# NORTH DAKOTA PENALTIES FOR DRIVING IMPAIRED

#### **1ST OFFENSE**

- · Class B misdemeanor
- \$500 fine if below .16 blood alcohol concentration (BAC)
- Two day imprisonment and \$750 fine if .16 BAC or greater
- · 91 day suspension if below .18 BAC
- · 180 day suspension if .18 BAC or greater
- Addiction evaluation

### 2ND OFFENSE IN 7 YEARS

- Class B misdemeanor
- Ten day imprisonment and \$1,500 fine
- 360 days' participation in 24/7 program
- 365 day suspension if below .18 BAC
- Two year suspension if .18 BAC or greater
- Addiction evaluation

### **3RD OFFENSE IN 7 YEARS**

- · Class A misdemeanor
- · 120 day imprisonment and \$2,000 fine
- 360 days' participation in 24/7 program
- 360 days' supervised probation
- · Two year suspension if below .18 BAC
- Three year suspension if .18 BAC or greater
- · Addiction evaluation

## 4TH AND SUBSEQUENT OFFENSES IN 15 YEARS

- · Class C felony
- One year and one day imprisonment and \$2,000 fine
- Two years' participation in 24/7 program
- Two years' supervised probation
- Addiction evaluation

Penalty for a DUI with a minor in the vehicle is imprisonment for 360 days and/or a \$3,000 fine.

Refusal to submit to a chemical test as required by law may be considered a crime and may result in revocation of your driving privileges for 180 days to 3 years. Criminal Vehicular Injury results in up to five years imprisonment. Criminal Vehicular Homicide results in up to 20 years imprisonment.



# ALWAYS DRIVE SOBER

Your choice to drive under the influence of alcohol or drugs can have lasting consequences. Zero fatalities due to impaired driving is the only acceptable number, so make zero excuses. Make the decision to always drive sober or designate a sober driver to help save lives.

44%

Motor vehicle fatalities in North Dakota were alcohol-related (2017)

100%

Alcohol and drug-related crashes are preventable

VISION ZER S

NDDOT North Dakota Department of Transportation



