Apply for a License

Business entities can be defined as corporations, partnerships, limited liability companies and limited liability partnerships.

Resident Business Entities

Every business entity must select at least one Designated Responsible Licensed Producer (DRLP) who holds a North Dakota insurance producer license and who will be responsible for the business entity's compliance with the insurance laws, rules and regulations in North Dakota. The DRLP(s) must hold the lines of authority requested by the business entity.

The business entity should also contact the North Dakota Secretary of State to ensure compliance with North Dakota corporate law.

When issued, North Dakota resident business entity insurance producer licenses are perpetual without any renewal or continuation as long as the entity has at least one DRLP who holds an active North Dakota insurance producer license for the lines of authority on the business entity license, and notifies the North Dakota Insurance Department of any address change within 30 days in accordance with N.D.C.C. § 26.1-26-33.

Applicants for a North Dakota resident business entity insurance producer license can apply electronically through the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR). The fee for an initial application for an insurance producer license is $100.

To submit a paper application, please print the Uniform Application for Individual Producer License/Registration. Complete the application, sign and date it, attach a check or money order for $100 and send to:

North Dakota Insurance Department
Producer Licensing Division
600 E Boulevard Ave.
Bismarck, ND 58505-0320

Non-resident Business Entities

At least one individual who is affiliated with the business entity must hold a North Dakota license for the lines of authority requested.

The business entity should also contact the North Dakota Secretary of State to ensure compliance with North Dakota corporate law.

When issued, North Dakota non-resident business entity insurance producer licenses are perpetual without any renewal or continuation as long as the entity has at least one DRLP who holds an active North Dakota insurance producer license for the lines of authority on the business entity license, maintains its resident insurance producer license (if its home state issues insurance producer licenses to business entities) and notifies the North Dakota Insurance Department of any change of address regarding the business entity within 30 days in accordance with N.D.C.C. § 26.1-26-33.

Applicants for a North Dakota non-resident business entity insurance producer license can apply electronically through the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR). The fee for an initial application for an insurance producer license is $100.

To submit a paper application, please print the Uniform Application for Individual Producer License/Registration. Complete the application, sign and date it, attach a check or money order for $100 and send to:

North Dakota Insurance Department
Producer Licensing Division
600 E Boulevard Ave.
Bismarck, ND 58505-0320