Pride of Dakota essay, poster contest winners announced

BISMARCK – Agriculture Commissioner Doug Goehring has announced the 2013 Pride of Dakota Essay and Poster Contest winners.

“These essays and posters demonstrate that these young people clearly understand the importance of agriculture,” Goehring said. “Their knowledge and their creativity in explaining the role of agriculture in our state economy is very impressive.”

“The North Dakota Bankers Association is proud to honor the achievements of young people who understand the value of North Dakota's agriculture industry,” said NDBA president and CEO Rick Clayburgh, who presented gift cards to the winners. “We will always be proud of our state's businesses, farmers and ranchers that offer excellent products that complement healthy lifestyles.”

The winners are:

David Fletcher, 14, an eighth-grader at Barnes County North-West Campus in Wimbledon, was the author of the prize-winning written essay.

Taryn Trueblood, 10, a fourth-grader at Edison Elementary School in Minot, created the first-place poster.

Jonnah Lee, 14, Velva Public School, and Traci Lagein, 14, Munich Public School, were the second and third-place winners in the essay contest.

Liam Hartman, 10, Roosevelt Elementary School, Bismarck, and Lindsey Galbreath, 9, Enderlin Public School, took second and third in the poster contest.

Fletcher was also presented a digital music player by the North Dakota Department of Agriculture (NDDA).

Visit to view the winning essays and posters.

The Pride of Dakota program fosters the development and growth of small businesses and especially businesses that are farm-based or rely on agricultural commodities. Pride of Dakota member companies can participate in cooperative promotion and marketing events; receive representation at local, state, regional, national, and international trade shows and take part in educational opportunities. More than 500 companies are Pride of Dakota members. Authorized by the Legislature, the program is administered by NDDA.