Alberty elected Ag in the Classroom Council chair

BISMARCK – West Fargo businessman Kim Alberty has been elected chair of the North Dakota Ag in the Classroom Council.

“Mr. Alberty has long served as council chair when the position was appointed,” said Agriculture Commissioner Doug Goehring. “I am pleased that the other council members recognized his leadership qualities by electing him chair of the reconstituted council.”

Alberty is co-founder and general manager of Agassiz Seed and Supply.

The 2011 Legislature reduced the size of the council from about 20 members to six appointed members and one statutory member, the state superintendent of public instruction.

The North Dakota Agriculture in the Classroom program helps teachers integrate agricultural information into the science, math, social studies, language arts and other classes they teach. The program offers a variety of curricula and class lesson development materials, training seminars, a magazine and other tools for teachers to use to make agriculture part of the school day.

Other council members include Nancy Jo Bateman, North Dakota Beef Commission; Sheri Coleman, Northern Canola Growers association; Aaron Anderson, North Dakota Department of Career and Technical Education, Wendi Stachler, a graduate student at North Dakota State University, and Kirk Olson, McKenzie County Farm Bureau. Superintendent of Public Instruction Wayne Sanstead is represented by Bob Marthaller.

Administration of the program within the North Dakota Department of Agriculture has recently been moved to the Marketing and Information Division. Goehring said a planning session has been scheduled for April for council members and NDDA staff to develop new directions for the program.