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The minimum driving age in North Dakota is 16 years old. However, North Dakota 
allows for a resident to obtain a restricted driver’s license at the age of 15 and when 
the driver turns 16, the restrictions are lifted.  For the purposes of this article, a minor 
is fifteen years old with a restricted class D driver’s license. 
 
North Dakota Century Code 39-06-17(4) outlines the restrictions that are placed on a 
minor. A minor with a restricted class D driver’s license may operate the type or class 
of motor vehicle specified on the restricted license under the following conditions: 
 

1. The minor driver must be in possession of the license while operating the 
 motor vehicle. 

 
2. A minor holding a restricted class D license driving a motor vehicle may not 

carry more passengers than the vehicle manufacturer's suggested passenger 
capacity. 

 
3. A minor holding a restricted class D license driving a motor vehicle may not 

operate an electronic communication device to talk, compose, read, or send an 
electronic message while operating a motor vehicle that is in motion unless the 
sole purpose of operating the device is to obtain emergency assistance, to 
prevent a crime about to be committed, or in the reasonable belief that an 
individual's life or safety is in danger. 

 
4. A minor holding a restricted class D license may not operate a motor vehicle 

between the later of sunset or nine p.m. and five a.m. unless a parent, legal 
guardian, or an individual eighteen years of age or older is in the front seat of 
the motor vehicle or the motor vehicle is being driven directly to or from work, an 
official school activity, or a religious activity. 

 
The restrictions also do not authorize a minor to drive a commercial truck, motorbus, 
or taxicab with the exception that the minor may drive a farm motor vehicle having a 
gross weight of fifty thousand pounds while used to transport agricultural products, 
farm machinery, or farm supplies to or from a farm when operated within 150 miles of 
the driver’s farm.  
 
The above restrictions are indicated on the reverse side of the minor’s driver’s license.  
 
The penalty for the fifteen-year-old driver who violates the provisions of their restricted 
license is $20.00 and 4 points added to their driving record. If a parent or guardian 
knowingly allows or causes their minor child to operate a vehicle in violation of the 



above restrictions, the parent or guardian can be cited and assessed a fine of $20.00 
with 2 points added to their driving record.  
 
The mission of the North Dakota Highway Patrol is to make a difference every day by 
providing high-quality law enforcement services to keep North Dakota safe and secure. 
Visit the FAQ section of the NDHP: www.nd.gov/ndhp, like our Facebook page 
www.facebook.com/northdakotahighwaypatrol or join us on Twitter 
@NDHighwayPatrol or Instagram, www.instagram.com/ndhighwaypatrol, to learn 
more about traffic safety, get tips, and read NDHP news.   
 


