STATE OF NORTH DAKOTA

BEFORE THE INSURANCE COMMISSIONER

In the Matter of )
) ORDER REVOKING LICENSE
Hether Haefner, )
NPN 17223923, ) CASE NO. AG-16-617
)
Respondent. )

TO: Hether Haefner, 3001 Ohio Street, #10, Bismarck, ND 58503

Insurance Commissioner Adam Hamm (hereinafter “Commissioner”) has
determined as follows:

1. The Commissioner has authority in this matter pursuant to N.D.C.C. §
26.1-26-15, which states:

License requirement - Character. An applicant for
any license under this chapter must be deemed by the
commissioner to be competent, trustworthy, financially
responsible, and of good personal and business reputation.

2. Hether Haefner, NPN 17223923 (hereinafter “Respondent”), holds a North
Dakota resident insurance producer license issued under N.D.C.C. ch. 26.1-26.
Respondent has been licensed since March 24, 2014.

3. N.D.C.C. § 26.1-26-42 states, in part:

26.1-26-42. License suspension, revocation, or
refusal — Grounds. The commissioner may suspend,
revoke, place on probation, or refuse to continue or refuse to
issue any license issued under this chapter if, after notice to

the licensee and hearing, the commissioner finds as to the
licensee any of the following conditions:
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12.  Aviolation of or noncompliance with any
insurance laws of this state or a violation of or
noncompliance with any lawful rules or orders
of the commissioner or of a commissioner of
another state.

4. Respondent applied for a North Dakota resident insurance producer
license on or about February 12, 2014. A background investigation revealed there were
five outstanding judgments against Respondent that totaled approximately $3,526.80.

5. Based on Respondent’s outstanding judgments, the Commissioner
determined that Respondent would be offered the opportunity to agree to a conditional
license. On March 20, 2014, a Conditional License Agreement was mailed to

Respondent stating, in part:

Notwithstanding the misrepresentation on your application
and your financial history, the Department will agree to offer
you a conditional license. In consideration of your execution
of this agreement and in consideration of the Department
agreeing not to deny a license to you, the Department will
issue a resident individual insurance producer license with
the following conditions:

1. You agree to the issuance of a conditional
license with a probationary period to run 24
months, plus 61 days from the date of issuance
of the conditional license.

a. After expiration of 24 months, the
license will remain conditional for 61
days, allowing the Department to check
court records and determine whether
you completed probation successfully;
and

b. If, at the end of the probationary period

plus 61 days, there is no cause to
terminate the license and you have fully
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complied with all the terms of this
agreement you will be issued an
unrestricted license.

You agree, that during the time of this
probation and at all times after, you will fully
comply with all the laws of the state, all lawful
orders of the Insurance Commissioner, all the
terms of this agreement and the terms of any
other agreement you enter with the
Commissioner.

You agree, during the time of the probation,
you shall report to the Department within three
business days after an action to collect money
or a criminal charge is filed, any further
collection action, criminal charge, or criminal
conviction in any jurisdiction except for minor
traffic offenses.

You may not handle funds in any insurance-
related employment. During the time of your
probation, you must notify the Department
within three business days if you leave your
current employment.

You must notify the Department within three
business days of any checks you write that are
returned for insufficient funds, whether or not it
results in a criminal charge.

You agree that all monetary judgments against
you must be paid in full by the end of the
probationary period before an unrestricted
license will be issued.

You agree that prior to the end of this
probationary period you must submit to the
sole satisfaction of the Commissioner
documentation that establishes all judgments
against you have been satisfied.

