
The North Dakota Department of Labor is committed to educating employers and employees regarding  

labor laws and employment discrimination laws.   

working hours which is not in direct conflict with the 
essential business related functions of the employer. Other 

discrimination laws may also prohibit an employer from 
terminating an employee; for example, the Uniformed 

Services and Reemployment Rights Act protects persons 
who serve or have served in the Armed Forces, Reserves, 

National Guard, or other “uniformed services” from 

discrimination because of their military service.   

Q.  Does my employer have to give notice to fire me?  
Must I give advanced notice to quit?   

A.  Based on the employment-at-will doctrine, there is a 
presumption that either party may terminate the 

employment relationship upon notice to the other. No 

specific length of notice is required.   

Q.  When does my employer have to pay me after I’ve 
quit or been fired? 

A.  A separated employee’s wages become due and 
payable at the regular payday(s) established in advance by 

the employer for the period(s) worked by the employee. In 

other words, payroll should simply follow its normal course.      

Q.  Am I entitled to my unused vacation when I quit or 

am fired? 
A.  In most instances, once earned (available for the 

employee’s use), vacation constitutes a wage and is due 
with the employee’s final paycheck. However, there are 

limitations that may apply to payment of paid time off: 

1) If an employee separates from employment voluntarily,  
a private employer may withhold payment for accrued paid 

time off if:   

a) At the time of hiring, the employer provided the 
employee written notice of the limitation on payment of 

accrued paid time off; 

b) The employee has been employed by the employer for 

less than one year; and  

c) The employee gave the employer less than five days 

written or verbal notice.  

2) If an employee separates from employment, a private 

employer may withhold payment for paid time off if:  

a) The paid time off was awarded by the employer but not 
yet earned by the employee; and 
 
b) Before awarding the paid time off, the employer provided 
the employee written notice of the limitation on payment of 
awarded paid time off. 

    

Q.  What is the minimum wage?  
A.  The minimum wage in North Dakota is $7.25 per 
hour. North Dakota does not have a training wage.   

Q.  I receive tips.  Can my employer pay me less 

than minimum wage? 
A.  Maybe.  An employee who customarily and 

regularly receives more than $30 per month in tips may 
be paid a minimum direct wage of $4.86 per hour, 

subject to some requirements. However, the tips 
earned plus the direct wage paid by the employer must 

equal the full minimum wage of $7.25 per hour for all 
hours worked. Employers are required to maintain 

written records verifying that tipped employees receive 
at least the full minimum wage for all hours worked 

when the direct wage and tips are combined.    

Q.  What can be deducted from my wages? 

A.  Except for those amounts that are required under 
state or federal law to be withheld from employee 

compensation or where a court has ordered the 
employer to withhold compensation, an employer only 

may withhold from the compensation due employees:        
1) Advances paid to employees, other than 

undocumented cash. 

2) A recurring deduction authorized in writing. 

3) A nonrecurring deduction authorized in writing, when 

the source of the deduction is cited specifically.  

4) A nonrecurring deduction for damage, breakage, 

shortage, or negligence must be authorized by the 

employee at the time of the deduction.    

Q.  Is it legal for an employer to require employees 

to purchase uniforms? 
A.  Usually.  An employer may establish a dress code 

and/or require employees to wear uniforms. However, 
unless it would create an undue hardship on the 

business, an employer must reasonably accommodate 
an employee’s beliefs or practices, which may include 

such things as religious dress or grooming practices. If 
not providing free uniforms, an employer can require an 

employee to purchase uniforms (either through a 
deduction from the employee’s pay or by billing the 

employee) provided that the cost does not bring the 
employee’s wage below the hourly minimum wage for 

all hours worked during that pay period. In the case of 
a deduction from pay, the employee’s written 

authorization must be obtained. 

Q.  Is my employer supposed to give me a check 

stub? 
A.  Yes.  Each time an employee is paid, the employer 

must provide a statement or check stub listing the rate 
of pay, hours worked, and all deductions from earnings.  
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An employer may use an electronic version of the check 
stub or pay voucher so long as the employee has access 

and the ability to print the information.      

Q.  Am I entitled to breaks?  

A.  Maybe.  Any employee who works a shift exceeding 
five hours is entitled to an unpaid 30 minute uninterrupted 

break when there are two or more employees on duty. 
Paid ten or fifteen minute “coffee” breaks are not required 

but could be offered at the employer’s discretion. Union 
employees must follow the terms of their collectively 

bargained agreements.  

Q.  I’m a salaried employee.  Might I still be entitled to 

overtime pay? 
A.  Possibly.  Employees are entitled to overtime pay 

unless the actual work duties they perform the majority of 
their work time meet one or more of the exemptions from 

overtime stated in labor law (a list of overtime exemptions 
is provided on the reverse side of the North Dakota 

Minimum Wage & Work Conditions Summary poster). 
Simply being paid on a salary basis is not enough to make 

an employee exempt from overtime pay.   

