North Dakota Receives Secretarial Disaster Designation

BISMARCK, N.D. – Agriculture Commissioner Doug Goehring received word today that United States Department of Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue has designated 15 counties primary natural disaster areas with another 11 counties designated as contiguous disaster counties.

The primary counties included are:

Adams           Golden Valley          Oliver
Billings          Hettinger                  Slope
Bowman        McLean                    Stark
Burleigh        Mercer                      Ward
Divide           Morton                      Williams

The contiguous disaster counties included are:

Burke          Grant             McKenzie        Sheridan
Dunn           Kidder           Mountrail         Sioux
Emmons     McHenry      Renville

“I would like to thank Secretary Perdue for moving quickly and decisively to continue providing relief to North Dakota’s producers,” Goehring said.

“By making the disaster designation, Secretary Perdue has opened the availability of numerous disaster relief programs,” Goehring continued. “These programs provide options for producers who are managing through this drought with scarce resources.”

A complete list of available programs can be found at For questions about program eligibility and application processes, please contact your local FSA office.