The North Dakota Department of Agriculture is committed to ensuring human safety and protecting the environment through the proper use of pesticides. In addition, the Department acknowledges the critical role that pesticides play in producing high quality food and controlling economically important pests. Therefore, the Department uses its statutory authority to regulate the use of pesticides.  The Department works in partnership with the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) and receives partial funding for its pesticide regulatory programs under a cooperative agreement with the Agency.

The Pesticide Enforcement Program regulates pesticides under the authority created by three different chapters of the North Dakota Century Code (N.D.C.C.).  N.D.C.C. Chapter 4.1-33 provides authority for the Department to regulate the distribution, storage, transportation, and application, along with the disposal of pesticide containers. NDCC 4.1-35 regulates chemigation, the process of applying pesticides and fertilizers through irrigation equipment, and specifies the design requirements for chemigation equipment. N.D.C.C. 4.1-34 is the state's pesticide registration law, and it requires all pesticides to be registered with the Department prior to their sale, offering for sale, distribution, and transport.

Click here to submit a pesticide complaint.

Pesticide Inspectors

Carla Ralston Northwest Region 701-799-5379 crralston@nd.gov
Jill Carlson North Central Region 701-425-8456 jmcarlson@nd.gov
Kevin Coufal Southeast Region 701-220-0016 kcoufal@nd.gov
Andrew Erickson Northeast Region 701-220-0015 andrerickson@nd.gov
James Jeske West Region 701-220-9476 jeske@nd.gov
Crystal Zabolotny Central Region 701-595-4226 czabolotny@nd.gov
Derek Woehl South Central Region 701-220-5498 dwoehl@nd.gov

 

 

Pesticide Enforcement Program Contacts

Tyler Kralicek

Pesticide Enforcement Supervisor
701-328-4922 tkralicek@nd.gov

Crystal Zabolotny

Pesticide Program Specialist
701-328-4752 701-595-4226 czabolotny@nd.gov