APPLICATION FOR NORTH DAKOTA CUSTOM COMBINE PERMITS

NORTH DAKOTA HIGHWAY PATROL
SFN 2835 (8/10)

Custom combine permits, temporary registration, and fuel permits are available for purchase online at
www.nd.gov/ndhp.

Section 39-04-18 of the North Dakota Century Code authorizes nonresidents engaged in harvest of

agricultural products to obtain Custom Combine Permits. The fee is $50 per vehicle and is valid from June
1 through December 31. Accompanying vehicles are subject to a minimum 90-day temporary registration.
These vehicles include but are not limited to passenger vehicles, pickup trucks, motor homes, trailers, and

semitrailers.

Name Phone Number

Address E-mail Address
City State Zip Code
Address to Mail Permit Fax Number
VEHICLE INFORMATION
Year Make License No. State Serial Number Gross Weight Fee*

The fee for accompanying vehicles and trucks registered for a gross vehicle weight of 20,000 pounds
or less is $10 per month plus a $3 permit fee.

The fee for vehicles requiring a registered gross weight greater than 20,000 pounds shall be subject to
fees assessed from the Motor Vehicle Department's Fee Schedule. To determine the fee for other
accompanying vehicles, telephone 701-328-2621.

The fee for semitrailers and pup trailers is $5 per month plus a $3 permit fee.

If an above vehicle is subject to the $15 fuel permit, as per instructions on the reverse side of this
form, include the $15 in the fee column.

Applications may also be mailed to the North Dakota Highway Patrol, Motor Carrier Operations, 600 E
Boulevard Ave. Dept. 504, Bismarck, ND 58505-0240. All checks must be payable to the North Dakota

Highway Patrol.
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North Dakota Custom Combine
General Information

Nonresidents engaged in harvest of agricultural products in North Dakota are subject to state
statutes regarding registration, vehicle size and weight, fuel tax, and oversize permit requirements.

The fee for the custom combine permit is $50 per vehicle and is valid from June 1 through
December 31. The custom combine permit is in lieu of other registration requirements.

A.

All accompanying vehicles must also be registered. The temporary registrations will be for a
minimum 90-day period.

1. Accompanying vehicles include but are not limited to passenger vehicles, pickup
trucks, motor homes, trailers, and semitrailers.

If a valid custom combine permit or temporary registration is in possession, the vehicle is
also exempted from obtaining overwidth and overheight permits.

If a custom harvester has a vehicle with an IRP cab card with North Dakota listed, single trip
oversize permits would be required unless the carrier purchased the custom combine permit.

Nonresident custom harvesters traveling through North Dakota who do not have custom
combine permits are subject to trip permits, fuel permits, and oversize permits.

1. The 72-hour trip permit is $20 and is valid for 72 hours.

2. Operators of motor vehicles with two (2) axles and a weight exceeding 26,000 pounds, motor
vehicles with three (3) axles or more regardless of weight, and combinations of vehicles
exceeding 26,000 pounds gross vehicle weight who run into or through North Dakota are
subject to the $15 fuel permit if they do not have an International Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA)
cab card in possession. The permit is valid for one trip not to exceed 72 hours. Custom
harvesters do not have to purchase more than one fuel permit unless they leave the state
and come back again.

3. Oversize permits must be obtained prior to entering North Dakota. Permits may be ordered
by telephoning 701-328-2621.

If a header trailer or other vehicle is pulled behind a gooseneck or fifth wheel combine trailer,
the first trailer must be equipped with brakes and the second trailer must be equipped with
safety chains. If the first trailer is of a bumper hitch design, the trailer must be equipped with
brakes and safety chains. If the gross weight of the second trailer exceeds 3,000 pounds, then
brakes are also required. The brakes must be so designed as to be applied by the driver of the
truck from the cab. The brakes must be so designed and connected that in case of an
accidental breakaway, the brakes will be automatically applied on the trailer that breaks loose.
The overall length may not exceed 75 feet. The maximum length that a trailer or semitrailer can
be is 53 feet. Two combines can be hauled on a trailer or semitrailer provided the length
including the load does not exceed 60 feet. An oversize permit would be required.

Drivers License Information: A 16-year old can obtain a restricted CDL. For information, telephone
701-328-2601.
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