STATE OF NORTH DAKOTA

BEFORE THE INSURANCE COMMISSIONER

In the Matter of
CONSENT ORDER
Charles M. Retterath,

NPN 17228921, CASE NO. AG-14-493

— — — — — "

Respondent.

TO: Charles M. Retterath, 1291 33rd Avenue SW, Center, ND 58530-9412

Insurance Commissioner Adam Hamm (“Commissioner”) has determined as
follows:

1 As a result of information obtained by the North Dakota Insurance
Department (“Department”) regarding the conduct of Charles M. Retterath, NPN
#17228921 (“Respondent”), the Commissioner has considered scheduling a formal
hearing to determine whether Respondent’s conduct as alleged constitutes a basis for
imposition of a civil penalty or any other action the Commissioner deems necessary. As
more fully described below, Respondent’s conduct is alleged to be in violation of
N.D.C.C. §§ 26.1-26-15 and 26.1-26-45.1(2).

2. N.D.C.C. § 26.1-26-15 requires that an applicant for a license must be
deemed by the Commissioner to be competent, trustworthy, financially responsible, and
of good personal and business reputation.

3. N.D.C.C. § 26.1-26-42 states, in part:

26.1-26-42. License suspension, revocation, or
refusal — Grounds. The commissioner may suspend,
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revoke, place on probation, or refuse to continue or refuse to
issue any license issued under this chapter if, after notice to
the licensee and hearing, the commissioner finds as to the
licensee any of the following conditions:

1, A materially untrue statement in the license
application.

4. N.D.C.C. § 26.1-26-45.1(2) requires an insurance producer to report to the
Commissioner any criminal conviction within 30 days after the conviction. The report
must include a copy of the initial complaint, the order issued by the court and any other
relevant documents.

5. N.D.C.C. § 26.1-26-50 states:

26.1-26-50. Civil penalty for violation of chapter. In
addition to or in lieu of any applicable denial, suspension, or
revocation of a license, any person violating this chapter
may, after hearing, be subject to a civil fine not to exceed ten
thousand dollars for each violation. The fine may be
collected and recovered in an action brought in the name of
the state.

6. On or about April 13, 2014, Respondent was arrested and charged with
criminal trespass, a Class A misdemeanor. On or about August 4, 2014, Respondent
pled guilty to the charge. Respondent failed to report the conviction to the
Commissioner within 30 days of the conviction.

7. Respondent’s failure to report the criminal conviction within 30 days of the
conviction violates N.D.C.C. §§ 26.1-26-15 and 26.1-26-45.1(2).

8. Respondent acknowledges that at the time of signing the Consent to Entry
of Order, he was aware of or had been advised of the right to a hearing in this matter, to

consult an attorney, to present argument to the Commissioner, to appeal from any

adverse determination after a hearing, and Respondent expressly waives those rights.
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9. Respondent has agreed to informal disposition of this matter, without a
hearing, as provided under N.D.C.C. § 28-32-22.

10.  For purposes of resolving this matter without further administrative
proceedings, Respondent has agreed to enter into the following order.

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED THAT:

1 Respondent agrees to pay a fine in the amount of $200 payable by money
order, cashier’s check, or credit card to the North Dakota Insurance Department within
20 days of the effective date of this Order.

2. The use of this Consent Order for competitive purposes by an insurance
agent or agency holding a license in the State of North Dakota, or by any company
holding a Certificate of Authority, or by anyone on their behalf, may be deemed unfair
competition and be grounds for suspension or revocation of said license or authority.

DATED at Bismarck, North Dakota, this 18" day of December, 2014.

Adamn Hamm g/
Insurance CommisgSioner
/‘--State of North Dakota

/

CONSENT TO ENTRY OF ORDER

The undersigned, Charles M. Retterath, states that he has read the foregoing
Consent Order, that he knows and fully understands its contents and effect; that he has
been advised of the right to a hearing in this matter, the right to be represented by legal
counsel, the right to present evidence and arguments to the Commissioner, and the

right to appeal from an adverse determination after hearing; and that by the signing of
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this Consent to Entry of Order he waives those rights in their entirety, and consents to
entry of this Order by the Commissioner. It is further expressly understood that this
Order constitutes the entire settlement agreement between the parties, there being no

other promises or agreements, either expressed or implied.

pATED this |/ dayof D2ceqbes  201a.

Charles M. Retterath
County of B‘NMV\-

State of Movtin Qalot=

Subscribed and sworn to before me this U | day ofW(M‘O—U’ , 2014,

LM

Nofary Public

My commission expires: a]b[ l?/D

" KRISTY REMPHER

Notary Pubilic
State of North Dakota

My Commission Expires March 4, 2020
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