Risk

From the Desk of
Risk Management’s
Director

Although you enjoy certain
protections as a state
employee, you can still be sued
for job-related actions or
decisions. The real question is
whether the lawsuit against you
will be successtul.

The North Dakota Legislature
has enacted several laws to
protect state employees from
job-related lawsuits. However,
in order for you to be protected
by these laws, you must follow
certain established procedures.
These procedures, and your
responsibilities, are explained in
this presentation. | encourage
all state employees to watch
this video.

Tag Anderson, Director
Risk Management Division
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Workers Compensation
Coverage for State Employees
Working Outside of North
Dakota for More Than 30 days.

As an employer, the state of North Dakota is
required to procure workers compensation
for employees working outside of the state of
North Dakota for more than 30 days. This
coverage must be in place at the time the
employee begins his or her duties. The Risk
Management Workers Compensation
Program coordinates the purchase of this
required coverage for all state agencies
through its broker. We currently have
workers compensation coverage in 30 states.

If you have employees domiciled and working
in states other than North Dakota who are not
currently covered, coverage that meets the
statutory workers compensation
requirements in the states where the
employees are working must be secured.

Ohio, Washington, West Virginia, Wyoming,
and Nevada are monopolistic states. Workers
compensation can only be purchased directly
from those states’ programs (not through an
insurance company). Risk Management will
complete the application forms to obtain
coverage for state employees working in these
states more than 30 days.

How to secure
coverage

Mission

The mission of the Risk
Management Division of the
Office of Management and
Budget is to protect the
assets of the state of North
Dakota — its people,
property and financial
resources — so that the state
can continue to meet its
obligations to its citizens.

Staff

® Tag Anderson: Director
701.328.7580
® Vicki Ableidinger: Claims Manager

701.328.7581

® Terry Milas: Loss Control Analyst
701.328.7582

® Diane Waliser: Manager, RMWCP
701.328.7583

® Dawn Moen: Admin Staff Officer

701.328.7584
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http://www.nd.gov/risk/workers-comp/outofstate.pdf
mms://video.ndhealth.gov/health/20090120OMB.wmv
http://www.nd.gov/risk/files/forms/outofstate.pdf

IMPORTANT IMPORTANT IMPORTANT IMPORTANT
Annual Payroll Reports Due by July 31°°

Annual Payroll Reports are due by July 31st. To expedite the receipt of your payroll
report you are encouraged to utilize Workforce Safety & Insurance’s online service. To
submit your payroll online, log onto www.WorkforceSafety.com, Online Services
section, Payroll Reporting. Online reporting is efficient and confidential. Payroll
information can be entered online or electronically submitted by attaching an Excel or
Text File. If you are not using the online service remember to send this report directly
to WSI.

A couple of things you may want to remember when reporting payroll:

@ If an employee only worked part of the reporting period and is no
longer employed by that agency, all wages earned at the agency by that
employee must still be reported.

@ In an employee changed positions within an agency during the
reporting period, report each wage under the proper classification-total
wages will be capped.

@ |If you do not know your access (log-in) code, call Workforce Safety &
Insurance at 328-3800.

@® Make sure that the wages reported for an individual agency are only the
wages for that agency — do not report wages earned from a different
agency by transferring employee.

@ This is not the appropriate place to report wages for employees
permanently working outside the state of North Dakota.

If you have any questions, feel free to Diane Waliser at 701-328-7583 or WSI’s
Customer Service at 1-800-777-5033.

Boards and Commissions

If a board member just receives per If a board member receives
diem or mileage, etc. — this is not any type of wages or fee for
ordinarily considered taxable and is attending board meetings-
not reportable to WSI for workers’ then workers’ compensation
compensation purposes —coverage is coverage is mandatory and
optional and these individuals are should be reported as
treated volunteers. employee wages.



Vehicle Accidents: Who Pays. . .
Could It Be Me?

State Vehicles: Authorized Use Must Be Necessary To State Business

The operation of vehicles on State business is addressed and regulated by various
statutory provisions, including the Tort Claims Acts, as well as the State Fleet Services
Policy Manual. If an agency develops and adopts its own policy regarding vehicle use, the
policy must be equal to or more stringent than the provisions in state law and through
State Fleet.

When considering coverage: do you and other state employees know who is eligible to
operate or ride in a vehicle; or know what is considered authorized or unauthorized use
of a State vehicle? Answers to these questions and others can be found in Risk
Management'’s Frequently Asked Questions regarding Vehicle Coverage.

Because of the potential financial implications to both the State (including the individual
agency) and the employee personally, it is important to share these FAQs and train all
employees on the proper use of vehicles on State business.

Remember the old saying that “if you don’t like the weather in North Dakota, wait
five minutes, it will change.” With the weather patterns we have this past year we
could have a new motto to reflect that fact that “if you want inclement weather
come to North Dakota.”

With this in mind it is important to remember, having plans in place for dealing
with natural disasters as well as fire emergencies, and man-made disasters is
critically important to preventing the loss of life and controlling injury to people
and damage to property.

Each plan should be periodically communicated to all employees. All personnel
should know exactly what to do in the event of an emergency because time counts —
and you may only have seconds.

. The plan should be updated whenever changes make it necessary and should be
tested by actual drills.

The ultimate determination of how to handle emergency situations must be made by
the individual responsible for the threatened facility.

The steps for establishing each kind of plan are outlined in the Risk Management
Manual http://www.nd.gov/risk/publications/docs/chap4.pdf.

0



http://www.nd.gov/risk/alert/doc/FAQs-Vehicle%20Coverage%202009.pdf
http://www.nd.gov/risk/files/FAQs-Vehicle_Coverage_2009.pdf
http://www.nd.gov/risk/files/manual/ND-RM-Manual_chapter-04.pdf

WSI Safety Grant & Discount Programs

And the Risk Management Workers Compensation Program (RMWCP)

The 2001 Legislation established a single workers
compensation account for all state entities referred
to as the Risk Management Workers
Compensation Program (RMWCP). The Risk
Management Division (RMD) of the Office of
Management and Budget (OMB) administers this
program. For coverage periods beginning July 1,
2001, RMD entered into deductible contracts with
WSI for 143 consolidated state agency accounts.
The deductible amount selected was $100,000 per
claim. Under the deductible program, certain
grant programs are not open to the State account.

The Risk Management Workers Compensation
Program was eligible to apply for grants through
the Workplace Injury Reduction Challenge
(WIRC) program. Unfortunately, as of June 30,
2009, Workforce Safety & Insurance (WSI) will
no longer accept new applications for its WIRC |
and Il safety grant program.
http://www.workforcesafety.com/library/documen
ts/other/WIRCSuspend.pdf

A proposal that was submitted to the Risk
Management Division for a possible grant
submission to WSI, was for a statewide Online
Self Inspection Survey to be developed and
administered by the Risk Management Division.

The recommended online inspection survey would
be designed with the end user in mind. It would
show areas where safety is lacking and help
develop a plan of action. This would hopefully
reduce an agency’s liability. In addition the state
entity would receive a discount for completing the
survey, which would reduce the cost of premiums.

Claims histories have always given the Risk
Management Division guidance on liabilities that
threaten state facilities. But this survey would

establish trends from the agency’s own
perspective. The manner is which the agency
could utilize the information obtained from the
online self-inspection survey would only be
limited by the agency’s own imagination. Some
uses may include:

B Generating work orders from survey data.

B Survey data can be used to help budget
maintenance expenditures.

B An honest and accurate survey will
identify needed changes, record the
problems, and eliminate the most
hazardous problems in order of priority,

B The survey findings validate commonly
known conditions, detail current needs and
allow for open discussion to gain
resolution.

Although WSI is no longer accepting applications
under the WIRC program, the Risk Management
Division would like your comments on the above
recommended proposal. Please email your
comments regarding the Online Self-Inspection
Survey proposal to drwaliser@nd.gov.

If the majority of state agencies find this Online

Self Inspection Survey a useful loss control tool,
the Risk Management Division will pursue other
funding options.
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http://www.workforcesafety.com/library/documents/other/WIRCSuspend.pdf



