into law as 
part of the amendments made to the Trade Adjustment 
Assistance Extension Act of 2011 (TAAEA).  Failure 
to enact this requirement would result in North Dakota 
employers no longer being eligible to receive the 5.4% 
FUTA tax credit.

•	 Amended subsection 4 of 52-06-02 to identify employer 
lock outs as disqualifying events in the same manner as 
a strike or other labor dispute.

•	 Amended 52-01-03 to allow Job Service North 
Dakota to share certain information collected in the 
administration of the unemployment insurance program 
with the North Dakota attorney general for the purpose 
of monitoring individuals who are required to register 
as sexual offenders or offenders against children.

	 Average Employer Tax Rates
	 Calendar	 Percent of	 Percent of	 Tax
	 Year	 Total Wages	 Taxable Wages	 Revenue

	 2004	 0.88%	 1.63%	 57,502,415
	 2005	 0.82%	 1.51%	 57,096,849
	 2006	 0.73%	 1.35%	 55,035,648
	 2007	 0.65%	 1.19%	 52,373,337
	 2008	 0.53%	 0.99%	 47,470,370
	 2009	 0.58%	 1.05%	 52,245,056
	 2010		  0.78%	 1.42%	 77,761,246
	 2011		  0.76%	 1.40%	 90,040,301
	 2012		  0.69%	 1.29%	 101,612,013
	 2013		  0.67%	 1.17%	 106,499,527
	 2014	 est.	 0.69%	 1.19%	 121,829,000	

	 Calendar		  Benefit
	 Year			   Payments
	 2004			   38.3
	 2005			   38.5
	 2006			   40.2
	 2007			   43.1
	 2008			   47.3
	 2009			   96.5
	 2010			   78.2
	 2011			   66.4
	 2012			   66.1
	 2013			   99.8
	       2014 est.		  96.2

Average North Dakota Employer Tax Rate 
and Unemployment Insurance Tax Revenue

Unemployment 
Insurance Benefit 

Payments 
for a calendar year 

$ Millions

	 SOURCE:  Job Service North Dakota.
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CURRENT LAW

Imposition

The intent of the workers' compensation program is 
to take care of injured workers’ medical bills; provide 
wage-loss, impairment and rehabilitation payments; 
and in the case of death, provide monthly payments to 
spouses and dependents.  A properly insured employer 
is immune from lawsuits for an on-the-job injury of 
an employee.  Employers must include all employees, 
except those specifically exempted by law, in the workers’ 
compensation insurance program.  Exclusions include 
farm and ranch workers, domestic workers, clergy, 
federal employees, railroad employees, newspaper 
delivery people, and real estate brokers and salespeople 
who operate under a signed contract as an independent 
contractor.  Coverage is optional for employers, resident 
family members under the age of 22, the spouse of an 
employer, and self-employed individuals.

Premiums 

In North Dakota, workers’ compensation insurance is 
financed through premiums paid by employers. These 
premiums are among the lowest in the nation.  Premiums 
for each employer are calculated using payrolls, industry-
based premium rates, and loss history.  Employers report 
their payroll to Workforce Safety & Insurance (WSI) 
on an annual basis, according to the effective date on 
the employer's account.  The amount of payroll used to 
calculate the premium for each worker is limited to 70% 
of the state's average annual wage.  This "wage cap" was 
$33,600 as of July 1, 2014.  Premium rates are set for 142 
industry classifications based on industry loss experience.  
Premium costs up to the cap per employee range from 37 
cents per $100 of payroll for radio and television workers, 
banks, Savings and Loans and credit unions to $45.32 per 
$100 of payroll for caisson workers, which is the highest 
classification.

