<\ NDESPRB HEARING IMPAIRED SPECIAL EDUCATION ENDORSEMENT
A@ SFN 58895 (05-17)

Education Standards and Practices Board

Educator’s Professional License Number

Name (Last, First, M) Maiden Name or
Social Security Number (do not use dashes)
Address
City State Zip Code (9-digit)
Home Telephone Number Work Telephone Number Date of Birth Email Address
High School Attended High School City Attended State
Prerequisite: Valid North Dakota educator's professional license in early childhood, elementary, middle, or secondary
education.
Plan on file prerequisites: 1) Letter from your administrator requesting this endorsement along with the name of your special
education mentor.
2) Transcript documenting three semester hours (SH) of special education coursework.
3) Documentation of enrollment in an institution of higher education for two additional courses specific to

deaf and hard of hearing special education, regardless of how many hours already transcripted in
special education.

Plan on file timeline: This endorsement must be completed within three years of assignment to teach deaf and hard of hearing
special education. A transcript review will be done annually to document your progress toward completion of
this endorsement.

Fees: $75.

Hearing Impaired Program of Study

28 SH of core transcripted coursework at the undergraduate or graduate level from an approved teacher education program.

Coursework Completed (SH) | Needed (SH)

Exceptional children and youth

Assessment of students with disabilities

Behavior management of students with disabilities

Legal aspects of special education

Consultation and collaboration

Assessment of deaf and hard of hearing students

Transition

Methods of teaching speech to deaf and hard of hearing children

Methods of teaching language to deaf and hard of hearing children

Methods of teaching reading and academic subjects to deaf and hard of hearing

children

Characteristics of deaf and hard of hearing students

Audiology

Oral rehabilitation

Sign language

2 SH practicum/internship in hearing impaired for children from birth to twenty one | Total SH Total SH

Documentation of enrollment in coursework for two additional deaf and hard of

hearing special education courses (see Plan on file Prerequisite 3 above)

Administrator letter (see Plan on file prerequisite 1 above)

Name of Mentor (see Plan on file prerequisite 1 above)

Signature of Applicant Date

ESPB Approval: Date

Submit completed form and $75 fee to: Education Standards and Practices Board
2718 Gateway Ave, Suite 204
Bismarck ND 58503-0585
(701) 328-9641 office
(701) 328-9647 fax
In compliance with the Federal Privacy Act of 1974, the disclosure of the individual’s social security number on this form is mandatory pursuant to North Dakota Century Code (NDCC) 43-50-02. The

individual's social security number is used by the Education Standards and Practices Board (ESPB) as an identification number for file control purposes, background checks, and recordkeeping. ESPB
does not advocate, permit, nor practice discrimination on the basis of sex, race, color, national origin, religion, age or disability as required by various state and federal laws.




1V% _ _
%AV Payment/Credit Card Information
NDESPB

Education Standards and Practices Board

Type of Payment Amount

O Visa 0 MasterCard O Check

Name as it appears on credit card

Credit Card Number Expiration Date 3 digit CVV

Billing Address of credit card (if different than the mailing address)

Address:

City State Zip Code

This documentation will be destroyed upon completion of processing.




