Continuing Education FAQ - Producer

How many continuing education (CE) credits do I have and when they are due?

You can check on the status of your continuing education (CE) at any time through the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) State Based Systems (SBS) License Manager. CE credits should be completed by the middle of your birth month on the year you renew because CE providers have 15 days to report them to the North Dakota Insurance Department.

Why isn’t a course I took on my transcript?

Providers have 15 days by law to file rosters; if 15 days have not passed, it may not be filed yet. If it has been more than 15 days, contact the continuing education (CE) course provider and inform them that the course you took is not showing up on your transcript. If it has been less than 15 days and your renewal deadline is near, you can ask the CE course provider to expedite the roster for you. Some providers will do that for a fee.

The course you are referring to may have been used for your prior report. You may check to make sure the course applies to the current renewal cycle by visiting the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) State Based Systems (SBS) License Manager.

Can I fax in my course completion certificates to the North Dakota Insurance Department?

No. All continuing education (CE) credits must be submitted electronically by the course provider. The North Dakota Insurance Department cannot accept CE credits sent to us by a producer.
 

My transcript says I am compliant but when I try to renew through the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR), it is saying I am not compliant. Why won’t it let me renew?

The "date banked" for a course is included on your education transcript. That is the date the provider filed the course for you. The compliance date is based on course completion, not date banked. The National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR) updates their records three to four times a day, so keep trying. If your license does not expire right away, you will be able to process your renewal the next day. If this happens on your expiration date, just keep trying to renew.

How many carryover credits do I have?

You can verify your carryover at any time by viewing your education transcript. Only courses taken within 365 days prior to your expiration date qualify for carryover. Ethics cannot be carried over and the maximum carryover allowed is 12 credits.

How do I get a copy of my course completion certificate for a course I took?

The North Dakota Insurance Department does not collect or require course completion certificates to be filed with us. If you want or need a copy of a completion certificate, you may request a copy from the continuing education (CE) course provider.

I need one more ethics credit. Can I take more than one?

Yes. You can take credits in any line you choose. You can take all 24 credits in ethics if you so choose. The only specific continuing education (CE) credits required are the three ethics credits. Keep in mind that ethics credits do not carry over.

I took all of my continuing education (CE). Why did my license expire?

The renewal of a producer license is a two-part process. A producer must be in compliance with continuing education (CE), complete the renewal application and pay the renewal fee prior to the expiration date or their license will expire.

I am exempt from continuing education (CE). Why did I get a renewal notice?

Prior to 2010, producers that had the continuing education (CE) exemption did not have to file anything with the North Dakota Insurance Department. A law passed in 2009 requiring all producers, regardless of CE requirements or line of authority, to renew their license.

I am 62. Is there an exemption from continuing education (CE) once a producer reaches this age?

There was an exemption for producers who were at least 62 years of age and whose total years of consecutive years licensed plus their age equaled 85 or more. This exemption was repealed in 2009 but allowed for those that already had the exemption to be grandfathered in.

I am exempt from continuing education (CE). Do I still need to take the annuity suitability training?

Yes. The annuity suitability is not a continuing education (CE) requirement but rather a training requirement; therefore, you need this training if you are actively selling annuities even if you are exempt from CE.

Am I compliant with the annuity suitability training?

Annuity suitability training is not a continuing education (CE) requirement; therefore, the producer may be in compliance with the training even though it is not listed on the transcript. The companies that accept annuity business are the ones that are going to require proof of this training. This is a national requirement, so if a producer takes an annuity suitability course in a different state, it satisfies the North Dakota requirement. Producers must keep a copy of their course completion to show as proof of this training.

Where can I find a provider who offers the annuity suitability course?

To find the list of providers that offer this course both online and in a classroom, visit the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) State Based Systems (SBS) Lookup Search.

I am exempt from continuing education (CE) Do I still need to take the long-term care partnership training?

Yes. The long-term care partnership training is not a continuing education (CE) requirement but rather a training requirement; therefore, you need to have this training if you are actively selling partnership policies even if you are exempt from CE.

Am I compliant with the long-term care partnership training requirement?

The long-term care partnership training is not a continuing education (CE) requirement; therefore, the producer may be in compliance with the training even though it is not listed on the transcript. The companies that accept long-term care partnership business are the ones that are going to require proof of this training. This is a national requirement, so if a producer takes a long-term care partnership course in a different state, it satisfies the North Dakota requirement. Producers must keep a copy of their course completion to show as proof of this training.

Where can I find a provider who offers long-term care partnership training?

To find the list of providers that offer this course both online and in a classroom, visit the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) State Based Systems (SBS) Lookup Search.

What are the requirements for selling long-term care partnership policies?

Producers are required to take an initial eight-hour course and complete ongoing training of four hours every 24 months thereafter. This is for partnership policies only.

I have a resident North Dakota license and a non-resident license in another state. Do I need to file continuing education (CE) in my non-resident states?

All states should be reciprocal, meaning they do not require non-resident producers to complete any other continuing education (CE) besides the producer’s resident requirement. Contact your non-resident state’s insurance department to verify any additional training requirements.

Is this course or provider approved in North Dakota?

Producers can confirm if a provider or course is approved in North Dakota through the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) State Based Systems (SBS) Lookup Search.

I took a course in Minnesota but it is not showing on my transcript. How can I get credit for it?

Only courses that are filed and approved in North Dakota are allowed for continuing education (CE) credit. You can speak to the provider and try to persuade them to file it in North Dakota, but if you are not successful, no credit can be given.