There are several new safety initiatives that North Dakota 
employers can utilize to help offset the potential loss of 
premium dividends.  "Putting Safety to Work" programs 
reduce the number of claims and result in lower premiums.  
These programs can reduce a qualifying employer's 
premiums by up to 25%.  Employers who successfully 
take part in WSI's "Safety Management Program" can 

receive a discount of 10% off their premiums.  In addition, 
employers can also receive an additional 15% premium 
reduction by choosing to participate in a variety of safety 
"menu items" that can each provide 5% discounts up to a 
maximum of 15%.  Those menu items include: 1) Drug 
Free Workplace Program, 2) Safety Committee Program, 
3) Certified Safety Management Program, 4) Learning 
Management System (LMS), 5) Safe Driving Program 
and 6) Safe Lift Program.  In addition, through the Safety 
Training & Education Program (STEP), qualifying North 
Dakota associations and employee organizations can 
receive financial assistance to promote safety training 
and education.  STEP grants are available to qualifying 
associations and organizations in amounts ranging from 
$5,000 to $150,000.  Information about the safety discount 
programs and STEP grant programs are available on the 
WSI web site http://www.WorkforceSafety.com.  Certain 
conditions and qualifications pertain to all the safety 
discounts and grants.  Employers can also call WSI at 
1-800-777-5033 for more information.

Benefits

An injured worker is responsible for filing a claim.  They 
must do so within one year of the date of the injury to be 
eligible to receive disability benefits for the time they are 
unable to work because of the injury and medical benefits 
for the life of the injury.  Any injury/disability must be 
substantiated by medical evidence.  An injured worker's 
medical treatment is monitored through a managed 
care program and is subject to a medical fee schedule. 
WSI reimburses the injured worker for "reasonable and 
necessary" medical treatment.  Wage-loss benefits for a 
worker disabled for at least five days are based on 66.67% 
of the worker’s gross weekly wage, not to exceed 125% 
of the state’s average weekly wage. On July 1, 2014 the 
state’s maximum weekly benefit was $1,143.  Additional 
weekly allowances of $15 are paid on each child under 
age 18 or incapable of self-support, or age 18 to 22 if a 
full-time student.  Workers with medical restrictions are 
evaluated through a workability assessment to determine 
ability to return to work and eligibility for rehabilitation 
benefits, which may include formalized training.  Workers 
who suffer permanent loss of use of a body part may 
qualify for a lump sum "permanent partial impairment" 
payment.  WSI pays death benefits to the survivors of 
workers killed in work-related accidents.  Benefits are paid 
to the eligible spouse of the dependents of the deceased 
worker at a rate of two-thirds of a deceased worker's 

Workforce Safety and Insurance
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gross weekly wage, up to 125% of the state's average 
weekly wage.  They will also be paid $15 per week for 
each dependent child.  Additionally, the surviving spouse 
receives a one-time death benefit of $2,500, plus $800 for 
each dependent child. There are also scholarships available 
for dependents and spouses.  WSI pays all medical bills 
related to the compensable injury and death of a worker, 
including up to $10,000 for funeral expenses.  Total 
benefits may not exceed $300,000 over the lifetime of a 
claim.

Dispute Resolution

The Decision Review Office (DRO) helps workers and 
employers on claims issues and serves as a litigation 
alternative.  Injured workers may appeal WSI decisions 
of benefit claims by requesting an administrative hearing.  
Subsequent appeals may be made to District Court and 
then on to the Supreme Court.  WSI pays the injured 
worker's attorney fees only if the worker wins the appeal 
and only if the worker sought assistance from the Decision 
Review Office before appealing. Additionally, injured 
workers may elect to have an attorney of their choice 
review their claim upon completion of their Decision 
Review Office process.  Reimbursement is available for 
attorney fees and costs related to this review.  Attorney 
fees are capped at $500 and costs are capped at $150.

Fraud

A Special Investigations Unit within WSI investigates 
workers, employers, and medical providers suspected 
of committing fraud.  Anonymous tips about suspected 
fraud can be made through a toll-free telephone number, 
1-800-243-3331 or by completing a form through the WSI 
web site at www.WorkforceSafety.com.

Administration

WSI administers the state’s workers compensation 
program.  For more information on Workforce Safety & 
Insurance, write to Workforce Safety & Insurance, 1600 
East Century Avenue, Suite 1, Bismarck, ND 58503 
0649, call 701-328-3800, or 1-800-777-5033.  Or visit the 
website at www.WorkforceSafety.com.

HISTORICAL OVERVIEW

Significant Changes in Law

1991 Session
•	 The legislature created binding arbitration as an 

alternative dispute resolution process, mandated 
a managed care program and use of a third party 
administrator to monitor injured workers' medical 
care, and mandated that North Dakota Workers' 
Compensation (NDWC) adopt a hospital and medical 
fee schedule. 

•	 Employers were required to reimburse NDWC up to the 
first $250 of medical expenses for each claim.  

•	 The wage base for computing the premium was changed 
from $3,600 to 70% of the state’s average annual wage.

1993 Session 
•	 The legislature created a system of binding dispute 

resolution for disputes arising out of NDWC's managed 
care program.  

•	 The legislature approved a risk management program 
which allowed employers a 5% discount on annual 
premiums if they designed and implemented a NDWC 
approved safety program.  

•	 Suspension of benefits was allowed if an employee 
applied for benefits in another state for the same injury.  

•	 An “other states” coverage program was established 
regarding payments of benefits to North Dakota-covered 
workers whose injury, disease, or death occurred in 
another state.  

1995 Session
•	 Workers were required to report injuries to their 

employers within seven days.  
•	 NDWC was allowed to use failure to report an injury as 

a factor in determining claims.  
•	 Employers with approved risk management programs 

were allowed to choose medical providers.  If a worker 
wants to choose the provider, the worker must notify the 
employer in writing before an injury occurs.  

•	 The legislature revoked wage-loss and rehabilitation 
benefits for workers who do not comply with 
rehabilitation plans.  

•	 Wage-loss benefits were stopped when injured workers 
become eligible for Social Security Retirement benefits.  

•	 Permanent Partial Impairment (PPI) compensation 
was limited to workers with over 15% whole body 
impairments.  

•	 A workers' adviser program was set up to serve as 
a litigation alternative and to help injured workers' 
compensation process.  
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•	 NDWC was authorized to set up a special fraud unit.  
Fraud involving over $500 was changed from a class A 
misdemeanor to a class C felony.  Attorney fees may no 
longer exceed 20% of the amount a claimant receives 
nor may they be paid by NDWC if the claimant loses.

1996 Referred and Initiated Measures 
•	 Voters in the June 1996 primary election upheld the 

changes made by the 1995 legislature.

1997 Session 
•	 The 1997 legislature changed the law to increase certain 

benefits, streamline claims processes, enhance system 
efficiency, further restrict the potential for fraud, reduce 
litigation and adjust earlier reforms.  

•	 The legislature also placed NDWC within the oversight 
of a board of directors made up of NDWC constituents 
appointed by the Governor.  NDWC continues to be 
managed by an executive director who reports directly 
to the board.  This law also mandated that independent, 
qualitative performance audits be conducted by 
workers' compensation industry experts every two years 
with the results being presented to the legislature. 

1999 Session 
•	 The 1999 legislature substantially increased cash 

benefits for the severely impaired, increased the 
maximum disability benefit (making North Dakota's 
maximum benefit rate one of the highest in the country), 
shortened the eligibility period for supplemental 
benefits, and increased the size of scholarships available 
to dependents of workplace fatality victims.  

•	 Another major piece of 1999 legislation provides 
authority for NDWC to issue grants to high risk 
industries for prevention of workplace accidents.  

•	 Additionally, the bill allows NDWC to offer dividends, 
deductibles, group insurance and other products that 
give employers direct financial incentives for protecting 
the safety of their workers.

2001 Session 
•	 Authorized the construction of a new building in north 

Bismarck to house NDWC and required NDWC to 
include rental space for other state agencies.  

•	 Provided incentives for employers to hire previously 
injured workers in positions that will accommodate 
the worker's restrictions resulting from a work injury 
(the program was subsequently named, "The Preferred 
Worker Program”).  

•	 2001 legislation also prohibited an employer from 
requiring an employee to use accrued personal leave for 
time off work for a work-related disability; increased 
awards for certain impairment; provided that an 
employee may be found guilty of fraud for making false 
statements to get a claim or benefit paid; and repealed 

the sunset clause on the scholarship fund for children of 
workers killed on the job.

2003 Session 
•	 Legislation changed the organization's name to 

Workforce Safety & Insurance (WSI); increased 
lifetime death benefits from $197,000 to $250,000; and 
allowed for the limited release of information on the 
status of an employer's account.  

•	 Legislation also changed the make-up of the WSI Board 
of Directors, shortened the terms from 6 to 4 years and 
made the medical member a voting member and added 
an at-large member.  

•	 Other legislative changes included removing the 
re-marriage penalty for death benefit recipients; and 
increasing the amount of money to $50,000 for WSI 
to spend on home and vehicle modifications for the 
catastrophically injured.

2005 Session 
•	 Legislation provided additional safety incentives and 

established continuing appropriation authority to fund 
safety education, grant and incentive programs from the 
fund's surplus.  

•	 Also, provided employers an incentive for early claim 
filing by waiving the first $250 of medical costs if 
the claim is filed by midnight on the following WSI 
business day; dedicated $15 million of WSI's fund 
surplus to establish an educational revolving loan fund 
to help injured workers take out college loans for an 
approved education plan when they don't qualify for a 
WSI vocational retraining program.  

•	 Legislation also increased the amount of the non-
dependency death benefit from $2,000 to 5% of the 
cap on death benefits ($12,500), the cap is currently 
$250,000; provides the option for an injured worker to 
choose to pursue a retraining program or opt for up to 
five years of partial disability benefits.

•	 In addition, legislation changed the definition of what 
constitutes when a worker is declared to be Permanently 
and Totally Disabled, thus, moving from a subjective 
definition to an objective standard in the law.  

•	 Legislative changes increased the maximum dollar 
amount for Guardian Scholarships from $3,000 to 
$4,000 per year for up to 5 years for spouses and 
dependent children of a worker who died as a result of 
a compensable work-related injury, and increased the 
maximum amount of scholarships that can be awarded 
annually from $150,000 to $300,000.

2007 Session
•	 Legislation provided funds for the purchase or 

adaptation of specially equipped motor vehicles for the 
catastrophically injured, not to exceed $100,000 for 
the life of the claim; provided an alternative Additional 
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Benefit Payable (ABP) calculation for a select group 
of permanent total disability recipients whose injuries 
occurred prior to August 1, 1995.  

•	 Legislation expanded the population that is potentially 
eligible for death benefits to include the surviving 
spouse of the catastrophically injured if the disability 
has continued until the time of death; the death occurs 
more than six years after the date of the injury and the 
death was the direct result of the work injury.

•	 Also, expanded the eligibility pool of WSI’s revolving 
loan fund to include surviving spouses and dependent 
children of an injured worker whose death resulted from 
a compensable injury and sets a maximum interest rate 
of 1% below the Bank of North Dakota’s prime interest 
rate.

•	 Legislation shortened the period for supplementary 
benefit eligibility from 7 years to 3 years for Permanent 
Total Disability claims subject to 2005 HB 1171 
(Claims filed after December 31, 2005); and clarified 
the definition of Permanent Partial Impairment Awards 
to attempt to prohibit an offset by Social Security and 
makes the award schedule based on a multiplier amount 
rather than weeks. 

•	 An annual lump-sum inflationary adjustment was 
provided for long-term temporary partial disability 
cases.

•	 Legislation also provided that a coordinating 
committee appointed by the Governor and composed 
of representatives of business associations would 
submit a list of three potential candidates for the six 
employer Board positions when there are vacancies.  
The Governor may reject the list of three candidates 
names.  Board members may serve no more than two 
consecutive four-year terms.

•	 Other legislative changes were passed that allowed 
WSI to reveal those employers who are in a delinquent 
or uninsured status; replaced the existing 75% 
experience rate surcharge cap with an unlimited cap; 
and clarified language to accommodate the move from 
documentation-based to results-based risk management 
programs.

2009 Session
•	 Raised the maximum disability benefit from 110% to 

125% of the state's average weekly wage (SAWW).
•	 Increased the lifetime death benefit cap from $250,000 

to $300,000; burial expenses increased from $6,500 to 
$10,000, one-time payments for spouse and dependent 
children increased from $1,200 to $2,500 for spouses 
and from $400 to $800 per dependent child.

•	 Raised the child dependency allowance from $10 to  
$15 per week per child.

•	 Shortened the waiting period for eligible injured 
workers of supplementary benefits (COLAs) for  

pre-1/1/2006 total disability claims from 7 to 3 years.
•	 Provided injured workers payment for "artificial 

members" such as eyeglasses, contact lenses, dental 
braces and orthopedic braces if an injury occurs and 
damages those prescriptive devices.

•	 Allowed WSI to extend an additional 20 weeks to the 
current 104-week limit for those injured workers in 
vocational retraining programs.

