Hay lottery drawing conducted

Stacked round hay bales

BISMARCK – Drawings have been conducted for North Dakota producers in the hay lottery organized by the North Dakota Department of Agriculture (NDDA) and North Dakota State University (NDSU) N.D. Agricultural Experiment Station.

Livestock producers from North Dakota, South Dakota and Montana who have been impacted by the drought were eligible to apply. More than 1,300 applications were received from the tri-state area. Each state is conducting its own drawings.

“It’s been encouraging to see those in the agriculture community pull together and organizations who felt compelled to support our livestock producers,” Agriculture Commissioner Doug Goehring said. “We are so grateful to everyone who donated hay, trucking or both.”

Drawings were held in two age categories: ages 35 and under, and ages 36 and above. The North Dakota producers selected were (listed alphabetically):
• Benjamin Anderson
• Ty Blodgett
• Caleen Crider
• Sean Dawson
• Michael Doll
• Drew Gaugler
• Lawrence Gerhardt
• Tanner Johnson
• DelRoy Kettering
• Edward Procive
• Wayne Smith
• Lucas Sprenger

Producers that were selected will be responsible for arranging hay transportation from the NDSU site. If additional donations continue to come in, more drawings will occur. The applications of producers who have applied but have not yet been selected will be kept on file should more hay become available.