You agree that without notice, issuance of a
complaint or a hearing, the Department may
revoke, suspend, or take such further action
against the license as may be deemed



necessary, and in the sole discretion of the
commissioner, if:

a. The Department learns that you have
violated any of the terms of this
agreement;

b. The Department receives information

that you have had a collection action
initiated against you or you have been
charged with a crime or convicted of a
crime at any time which resulted from a
charge that was filed during the
probationary period; or

C. The Department receives a complaint
from any source against you and after
investigation of the merits of the charge,
conviction, or complaint and after you
have been afforded the opportunity to
respond in writing, and after review of
other factual information necessary, in
the sole discretion of the Commissioner,
the Commissioner concludes that you
violated the laws of the State of North
Dakota or used fraudulent, coercive, or
dishonest practices or are incompetent,
untrustworthy, or financially
irresponsible. By entering into this
agreement, you agree that the
Department’s analysis and final decision
regarding the merits of any allegations
made is final and you agree to hereby
waive any right you may have to appeal
or otherwise contest this decision.

Respondent returned the letter with her notarized signature agreeing to the conditions
set out in the Conditional License Agreement on or about March 24, 2014. The
Commissioner issued a license to Respondent on March 24, 2014. A copy of the

signed agreement is attached to this Order as Exhibit 1.
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6. On or about March 24, 2016, the Department began a review of
Respondent’s licensing file and the Conditional License Agreement in order to confirm
that Respondent had complied with all the conditions. Respondent agreed by signing
the Conditional License Agreement that she would have all monetary judgments paid in
full by the end of the probationary period before an unrestricted license will be issued
and provide documentation that establishes all judgments have been satisfied. A
search of court records showed that Respondent currently has $2,993.18 in outstanding
judgments which is in violation of the Conditional License Agreement. The search of
court records also revealed that Respondent had four criminal convictions that she
failed to report to the Department within three business days after the criminal charge
was filed in violation of the Conditional License Agreement.

7. Respondent also agreed by signing the Conditional License Agreement
that the Department may revoke her license if any of the terms of the agreement had
been violated. Respondent’s failure to have the outstanding judgments satisfied by the
end of the probationary period and her failure to report within three business days the
filing of any criminal charges are violations of the terms of the Conditional License
Agreement for which the Commissioner may revoke Respondent’s license.

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that Respondent having agreed
to revocation of her license if the judgments were not satisfied in full by the end of the
probationary period, and Respondent’s failure to report within three business days the
filing of any criminal charges; and the Commissioner having concluded that Respondent
violated the laws of the State of North Dakota and the terms of her Conditional License

Agreement; and in accordance with the terms of the Conditional License Agreement
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signed by Respondent, Respondent’s North Dakota resident insurance producer license

is hereby REVOKED.

This Order is effective this 1% day of April, 2016.

—

Adarfi Hamm
EOmmissioner
~North Dakota Insyrance Department
” 600 East Boulevard Avenue, Dept. 401
Bismarck, ND 38505
(701) 328-2440

Order Revoking License - Haefner 6



North Dakota

Insurance Department
Adam W. Hamm, Commissioner

March 20, 2014

Ms. Hether Haefner
3001 Ohio Street, #10
Bismarck, ND 58503

RE: Conditional License Agreement
Dear Ms. Haefner:

The North Dakota Insurance Department has recently concluded its evaluation of your
application received on February 12, 2014, for a resident individual insurance producer
license. In that application you answered “yes” to background question one regarding
whether you have ever been convicted of a crime and disclosed the required
information. You answered “no” to background question three regarding judgments and
a check of court records revealed that there are five outstanding judgments against you
that total approximately $3,526.80.

Your financial history and misrepresentation are grounds for denial of your application.
State law provides that the Commissioner may deny a license if an applicant has been
convicted of a felony or convicted of an offense determined by the Commissioner to
have a direct bearing upon a person's ability to serve the public as an insurance
producer. N.D.C.C. § 26.1-26-42(5). Providing a materially untrue statement on a
license application or attempting to acquire a license through a misrepresentation are
each grounds for denial of your application. N.D.C.C. § 26.1-26-42(1) and(2). In
addition, an applicant for an insurance producer license must be deemed by the
Commissioner to be competent, trustworthy, financially responsible, and of good
personal and business reputation. N.D.C.C. § 26.1-26-15. A violation of these laws is
subject to a civil fine of up to $10,000. N.D.C.C. § 26.1-26-50.

