The North Dakota Department of Agriculture’s Pesticide and Fertilizer Division regulates pesticides, fertilizers and anhydrous ammonia to protect human health and the environment.

Among its multiple duties, the pesticide division registers all pesticides sold in the state and approves labeling, administers Project Safe Send, inspects pesticide dealers, users and facilities for compliance; investigates complaints of pesticide misuse and other violations, administers Worker Protection Standards, and works with the Environmental Protection Agency on regulatory and policy issues.

The fertilizer division licenses distributors and anhydrous ammonia storage facilities, registers fertilizer products, provides outreach and compliance assistance to the fertilizer industry, and administers the Risk Management Program for agricultural anhydrous ammonia facilities.

Pesticide & Fertilizer Division Contacts

Brandy Kiefel

Fertilizer Program Specialist
701-328-1442 bkiefel@nd.gov

Crystal Zabolotny

Pesticide and Fertilizer Licensing and Registration Assistant
701-328-1500 czabolotny@nd.gov

Eric Delzer

Pesticide and Fertilizer Division Director
701-328-1508 delzer@nd.gov

Jerry Sauter

Environmental Scientist
701-328-2980 jdsauter@nd.gov

Jon Krei

Pesticide Registration Specialist
701-484-1357 jkrei@nd.gov

Tyler Kralicek

Pesticide Enforcement Supervisor
701-328-4922 tkralicek@nd.gov

Carla Ralston

Pesticide Specialist
701-328-4752 crralston@nd.gov

Jeremiah Lien

Pesticide Outreach Specialist
701-425-3016 jjlien@nd.gov