

NEWS RELEASE | FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE | February 6, 2023

Nine Recruits Graduate from Law Enforcement Training Academy

NARRATIVE: Nine troopers graduated from the North Dakota Law Enforcement Training Academy on Friday, Feb. 3, 2023, following successful completion of a comprehensive law enforcement training program. The newly sworn North Dakota Highway Patrol troopers began the 19-week training in September 2022. They will begin field training with assigned NDHP troopers beginning Monday, Feb. 6, and be temporarily stationed at posts throughout the state.

Governor Doug Burgum gave the graduation address and expressed gratitude to the new troopers and their families. He noted the courage and dedication needed of those who serve in uniform and wished them well as they begin their service to the citizens of North Dakota. He stated, "To the recruits, I want to say, again, congratulations, and I want to say thank you for making the decision to serve in such an important role. The skills and the knowledge that you have acquired, you're going to have an opportunity to put to use in the coming weeks and months as you begin your careers as troopers. I want you to know, as all the classes that have gone before you, that we've got complete and total confidence that you're going to be able to protect and serve with honor and integrity, and you're going to be upholding the highest standards of professionalism while serving our citizens."

North Dakota Supreme Court Justice Jerod Tufte administered the oath of office. A badge of authority, which is issued only to duly appointed and acting members of the highway patrol, was presented to each graduate.

Lt. Daniel Haugen, Training Director of the NDHP Law Enforcement Academy, noted the importance of family within the highway patrol and gave each recruit the opportunity to have a family member pin their badge.

The graduates and their hometowns are **Brady Aberle**, Williston, ND; **John Bartlette**, Grand Forks, ND; **Justin Cote-Kanning**, Bottineau, ND; **Austin Erickson**, Devils Lake, ND; **Abe Johannes**, Vergas, MN; **Jonathan Kramer**, Bismarck, ND; **Tanner Lembke**, Mohall, ND; **Camron McFarland**, Donnybrook, ND; and **Benjamin Wenger**, Fargo, ND.

NDHP Colonel Brandon Solberg also spoke at the ceremony noting the recruits' hard work, dedication, flexibility, and commitment to protecting the citizens of North Dakota. He stated,

Headquarters | 600 East Boulevard Avenue, Dept 504 | Bismarck, ND 58505 PHONE: (701) 328-2447 | FAX: (701) 328-1717 | ND.gov/NDHP



"Many individuals apply to become a state trooper, but only a select few make it to this point and successfully graduate from the highway patrol academy. Many of us attending here today recognize the importance of this achievement." He went on to say, " You all deserve our gratitude for choosing to serve the citizens of this great State in what I believe is the most noble profession. On the highway patrol you'll be tasked with meeting our mission – to make a difference every day by providing high quality law enforcement services to keep North Dakota safe and secure."

The assigned duty locations of the new troopers will be announced following field training in April.

For More Information Contact: Lt. Daniel Haugen, 701-328-9969, dhaugen@nd.gov



The nine troopers are sworn in, taking the oath of office administered by North Dakota Supreme Court Justice Jerod Tufte.





NDHP's newest Troopers (*left-right*):Trooper Kramer; Trooper Bartlette; Trooper Erickson; Trooper Aberle; Trooper Lembke; Trooper Johannes; Trooper McFarland; Trooper Cote-Kanning; and Trooper Wenger.