Q.  I am entitled to overtime because my job duties do 
not meet any of the exemptions.  How must my 
employer calculate overtime pay? 
A.  Generally, overtime is to be paid at 1-1/2 times the 

regular rate of pay for hours worked in excess of 40 in a 
work week (a consistent, consecutive 7 day period defined 

by the employer, unless the employer is a hospital or 
residential care establishment which may adopt a 14 day 

overtime period). Overtime must be calculated each work 
week regardless of the length of the pay period. Overtime 

need only be computed for actual hours worked. Vacation 
days, paid holidays, or sick days (time not worked) do not 

need to be included in an overtime computation. Non-
exempt employees in the private sector cannot be granted 

compensatory time in lieu of monetary overtime 

compensation. 

Q.  Can my employer fire me without a reason?   
A.  Yes.  Without a contract specifying a term of 

employment, the “employment-at-will” doctrine applies. 
“Employment-at-will” essentially means that either party 

(employer or employee) can terminate the employment 
relationship at any time, with or without cause. An 

employer may not, however, terminate an employment 
relationship on the basis of race, color, religion, sex, 

national origin, age, disability, marital status, pregnancy, 
status with regard to public assistance, or participation in 

lawful activity off the employer’s premises during non-
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Q. How is discrimination defined?   
A.  Employment discrimination in violation of North   Dakota 

state or federal law is defined as an act of prejudice based 
on race, color, religion, sex, age, national origin,   disability, 

pregnancy, marital status, status with regard to public assis-
tance, or participation in lawful activity off the employer‘s 

premises during non-working hours which is not in direct 
conflict with the essential business related functions of the 

employer.   

Q.  My boss doesn’t like me.  What can I do?   
A.  Personality conflicts are not necessarily illegal.  If your 

employer doesn’t like you because of your race, color, age, 
religion, sex, national origin, disability, marital status, preg-

nancy, or status with regard to public assistance and treats 

other employees more favorably, it may be illegal.   

Q.  They didn’t advertise the position and then hired a 
friend of the boss.   

A.  There is no statute requiring an employer in the  
private sector to advertise a position. North Dakota laws do 

not prevent private employers from hiring friends or relatives; 
however, there are laws prohibiting nepotism (the hiring of 

certain relatives) by some state officials and employees, as 

well as some county and city officials.   

Q.  I’m not paid the same wage as a co-worker. Isn’t   
that a violation of equal pay laws? 

A.  Equal pay laws are gender-based statutes which  
indicate that similarly situated males and females who     

perform essentially the same job functions should be paid 
equal wages. However, if you are the same gender as the  

co-worker, there may be other  violations of state or federal 

anti-discrimination laws.   

Q.  I’m being harassed.  That’s not right, is it? 

A.  If the harassment is based on race, color, age,  
religion, sex, pregnancy, national origin, disability, marital 

status, or status with regard to public assistance, it may be  

a violation of anti-discrimination laws. 

Q.  I complained to my boss about sexual harassment, 
but nothing was done about it.   

A.  An employer is responsible for taking immediate and 
corrective action in harassment and hostile environment 

situations related to anti-discrimination laws. If you believe 
you have been sexually harassed or otherwise harassed 

because of your race, color, gender, or other protected   
category and the employer has done nothing after being 

notified, you may contact the North Dakota Department of 

Labor and Human Rights.   

Q.  They won’t hire me because I filed a claim with  
Workforce Safety & Insurance (WSI) while employed     

at my previous employer.  Is that legal?   

A.  If the employer obtained information about your prior WSI 
claim or occupational injury from a third party, such as a former 

employer, WSI, or a service that provides WSI information, 
before making a conditional offer of employment, they have 
violated Title I of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990.  
At the pre-offer stage, as at any other time, an employer may 

not obtain from third parties any information that they could not 
obtain directly from the applicant. However, an  employer may 

ask questions about an applicant’s prior WSI claims or occupa-
tional injuries after it has made a conditional offer of employ-

ment, but before  employment has begun, as long as it asks 
the same questions of all entering employees in the same job 

category.       

Q.  I was fired because I was sick and didn’t go to work for 

two days.  Can they do that? 
A.  Probably, however, if your absenteeism is related to a disa-

bility or pregnancy, you may be protected by anti-
discrimination laws. In addition, you may have protection under 

the Family & Medical Leave Act (FMLA) which provides leave 
for the birth/adoption of a child or for an employee’s or employ-

ee’s family member’s serious medical condition. The FMLA is  

enforced by the Federal Department of Labor.    

Q.  I broke my leg and now my boss wants to fire me.  Is 
that a violation of disability laws?   
A.  A broken leg or arm is considered temporary and is not 
typically covered under the disability discrimination laws. You 

may, however, be covered under the federal Family and Medi-

cal Leave Act (FMLA).   

Q.  I am a qualified individual with a disability but my em-

ployer refuses to accommodate my disability and change 
my schedule.  Does he have to?   

A.  Possibly.  An employer has the right to review  medical 
documentation related to your request for an  accommodation 

to determine if it is reasonable. You and the employer should 
determine and implement a reasonable accommodation that 

does not create an undue hardship on the employer’s busi-

ness.    
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