Commodity, farm groups to meet in Bismarck

BISMARCK – Whole-farm insurance, upcoming trade missions and livestock development will be among the topics under discussion when North Dakota's commodity councils and agriculture associations, hold their annual joint meeting, Monday, Nov. 25, at the Ramada Inn, 1400 E. Interchange Ave., in Bismarck.

“This is an opportunity for agricultural and commodity groups to discuss their similar concerns, interests and goals,” said Agriculture Commissioner Doug Goehring, who is hosting the meeting,

Goehring will welcome the group with opening remarks at 9:30 a.m. He will also offer a presentation on Adjusted Gross Revenue (AGR)– Lite, a federally sponsored and subsidized whole-farm revenue insurance program administered by USDA's Risk Management Agency.

Other speakers will discuss agricultural marketing and promotion, nutrient management strategies and the Food Safety Modernization Act.

Representatives of each of the state's 13 commodity councils will give brief presentations outlining their new or high priority issues for 2013. They will also address what they see as priorities in the coming year for the North Dakota Department of Agriculture (NDDA).

Goehring said the morning meeting of the commodity councils is mandated by state law.

“The first meeting in 2009 was so successful that we decided to invite other agricultural groups, such as the Farm Bureau and Farmers Union, as well as smaller, specialized groups,” he said. “Many of these groups share members and have common interests and concerns.”

The commodity councils authorized by the Legislature to receive check-off dollars from producers include the North Dakota Barley Council, the North Dakota Beef Commission, the North Dakota Beekeepers Association, the North Dakota Corn Utilization Council, the North Dakota Dairy Promotion Commission, the North Dakota Dry Bean Council, the North Dakota Dry Pea and Lentil Council, the North Dakota Oilseed Council, the North Dakota Pork Council, the North Dakota Potato Council, the North Dakota Soybean Council, the North Dakota Turkey Federation and the North Dakota Wheat Commission.

The meetings are open to the public.