•	 Expanded the categories for injured workers within 
the vocational rehabilitation hierarchy that would be 
eligible for up to two months of job search benefits.

•	 Added a permanent partial impairment schedule award 
for the partial loss of an injured worker's eyesight.

•	 Provided an injured worker with attorney fees and costs 
for a review of their claim after successfully completing 
their review at the newly named Decision Review 
Office (formerly the Office of Independent Review).  
Attorney fees are capped at $500 and costs are capped 
at $150.

•	 Transparency in grant program—allowed for disclosure 
of employer grant information and reporting of grant 
information.

•	 Established parameters for when the reserves and 
surpluses fall outside of the 120%-140% range.

•	 Established that premium rates will be determined 
actuarially.

•	 The selected statewide average premium rate level 
change may not deviate by more than 5 percentage 
points from the statewide actuarial indicated rate.

•	 Changed the WSI Office of Independent Review (OIR) 
to Decision Review Office (DRO).

•	 Provided that a surviving spouse would be eligible to 
receive, for up to 6 months, a decedent's permanent total 
disability, supplementary or additional benefits payable 
benefits if the injured employee was permanently and 
totally disabled for at least 10 years and was married to 
the surviving spouse for at least 10 years and provided 
WSI approved home health care for the decedent.

•	 Required the WSI Board to make formal 
recommendations to the Governor regarding premium 
rates, dividends, investment allocations, and legislation.

•	 Allowed an injured worker to request a change in 
medical providers after 30 days instead of 60 days from 
date of injury.

2011 Session
• 	 Expands eligibility for the scholarship program to 

include spouses and children of the catastrophically 
injured and to include those who have successfully 
completed a retraining program.

• 	 Increases the annual cap that the organization can award 
in scholarships from $300,000 to $500,000.

• 	 Increases the maximum scholarship amount payable per 
applicant from $4,000 per year to $10,000 per year.
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Maximum Per Employee Charge

			   Iron or Steel
	 Year	 Clerical	 Construction
	 2004	 62.90	 3,984.90
	 2005	 75.66	 4,386.34
	 2006	 89.32	 4,624.34
	 2007	 95.85	 4,076.82
	 2008	 112.71	 3,940.43
	 2009	 111.39	 3,455.46
	 2010	 116.09	 3,131.96
	 2011	 117.30	 2,700.45
	 2012	 128.34	 2,603.07
	 2013	 130.38	 2,404.80
	 2014	 124.32	 2,543.52

SOURCE:  Workforce Safety & Insurance.

• 	 Expands eligibility for the educational revolving 
loan fund to include spouses and children of the 
catastrophically injured and to include spouses and 
children of those deemed permanently and totally 
disabled.

• 	 Allows for the establishment of a vocational 
rehabilitation grant program to provide grants to 
organizations assisting injured workers with skill 
upgrades and educational opportunities.

•	  Limits total grant awards to no more than $100,000 per 
year.

• 	 Provides up to two years of benefits for those workers 
injured within two years of their presumed retirement 
date.

•	 Reduces the threshold for percentage of whole 
body impairment to qualify for a Permanent Partial 
Impairment (PPI) award from 16% to 14%.

•	 Increases permanent partial impairment awards 
(multipliers) within the 14% through 25% impairment 
levels.

• 	 Increases PPI benefit rate from 33.33% to 35% of 
State’s Average Weekly Wage (SAWW).

• 	 Requires the independent performance evaluation 
conducted by workers’ compensation industry experts 
to be conducted every four years rather than every two 
years. 

• 	 Provides for background checks for certain, potential 
WSI employees and contractors who may have access 
to confidential information.

• 	 Increases the maximum amount payable for real estate 
modifications from $50,000 to $75,000.

2013 Session
• 	 Allows WSI to consider federal wages when 

determining the average weekly wage of a National 
Guard member injured while serving on state active 
duty. 

• 	 Enables WSI to consider non-covered wages 
received post-injury by an injured worker when WSI 
is determining vocational rehabilitation options or 
entitlement to disability benefits. 

• 	 Allows WSI to recoup any benefits paid should a person 
seeking benefits because of the death of an employee 
receive benefits from another state for the same injury. 

