Cattle production has traditionally ranked second only to wheat farming as the most important sector in North Dakota's Ag economy.  Swine, dairy and sheep production are also important.  The Livestock Division helps protect our livestock producers through the licensing of livestock dealers and livestock auction markets.

After posting adequate bond, filing a current financial statement and passing basic tests of financial responsibility, dealers and auction markets are granted a license.  Investigations are carried out to discover unlicensed dealers.

Below you will find the licensing requirements for each type of livestock license.

Brand recording functions were transferred to the North Dakota Stockmen's Association, as of August 1, 1993.

Auction Market License Requirements as required in NDCC §36-05.

1. Application for Livestock Auction Market License form (SFN 53278) is listed below.  Please make sure all questions are answered and your signature is NOTARIZED. If the application is incomplete, it will be returned.

2. Note the minimum bond is $10,000. Bond amount will be adjusted each year depending on the volume of dealers business. Packer and Stockyard's Administration and the North Dakota Department of Agriculture will set all bond amount requirements.

3. A schedule of fees and commissions must be completed.

4. Financial Statement (SFN 16702) is listed below.  You may submit your own auditor prepared, most recent, financial statement. North Dakota law requires that a livestock dealer must provide a financial statement, which shows that the current assets exceed the current liabilities.

5. Please note that the application form asks for ALL banks and/or financial institutions who hold assets (checking and savings accounts and CDs) or liabilities of the applicant. Be sure to list the mailing address(es) for all banks and/or financial institutions.

6. A $200 LICENSE FEE IS REQUIRED

7. Must maintain a custodial account for all sales proceeds.

All licenses were due on March 31 of each year.

If you have any questions you can reach the livestock division at (701) 328-4761.

Livestock Dealer's License Requirements as required in NDCC §36-04.

1. Application for Livestock Dealer's License form (SFN 10202) is listed below.  Please make sure all questions are answered and your signature is NOTARIZED. If the application is incomplete, it will be returned.

2. If agents are designated, each applicant is required to sign a statement accepting complete responsibility for all dealings of their agents. Please include their mailing addresses.

3. Note the minimum bond is $10,000. Under "Bond information", the dollar amount is the amount of purchases in all states, not just North Dakota. We accept Packers & Stockyards bonds. Please include a copy of the bond. - Dealers Bond Form (SFN 53712)

4. Financial Statement (SFN 16702) is listed below.  You may submit your own auditor prepared, most recent, financial statement. North Dakota law requires that a livestock dealer must provide a financial statement which shows that the current assets exceed the current liabilities.

5. Please note that the application form asks for ALL banks and/or financial institutions who hold assets (checking and savings accounts and CDs) or liabilities of the applicant. Be sure to list the mailing address(es) for all banks and/or financial institutions.

6. A $50 LICENSE FEE IS REQUIRED

All licenses were due on July 1 of each year.

If you have any questions you can reach the livestock division at (701) 328-4761.

Satellite or Internet Livestock Auction Market License as required in NDCC §36-05.1.

1. Satellite or Internet livestock auction must have a representative who is a resident of North Dakota and is licensed as a dealer or an auction market. The representative is individual that is licensed. See license requirements for dealer or livestock auction market.

2. Application for Representative of Satellite Video or Internet Livestock Auction Markets form (SFN 16777) is listed below.  The form must be completed and signed.  Please makes sure all questions are answered and your signature is NOTARIZED. If the application is incomplete, it will be returned.

3. A schedule of fees and commissions must be completed.

4. Financial Statement (SFN 16702) listed below, must be included with application. You may submit your own auditor prepared, most recent, financial statement. North Dakota law requires that a Satellite or Internet livestock auction must provide a financial statement, which shows that the current assets exceed the current liabilities.

5. Authorization by Satellite video or Internet Livestock Auction Markets for Release of Financial Information form (SFN 16776) is listed below, The form must be completed and signed by the Satellite or Internet livestock auction. Form asks for ALL banks and/or financial institutions who hold assets (checking and savings accounts and CDs) or liabilities of the applicant. Be sure to list the mailing address(es) for all banks and/or financial institutions

6. A $100 LICENSE FEE IS REQUIRED

7. Internet or Satellite Video livestock market must be registered with the Packers and Stockyard Administration and provide office with a copy of its clause one bond.

8. Representative and Market must have contact spelling out responsibilities of each other. Representatives and Video satellite/ Internet Company must sign an addendum spelling out dual responsibility.

9. Satellite or Internet livestock auction must maintain a custodial account for all sales proceeds as required by the Packers and Stockyards Administration.

All licenses were due on July 1 of each year.

If you have any questions you can reach the livestock division at (701) 328-4761.

Wool Livestock Dealer's License Requirements as required NDCC §36-04.

1. Application for Wool Dealer's License form (SFN 52023) is listed below.  Please make sure all questions are answered and your signature is NOTARIZED. If the application is incomplete, it will be returned.

2. If agents are designated, each applicant is required to sign a statement accepting complete responsibility for all dealings of their agents. Please include their mailing addresses.

3. Note the minimum bond is $10,000. Under "Bond information", the dollar amount is the amount of purchases in all states, not just North Dakota. We accept Packers and Stockyard Admin. bonds. Please include a copy of the bond. Wool Dealers Bond Form - (SFN 58642) is listed below.

4. Financial Statement (SFN 16702) listed below.  You may submit your own auditor prepared, most recent, financial statement. North Dakota law requires that a livestock dealer must provide a financial statement which shows that the current assets exceed the current liabilities.

5. Please note that the application form asks for ALL banks and/or financial institutions who hold assets (checking and savings accounts and CDs) or liabilities of the applicant. Be sure to list the mailing address(es) for all banks and/or financial institutions.

6. A $10 LICENSE FEE IS REQUIRED

All licenses were due on July 1 of each year.

If you have any questions you can reach the livestock division at (701) 328-4761.