
                   DRIVERS EDUCATION MINOR EQUIVALENCY ENDORSEMENT 
                   SFN 58610 (05-17) 
 

 
 

Prerequisite: Valid North Dakota educator’s professional license. 
Endorsement Request and Verification: Once you have completed the requirements, request this endorsement be added to your 

license by returning this form to ESPB along with your official transcripts and verification of experience. 
Fees: $75 
Timeline: The addition of this endorsement does not change your regular license renewal date. 

Driver’s Education Minor Equivalency Grades 7-12 Program of Study 
Effective August 1, 2008 ME 24 requirement: Valid operator’s license not suspended or revoked. 

Provide between November 1 and December 31 of each year a complete abstract of applicant’s driving record for past 36 

months from a state driver licensing office evidencing a satisfactory driving record free from any conviction that would constitute the 
basis for suspension or revocation on the instructor’s operator’s license, and not more than three moving traffic violations.  

Coursework Completed   (SH) Needed       (SH) 

Ten semester hours consisting of at least one course each in:     

Classroom driver and traffic education     

In-car instruction     

Beginning driver problems     

Organization and administration of safety education     
 

Fourteen semester hours with no more than 3 semester hours in any one area: 

First aid     

Substance abuse and prevention education     

Equipment training, which may include simulator use and education technology     

Classroom management     

Developmental psychology covering adolescent psychology     

Stress management     

Curriculum, planning, and assessment     

Teaching diverse learners     

Educational psychology     

 Total SH  Total SH 

Field Experience (required for elementary or middle school teachers) provided by a driver’s education mentor with a minimum of 

three years experience in driver’s education. Three clock hours of in-car observation and three clock hours of in-car instruction. 

Renewal: Two semester hours every five years of driver/traffic safety coursework toward licensure renewal. It is the responsibility 

of the instructor to notify ESPB of any driving offense, suspension, revocation, or cancellation of the driving license in a timely 
manner. 

 
  Please return the completed form and $75 fee to: Education Standards and Practices Board 

                                                                            2718 Gateway Ave.  Suite 204 
                                                                            Bismarck, ND  58503 
                                                                            (701) 328-9641   office 
                                                                            (701) 328-9647    fax 
 
In compliance with the Federal Privacy Act of 1974, the disclosure of the individual’s social security number on this form is mandatory pursuant to North Dakota Century Code 
(NDCC) 43-50-02. The individual’s social security number is used by the Education Standards and Practices Board (ESPB) as an identification number for file control 
purposes, background checks, and recordkeeping. ESPB does not advocate, permit, nor practice discrimination on the basis of sex, race, color, national origin, religion, age, 
or disability as required by various state and federal laws. 

                                                                                                                                                       
                                                                                                                                                Educator’s Professional License Number  

 
 

          

Name (Last, First, MI) Maiden Name 
 

 

or 
 

Social Security Number (do not use dashes) 

Address 

 
          

City State Zip Code (9-digit) 

 
 

Home Telephone Number Work Telephone Number 

 
Date of Birth Email Address 

High School Attended High School City Attended State 

 

Applicant: 
 

Date 
 

ESPB Approval: 
 

Date 
 



Payment/Credit Card Information 
 
 
 

 
 
 

 
            This documentation will be destroyed upon completion of processing. 

 

 

Type of Payment 
  Visa                   MasterCard                   Check 

 

Amount 
 

  $ 
 

Name as it appears on credit card 

 
 

Credit Card Number 

 

                
 

Expiration Date 

 
 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

m     m    y      y 

3 digit CVV 
 

   
 

 

Billing Address of credit card (if different than the mailing address) 
 
 

Address:__________________________________________________________________ 
 
 

City ____________________________    State ____________      Zip Code __________ 


