Media Advisory/Meeting Notice

The North Dakota Crop Insurance Development Board will meet at 1 p.m., Thursday, Dec. 22, in the North Dakota Department of Agriculture conference room on the sixth floor of the State Capitol in Bismarck.

The five-member board was created by the 2011 Legislature to evaluate proposals for the development and implementation of new crop insurance products. The board can award grants to assist with actuarial and development costs for approved proposals. The grants are funded through a $150,000 set-aside from the agricultural fuel tax fund, administered by the Agricultural Products Utilization Commission.

The directors include Agriculture Commissioner Doug Goehring, who appointed Becky Braaten, Bottineau, and Steve Edwardson, Fargo. Tom Lilja, Fargo, and Chuck Tompkins, Minot, were appointed by Gov. Jack Dalrymple.

Proposed Agenda

  • Introduction of board members
  • Review of governing statute (NDCC 4-44)
  • An introduction to crop insurance development
  • Discussion of administrative procedures