Notwithstanding the misrepresentation on your application and your financial history, the
Department will agree to offer you a conditional license. In consideration of your
execution of this agreement and in consideration of the Department agreeing not to
deny a license to you, the Department will issue a resident individual insurance
producer license with the following conditions:

600 E. Boulevard Ave., Bismarck, ND 58505 « (701) 328-2440 « Fax (701) 328-4880 ¢ insurance@nd.gov
Consumer hotline 1-800-247-0560 » Relay N.D. TTY 1-800-366-6888 » www.nd gov/ndins
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Ms. Hether Haefner
March 20, 2014
RE: Conditional License

p. 2

You agree to the issuance of a conditional license with a probationary
period to run 24 months, plus 61 days from the date of issuance of the
conditional license.

a. After expiration of 24 months, the license will remain conditional for
61 days, allowing the Department to check court records and
determine whether you completed probation successfully; and

b. If, at the end of the probationary period plus 61 days, there is no
cause to terminate the license and you have fully complied with all
the terms of this agreement you will be issued an unrestricted
license.

You agree, that during the time of this probation and at all times after, you
will fully comply with all the laws of the state, all lawful orders of the
Insurance Commissioner, all the terms of this agreement and the terms of
any other agreement you enter with the Commissioner.

You agree, during the time of the probation, you shall report to the
Department within three business days after an action to collect money or
a criminal charge is filed, any further collection action, criminal charge, or
criminal conviction in any jurisdiction except for minor traffic offenses.

You may not handle funds in any insurance-related employment. During
the time of your probation, you must notify the Department within three
business days if you leave your current employment.

You must notify the Department within three business days of any checks
you write that are returned for insufficient funds, whether or not it results in
a criminal charge.

You agree that all monetary judgments against you must be paid in full by
the end of the probationary period before an unrestricted license will be
issued.

You agree that prior to the end of this probationary period you must submit
to the sole satisfaction of the Commissioner documentation that
establishes all judgments against you have been satisfied.

You agree that without notice, issuance of a complaint or a hearing, the
Department may revoke, suspend, or take such further action against the
license as may be deemed necessary, and in the sole discretion of the
commissioner, if:
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Ms. Hether Haefner

March 20, 2014

RE: Conditional License
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a. The Department learns that you have violated any of the terms of
this agreement;

b. The Department receives information that you have had a collection
action initiated against you or you have been charged with a crime
or convicted of a crime at any time which resulted from a charge
that was filed during the probationary period; or

C. The Department receives a complaint from any source against you
and after investigation of the merits of the charge, conviction, or
complaint and after you have been afforded the opportunity to
respond in writing, and after review of other factual information
necessary, in the sole discretion of the Commissioner, the
Commissioner concludes that you violated the laws of the State of
North Dakota or used fraudulent, coercive, or dishonest practices or
are incompetent, untrustworthy, or financially irresponsible. By
entering into this agreement, you agree that the Department’s
analysis and final decision regarding the merits of any allegations
made is final and you agree to hereby waive any right you may
have to appeal or otherwise contest this decision.

Please be advised that the issuance of the conditional license will result in a
report to the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR) Producer Database
(PDB) as an administrative action.

If you are in agreement with the conditions described above, please sign below, have
your signature notarized, and return the agreement to the Department. After receipt of
this signed and notarized agreement, the Department will then issue a conditional
license. This offer is valid for only 20 days from the date of this letter. If we have
not received your signature within that time frame, the application will be denied.

Sincerely,
Jeff Ubben

General Counsel

JU/njb



Ms. Hether Haefner
March 20, 2014

RE: Conditional License
p.4

By signing this agreement, | agree to the entirety of the conditions as set out in
this License Agreement.

DATED this 24+ day of W%Qd b 2014,

(RethaClaupocc

Subscribed and sworn to before me this 07 A/ day of /YI@ [C /7 , 2014.
ALty 7 Tiodd
Notary Public
KATHERINE BELL

N
State of A [% QHW Oaé’g/l'( A State gf?a N"érfﬁbéﬁm
County of 1l {’5)/\ My Commission Expires November 23, 2018

My Commission Expires:



