MINUTES – ESPB Special Meeting Thursday, May 27, 2021 Zoom Video Conference

The Education Standards and Practices Board (ESPB) special meeting video conference was called to order at 8:02am by Board Vice Chair Brenda Tufte.

Board members present were Jessica Rush, Joshua Standing Elk, Patti Stedman, Kraig Steinhoff, Bob Toso, Brenda Tufte, and Superintendent Kirsten Baesler.

Board members Andrea Fox, Ben Johnson, Kathy Lentz, and Carly Retterath were absent.

Also present by video conference were Executive Director Rebecca Pitkin and Amy Bigelow from ESPB, and Allyson Hicks from the Attorney General's Office.

Raaen, John – Mr. Raaen's file is being reviewed by the Board after a Request for Inquiry from Fargo Public Schools was received. The school district has completed their investigation and resulted in a recommendation of discharge for cause. Mr. Raaen has resigned from his position with Fargo Public Schools. Allyson reminded the board that this has not resulted in criminal charges, so wouldn't be handled 15.1-13-26.

Bob Toso made a motion for Board to issue Request for Inquiry. Becky has sent Mr. Raaen a copy of the current Request for Inquiry and he has 20 days to respond. Allyson cautioned the Board about taking any disciplinary action before receiving Mr. Raaen's response. Bob withdrew his motion.

Patti Stedman made a motion to table the case until Mr. Raaen's response is received or his 20 days to respond have passed. Motion seconded by Jessica Rush. Board member who voted yes were Jessica Rush, Joshua Standing Elk, Patti Stedman, Kraig Steinhoff, Bob Toso, and Brenda Tufte. None opposed. Motion carried.

| The meeting was adjourned at 8:16am. | |
|--------------------------------------|------------------------------|
| | |
| | |
| Chair | Secretary/Executive Director |