• 	 Provides for a discontinuation of benefits for those 
incarcerated in excess of 180 consecutive days and a 
suspension of benefits for those incarcerated between 3 
and 180 days. 

• 	 Provides for the advance collection of premiums from 
accounts with a higher risk of default. 

• 	 Increases penalties for noncomplying employers. 
• 	 Provides for the recovery of delinquent premiums, 

penalties, and interest from compensation payments in 

the event the injured worker was also the employer in 
default. 

• 	 Clarifies the determination of benefits and premiums for 
emergency volunteer health practitioners.

• 	 Increases the maximum amount payable for vehicles 
and vehicle adaptation expenses from $100,000  
to $150,000.

North Dakota Workers 
Compensation Premiums

Example of low (clerical)  
& High (iron or Steel construction)
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SOURCE:  Workforce Safety & Insurance

$0

$50

$100

$150

$200

$250

$300

$350

2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013

$88.6 $96.8 $108.4 $121.6 $128.1 $143 $160.7 $153.7 $191.8 $255.9 $316.5

$0

$100

$200

$300

$400

$500

2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013

$337.4 $403.7 $421.0 $428.8 $466.8 $386.0 $265.5 $336.2 $191.8 $374.6 $354.8

Earned Premium
Workforce Safety & Insurance

Workforce Safety & Insurance Fund Surplus

Fiscal 
Year

Fiscal 
Year



132 ND Office of 
State Tax Commissioner

	 Rank	 State	 Index Rate
	 1	 California 	 3.48%
	 2	 Connecticut 	 2.87%
	 3	 New Jersey 	 2.82%
	 4	 New York  	 2.75%
	 5	 Alaska 	 2.68%
	 6	 Oklahoma 	 2.55%
	 7	 Illinois 	 2.35%
	 8	 Vermont 	 2.33%
	 9	 Delaware  	 2.31%
	 10	 Louisiana 	 2.23%
	 11	 Montana 	 2.21%
	 12	 New Hampshire 	 2.18%
	 13	 Maine  	 2.15%
	 14	 Idaho 	 2.01%
	 17	 Washington  	 2.00%
	 17	 South Carolina 	 2.00%
	 17	 Pennsylvania 	 2.00%
	 20	 New Mexico 	 1.99%
	 20	 Rhode Island 	 1.99%
	 20	 Minnesota 	 1.99%
	 21	 Missouri 	 1.98%
	 22	 Tennessee 	 1.95%
	 23	 Wisconsin 	 1.92%
	 24	 Iowa 	 1.88%
	 25	 South Dakota 	 1.86%
	 27	 Hawaii 	 1.85%
	 27	 North Carolina 	 1.85%
	 28	 Florida 	 1.82%
	 29	 Alabama 	 1.81%
	 30	 Nebraska 	 1.78%
	 31	 Wyoming  	 1.76%
	 32	 Georgia 	 1.75%
	 33	 Ohio 	 1.74%
	 34	 Michigan 	 1.68%
	 35	 Maryland 	 1.64%
	 36	 Texas 	 1.61%
	 37	 Arizona 	 1.60%
	 38	 Mississippi 	 1.59%
	 39	 Kansas 	 1.55%
	 40	 Kentucky 	 1.51%
	 41	 Colorado 	 1.50%
	 43	 West Virginia 	 1.37%
	 43	 Oregon 	 1.37%
	 45	 Utah 	 1.31%
	 45	 District of Columbia 	 1.31%
	 46	 Nevada 	 1.26%
	 48	 Massachusetts 	 1.17%
	 48	 Virginia 	 1.17%
	 49	 Arkansas 	 1.08%
	 50	 Indiana 	 1.06%
	 51	 North Dakota 	 0.88%

Notes: When two or more states' index rate values are the same, they are assigned the same ranking.  Index rates reflect 
adjustments for the characteristics of each individual state's residual market.  Rates vary by classification and insurer in each state, 
and actual cost to an employer can be adjusted by the employer's experience rating, premium discount, retrospective rating, and 
dividends.  Nevada's index rate dropped significantly since the 2010 study, due in part to inclusion of a payroll cap adjustment  
in 2014.

SOURCE:  Research and Analysis Section, Oregon Department of Consumer & Business Services 2014.

Workers' Compensation Premium Rate Per $100 of Payroll
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